Journal profile · ORTHOPEDICS

SICOT-J

ISSN 2426-8887 · EDP Sciences · France

SICOT-J: CAS Zone 4 · Medicine (2025 upgraded edition); impact factor 2.4 (journal website); fully open access; APC about USD 1,641; median 70 days to acceptance (99 articles, last 24 months); 63 articles in 2025; indexed in ESCI and Scopus.

Impact factor2.4From the journal's website, 2025 value
CAS zoneZone 4 · Medicine2025 upgraded edition, major category · 2026 Xinrui edition Zone 3 · Medicine
Review time70 daysMedian, submission to acceptance · 99 articles, last 24 months · PubMed
APCUSD 1,641Fully open access
Acceptance—No reports yet
Articles per year632025 · OpenAlex count

Scope

Aims, scope and focus

SICOT-J is published by EDP Sciences and is in Zone 4 of Medicine in the CAS Journal Ranking (2025 upgraded edition). By OpenAlex counts of its recent articles, its largest topics are Total Knee Arthroplasty Outcomes, Orthopaedic implants and arthroplasty and Hip and Femur Fractures, together about 38% of its articles. Its main subfields are Surgery. (generated from OpenAlex topic counts and CAS ranking data)

SICOT-J Aims: SICOT-J is an official journal of the Société Internationale de Chirurgie Orthopédique et de Traumatologie (SICOT). It has been developed, as a peer reviewed open access journal, to further widen the educational impact of SICOT on the orthopaedic community. It will focus on original clinical, basic and translational research in the field of orthopaedics surgery and traumatology. Scope: SICOT-J will publish Original articles Review articles Surgical Techniques Case reports Congress Proceedings Editorials Letters to the Editors

From the journal's Aims & Scope

Research area (LetPub): ORTHOPEDICS

Editor-in-chief Sébastien LustigPublisher website

Editorial board by country: 2 in mainland China (about 5%); most named France 8, Egypt 7, United Kingdom 6, India 4, United States 3 (44 members with a country) Editorial board ↗Publisher website ·

Main research topics OpenAlex counts of recent articles; shares are approximate

  1. Total Knee Arthroplasty OutcomesMedicine16%
  2. Orthopaedic implants and arthroplastyMedicine14.7%
  3. Hip and Femur FracturesMedicine7.2%
  4. Bone fractures and treatmentsMedicine6.6%
  5. Orthopedic Infections and TreatmentsMedicine5.7%
  6. Knee injuries and reconstruction techniquesMedicine5.6%
  7. Shoulder Injury and TreatmentMedicine5%
  8. Hip disorders and treatmentsMedicine4.9%

Rankings & indexing

CAS ranking and database indexing

CAS Journal Ranking

CAS Journal Ranking, upgraded edition (March 2025)Medicine Zone 4
LevelCategoryZone
MajorMedicineZone 4
MinorOrthopedicsZone 4

Top journal: noReview journal: no

CAS Xinrui Journal Ranking (March 2026)Medicine Zone 3
LevelCategoryZone
MajorMedicineZone 3
MinorOrthopedicsZone 3

Top journal: noReview journal: not marked

CAS Journal Ranking, previous upgraded edition (December 2023)Not covered

Not covered by this edition.

Database indexing

ESCIScopusDOAJLetPub

International journal early-warning lists: not listed in any editionLetPub

Editions, and major and minor categories, are shown separately and never merged into one zone; check which edition your institution uses before you submit or report.

Metrics

Impact metrics and publication volume

Impact

Impact factor (publisher) 2025
2.4Publisher website ·
5-year impact factor (publisher) 2025
2.6Publisher website ·
CiteScore 2026-06
3.6LetPub ·
CiteScore (publisher) 2025
3.6Publisher website ·
SJR 2026-06
0.79LetPub ·
SNIP 2026-06
1.37LetPub ·
h-index
41OpenAlex ·
i10-index
241OpenAlex ·
2-year mean citedness
2.98OpenAlex ·
Self-citation rate
8.3%LetPub ·
Share of gold OA articles
100%LetPub ·

Volume

Articles per year
57LetPub ·

Articles by year OpenAlex count · 641 in total · the current year is incomplete

YearArticlesOpen accessCitations
2026616111
20256363189
20245959346
20233838357
20225050543
202168681,017

Sources count differently and were observed at different times, so each source's own value is kept; "publisher" marks figures from the journal's website.

Review & acceptance

Review time and acceptance

Review time from article dates manuscript dates registered with PubMed · to

70 daysMedian, submission to acceptance · P25–P75 39 days – 108 days

Acceptance to online
median 50 days (102 articles)
Submission to online
median 123 days
Sample
99 articles with submission and acceptance dates (125 in the window); the latest was accepted on

Only articles that were accepted and published are counted, not the time spent on rejected manuscripts, so this usually runs longer than a publisher's "time to first decision".

Other sources

Average review time (community reports)
about 14 weeksLetPub ·
Submission to publication (journal-reported)
about 14 weeksDOAJ ·
Peer review
Double anonymous peer reviewDOAJ

Community reports come from authors' own submissions (confidence 0.5) and are not a promise from the journal; for publisher figures, the journal's own definitions apply.

Fees & open access

APC and open-access policy

Fully open accessDOAJ

Every article is open access; authors usually pay an article processing charge (APC).

SourceAPCFee waiverLicenseObserved
DOAJUSD 1,641 / EUR 1,500YesCC BY
OpenAlexUSD 1,641 / EUR 1,500——
LetPubEUR 950 / USD 1,000Yes—
Publisher websiteNo APC——

The journal's website is authoritative for fees; sources were observed at different times and each keeps its own value, without averaging.

Submission

Article types and submission policies (journal website)

What to prepare5 items from the author guidelines
Abstract
250–300 words
Keywords
≥ 4
Manuscript length
≤ 2,500 words
Reference style
Numbered, in order of citation
First submission
Free format: the journal's layout is not required
Publisher website · model-extracted, each line checked against the text
Article types accepted12, with length limits
  1. case reportSeven types of articles are considered: Original articles Review articles Surgical Techniques Case reports Congress Proceedings Editorials Letters to the Editor…main text ≤ 1,500 words
  2. case reportsSeven types of articles are considered: Original articles Review articles Surgical Techniques Case reports Congress Proceedings Editorials Letters to the Editor…Length not stated
  3. congress proceedingsSeven types of articles are considered: Original articles Review articles Surgical Techniques Case reports Congress Proceedings Editorials Letters to the Editor…Length not stated
  4. editorialSeven types of articles are considered: Original articles Review articles Surgical Techniques Case reports Congress Proceedings Editorials Letters to the Editor…Length not stated
  5. editorialsSeven types of articles are considered: Original articles Review articles Surgical Techniques Case reports Congress Proceedings Editorials Letters to the Editor…Length not stated
  6. letterSeven types of articles are considered: Original articles Review articles Surgical Techniques Case reports Congress Proceedings Editorials Letters to the Editor…Length not stated
  7. letters to the editorsSeven types of articles are considered: Original articles Review articles Surgical Techniques Case reports Congress Proceedings Editorials Letters to the Editor…Length not stated
  8. original articleSeven types of articles are considered: Original articles Review articles Surgical Techniques Case reports Congress Proceedings Editorials Letters to the Editor…main text ≤ 2,500 words
  9. original articlesSeven types of articles are considered: Original articles Review articles Surgical Techniques Case reports Congress Proceedings Editorials Letters to the Editor…Length not stated
  10. review articleSeven types of articles are considered: Original articles Review articles Surgical Techniques Case reports Congress Proceedings Editorials Letters to the Editor…main text ≤ 3,500 words
  11. review articlesSeven types of articles are considered: Original articles Review articles Surgical Techniques Case reports Congress Proceedings Editorials Letters to the Editor…Length not stated
  12. surgical techniquesSeven types of articles are considered: Original articles Review articles Surgical Techniques Case reports Congress Proceedings Editorials Letters to the Editor…Length not stated
Publisher website
Policy excerpts from the journal's websiteAuthorship, Conflicts of interest, Data availability, Publication ethics, License & copyright, Open access, Peer review, Trial registration / reporting guidelines
Authorship 1.2 Authorship

ORCID policy, only authenticated ORCIDs published from October 2024. Model summary

The ICMJE recommends that authorship be based on the following 4 criteria: Substantial contributions to the conception or design of the work; or the acquisition, analysis, or interpretation of data for the work; AND Drafting the work or revising it critically for important intellectual content ; AND Final approval of the version to be published; AND Agreement to be accountable for all aspects of t…

Source ↗Publisher website ·
Conflicts of interest 1.3 Conflict of interest

Authors must disclose whether or not they have a financial relationship with the organization that sponsored the research. They should also state that they have full control of all primary data and that they agree to allow the journal to review their data if requested. Therefore the manuscript must be accompanied by the "Conflicts of Interest Disclosure Form" at the initial submission. Any additio…

Source ↗Publisher website ·
Data availability 1.9 Data sharing policy

Data sharing policy, authors may share data with peer reviewers and upload datasets to online repositories. Model summary

Authors may be invited to share with the peer reviewers during the article evaluation process in a confidential manner the data on which the research is based. Further, as long as the publication of data is not in opposition with patients’ privacy, authors are invited to upload supplemental datasets related to their research to an online repository. Doing so makes it available for both human and m…

Source ↗Publisher website ·
Publication ethics

Reporting guidelines CONSORT, STROBE, PRISMA, STARD depending on study design. Model summary

Depending on the study design, reporting guidelines such as CONSORT, STROBE, PRISMA, STARD should be followed.

Source ↗Publisher website ·
License & copyright

Creative Commons Attribution License 4.0. Model summary

This is an Open Access article distributed under the terms of the Creative Commons Attribution License 4.0, which permits unrestricted use, distribution, and reproduction in any medium, provided the original work is properly cited.

Source ↗Publisher website ·
Open access 1.7 Open access

Open access, all articles freely accessible online immediately upon publication. Model summary

All articles published by SICOT Open Journal are made freely and permanently accessible online immediately upon publication, without subscription charges or registration barriers. Articles are available from the website of the journal (http://www.sicot-j.org), from PubMed Central as soon as the indexation of the journal is effective and from Europe PubMed Central, in various formats. Authors are t…

Source ↗Publisher website ·
Peer review

Double-blind peer review. Model summary

To keep the identity of the authors concealed to the referees, as per SICOT-J’s double-blind peer review procedure, the main manuscript shall be submitted without any information regarding the authors.

Source ↗Publisher website ·
Trial registration / reporting guidelines 1.5 Reporting guidelines and clinical trial registration

Depending on the study design, reporting guidelines such as CONSORT, STROBE, PRISMA, STARD should be followed. For more information about these guidelines authors should visit the websites of the EQUATOR network or the corresponding sources at the NLM website. The policy for clinical trial registration by the ICMJE is given in their recommendations. These should be followed by the authors in this …

Source ↗Publisher website ·

Excerpts are quoted from the journal's website; "model summary" lines are written by Workers AI and checked against the text. The journal's website is authoritative.

Profile

Publication details and official links

Publisher
EDP Sciences
Country or region
France
Language
English
ISSN
2426-8887
Society / sponsor
Société Internationale de Chirurgie Orthopédique et de Traumatologie
Official links

FAQ

Frequently asked questions about SICOT-J

What CAS zone is SICOT-J in?

In the 2025 upgraded edition of the CAS Journal Ranking, SICOT-J is in Zone 4 of Medicine, and in Zone 4 of the minor category Orthopedics. In the 2026 Xinrui edition it is in Zone 3 of Medicine. Zones from different editions, and from major and minor categories, are not interchangeable.

What is the impact factor of SICOT-J?

The journal's website gives an impact factor of 2.4 (2025); this is the journal's own figure, as LetPub lists none for it; CiteScore 3.6, h-index 41.

How long does peer review take at SICOT-J?

Based on the dates recorded on 99 articles published between October 2024 and October 2026 (the last 24 months), the median time from submission to acceptance is 70 days (interquartile range 39–108 days); authors report an average review time of about 14 weeks. Article statistics cover accepted papers only, publisher figures follow the journal's own definitions, and community reports come from authors' own submissions; none is a promise from the journal.

What are the manuscript requirements of SICOT-J?

According to the journal's author guidelines: Abstract: 250–300 words; Keywords: ≥ 4; Manuscript length: ≤ 2,500 words; Reference style: Numbered, in order of citation; First submission: Free format: the journal's layout is not required. A model extracted these from the author guidelines and each was checked against the text; check the latest version on the journal's website before submitting.

Where are the editorial board members of SICOT-J based?

Of the 44 board members whose country the journal's board page names, 2 (about 5%) are in mainland China; the countries named most often are France (8), Egypt (7) and United Kingdom (6). Counted from the institutions listed on the board page; for reference only.

Which databases index SICOT-J?

According to LetPub and DOAJ records, SICOT-J is indexed in ESCI, Scopus and DOAJ.

Is SICOT-J open access, and what is the APC?

SICOT-J is a fully open-access journal. APC about USD 1,641.

Sources and updates

The facts on this page come from LetPub, OpenAlex, DOAJ, Publisher website; every figure is tagged with its source and the date it was observed, and conflicting values are kept per source. LetPub source page: view ↗ (archived 2026-08-26). Last updated: .