Journal profile · INTERNATIONAL RELATIONS
Strategic Analysis
ISSN 0970-0161 · eISSN 1754-0054 · Taylor & Francis
Strategic Analysis: CAS Zone 4 · Sociology (2025 upgraded edition); impact factor 0.6 (journal website); subscription journal; APC charged, amount not published; review about 86 days (submission to first decision, publisher); acceptance rate 90% (journal website); 77 articles in 2025; indexed in ESCI and Scopus.
Scope
Aims, scope and focus
Strategic Analysis is published by Taylor & Francis and is in Zone 4 of Sociology in the CAS Journal Ranking (2025 upgraded edition). By OpenAlex counts of its recent articles, its largest topics are Politics and Conflicts in Afghanistan, Pakistan, and Middle East, International Relations and Foreign Policy and South Asian Studies and Conflicts, together about 35.7% of its articles. Its main subfields are Political Science and International Relations. (generated from OpenAlex topic counts and CAS ranking data)
Strategic Analysis is the flagship publication of the Manohar Parrikar Institute of Defence Studies and Analyses. Published bi-monthly in partnership with Routledge (Taylor & Francis Group, UK), Strategic Analysis provides a forum for independent research, commentaries, analysis and debate on global and regional security issues. An internationally refereed journal, Strategic Analysis seeks to reflect a range of views from within the Indian strategic studies and International Relations community. It seeks to promote a better understanding of Indian thinking on contemporary national and international themes. The coverage and scope is global, reflecting India's growing global interests and role. The aim, through the medium of the journal, is to reach out to an international audience interested in knowing about Indian analyses and perspectives on global and regional issues such as India's foreign and defence policies, strategic culture and technologies.
From the journal's Aims & Scope
Research area (LetPub): INTERNATIONAL RELATIONS
Editor-in-chief Sujan R. ChinoyPublisher website
Main research topics OpenAlex counts of recent articles; shares are approximate
- Politics and Conflicts in Afghanistan, Pakistan, and Middle EastSocial Sciences14.9%
- International Relations and Foreign PolicySocial Sciences11.1%
- South Asian Studies and ConflictsSocial Sciences9.8%
- Global Peace and Security DynamicsSocial Sciences6.5%
- Nuclear Issues and DefenseSocial Sciences5.5%
- International Development and AidSocial Sciences5.4%
- Indian Economic and Social DevelopmentEconomics, Econometrics and Finance4.7%
- Asian Geopolitics and EthnographySocial Sciences4%
Rankings & indexing
CAS ranking and database indexing
CAS Journal Ranking
CAS Journal Ranking, upgraded edition (March 2025)Sociology Zone 4
| Level | Category | Zone |
|---|---|---|
| Major | Sociology | Zone 4 |
| Minor | International Relations | Zone 4 |
Top journal: noReview journal: no
CAS Xinrui Journal Ranking (March 2026)Sociology Zone 4
| Level | Category | Zone |
|---|---|---|
| Major | Sociology | Zone 4 |
| Minor | International Relations | Zone 4 |
Top journal: noReview journal: not marked
CAS Journal Ranking, previous upgraded edition (December 2023)Not covered
Not covered by this edition.
Database indexing
ESCIScopusLetPub
International journal early-warning lists: not listed in any editionLetPub
Editions, and major and minor categories, are shown separately and never merged into one zone; check which edition your institution uses before you submit or report.
Metrics
Impact metrics and publication volume
Impact
- Impact factor (publisher) 2025
- 0.6Publisher website ·
- 5-year impact factor (publisher) 2025
- 0.7Publisher website ·
- CiteScore 2026-06
- 0.9LetPub ·
- CiteScore (publisher) 2025
- 0.9Publisher website ·
- SJR 2026-06
- 0.17LetPub ·
- SJR (publisher) 2025
- 0.17Publisher website ·
- SNIP 2026-06
- 0.22LetPub ·
- SNIP (publisher) 2025
- 0.22Publisher website ·
- h-index
- 34OpenAlex ·
- i10-index
- 267OpenAlex ·
- 2-year mean citedness
- 0.46OpenAlex ·
- Self-citation rate
- 0%LetPub ·
- Share of gold OA articles
- 1.89%LetPub ·
Volume
- Articles per year
- 39LetPub ·
- Downloads per year (publisher)
- 84,000Publisher website ·
Articles by year OpenAlex count · 3,115 in total · the current year is incomplete
| Year | Articles | Open access | Citations |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2026 | 51 | 1 | 1 |
| 2025 | 77 | 5 | 20 |
| 2024 | 67 | 6 | 68 |
| 2023 | 58 | 2 | 204 |
| 2022 | 75 | 1 | 269 |
| 2021 | 71 | 2 | 501 |
Sources count differently and were observed at different times, so each source's own value is kept; "publisher" marks figures from the journal's website.
Review & acceptance
Review time and acceptance
- Acceptance rate (publisher)
- 90%Publisher website ·
- Submission to first decision
- 86 daysPublisher website ·
- Acceptance to publication
- 26 daysPublisher website ·
Community reports come from authors' own submissions (confidence 0.5) and are not a promise from the journal; for publisher figures, the journal's own definitions apply.
Fees & open access
APC and open-access policy
A subscription journal: articles are read by subscription or purchase, and authors usually pay no publication charge.
| Source | APC | Fee waiver | License | Observed |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Publisher website | Yes, amount not published | — | — |
The journal's website is authoritative for fees; sources were observed at different times and each keeps its own value, without averaging.
Submission
Article types and submission policies (journal website)
Article types accepted2
- book reviewBook Review | Published online: 3 Sep 2026Length not stated
- research articleResearch Article | Published online: 15 Sep 2026Length not stated
Policy excerpts from the journal's websiteOpen access
- Open access Open access
Hybrid open access journal, part of Taylor & Francis Open Select publishing program, giving the option to publish open access. Model summary
Strategic Analysis is a hybrid open access journal that is part of the Taylor & Francis Open Select publishing program, giving you the option to publish open access. Publishing open access means that your article will be free to access online immediately on publication, increasing the visibility, readership, and impact of your research. Why choose open access? Increase the discoverability and read…
Source ↗Publisher website ·
Excerpts are quoted from the journal's website; "model summary" lines are written by Workers AI and checked against the text. The journal's website is authoritative.
Profile
Publication details and official links
- Publisher
- Taylor & Francis
- ISSN
- 0970-0161
- Electronic ISSN
- 1754-0054
- Society / sponsor
- Manohar Parrikar Institute for Defence Studies and Analyses
- Latest issue on the website
- Volume 50, Issue 3 (2026)
- Official links
- Journal homepage ↗LetPub
- Submission system ↗Publisher website
- Special issues ↗Publisher website
FAQ
Frequently asked questions about Strategic Analysis
What CAS zone is Strategic Analysis in?
In the 2025 upgraded edition of the CAS Journal Ranking, Strategic Analysis is in Zone 4 of Sociology, and in Zone 4 of the minor category International Relations. In the 2026 Xinrui edition it is in Zone 4 of Sociology. Zones from different editions, and from major and minor categories, are not interchangeable.
What is the impact factor of Strategic Analysis?
The journal's website gives an impact factor of 0.6 (2025); this is the journal's own figure, as LetPub lists none for it; CiteScore 0.9, h-index 34.
How long does peer review take at Strategic Analysis?
The publisher reports about 86 days (submission to first decision); first decisions include desk rejections; the journal's website gives an acceptance rate of 90%. Article statistics cover accepted papers only, publisher figures follow the journal's own definitions, and community reports come from authors' own submissions; none is a promise from the journal.
Which databases index Strategic Analysis?
According to LetPub and DOAJ records, Strategic Analysis is indexed in ESCI and Scopus.
Is Strategic Analysis open access, and what is the APC?
Strategic Analysis is a subscription journal. APC charged, amount not published.
Sources and updates
The facts on this page come from LetPub, Publisher website, OpenAlex; every figure is tagged with its source and the date it was observed, and conflicting values are kept per source. LetPub source page: view ↗ (archived 2026-08-25). Last updated: .