Journal profile · ANESTHESIOLOGY

Sri Lankan Journal of Anaesthesiology

ISSN 1391-8834 · eISSN 2279-1965 · College of Anaesthesiologists of Sri Lanka · Sri Lanka

Sri Lankan Journal of Anaesthesiology: CAS Zone 4 · Medicine (2025 upgraded edition); diamond open access (no APC); no APC; review about 12 weeks (community reports); 36 articles in 2025; indexed in ESCI and Scopus.

Impact factor—No published value
CAS zoneZone 4 · Medicine2025 upgraded edition, major category · 2026 Xinrui edition Zone 4 · Medicine
Review timeabout 12 weeksCommunity average
APCNo APCDiamond open access (no APC)
Acceptance—No reports yet
Articles per year362025 · OpenAlex count

Scope

Aims, scope and focus

Sri Lankan Journal of Anaesthesiology is published by College of Anaesthesiologists of Sri Lanka and is in Zone 4 of Medicine in the CAS Journal Ranking (2025 upgraded edition). By OpenAlex counts of its recent articles, its largest topics are Cardiac, Anesthesia and Surgical Outcomes, Airway Management and Intubation Techniques and Anesthesia and Pain Management, together about 46.2% of its articles. Its main subfields are Surgery. (generated from OpenAlex topic counts and CAS ranking data)

The Sri Lankan Journal of Anaesthesiology is published bi annually (January and June) in print form and as an open access journal in SLJOL by The College of Anaesthesiologists and Intensivists of Sri Lanka. The journal publishes original work in all branches of anaesthesia, critical care and pain management including the application of basic sciences, clinical practice, equipment and training. In addition, the journal publishes review articles, case reports and special articles of general interest. All articles published in the journal are deposited with Crossref.

From the journal's Aims & Scope

Research area (LetPub): ANESTHESIOLOGY

Editorial board by country: none in mainland China; most named Sri Lanka 5 (5 members with a country) Editorial board ↗Publisher website ·

Main research topics OpenAlex counts of recent articles; shares are approximate

  1. Cardiac, Anesthesia and Surgical OutcomesMedicine18.2%
  2. Airway Management and Intubation TechniquesMedicine14.3%
  3. Anesthesia and Pain ManagementMedicine13.7%
  4. Anesthesia and Sedative AgentsMedicine8.4%
  5. Tracheal and airway disordersMedicine6.5%
  6. Respiratory Support and MechanismsMedicine5%
  7. Nausea and vomiting managementMedicine4.9%
  8. Anesthesia and Neurotoxicity ResearchNeuroscience2.8%

Rankings & indexing

CAS ranking and database indexing

CAS Journal Ranking

CAS Journal Ranking, upgraded edition (March 2025)Medicine Zone 4
LevelCategoryZone
MajorMedicineZone 4
MinorAnesthesiologyZone 4

Top journal: noReview journal: no

CAS Xinrui Journal Ranking (March 2026)Medicine Zone 4
LevelCategoryZone
MajorMedicineZone 4
MinorAnesthesiologyZone 4

Top journal: noReview journal: not marked

CAS Journal Ranking, previous upgraded edition (December 2023)Not covered

Not covered by this edition.

Database indexing

ESCIScopusDOAJLetPub

International journal early-warning lists: not listed in any editionLetPub

Editions, and major and minor categories, are shown separately and never merged into one zone; check which edition your institution uses before you submit or report.

Metrics

Impact metrics and publication volume

Impact

CiteScore 2026-06
0.1LetPub ·
SJR 2026-06
0.11LetPub ·
SNIP 2026-06
0.05LetPub ·
h-index
11OpenAlex ·
i10-index
14OpenAlex ·
2-year mean citedness
0.14OpenAlex ·
Self-citation rate
0%LetPub ·
Share of gold OA articles
94.94%LetPub ·

Volume

Articles per year
28LetPub ·
Articles per year (publisher)
4Publisher website ·

Articles by year OpenAlex count · 576 in total · the current year is incomplete

YearArticlesOpen accessCitations
202646460
202536365
2024272710
202330307
2022333313
2021414128

Sources count differently and were observed at different times, so each source's own value is kept; "publisher" marks figures from the journal's website.

Review & acceptance

Review time and acceptance

Average review time (community reports)
about 12 weeksLetPub ·
Submission to publication (journal-reported)
about 12 weeksDOAJ ·
Peer review
Double anonymous peer reviewDOAJ

Community reports come from authors' own submissions (confidence 0.5) and are not a promise from the journal; for publisher figures, the journal's own definitions apply.

Fees & open access

APC and open-access policy

Diamond open access (no APC)DOAJ

Every article is open access and authors pay no article processing charge.

SourceAPCFee waiverLicenseObserved
DOAJNo APCNoCC BY
LetPubNo APCNo—
Publisher websiteUSD 50——

Other charges and waivers (author guidelines)

Submission fee
USD 30

The journal's website is authoritative for fees; sources were observed at different times and each keeps its own value, without averaging.

Submission

Article types and submission policies (journal website)

What to prepare8 items from the author guidelines
Abstract
≤ 250 words
Manuscript length
≤ 2,000 words
Reference style
Vancouver
First submission
Free format: the journal's layout is not required
Suggested reviewers
Optional
Highlights
Optional
Graphical abstract
Optional
Cover letter
Required
Publisher website · model-extracted, each line checked against the text
Article types accepted11, with length limits
  1. auditAuditLength not stated
  2. brief reportThis category includes preliminary reports, novel patient management methods, and technical reports of new techniques and devices. They should be limited to 100…main text ≤ 1,000 words · abstract ≤ 200 words · references ≤ 10
  3. case reportsCase reports These should be on drug trials, adverse effects, new management methods and use of new techniques and devices. Ensure that informed consent is obta…Length not stated
  4. cme articlesCME articles They should not exceed 2000 words, 5 tables or illustrations and 20 references.Length not stated
  5. cme lecturesCME LecturesLength not stated
  6. correspondenceCorrespondenceLength not stated
  7. editorialsEditorialsLength not stated
  8. original researchOriginal research This should report research related to anaesthesia, pain and intensive care. The paper should be less than 2000 words with 5 tables or illustr…Length not stated
  9. points of view and correspondencePoints of view and correspondence SLJA welcomes submissions expressing opinions, presenting hypotheses, broaching controversial issues, and clarifying recent ad…Length not stated
  10. research articleResearch articleLength not stated
  11. review articlesReview articles These would be solicited by the editors and would be expert opinion on current topics. They should not exceed 1500 words and 20 references.Length not stated
Publisher website
Policy excerpts from the journal's websiteLicense & copyright, Open access
License & copyright Copyright Notice

Authors who publish with this journal agree to the following terms:Authors retain copyright and grant the journal right of first publication with the work simultaneously licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution License that allows others to share the work with an acknowledgement of the work's authorship and initial publication in this journal.Authors are able to enter into separate, additiona…

Source ↗Publisher website ·
Open access Open Access Policy

This journal provides immediate open access to its content on the principle that making research freely available to the public supports a greater global exchange of knowledge.

Source ↗Publisher website ·

Excerpts are quoted from the journal's website; "model summary" lines are written by Workers AI and checked against the text. The journal's website is authoritative.

Profile

Publication details and official links

Publisher
College of Anaesthesiologists of Sri Lanka
Country or region
Sri Lanka
Language
English
ISSN
1391-8834
Electronic ISSN
2279-1965
Society / sponsor
College of Anaesthesiologists and Intensivists of Sri Lanka
Latest issue on the website
Volume 34, Issue 2 (2026)
Official links

FAQ

Frequently asked questions about Sri Lankan Journal of Anaesthesiology

What CAS zone is Sri Lankan Journal of Anaesthesiology in?

In the 2025 upgraded edition of the CAS Journal Ranking, Sri Lankan Journal of Anaesthesiology is in Zone 4 of Medicine, and in Zone 4 of the minor category Anesthesiology. In the 2026 Xinrui edition it is in Zone 4 of Medicine. Zones from different editions, and from major and minor categories, are not interchangeable.

How long does peer review take at Sri Lankan Journal of Anaesthesiology?

Authors report an average review time of about 12 weeks. Article statistics cover accepted papers only, publisher figures follow the journal's own definitions, and community reports come from authors' own submissions; none is a promise from the journal.

What are the manuscript requirements of Sri Lankan Journal of Anaesthesiology?

According to the journal's author guidelines: Abstract: ≤ 250 words; Manuscript length: ≤ 2,000 words; Reference style: Vancouver; First submission: Free format: the journal's layout is not required; Suggested reviewers: Optional; Highlights: Optional; Graphical abstract: Optional; Cover letter: Required. A model extracted these from the author guidelines and each was checked against the text; check the latest version on the journal's website before submitting.

Where are the editorial board members of Sri Lankan Journal of Anaesthesiology based?

Of the 5 board members whose country the journal's board page names, none are in mainland China; the countries named most often are Sri Lanka (5). Counted from the institutions listed on the board page; for reference only.

Which databases index Sri Lankan Journal of Anaesthesiology?

According to LetPub and DOAJ records, Sri Lankan Journal of Anaesthesiology is indexed in ESCI, Scopus and DOAJ.

Is Sri Lankan Journal of Anaesthesiology open access, and what is the APC?

Sri Lankan Journal of Anaesthesiology is a diamond open-access journal (no APC). It charges no article processing charge.

Sources and updates

The facts on this page come from LetPub, Publisher website, OpenAlex, DOAJ; every figure is tagged with its source and the date it was observed, and conflicting values are kept per source. LetPub source page: view ↗ (archived 2026-08-26). Last updated: .