Journal profile · Medicine-Cardiology and Cardiovascular Medicine
Stroke and Vascular Neurology
ISSN 2059-8688 · eISSN 2059-8696 · BMJ Publishing Group · PEOPLES R CHINA
Stroke and Vascular Neurology: CAS Zone 2 · Medicine (2025 upgraded edition); impact factor 4.7; fully open access; APC charged, amount not published; median 158 days to acceptance (100 articles, last 24 months); acceptance rate 10% (journal website); 93 articles in 2025; indexed in SCIE and Scopus.
Scope
Aims, scope and focus
Stroke and Vascular Neurology is published by BMJ Publishing Group and is in Zone 2 of Medicine in the CAS Journal Ranking (2025 upgraded edition). By OpenAlex counts of its recent articles, its largest topics are Acute Ischemic Stroke Management, Cerebrovascular and Carotid Artery Diseases and Intracerebral and Subarachnoid Hemorrhage Research, together about 47.5% of its articles. Its main subfields are Neurology. (generated from OpenAlex topic counts and CAS ranking data)
Acceptance rate:10%Time to first decision with review:38 days*Time from acceptance to publication:22 days*Impact Factor (JCR):4.8Citescore:9.8Total content views:146,140More journal metricsHow we get these metrics*median number of days Aims & scope Ownership Editorial board Journal information Journal Statistics 2025 Affiliations
From the journal's Aims & Scope
Research area (LetPub): Medicine-Cardiology and Cardiovascular Medicine
Editorial board by country: 16 in mainland China (about 76%); most named Mainland China 16, United States 4, Germany 1 (21 members with a country) Editorial board ↗Publisher website ·
Main research topics OpenAlex counts of recent articles; shares are approximate
- Acute Ischemic Stroke ManagementMedicine24.5%
- Cerebrovascular and Carotid Artery DiseasesMedicine11.9%
- Intracerebral and Subarachnoid Hemorrhage ResearchMedicine11.1%
- Intracranial Aneurysms: Treatment and ComplicationsMedicine7.9%
- Stroke Rehabilitation and RecoveryMedicine6.6%
- Neurological Disease Mechanisms and TreatmentsNeuroscience3.6%
- Neuroinflammation and Neurodegeneration MechanismsNeuroscience3.3%
- Moyamoya disease diagnosis and treatmentMedicine3%
Rankings & indexing
CAS ranking and database indexing
CAS Journal Ranking
CAS Journal Ranking, upgraded edition (March 2025)Medicine Zone 2
| Level | Category | Zone |
|---|---|---|
| Major | Medicine | Zone 2 |
| Minor | Clinical Neurology | Zone 2 |
Top journal: noReview journal: no
CAS Xinrui Journal Ranking (March 2026)Medicine Zone 2
| Level | Category | Zone |
|---|---|---|
| Major | Medicine | Zone 2 |
| Minor | Clinical Neurology | Zone 2 |
Top journal: noReview journal: not marked
CAS Journal Ranking, previous upgraded edition (December 2023)Medicine Zone 1
| Level | Category | Zone |
|---|---|---|
| Major | Medicine | Zone 1 |
| Minor | Clinical Neurology | Zone 2 |
Top journal: noReview journal: no
Database indexing
SCIEScopusDOAJLetPub
International journal early-warning lists: not listed in any editionLetPub
Editions, and major and minor categories, are shown separately and never merged into one zone; check which edition your institution uses before you submit or report.
Metrics
Impact metrics and publication volume
Impact
- Impact factor
- 4.7LetPub ·
- Impact factor (publisher)
- 4.8Publisher website ·
- CiteScore 2026-06
- 9.8LetPub ·
- CiteScore (publisher)
- 9.8Publisher website ·
- SJR 2026-06
- 1.97LetPub ·
- SNIP 2026-06
- 1.98LetPub ·
- h-index
- 62OpenAlex ·
- i10-index
- 394OpenAlex ·
- 2-year mean citedness
- 3.8OpenAlex ·
- Self-citation rate
- 4.2%LetPub ·
- Share of gold OA articles
- 100%LetPub ·
Volume
- Articles per year
- 85LetPub ·
Articles by year OpenAlex count · 724 in total · the current year is incomplete
| Year | Articles | Open access | Citations |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2026 | 63 | 63 | 19 |
| 2025 | 93 | 93 | 250 |
| 2024 | 92 | 92 | 673 |
| 2023 | 83 | 83 | 1,473 |
| 2022 | 72 | 72 | 1,657 |
| 2021 | 83 | 83 | 1,968 |
Sources count differently and were observed at different times, so each source's own value is kept; "publisher" marks figures from the journal's website.
Review & acceptance
Review time and acceptance
Review time from article dates manuscript dates registered with PubMed · to
158 daysMedian, submission to acceptance · P25–P75 98 days – 225 days
- Acceptance to online
- median 246 days (100 articles)
- Submission to online
- median 363 days
- Sample
- 100 articles with submission and acceptance dates (250 in the window); the latest was accepted on
Only articles that were accepted and published are counted, not the time spent on rejected manuscripts, so this usually runs longer than a publisher's "time to first decision".
Other sources
- Average review time (community reports)
- about 15 weeksLetPub ·
- Acceptance rate (publisher)
- 10%Publisher website ·
- Submission to first decision
- 38 daysPublisher website ·
- Acceptance to publication
- 22 daysPublisher website ·
- Submission to publication (journal-reported)
- about 22 weeksDOAJ ·
- Peer review
- Single anonymous peer reviewDOAJ
Community reports come from authors' own submissions (confidence 0.5) and are not a promise from the journal; for publisher figures, the journal's own definitions apply.
Fees & open access
APC and open-access policy
Every article is open access; authors usually pay an article processing charge (APC).
| Source | APC | Fee waiver | License | Observed |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| DOAJ | GBP 2,390 | Yes | CC BY, CC BY-NC | |
| OpenAlex | GBP 1,500 | — | — | |
| LetPub | GBP 2,460 | Yes | — |
The journal's website is authoritative for fees; sources were observed at different times and each keeps its own value, without averaging.
Submission
Article types and submission policies (journal website)
Article types accepted13
- case reportCase reportLength not stated
- correspondence/letterCorrespondence/LetterLength not stated
- editorialEditorialLength not stated
- epidemiological study/ big data analysis/ statistical reportEpidemiological study/ Big data analysis/ Statistical reportLength not stated
- guidelinesGuidelinesLength not stated
- original researchOriginal researchLength not stated
- perspectivePerspectiveLength not stated
- pictures of stroke and cerebral vasculaturePictures of stroke and cerebral vasculatureLength not stated
- protocolProtocolLength not stated
- reviewReviewLength not stated
- short reportShort reportLength not stated
- supplementsSupplementsLength not stated
- systematic reviewSystematic reviewLength not stated
Excerpts are quoted from the journal's website; "model summary" lines are written by Workers AI and checked against the text. The journal's website is authoritative.
Profile
Publication details and official links
- Publisher
- BMJ Publishing Group
- Country or region
- PEOPLES R CHINA
- Language
- English
- ISSN
- 2059-8688
- Electronic ISSN
- 2059-8696
- Society / sponsor
- Chinese Stroke Association
- Official links
- Journal homepage ↗LetPub
- Submission system ↗LetPub
- Author guidelines ↗LetPub
- Aims & Scope ↗LetPub
- Special issues ↗Publisher website
- APC information ↗DOAJ
- Fee waivers ↗DOAJ
- Open access statement ↗DOAJ
- License & copyright ↗DOAJ
- Peer review process ↗LetPub
- Editorial board ↗LetPub
- Plagiarism policy ↗DOAJ
FAQ
Frequently asked questions about Stroke and Vascular Neurology
What CAS zone is Stroke and Vascular Neurology in?
In the 2025 upgraded edition of the CAS Journal Ranking, Stroke and Vascular Neurology is in Zone 2 of Medicine, and in Zone 2 of the minor category Clinical Neurology. In the 2026 Xinrui edition it is in Zone 2 of Medicine. Zones from different editions, and from major and minor categories, are not interchangeable.
What is the impact factor of Stroke and Vascular Neurology?
The latest impact factor listed by LetPub is 4.7; CiteScore 9.8, h-index 62.
How long does peer review take at Stroke and Vascular Neurology?
Based on the dates recorded on 100 articles published between October 2024 and October 2026 (the last 24 months), the median time from submission to acceptance is 158 days (interquartile range 98–225 days); authors report an average review time of about 15 weeks; the journal's website gives an acceptance rate of 10%. Article statistics cover accepted papers only, publisher figures follow the journal's own definitions, and community reports come from authors' own submissions; none is a promise from the journal.
Where are the editorial board members of Stroke and Vascular Neurology based?
Of the 21 board members whose country the journal's board page names, 16 (about 76%) are in mainland China; the countries named most often are Mainland China (16), United States (4) and Germany (1). Counted from the institutions listed on the board page; for reference only.
Which databases index Stroke and Vascular Neurology?
According to LetPub and DOAJ records, Stroke and Vascular Neurology is indexed in SCIE, Scopus and DOAJ.
Is Stroke and Vascular Neurology open access, and what is the APC?
Stroke and Vascular Neurology is a fully open-access journal. APC charged, amount not published.
Sources and updates
The facts on this page come from LetPub, Publisher website, OpenAlex, DOAJ; every figure is tagged with its source and the date it was observed, and conflicting values are kept per source. LetPub source page: view ↗ (archived 2026-08-25). Last updated: .