Journal profile · Medicine-Pulmonary and Respiratory Medicine
Seminars in Thoracic and Cardiovascular Surgery
ISSN 1043-0679 · eISSN 1532-9488 · Elsevier · UNITED STATES
Seminars in Thoracic and Cardiovascular Surgery: CAS Zone 3 · Medicine (2025 upgraded edition); impact factor 1.94; hybrid open access; APC about USD 3,610; median 105 days to acceptance (95 articles, last 24 months); 91 articles in 2025; indexed in SCIE and Scopus.
Scope
Aims, scope and focus
Seminars in Thoracic and Cardiovascular Surgery is published by Elsevier and is in Zone 3 of Medicine in the CAS Journal Ranking (2025 upgraded edition). By OpenAlex counts of its recent articles, its largest topics are Cardiac Valve Diseases and Treatments, Aortic Disease and Treatment Approaches and Congenital Heart Disease Studies, together about 30.7% of its articles. Its main subfields are Pulmonary and Respiratory Medicine. (generated from OpenAlex topic counts and CAS ranking data)
Official Journal of the American Association for Thoracic SurgerySeminars in Thoracic and Cardiovascular Surgery is devoted to providing a forum for cardiothoracic surgeons to disseminate and discuss important new information and to gain insight into unresolved areas of question in the specialty. Each issue presents readers with a selection of original peer-reviewed articles accompanied by editorial commentary from specialists in the field. In addition, readers are offered valuable invited articles: State of Views editorials and Current Readings highlighting the latest contributions on central or controversial issues. Another prized feature is expert roundtable discussions in which experts debate critical questions for cardiothoracic treatment and care. Seminars is an invitation-only publication that receives original submissions transferred ONLY from its sister publication, The Journal of Thoracic and Cardiovascular Surgery. As we continue to expand the reach of the Journal, we will explore the possibility of accepting unsolicited manuscripts in the future.
From the journal's Aims & Scope
Research area (LetPub): Medicine-Pulmonary and Respiratory Medicine
Editorial board by country: none in mainland China; most named United States 14 (14 members with a country) Editorial board ↗Publisher website ·
Main research topics OpenAlex counts of recent articles; shares are approximate
- Cardiac Valve Diseases and TreatmentsMedicine13.9%
- Aortic Disease and Treatment ApproachesMedicine9.1%
- Congenital Heart Disease StudiesMedicine7.7%
- Cardiac Structural Anomalies and RepairMedicine7.4%
- Lung Cancer Diagnosis and TreatmentMedicine6.4%
- Cardiac, Anesthesia and Surgical OutcomesMedicine6%
- Mechanical Circulatory Support DevicesEngineering4.7%
- Infective Endocarditis Diagnosis and ManagementMedicine4.6%
Rankings & indexing
CAS ranking and database indexing
CAS Journal Ranking
CAS Journal Ranking, upgraded edition (March 2025)Medicine Zone 3
| Level | Category | Zone |
|---|---|---|
| Major | Medicine | Zone 3 |
| Minor | Cardiac & Cardiovascular Systems | Zone 3 |
Top journal: noReview journal: no
CAS Xinrui Journal Ranking (March 2026)Medicine Zone 3
| Level | Category | Zone |
|---|---|---|
| Major | Medicine | Zone 3 |
| Minor | Cardiac & Cardiovascular Systems | Zone 3 |
Top journal: noReview journal: not marked
CAS Journal Ranking, previous upgraded edition (December 2023)Medicine Zone 3
| Level | Category | Zone |
|---|---|---|
| Major | Medicine | Zone 3 |
| Minor | Cardiac & Cardiovascular Systems | Zone 3 |
Top journal: noReview journal: no
Database indexing
SCIEScopusLetPub
International journal early-warning lists: not listed in any editionLetPub
Indexing the journal's website claims
PubMedPublisher website
Other: Crossref
As the journal's website lists them, not checked against each database; for Web of Science editions the records above apply.
Editions, and major and minor categories, are shown separately and never merged into one zone; check which edition your institution uses before you submit or report.
Metrics
Impact metrics and publication volume
Impact
- Impact factor
- 1.94LetPub ·
- Impact factor (publisher)
- 2.2Publisher website ·
- CiteScore 2026-06
- 7LetPub ·
- CiteScore (publisher)
- 7Publisher website ·
- SJR 2026-06
- 0.84LetPub ·
- SNIP 2026-06
- 1.26LetPub ·
- h-index
- 75OpenAlex ·
- i10-index
- 1,058OpenAlex ·
- 2-year mean citedness
- 1.11OpenAlex ·
- Self-citation rate
- 9.1%LetPub ·
- Share of gold OA articles
- 8.38%LetPub ·
Volume
- Articles per year
- 54LetPub ·
Articles by year OpenAlex count · 3,092 in total · the current year is incomplete
| Year | Articles | Open access | Citations |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2026 | 18 | 3 | 1 |
| 2025 | 91 | 12 | 85 |
| 2024 | 51 | 2 | 92 |
| 2023 | 49 | 5 | 76 |
| 2022 | 164 | 38 | 764 |
| 2021 | 420 | 60 | 1,974 |
Sources count differently and were observed at different times, so each source's own value is kept; "publisher" marks figures from the journal's website.
Review & acceptance
Review time and acceptance
Review time from article dates manuscript dates registered with PubMed · to
105 daysMedian, submission to acceptance · P25–P75 64 days – 144 days
- Acceptance to online
- median 27 days (96 articles)
- Submission to online
- median 137 days
- Sample
- 95 articles with submission and acceptance dates (126 in the window); the latest was accepted on
Only articles that were accepted and published are counted, not the time spent on rejected manuscripts, so this usually runs longer than a publisher's "time to first decision".
Other sources
- Submission to first decision
- 22 daysPublisher website ·
- First decision after review
- 45 daysPublisher website ·
- Submission to acceptance
- 119 daysPublisher website ·
- Acceptance to publication
- 13 daysPublisher website ·
Community reports come from authors' own submissions (confidence 0.5) and are not a promise from the journal; for publisher figures, the journal's own definitions apply.
Fees & open access
APC and open-access policy
A subscription journal in which authors can pay to publish their article open access.
| Source | APC | Fee waiver | License | Observed |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| OpenAlex | USD 3,610 / EUR 3,380 / GBP 2,890 / JPY 447,750 | — | — | |
| Publisher website | USD 3,250 | — | — |
A hybrid journal charges the APC only when the author chooses open access; publishing under the subscription model is usually free.
The journal's website is authoritative for fees; sources were observed at different times and each keeps its own value, without averaging.
Submission
Article types and submission policies (journal website)
Article types accepted6, with length limits
- commentaryCommentaries are intended to provide a broad perspective on the importance of this paper for the readers of Seminars. Please indicate why this paper is signific…main text ≤ 500 words
- debateDebate Description: An avenue for robust discussion of controversial topics.Length not stated
- expert opinionExpert Opinion Description: Viewpoint pieces will provide valuable new information to the community from acknowledged experts.Length not stated
- expert reviewExpert Review Description: Short, concise reviews of an important subject for the diagnosis or treatment written by a true expert in the field.Length not stated
- news and viewsNews and Views Description: Authors are invited to write a paper on a "hot topic" and expand on a recent article found in another journal (NEJM, Nature, Cell, e…Length not stated
- state of the artState of the Art Description: Authors are invited to write a review article on a topic selected by the editor that focuses on recently published literature to a…Length not stated
Policy excerpts from the journal's websiteAI use, Authorship, Conflicts of interest, Data availability, License & copyright, Open access, Peer review, Preprints
- AI use Declaration of generative AI in scientific writing
Authors must declare the use of generative AI tools in the manuscript preparation process upon submission of the paper.Generative AI and AI-assisted technologies (“AI tools”) have been rapidly adopted in research and scholarly publishing, offering significant benefits while requiring clear standards for responsible and transparent use.Authors preparing a manuscript for this journal may use AI tool…
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Authorship Authorship Requirements
The AATS Journals follow ICMJE criteria for defining authorship. The following criteria should be met by each listed author:Substantial contributions to the conception or design of the work; or the acquisition, analysis, or interpretation of data for the work; ANDDrafting the work or revising it critically for important intellectual content; ANDFinal approval of the version to be published; ANDAgr…
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Conflicts of interest Conflict of interest
Co-submission to Data in Brief or MethodsX Model summary
All authors must disclose any financial and personal relationships with other people or organizations that could inappropriately influence (bias) their work. Examples of potential conflicts of interest include employment, consultancies, stock ownership, honoraria, paid expert testimony, patent applications/registrations, and grants or other funding. If there are no conflicts of interest then pleas…
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Data availability
Data statement encouraged Model summary
To foster transparency, we encourage you to state the availability of your data in your submission.
Source ↗Publisher website ·- License & copyright Copyright
Copyright: Journal Publishing Agreement upon acceptance Model summary
Upon acceptance of an article, authors will be asked to complete a 'Journal Publishing Agreement' (see more information on this). An e-mail will be sent to the corresponding author confirming receipt of the manuscript together with a 'Journal Publishing Agreement' form or a link to the online version of this agreement.Subscribers may reproduce tables of contents or prepare lists of articles includ…
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Open access Open access
Please visit our Open Access page for more information about open access publishing in this journal.
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Peer review Peer review
Peer review type: single anonymized review process Model summary
This journal operates a single anonymized review process. All contributions will be initially assessed by the editor for suitability for the journal. Papers deemed suitable are then typically sent to a minimum of two independent expert reviewers to assess the scientific quality of the paper. The Editor is responsible for the final decision regarding acceptance or rejection of articles. The Editor'…
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Preprints Preprints
Preprint sharing allowed Model summary
Please note that preprints can be shared anywhere at any time, in line with Elsevier's sharing policy. Sharing your preprints e.g. on a preprint server will not count as prior publication (see 'Multiple, redundant or concurrent publication' for more information).
Source ↗Publisher website ·
Excerpts are quoted from the journal's website; "model summary" lines are written by Workers AI and checked against the text. The journal's website is authoritative.
Profile
Publication details and official links
- Publisher
- Elsevier
- Country or region
- UNITED STATES
- Language
- English
- ISSN
- 1043-0679
- Electronic ISSN
- 1532-9488
- Society / sponsor
- American Association for Thoracic Surgery
- Official links
- Journal homepage ↗LetPub
- Submission system ↗Publisher website
- Special issues ↗Publisher website
FAQ
Frequently asked questions about Seminars in Thoracic and Cardiovascular Surgery
What CAS zone is Seminars in Thoracic and Cardiovascular Surgery in?
In the 2025 upgraded edition of the CAS Journal Ranking, Seminars in Thoracic and Cardiovascular Surgery is in Zone 3 of Medicine, and in Zone 3 of the minor category Cardiac & Cardiovascular Systems. In the 2026 Xinrui edition it is in Zone 3 of Medicine. Zones from different editions, and from major and minor categories, are not interchangeable.
What is the impact factor of Seminars in Thoracic and Cardiovascular Surgery?
The latest impact factor listed by LetPub is 1.94; CiteScore 7, h-index 75.
How long does peer review take at Seminars in Thoracic and Cardiovascular Surgery?
Based on the dates recorded on 95 articles published between October 2024 and October 2026 (the last 24 months), the median time from submission to acceptance is 105 days (interquartile range 64–144 days). Article statistics cover accepted papers only, publisher figures follow the journal's own definitions, and community reports come from authors' own submissions; none is a promise from the journal.
Where are the editorial board members of Seminars in Thoracic and Cardiovascular Surgery based?
Of the 14 board members whose country the journal's board page names, none are in mainland China; the countries named most often are United States (14). Counted from the institutions listed on the board page; for reference only.
Which databases index Seminars in Thoracic and Cardiovascular Surgery?
According to LetPub and DOAJ records, Seminars in Thoracic and Cardiovascular Surgery is indexed in SCIE and Scopus. The journal's website also lists PubMed; that list has not been checked against each database.
Is Seminars in Thoracic and Cardiovascular Surgery open access, and what is the APC?
Seminars in Thoracic and Cardiovascular Surgery is a hybrid journal. For open-access publication: APC about USD 3,610.
Sources and updates
The facts on this page come from LetPub, Publisher website, OpenAlex; every figure is tagged with its source and the date it was observed, and conflicting values are kept per source. LetPub source page: view ↗ (archived 2026-08-26). Last updated: .