Journal profile · ECONOMICS
South Asian Journal of Macroeconomics and Public Finance
ISSN 2277-9787 · eISSN 2321-0273 · SAGE
South Asian Journal of Macroeconomics and Public Finance: CAS Zone 4 · Economics (2025 upgraded edition); impact factor 0.9 (journal website); hybrid open access; APC about USD 3,650; 14 articles in 2025; indexed in ESCI and Scopus.
Scope
Aims, scope and focus
South Asian Journal of Macroeconomics and Public Finance is published by SAGE and is in Zone 4 of Economics in the CAS Journal Ranking (2025 upgraded edition). By OpenAlex counts of its recent articles, its largest topics are Monetary Policy and Economic Impact, Fiscal Policy and Economic Growth and Global Financial Crisis and Policies, together about 39.5% of its articles. Its main subfields are Economics and Econometrics and General Economics, Econometrics and Finance. (generated from OpenAlex topic counts and CAS ranking data)
The purpose of the journal is to publish (in English language) peer-reviewed articles, reviews and scholarly comments on issues relating to contemporary global macroeconomics and public finance by which is understood. View full journal description This journal is a member of the Committee on Publication Ethics (COPE).
From the journal's Aims & Scope
Research area (LetPub): ECONOMICS
Editor-in-chief Sugata MarjitPublisher website
Editorial board by country: none in mainland China; most named United States 8, India 7, Germany 3, United Kingdom 2, Hong Kong, China 1 (22 members with a country) Editorial board ↗Publisher website ·
Main research topics OpenAlex counts of recent articles; shares are approximate
- Monetary Policy and Economic ImpactEconomics, Econometrics and Finance16.4%
- Fiscal Policy and Economic GrowthEconomics, Econometrics and Finance13.2%
- Global Financial Crisis and PoliciesEconomics, Econometrics and Finance10%
- Economic Theory and PolicyEconomics, Econometrics and Finance9.1%
- Fiscal Policies and Political EconomyEconomics, Econometrics and Finance5.9%
- Global trade and economicsEconomics, Econometrics and Finance5.1%
- Economic Growth and ProductivityEconomics, Econometrics and Finance4.8%
- Market Dynamics and VolatilityEconomics, Econometrics and Finance4.6%
Rankings & indexing
CAS ranking and database indexing
CAS Journal Ranking
CAS Journal Ranking, upgraded edition (March 2025)Economics Zone 4
| Level | Category | Zone |
|---|---|---|
| Major | Economics | Zone 4 |
| Minor | Economics | Zone 4 |
Top journal: noReview journal: no
CAS Xinrui Journal Ranking (March 2026)Economics Zone 4
| Level | Category | Zone |
|---|---|---|
| Major | Economics | Zone 4 |
| Minor | Economics | Zone 4 |
Top journal: noReview journal: not marked
CAS Journal Ranking, previous upgraded edition (December 2023)Not covered
Not covered by this edition.
Database indexing
ESCIScopusLetPub
International journal early-warning lists: not listed in any editionLetPub
Editions, and major and minor categories, are shown separately and never merged into one zone; check which edition your institution uses before you submit or report.
Metrics
Impact metrics and publication volume
Impact
- Impact factor (publisher)
- 0.9Publisher website ·
- 5-year impact factor (publisher)
- 1.1Publisher website ·
- CiteScore 2026-06
- 1.8LetPub ·
- SJR 2026-06
- 0.26LetPub ·
- SNIP 2026-06
- 0.52LetPub ·
- h-index
- 16OpenAlex ·
- i10-index
- 26OpenAlex ·
- 2-year mean citedness
- 1.2OpenAlex ·
- Self-citation rate
- 0%LetPub ·
- Share of gold OA articles
- 14.81%LetPub ·
Volume
- Articles per year
- 13LetPub ·
- Articles per year (publisher)
- 3Publisher website ·
Articles by year OpenAlex count · 159 in total · the current year is incomplete
| Year | Articles | Open access | Citations |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2026 | 7 | 0 | 1 |
| 2025 | 14 | 5 | 12 |
| 2024 | 9 | 4 | 23 |
| 2023 | 8 | 4 | 34 |
| 2022 | 10 | 1 | 60 |
| 2021 | 14 | 2 | 99 |
Sources count differently and were observed at different times, so each source's own value is kept; "publisher" marks figures from the journal's website.
Review & acceptance
Review time and acceptance
- Peer review
- Double anonymous peer reviewPublisher website
Community reports come from authors' own submissions (confidence 0.5) and are not a promise from the journal; for publisher figures, the journal's own definitions apply.
Fees & open access
APC and open-access policy
A subscription journal in which authors can pay to publish their article open access.
| Source | APC | Fee waiver | License | Observed |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| OpenAlex | USD 3,650 / GBP 2,676 | — | — |
A hybrid journal charges the APC only when the author chooses open access; publishing under the subscription model is usually free.
The journal's website is authoritative for fees; sources were observed at different times and each keeps its own value, without averaging.
Submission
Article types and submission policies (journal website)
What to prepare4 items from the author guidelines
- Abstract
- 150–200 words
- Keywords
- ≥ 4
- Manuscript length
- ≤ 7,000 words
- Reference style
- APA
Article types accepted7, with length limits
- book reviewThere could be three to five sections in the journal. Theoretical and Applied Research (academic research articles by academics or practitioners. The research p…main text ≤ 1,200 words
- literature reviewThere could be three to five sections in the journal. Theoretical and Applied Research (academic research articles by academics or practitioners. The research p…Length not stated
- research articleThere could be three to five sections in the journal. Theoretical and Applied Research (academic research articles by academics or practitioners. The research p…Length not stated
- research paperThere could be three to five sections in the journal. Theoretical and Applied Research (academic research articles by academics or practitioners. The research p…Length not stated
- review articleThere could be three to five sections in the journal. Theoretical and Applied Research (academic research articles by academics or practitioners. The research p…Length not stated
- review articlesReview Articles (critical literature review of published works)—These must be up to 5000-word critical literature review of published work.Length not stated
- theoretical and applied researchTheoretical and Applied Research (academic research articles by academics or practitioners. The research papers can be analytical and/or empirical)—These must b…Length not stated
Policy excerpts from the journal's websiteAuthorship, Data availability, Publication ethics, Open access, Peer review, Plagiarism, Preprints, Trial registration / reporting guidelines
- Authorship Authorship
Please view our authorship policies, which includes information on criteria for authorship, who should be the corresponding author and more. Please note that AI chatbots, for example ChatGPT, should not be listed as authors. For more information see the policy on Use of ChatGPT and generative AI tools.
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Data availability Data availability
The Journal is committed to facilitating openness, transparency and reproducibility of research, and has the following research data sharing policy. For more information, including FAQs please visit the Sage Research Data policy pages. Subject to appropriate ethical and legal considerations, authors are encouraged to: Share your research data in a relevant public data repository Include a data ava…
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Publication ethics Ethical considerations
COPE member Model summary
Please include your ethics approval statements under this heading, even if you have already included ethics approval information in your methods section. If ethical approval was not required, you need to explicitly state this. All papers reporting studies involving human participants, human data or human tissue must state that the relevant Ethics Committee or Institutional Review Board approved th…
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Open access Publishing fees and open access
Optional open access publishing is available for a fee via the Sage Choice program, and Open Access agreements, where authors can publish open access either discounted or free of charge depending on the agreement with Sage. Find out if your institution is participating by visiting Open Access Agreements at Sage. Open Access agreement eligibility is determined by the corresponding author’s affiliat…
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Peer review Peer review policy
Double anonymized peer review Model summary
The following summary describes the peer review process for this journal: Identity transparency: Double-anonymized Reviewer interacts with: Editor Review information published: None Your manuscript will undergo an initial evaluation. If it does not conform to the requirements laid out in these guidelines, it will be returned to you for amendments prior to peer review. Manuscripts may be desk rejec…
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Plagiarism Plagiarism
The journal and Sage take issues of copyright infringement, plagiarism or other breaches of best practice in publication very seriously. Please read Sage's complete policy on plagiarism and the actions we may take.
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Preprints Preprints
The journal will consider submissions of manuscripts that have been posted on preprint servers. Please enter the preprint DOI in the designated field when submitting your manuscript. We advise that you inform the Journal Editorial office about your posted preprint at submission. Note that you should not post an updated version of your manuscript on a preprint server while it is being peer reviewed…
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Trial registration / reporting guidelines Clinical trial registration
The journal conforms to the ICMJE requirement that clinical trials are registered in a WHO-approved public trials registry at or before the time of first participant enrollment as a condition of consideration for publication. The trial registry name and URL, and registration number must be included at the end of the abstract.
Source ↗Publisher website ·
Excerpts are quoted from the journal's website; "model summary" lines are written by Workers AI and checked against the text. The journal's website is authoritative.
Profile
Publication details and official links
- Publisher
- SAGE
- ISSN
- 2277-9787
- Electronic ISSN
- 2321-0273
- Official links
- Journal homepage ↗OpenAlex
- Special issues ↗Publisher website
FAQ
Frequently asked questions about South Asian Journal of Macroeconomics and Public Finance
What CAS zone is South Asian Journal of Macroeconomics and Public Finance in?
In the 2025 upgraded edition of the CAS Journal Ranking, South Asian Journal of Macroeconomics and Public Finance is in Zone 4 of Economics, and in Zone 4 of the minor category Economics. In the 2026 Xinrui edition it is in Zone 4 of Economics. Zones from different editions, and from major and minor categories, are not interchangeable.
What is the impact factor of South Asian Journal of Macroeconomics and Public Finance?
The journal's website gives an impact factor of 0.9; this is the journal's own figure, as LetPub lists none for it; CiteScore 1.8, h-index 16.
What are the manuscript requirements of South Asian Journal of Macroeconomics and Public Finance?
According to the journal's author guidelines: Abstract: 150–200 words; Keywords: ≥ 4; Manuscript length: ≤ 7,000 words; Reference style: APA. A model extracted these from the author guidelines and each was checked against the text; check the latest version on the journal's website before submitting.
Where are the editorial board members of South Asian Journal of Macroeconomics and Public Finance based?
Of the 22 board members whose country the journal's board page names, none are in mainland China; the countries named most often are United States (8), India (7) and Germany (3). Counted from the institutions listed on the board page; for reference only.
Which databases index South Asian Journal of Macroeconomics and Public Finance?
According to LetPub and DOAJ records, South Asian Journal of Macroeconomics and Public Finance is indexed in ESCI and Scopus.
Is South Asian Journal of Macroeconomics and Public Finance open access, and what is the APC?
South Asian Journal of Macroeconomics and Public Finance is a hybrid journal. For open-access publication: APC about USD 3,650.
Sources and updates
The facts on this page come from LetPub, OpenAlex, Publisher website; every figure is tagged with its source and the date it was observed, and conflicting values are kept per source. LetPub source page: view ↗ (archived 2026-08-26). Last updated: .