Journal profile · Arts and Humanities-Literature and Literary Theory

Slovenske Divadlo

ISSN 0037-699X · eISSN 1336-8605 · Slovak Academy of Sciences · Slovakia

Slovenske Divadlo: diamond open access (no APC); no APC; review about 6 weeks (community reports); 23 articles in 2025; indexed in Scopus.

Impact factor—No published value
CAS zone—Not in the CAS Journal Ranking
CiteScore quartileQ3Literature and Literary Theory · rank 712/1186 · 40th percentile
Review timeabout 6 weeksCommunity average
APCNo APCDiamond open access (no APC)
Acceptance—No reports yet
Articles per year232025 · OpenAlex count

Scope

Aims, scope and focus

Slovenske Divadlo is published by Slovak Academy of Sciences. By OpenAlex counts of its recent articles, its largest topics are Theatre and Performance Studies, Theater, Performance, and Music History and Central European Literary Studies, together about 56.5% of its articles. Its main subfields are Visual Arts and Performing Arts. (generated from OpenAlex topic counts and CAS ranking data)

Slovenské divadlo : revue dramatických umení (The Slovak Theatre : Review of Dramatic Arts) is a quarterly double-blind peer-reviewed journal of theory and history of theatre, film, radio broadcasting and television art. It is the only and the oldest Slovak journal with this kind of interdisciplinary and interspecific focus. Established in 1953, Slovenské divadlo continues to be published continualy ever since with current number of pages 400-450 per year. Its essential function is to provide a prestigious platform for theatre and film studies and theoretical thinking, including continual search for collaboration with reputable authors as well as promissing PhD. students. The journal´s ambition is also to provide international accessibility of national research. Beginning with 2013, its quarterly periodicity was thus amplified by adding one special issue in English language yearly. Since 2016, the yearly structure of content was modified to three (usually monothematic) issues in Slovak and one in English language.

From the journal's Aims & Scope

Research area (LetPub): Arts and Humanities-Literature and Literary Theory

Editor-in-chief Michaela MojžišováPublisher website

Editorial board by country: none in mainland China; most named Slovakia 3 (3 members with a country) Editorial board ↗Publisher website ·

Main research topics OpenAlex counts of recent articles; shares are approximate

  1. Theatre and Performance StudiesArts and Humanities31.8%
  2. Theater, Performance, and Music HistoryArts and Humanities14.7%
  3. Central European Literary StudiesSocial Sciences9.9%
  4. Cinema History and CriticismArts and Humanities9.3%
  5. Arts and Performance StudiesArts and Humanities8%
  6. Musicology and Musical AnalysisArts and Humanities4.6%
  7. Shakespeare, Adaptation, and Literary CriticismArts and Humanities3%
  8. German Literature and Culture StudiesArts and Humanities2.6%

Rankings & indexing

CAS ranking and database indexing

CAS Journal Ranking

CAS Journal Ranking, upgraded edition (March 2025)Not covered

Not covered by this edition.

CAS Xinrui Journal Ranking (March 2026)Not covered

Not covered by this edition.

CAS Journal Ranking, previous upgraded edition (December 2023)Not covered

Not covered by this edition.

CiteScore quartiles (Scopus, June 2026 release)

SubjectQuartileRankPercentile
Literature and Literary TheoryQ3712/118640th
Visual Arts and Performing ArtsQ3437/69737th
HistoryQ31381/193628th
MusicQ4150/19623rd
Cultural StudiesQ41137/143420th
CommunicationQ4502/5417th

Scopus ranks journals by CiteScore within each subject: the 75th percentile and above is Q1, then a quartile every 25 points. A different system from the CAS zones.LetPub

Database indexing

ScopusDOAJLetPub

International journal early-warning lists: not listed in any editionLetPub

Editions, and major and minor categories, are shown separately and never merged into one zone; check which edition your institution uses before you submit or report.

Metrics

Impact metrics and publication volume

Impact

CiteScore 2026-06
0.2LetPub ·
SJR 2026-06
0.19LetPub ·
SNIP 2026-06
0.8LetPub ·
h-index
2OpenAlex ·
i10-index
0OpenAlex ·
2-year mean citedness
0.04OpenAlex ·
Share of gold OA articles
0%LetPub ·

Articles by year OpenAlex count · 302 in total · the current year is incomplete

YearArticlesOpen accessCitations
202621214
202523234
202430307
202331316
202227278
202132328

Sources count differently and were observed at different times, so each source's own value is kept; "publisher" marks figures from the journal's website.

Review & acceptance

Review time and acceptance

Average review time (community reports)
about 6 weeksLetPub ·
Submission to first decision
42 daysPublisher website ·
Submission to publication (journal-reported)
about 6 weeksDOAJ ·
Peer review
Double anonymous peer reviewDOAJ

Community reports come from authors' own submissions (confidence 0.5) and are not a promise from the journal; for publisher figures, the journal's own definitions apply.

Fees & open access

APC and open-access policy

Diamond open access (no APC)DOAJ

Every article is open access and authors pay no article processing charge.

SourceAPCFee waiverLicenseObserved
DOAJNo APCNoCC BY-NC
LetPubNo APCNo—

The journal's website is authoritative for fees; sources were observed at different times and each keeps its own value, without averaging.

Submission

Article types and submission policies (journal website)

What to prepare2 items from the author guidelines
Keywords
5–10
Reference style
Numbered, in order of citation
Publisher website · model-extracted, each line checked against the text
Article types accepted4
  1. notes, obituaries, etc.Notes, Obituaries, etc.: approx. 5,400 characters, spaces included.Length not stated
  2. outlooksOutlooks: 18, 000 – 36,000 characters, spaces included;Length not stated
  3. reviewsReviews: 7,200 – 14, 400 characters, spaces included;Length not stated
  4. studiesThe usual length of studies is 36,000 characters, spaces included (1 standard page = 1,800 characters).Length not stated
Publisher website
Policy excerpts from the journal's websitePeer review
Peer review

Double-blind peer review Model summary

All papers are independently peer-reviewed, and the review procedure is anonymous on both sides.

Source ↗Publisher website ·

Excerpts are quoted from the journal's website; "model summary" lines are written by Workers AI and checked against the text. The journal's website is authoritative.

Profile

Publication details and official links

Publisher
Slovak Academy of Sciences
Country or region
Slovakia
Language
English, Slovak
ISSN
0037-699X
Electronic ISSN
1336-8605
Official links

FAQ

Frequently asked questions about Slovenske Divadlo

How long does peer review take at Slovenske Divadlo?

Authors report an average review time of about 6 weeks. Article statistics cover accepted papers only, publisher figures follow the journal's own definitions, and community reports come from authors' own submissions; none is a promise from the journal.

What are the manuscript requirements of Slovenske Divadlo?

According to the journal's author guidelines: Keywords: 5–10; Reference style: Numbered, in order of citation. A model extracted these from the author guidelines and each was checked against the text; check the latest version on the journal's website before submitting.

Where are the editorial board members of Slovenske Divadlo based?

Of the 3 board members whose country the journal's board page names, none are in mainland China; the countries named most often are Slovakia (3). Counted from the institutions listed on the board page; for reference only.

Which databases index Slovenske Divadlo?

According to LetPub and DOAJ records, Slovenske Divadlo is indexed in Scopus and DOAJ.

Is Slovenske Divadlo open access, and what is the APC?

Slovenske Divadlo is a diamond open-access journal (no APC). It charges no article processing charge.

Sources and updates

The facts on this page come from LetPub, OpenAlex, Publisher website, DOAJ; every figure is tagged with its source and the date it was observed, and conflicting values are kept per source. LetPub source page: view ↗ (archived 2026-08-25). Last updated: .