Journal profile · CELL BIOLOGY
Stem Cells and Cloning-Advances and Applications
ISSN 1178-6957 · Dove Medical Press · United Kingdom
Stem Cells and Cloning-Advances and Applications: CAS Zone 4 · Biology (2025 upgraded edition); impact factor 2.6 (journal website); fully open access; APC about USD 3,565; review about 16 weeks (community reports); 5 articles in 2025; indexed in ESCI and Scopus.
Scope
Aims, scope and focus
Stem Cells and Cloning-Advances and Applications is published by Dove Medical Press and is in Zone 4 of Biology in the CAS Journal Ranking (2025 upgraded edition). By OpenAlex counts of its recent articles, its largest topics are Mesenchymal stem cell research, Pluripotent Stem Cells Research and Tissue Engineering and Regenerative Medicine, together about 48.9% of its articles. (generated from OpenAlex topic counts and CAS ranking data)
Editor-in-Chief: Bernard Binetruy, PhD Stem Cells and Cloning: Advances and Applications is an international, peer-reviewed, Open Access journal that publishes: Original Research; Reviews; Hypothesis Formation; Commentaries; Technology Reviews and Short Reports. Stem Cells and Cloning: Advances and Applications will no longer consider meta-analyses for publication. Areas of interest in established and emerging concepts in stem cell research include, but are not limited to, the following: Embryonic cell stems Adult stem cells Blastocysts Cordblood stem cells Stem cell transformation and culture Therapeutic cloning Autologous embryonic cell lines Umbilical cord blood and bone marrow cells Laboratory, animal and human therapeutic studies Philosophical and ethical issues related to stem cell research. Updated 6 August 2025
From the journal's Aims & Scope
Research area (LetPub): CELL BIOLOGY
Editor-in-chief Binetruy INSERM ResearchPublisher website
Editorial board by country: none in mainland China; most named United States 17, France 4, Italy 3, Israel 2, United Kingdom 1 (27 members with a country) Editorial board ↗Publisher website ·
Main research topics OpenAlex counts of recent articles; shares are approximate
- Mesenchymal stem cell researchMedicine22.5%
- Pluripotent Stem Cells ResearchBiochemistry, Genetics and Molecular Biology14.5%
- Tissue Engineering and Regenerative MedicineMedicine11.8%
- Neurogenesis and neuroplasticity mechanismsNeuroscience5.3%
- Cancer Cells and MetastasisMedicine3.8%
- Hematopoietic Stem Cell TransplantationMedicine3.1%
- Nerve injury and regenerationNeuroscience3.1%
- 3D Printing in Biomedical ResearchEngineering3.1%
Rankings & indexing
CAS ranking and database indexing
CAS Journal Ranking
CAS Journal Ranking, upgraded edition (March 2025)Biology Zone 4
| Level | Category | Zone |
|---|---|---|
| Major | Biology | Zone 4 |
| Minor | Cell Biology | Zone 4 |
Top journal: noReview journal: no
CAS Xinrui Journal Ranking (March 2026)Biology Zone 3
| Level | Category | Zone |
|---|---|---|
| Major | Biology | Zone 3 |
| Minor | Cell Biology | Zone 4 |
Top journal: noReview journal: not marked
CAS Journal Ranking, previous upgraded edition (December 2023)Not covered
Not covered by this edition.
JCR / CiteScore quartiles on the journal's website
- CiteScore Q2 · 2025
Publisher-reported: JCR figures are Clarivate's and CiteScore figures Scopus's to confirm; both are a different system from the CAS zones.Publisher website
Database indexing
ESCIScopusDOAJLetPub
International journal early-warning lists: not listed in any editionLetPub
Editions, and major and minor categories, are shown separately and never merged into one zone; check which edition your institution uses before you submit or report.
Metrics
Impact metrics and publication volume
Impact
- Impact factor (publisher) 2025
- 2.6Publisher website ·
- 5-year impact factor (publisher)
- 4.4Publisher website ·
- CiteScore 2026-06
- 4.4LetPub ·
- CiteScore (publisher) 2025
- 0.48Publisher website ·
- SJR 2026-06
- 0.37LetPub ·
- SNIP 2026-06
- 0.48LetPub ·
- h-index
- 32OpenAlex ·
- i10-index
- 65OpenAlex ·
- 2-year mean citedness
- 1.27OpenAlex ·
- Self-citation rate
- 0%LetPub ·
- Share of gold OA articles
- 100%LetPub ·
Volume
- Articles per year
- 5LetPub ·
- Downloads per year (publisher)
- 19,184Publisher website ·
Articles by year OpenAlex count · 136 in total · the current year is incomplete
| Year | Articles | Open access | Citations |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2025 | 5 | 5 | 6 |
| 2024 | 6 | 6 | 8 |
| 2023 | 9 | 9 | 45 |
| 2022 | 10 | 10 | 56 |
| 2021 | 9 | 9 | 51 |
Sources count differently and were observed at different times, so each source's own value is kept; "publisher" marks figures from the journal's website.
Review & acceptance
Review time and acceptance
Review time from article dates manuscript dates registered with PubMed · to
Too few articlesOnly 7 articles from the last 24 months carry both submission and acceptance dates, too few for a median
Only articles that were accepted and published are counted, not the time spent on rejected manuscripts, so this usually runs longer than a publisher's "time to first decision".
Other sources
- Average review time (community reports)
- about 16 weeksLetPub ·
- Submission to publication (journal-reported)
- about 16 weeksDOAJ ·
- Peer review
- Single anonymous peer reviewDOAJ
Community reports come from authors' own submissions (confidence 0.5) and are not a promise from the journal; for publisher figures, the journal's own definitions apply.
Fees & open access
APC and open-access policy
Every article is open access; authors usually pay an article processing charge (APC).
| Source | APC | Fee waiver | License | Observed |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| DOAJ | USD 3,565 | Yes | CC BY, CC BY-NC | |
| OpenAlex | USD 2,320 | — | — | |
| LetPub | USD 2,990 | Yes | — |
The journal's website is authoritative for fees; sources were observed at different times and each keeps its own value, without averaging.
Submission
Article types and submission policies (journal website)
Article types accepted2
- case reportAuthors may use these detailed descriptions of different paper types accepted by Dove Medical Press (case reports, reviews, etc) to decide how to label their pa…Length not stated
- reviewAuthors may use these detailed descriptions of different paper types accepted by Dove Medical Press (case reports, reviews, etc) to decide how to label their pa…Length not stated
Excerpts are quoted from the journal's website; "model summary" lines are written by Workers AI and checked against the text. The journal's website is authoritative.
Profile
Publication details and official links
- Publisher
- Dove Medical Press
- Country or region
- United Kingdom
- Language
- English
- ISSN
- 1178-6957
- Official links
- Journal homepage ↗DOAJ
- Author guidelines ↗LetPub
- Aims & Scope ↗LetPub
- Special issues ↗Publisher website
- APC information ↗DOAJ
- Fee waivers ↗DOAJ
- Open access statement ↗DOAJ
- License & copyright ↗DOAJ
- Peer review process ↗LetPub
- Editorial board ↗LetPub
- Plagiarism policy ↗DOAJ
FAQ
Frequently asked questions about Stem Cells and Cloning-Advances and Applications
What CAS zone is Stem Cells and Cloning-Advances and Applications in?
In the 2025 upgraded edition of the CAS Journal Ranking, Stem Cells and Cloning-Advances and Applications is in Zone 4 of Biology, and in Zone 4 of the minor category Cell Biology. In the 2026 Xinrui edition it is in Zone 3 of Biology. Zones from different editions, and from major and minor categories, are not interchangeable.
What is the impact factor of Stem Cells and Cloning-Advances and Applications?
The journal's website gives an impact factor of 2.6 (2025); this is the journal's own figure, as LetPub lists none for it; CiteScore 4.4, h-index 32.
How long does peer review take at Stem Cells and Cloning-Advances and Applications?
Authors report an average review time of about 16 weeks. Article statistics cover accepted papers only, publisher figures follow the journal's own definitions, and community reports come from authors' own submissions; none is a promise from the journal.
Where are the editorial board members of Stem Cells and Cloning-Advances and Applications based?
Of the 27 board members whose country the journal's board page names, none are in mainland China; the countries named most often are United States (17), France (4) and Italy (3). Counted from the institutions listed on the board page; for reference only.
Which databases index Stem Cells and Cloning-Advances and Applications?
According to LetPub and DOAJ records, Stem Cells and Cloning-Advances and Applications is indexed in ESCI, Scopus and DOAJ.
Is Stem Cells and Cloning-Advances and Applications open access, and what is the APC?
Stem Cells and Cloning-Advances and Applications is a fully open-access journal. APC about USD 3,565.
Sources and updates
The facts on this page come from LetPub, OpenAlex, DOAJ, Publisher website; every figure is tagged with its source and the date it was observed, and conflicting values are kept per source. LetPub source page: view ↗ (archived 2026-08-26). Last updated: .