Journal profile · Medicine-Otorhinolaryngology

Surgery in Practice and Science

ISSN 2666-2620 · Elsevier · United Kingdom

Surgery in Practice and Science: CAS Zone 4 · Medicine (2025 upgraded edition); impact factor 1.2 (journal website); fully open access; APC about USD 2,200; median 87 days to acceptance (80 articles, last 24 months); 53 articles in 2025; indexed in ESCI and Scopus.

Impact factor1.2From the journal's website, latest value
CAS zoneZone 4 · Medicine2025 upgraded edition, major category · 2026 Xinrui edition Zone 4 · Medicine
Review time87 daysMedian, submission to acceptance · 80 articles, last 24 months · PubMed
APCUSD 2,200Fully open access
Acceptance—No reports yet
Articles per year532025 · OpenAlex count

Scope

Aims, scope and focus

Surgery in Practice and Science is published by Elsevier and is in Zone 4 of Medicine in the CAS Journal Ranking (2025 upgraded edition). By OpenAlex counts of its recent articles, its largest topics are Pancreatic and Hepatic Oncology Research, Surgical Simulation and Training and Trauma and Emergency Care Studies, together about 22.3% of its articles. Its main subfields are Surgery. (generated from OpenAlex topic counts and CAS ranking data)

Surgery in Practice and Science is a clinical surgery journal covering all ten surgical specialties and encourages submissions from every region of the world. As of 2025, the journal is indexed in Scopus, Clarivate’s ESCI (with an Impact Factor), and PubMed PMC indexing. The journal will focus on high-quality submissions only and will accept the best pieces of research from around the world. The journal will judge submissions purely on their novelty and impact on the scientific literature and how they will change healthcare practice. The journal will publish review, original research articles and opinions on the following fields:Academic SurgeryCardiothoracic SurgeryColorectal SurgeryGeneral SurgeryHPB SurgeryNeurosurgeryOral and Maxillofacial SurgeryOtolaryngology (ENT)Paediatric SurgeryPlastic SurgerySurgical OncologyTrauma and Orthopaedic SurgeryUpper Gi SurgeryUrologyVascular Surgery

From the journal's Aims & Scope

Research area (LetPub): Medicine-Otorhinolaryngology

Editor-in-chief Jorg KleeffPublisher website

Editorial board by country: 2 in mainland China (about 8%); most named United States 8, Germany 5, Australia 4, Mainland China 2, United Kingdom 2 (24 members with a country) Editorial board ↗Publisher website ·

Main research topics OpenAlex counts of recent articles; shares are approximate

  1. Pancreatic and Hepatic Oncology ResearchMedicine7.8%
  2. Surgical Simulation and TrainingMedicine7.2%
  3. Trauma and Emergency Care StudiesMedicine7.2%
  4. Cardiac, Anesthesia and Surgical OutcomesMedicine5.4%
  5. Enhanced Recovery After SurgeryMedicine5.4%
  6. Appendicitis Diagnosis and ManagementMedicine4.8%
  7. Colorectal Cancer Surgical TreatmentsMedicine4.3%
  8. Pancreatitis Pathology and TreatmentMedicine4%

Rankings & indexing

CAS ranking and database indexing

CAS Journal Ranking

CAS Journal Ranking, upgraded edition (March 2025)Medicine Zone 4
LevelCategoryZone
MajorMedicineZone 4
MinorSurgeryZone 4

Top journal: noReview journal: no

CAS Xinrui Journal Ranking (March 2026)Medicine Zone 4
LevelCategoryZone
MajorMedicineZone 4
MinorSurgeryZone 4

Top journal: noReview journal: not marked

CAS Journal Ranking, previous upgraded edition (December 2023)Not covered

Not covered by this edition.

Database indexing

ESCIScopusDOAJLetPub

International journal early-warning lists: not listed in any editionLetPub

Indexing the journal's website claims

PMCPubMedPublisher website

As the journal's website lists them, not checked against each database; for Web of Science editions the records above apply.

Editions, and major and minor categories, are shown separately and never merged into one zone; check which edition your institution uses before you submit or report.

Metrics

Impact metrics and publication volume

Impact

Impact factor (publisher)
1.2Publisher website ·
CiteScore 2026-06
1.8LetPub ·
CiteScore (publisher)
1.8Publisher website ·
SJR 2026-06
0.36LetPub ·
SNIP 2026-06
0.63LetPub ·
h-index
15OpenAlex ·
i10-index
32OpenAlex ·
2-year mean citedness
1.73OpenAlex ·
Self-citation rate
0%LetPub ·
Share of gold OA articles
100%LetPub ·

Volume

Articles per year
48LetPub ·

Articles by year OpenAlex count · 339 in total · the current year is incomplete

YearArticlesOpen accessCitations
202636367
20255353105
2024333399
20237979274
20229696451
2021232394

Sources count differently and were observed at different times, so each source's own value is kept; "publisher" marks figures from the journal's website.

Review & acceptance

Review time and acceptance

Review time from article dates manuscript dates registered with PubMed · to

87 daysMedian, submission to acceptance · P25–P75 56 days – 131 days

Acceptance to online
median 1 days (80 articles)
Submission to online
median 91 days
Sample
80 articles with submission and acceptance dates (96 in the window); the latest was accepted on

Only articles that were accepted and published are counted, not the time spent on rejected manuscripts, so this usually runs longer than a publisher's "time to first decision".

Other sources

Average review time (community reports)
about 10 weeksLetPub ·
Submission to first decision
1 daysPublisher website ·
First decision after review
74 daysPublisher website ·
Submission to acceptance
93 daysPublisher website ·
Acceptance to publication
2 daysPublisher website ·
Submission to publication (journal-reported)
about 16 weeksDOAJ ·
Peer review
Single anonymous peer reviewDOAJ

Community reports come from authors' own submissions (confidence 0.5) and are not a promise from the journal; for publisher figures, the journal's own definitions apply.

Fees & open access

APC and open-access policy

Fully open accessDOAJ

Every article is open access; authors usually pay an article processing charge (APC).

SourceAPCFee waiverLicenseObserved
DOAJUSD 2,200YesCC BY, CC BY-NC, CC BY-NC-ND
OpenAlexUSD 2,020 / EUR 1,890 / GBP 1,620 / JPY 250,540——
LetPubUSD 2,100Yes—
Publisher websiteUSD 2,570——

The journal's website is authoritative for fees; sources were observed at different times and each keeps its own value, without averaging.

Submission

Article types and submission policies (journal website)

What to prepare5 items from the author guidelines
Abstract
≤ 250 words
Keywords
1–7
Manuscript length
≤ 3,000 words
Reference style
Numbered, in order of citation
Highlights
Required
Publisher website · model-extracted, each line checked against the text
Article types accepted8, with length limits
  1. editorialThe journal will accept the following article types: Original research articles 3,000 words. We require highlights with each article. Please include a structure…main text ≤ 1,000 words
  2. letterThe journal will accept the following article types: Original research articles 3,000 words. We require highlights with each article. Please include a structure…Length not stated
  3. meta-analysisThe journal will accept the following article types: Original research articles 3,000 words. We require highlights with each article. Please include a structure…Length not stated
  4. narrative reviewThe journal will accept the following article types: Original research articles 3,000 words. We require highlights with each article. Please include a structure…Length not stated
  5. original articleThe journal will accept the following article types: Original research articles 3,000 words. We require highlights with each article. Please include a structure…Length not stated
  6. original research articleThe journal will accept the following article types: Original research articles 3,000 words. We require highlights with each article. Please include a structure…main text ≤ 3,000 words
  7. review articleThe journal will accept the following article types: Original research articles 3,000 words. We require highlights with each article. Please include a structure…Length not stated
  8. systematic reviewThe journal will accept the following article types: Original research articles 3,000 words. We require highlights with each article. Please include a structure…main text ≤ 3,000 words
Publisher website
Policy excerpts from the journal's websiteAI use, Authorship, Conflicts of interest, License & copyright, Open access, Peer review, Preprints
AI use Declaration of generative AI use

Authors must declare the use of generative AI tools in the manuscript preparation process upon submission of the paper.Generative AI and AI-assisted technologies (“AI tools”) have been rapidly adopted in research and scholarly publishing, offering significant benefits while requiring clear standards for responsible and transparent use.Authors preparing a manuscript for this journal may use AI tool…

Source ↗Publisher website ·
Authorship Group authorship

Group authorship refers to the attribution of an article to a defined and named group of authors whose members have contributed to the work. Examples include research consortia, clinical trial groups, collaborative networks, task forces or working groups, expert panels or consensus groups, and participatory research groups. Group authorship must be declared on the title page at submission. When av…

Source ↗Publisher website ·
Conflicts of interest Declaration of competing interests

All authors must disclose any financial and personal relationships with other people or organizations that could inappropriately influence or bias their work. Examples of potential competing interests include:EmploymentConsultanciesStock ownershipHonorariaPaid expert testimonyPatent applications or registrationsGrants or any other fundingAffiliation with the journal as an Editor or Advisory Board …

Source ↗Publisher website ·
License & copyright License options

Authors will be offered open access user license options which will determine how you, and third parties, can reuse your open access article. We advise that you review these options and any funding body license requirements before selecting a license option.

Source ↗Publisher website ·
Open access Open access

We refer you to our open access information page to learn about open access options for this journal.

Source ↗Publisher website ·
Peer review Peer review

This journal follows a single anonymized review process. Your submission will initially be assessed by our editors. If your submission is deemed suitable, it will typically be sent to be reviewed by a minimum of two reviewers for an independent expert assessment of the scientific quality. The decision as to whether your article is accepted or rejected for publication will be made by our editors.Re…

Source ↗Publisher website ·
Preprints Preprints

Preprint sharingAuthors may share preprints in line with Elsevier's article sharing policy. Sharing preprints, such as on a preprint server, will not count as prior publication.We advise you to read our policy on multiple, redundant or concurrent publication.

Source ↗Publisher website ·

Excerpts are quoted from the journal's website; "model summary" lines are written by Workers AI and checked against the text. The journal's website is authoritative.

Profile

Publication details and official links

Publisher
Elsevier
Country or region
United Kingdom
Language
English
ISSN
2666-2620
Official links

FAQ

Frequently asked questions about Surgery in Practice and Science

What CAS zone is Surgery in Practice and Science in?

In the 2025 upgraded edition of the CAS Journal Ranking, Surgery in Practice and Science is in Zone 4 of Medicine, and in Zone 4 of the minor category Surgery. In the 2026 Xinrui edition it is in Zone 4 of Medicine. Zones from different editions, and from major and minor categories, are not interchangeable.

What is the impact factor of Surgery in Practice and Science?

The journal's website gives an impact factor of 1.2; this is the journal's own figure, as LetPub lists none for it; CiteScore 1.8, h-index 15.

How long does peer review take at Surgery in Practice and Science?

Based on the dates recorded on 80 articles published between October 2024 and October 2026 (the last 24 months), the median time from submission to acceptance is 87 days (interquartile range 56–131 days); authors report an average review time of about 10 weeks. Article statistics cover accepted papers only, publisher figures follow the journal's own definitions, and community reports come from authors' own submissions; none is a promise from the journal.

What are the manuscript requirements of Surgery in Practice and Science?

According to the journal's author guidelines: Abstract: ≤ 250 words; Keywords: 1–7; Manuscript length: ≤ 3,000 words; Reference style: Numbered, in order of citation; Highlights: Required. A model extracted these from the author guidelines and each was checked against the text; check the latest version on the journal's website before submitting.

Where are the editorial board members of Surgery in Practice and Science based?

Of the 24 board members whose country the journal's board page names, 2 (about 8%) are in mainland China; the countries named most often are United States (8), Germany (5) and Australia (4). Counted from the institutions listed on the board page; for reference only.

Which databases index Surgery in Practice and Science?

According to LetPub and DOAJ records, Surgery in Practice and Science is indexed in ESCI, Scopus and DOAJ. The journal's website also lists PMC and PubMed; that list has not been checked against each database.

Is Surgery in Practice and Science open access, and what is the APC?

Surgery in Practice and Science is a fully open-access journal. APC about USD 2,200.

Sources and updates

The facts on this page come from LetPub, Publisher website, OpenAlex, DOAJ; every figure is tagged with its source and the date it was observed, and conflicting values are kept per source. LetPub source page: view ↗ (archived 2026-08-26). Last updated: .