Journal profile · Social Sciences-Linguistics and Language
Signo y Pensamiento
ISSN 0120-4823 · eISSN 2027-2731 · Pontificia Universidad Javeriana · Colombia
Signo y Pensamiento: diamond open access (no APC); no APC; review about 20 weeks (community reports); 23 articles in 2025; indexed in Scopus.
Scope
Aims, scope and focus
Signo y Pensamiento is published by Pontificia Universidad Javeriana. By OpenAlex counts of its recent articles, its largest topics are Media and Communication Studies, Media Studies and Communication and Journalism and Media Studies, together about 36.5% of its articles. Its main subfields are Communication. (generated from OpenAlex topic counts and CAS ranking data)
Signo y Pensamiento es una revista semestral de carácter académico sobre comunicación, medios, ciencias de la información, lenguas y pedagogías del lenguaje.
From the journal's Aims & Scope
Research area (LetPub): Social Sciences-Linguistics and Language
Main research topics OpenAlex counts of recent articles; shares are approximate
- Media and Communication StudiesSocial Sciences14.2%
- Media Studies and CommunicationSocial Sciences12.7%
- Journalism and Media StudiesSocial Sciences9.6%
- Media and Digital CommunicationComputer Science5.8%
- Media, Communication, and EducationSocial Sciences5.7%
- Advertising and Communication StudiesSocial Sciences5.4%
- Media, Journalism, and Communication HistoryArts and Humanities4.3%
- Communication Studies and MediaSocial Sciences3.4%
Rankings & indexing
CAS ranking and database indexing
CAS Journal Ranking
CAS Journal Ranking, upgraded edition (March 2025)Not covered
Not covered by this edition.
CAS Xinrui Journal Ranking (March 2026)Not covered
Not covered by this edition.
CAS Journal Ranking, previous upgraded edition (December 2023)Not covered
Not covered by this edition.
CiteScore quartiles (Scopus, June 2026 release)
| Subject | Quartile | Rank | Percentile |
|---|---|---|---|
| Linguistics and Language | Q3 | 863/1221 | — |
| Communication | Q4 | 472/541 | — |
Scopus ranks journals by CiteScore within each subject: the 75th percentile and above is Q1, then a quartile every 25 points. A different system from the CAS zones.LetPub
Database indexing
ScopusDOAJLetPub
International journal early-warning lists: not listed in any editionLetPub
Indexing the journal's website claims
SciELOPublisher website
Other: EBSCO, ProQuest, Latindex, Redalyc, Dialnet, Publindex
As the journal's website lists them, not checked against each database; for Web of Science editions the records above apply.
Editions, and major and minor categories, are shown separately and never merged into one zone; check which edition your institution uses before you submit or report.
Metrics
Impact metrics and publication volume
Impact
- CiteScore 2026-06
- 0.3LetPub ·
- SJR 2026-06
- 0.14LetPub ·
- SNIP 2026-06
- 0.12LetPub ·
- h-index
- 15OpenAlex ·
- i10-index
- 31OpenAlex ·
- 2-year mean citedness
- 0.32OpenAlex ·
- Share of gold OA articles
- 0%LetPub ·
Articles by year OpenAlex count · 750 in total · the current year is incomplete
| Year | Articles | Open access | Citations |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2026 | 17 | 17 | 60 |
| 2025 | 23 | 23 | 83 |
| 2024 | 17 | 17 | 134 |
| 2023 | 27 | 27 | 136 |
| 2022 | 34 | 34 | 93 |
| 2021 | 13 | 13 | 139 |
Sources count differently and were observed at different times, so each source's own value is kept; "publisher" marks figures from the journal's website.
Review & acceptance
Review time and acceptance
- Average review time (community reports)
- about 20 weeksLetPub ·
- Submission to publication (journal-reported)
- about 20 weeksDOAJ ·
- Peer review
- Double anonymous peer reviewDOAJ
Community reports come from authors' own submissions (confidence 0.5) and are not a promise from the journal; for publisher figures, the journal's own definitions apply.
Fees & open access
APC and open-access policy
Every article is open access and authors pay no article processing charge.
| Source | APC | Fee waiver | License | Observed |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| DOAJ | No APC | No | CC BY | |
| LetPub | No APC | No | — |
The journal's website is authoritative for fees; sources were observed at different times and each keeps its own value, without averaging.
Submission
Article types and submission policies (journal website)
What to prepare5 items from the author guidelines
- Abstract
- 100–150 words
- Manuscript length
- ≤ 8,000 words
- Reference style
- APA
- First submission
- Free format: the journal's layout is not required
- Cover letter
- Required
Article types accepted2
- artículos de investigaciónArtículos de investigación Esta sección incluye documentos que presentan los hallazgos innovadores de investigaciones terminadas.Length not stated
- reseñas de librosLineamientos generales sobre la reseñas de libros: a. Signo y Pensamiento incluye generalmente dos o tres reseñas de libros por número.Length not stated
Policy excerpts from the journal's websiteLicense & copyright, Peer review
- License & copyright
Creative Commons Reconocimiento 4.0 Internacional (CC BY 4.0) Model summary
La revista SIGNO Y PENSAMIENTO se encuentra registrada bajo la licencia Creative Commons Reconocimiento 4.0 Internacional.
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Peer review
Doble ciego Model summary
Los artículos se someterán a revisión de dos árbitros que no conocerán el nombre del autor y este tampoco sabrá quiénes son los árbitros (evaluación doble ciega).
Source ↗Publisher website ·
Excerpts are quoted from the journal's website; "model summary" lines are written by Workers AI and checked against the text. The journal's website is authoritative.
Profile
Publication details and official links
- Publisher
- Pontificia Universidad Javeriana
- Country or region
- Colombia
- Language
- English
- ISSN
- 0120-4823
- Electronic ISSN
- 2027-2731
- Official links
- Journal homepage ↗LetPub
- Author guidelines ↗LetPub
- Aims & Scope ↗LetPub
- APC information ↗DOAJ
- Open access statement ↗DOAJ
- License & copyright ↗DOAJ
- Peer review process ↗LetPub
- Editorial board ↗LetPub
FAQ
Frequently asked questions about Signo y Pensamiento
How long does peer review take at Signo y Pensamiento?
Authors report an average review time of about 20 weeks. Article statistics cover accepted papers only, publisher figures follow the journal's own definitions, and community reports come from authors' own submissions; none is a promise from the journal.
What are the manuscript requirements of Signo y Pensamiento?
According to the journal's author guidelines: Abstract: 100–150 words; Manuscript length: ≤ 8,000 words; Reference style: APA; First submission: Free format: the journal's layout is not required; Cover letter: Required. A model extracted these from the author guidelines and each was checked against the text; check the latest version on the journal's website before submitting.
Which databases index Signo y Pensamiento?
According to LetPub and DOAJ records, Signo y Pensamiento is indexed in Scopus and DOAJ. The journal's website also lists SciELO; that list has not been checked against each database.
Is Signo y Pensamiento open access, and what is the APC?
Signo y Pensamiento is a diamond open-access journal (no APC). It charges no article processing charge.
Sources and updates
The facts on this page come from LetPub, OpenAlex, DOAJ, Publisher website; every figure is tagged with its source and the date it was observed, and conflicting values are kept per source. LetPub source page: view ↗ (archived 2026-08-26). Last updated: .