Journal profile · ANESTHESIOLOGY

Seminars in Cardiothoracic and Vascular Anesthesia

ISSN 1089-2532 · eISSN 1940-5596 · SAGE

Seminars in Cardiothoracic and Vascular Anesthesia: CAS Zone 4 · Medicine (2025 upgraded edition); impact factor 1.1 (journal website); hybrid open access; APC about USD 4,150; review about 137 days (submission to acceptance, publisher); acceptance rate 40.6% (journal website); 32 articles in 2025; indexed in ESCI and Scopus.

Impact factor1.1From the journal's website, latest value
CAS zoneZone 4 · Medicine2025 upgraded edition, major category · 2026 Xinrui edition Zone 4 · Medicine
Review time137 daysPublisher-reported, submission to acceptance
APCUSD 4,150Hybrid journal: charged only for open-access articles
Acceptance40.6%From the journal's website
Articles per year322025 · OpenAlex count

Scope

Aims, scope and focus

Seminars in Cardiothoracic and Vascular Anesthesia is published by SAGE and is in Zone 4 of Medicine in the CAS Journal Ranking (2025 upgraded edition). By OpenAlex counts of its recent articles, its largest topics are Cardiac, Anesthesia and Surgical Outcomes, Cardiac Valve Diseases and Treatments and Cardiac and Coronary Surgery Techniques, together about 31.7% of its articles. Its main subfields are Surgery. (generated from OpenAlex topic counts and CAS ranking data)

Seminars in Cardiothoracic and Vascular Anesthesia is a quarterly journal that serves the educational needs of clinicians practicing cardiothoracic and vascular anesthesia, thoracic and abdominal transplant anesthesia, pediatric/congenital cardiothoracic anesthesia, and related specialties including critical care medicine. SCVA provides the … | View full journal description This journal is a member of the Committee on Publication Ethics (COPE).

From the journal's Aims & Scope

Research area (LetPub): ANESTHESIOLOGY

Editor-in-chief Benjamin AbramsPublisher website

Editorial board by country: none in mainland China; most named United States 51, South Korea 2, Italy 2, Canada 2, Australia 2 (66 members with a country) Editorial board ↗Publisher website ·

Main research topics OpenAlex counts of recent articles; shares are approximate

  1. Cardiac, Anesthesia and Surgical OutcomesMedicine16.2%
  2. Cardiac Valve Diseases and TreatmentsMedicine8.1%
  3. Cardiac and Coronary Surgery TechniquesMedicine7.4%
  4. Mechanical Circulatory Support DevicesEngineering6.7%
  5. Cardiac Arrest and ResuscitationMedicine6.3%
  6. Congenital Heart Disease StudiesMedicine5.6%
  7. Aortic Disease and Treatment ApproachesMedicine4.8%
  8. Cardiac Structural Anomalies and RepairMedicine4.4%

Rankings & indexing

CAS ranking and database indexing

CAS Journal Ranking

CAS Journal Ranking, upgraded edition (March 2025)Medicine Zone 4
LevelCategoryZone
MajorMedicineZone 4
MinorAnesthesiologyZone 4

Top journal: noReview journal: no

CAS Xinrui Journal Ranking (March 2026)Medicine Zone 4
LevelCategoryZone
MajorMedicineZone 4
MinorAnesthesiologyZone 4

Top journal: noReview journal: not marked

CAS Journal Ranking, previous upgraded edition (December 2023)Not covered

Not covered by this edition.

Database indexing

ESCIScopusLetPub

International journal early-warning lists: not listed in any editionLetPub

Editions, and major and minor categories, are shown separately and never merged into one zone; check which edition your institution uses before you submit or report.

Metrics

Impact metrics and publication volume

Impact

Impact factor (publisher)
1.1Publisher website ·
5-year impact factor (publisher)
1.1Publisher website ·
CiteScore 2026-06
2.7LetPub ·
SJR 2026-06
0.29LetPub ·
SNIP 2026-06
0.43LetPub ·
h-index
50OpenAlex ·
i10-index
348OpenAlex ·
2-year mean citedness
1.35OpenAlex ·
Self-citation rate
27.3%LetPub ·
Share of gold OA articles
12%LetPub ·

Volume

Articles per year
26LetPub ·
Articles per year (publisher)
3Publisher website ·

Articles by year OpenAlex count · 1,143 in total · the current year is incomplete

YearArticlesOpen accessCitations
2026251116
2025321136
2024291364
2023277116
2022367155
2021338220

Sources count differently and were observed at different times, so each source's own value is kept; "publisher" marks figures from the journal's website.

Review & acceptance

Review time and acceptance

Publisher-reported review time from the journal's website

137 dayssubmission to acceptance

The publisher's own definition applies; dates from this journal's articles in the last 24 months are not available yet, so the publisher's figure is used.

Figures by source

Acceptance rate (publisher)
40.6%Publisher website ·
Submission to first decision
10 daysPublisher website ·
Submission to acceptance
137 daysPublisher website ·
Acceptance to publication
13 daysPublisher website ·
Peer review
Double anonymous peer reviewPublisher website

Community reports come from authors' own submissions (confidence 0.5) and are not a promise from the journal; for publisher figures, the journal's own definitions apply.

Fees & open access

APC and open-access policy

Hybrid open accessLetPub

A subscription journal in which authors can pay to publish their article open access.

SourceAPCFee waiverLicenseObserved
OpenAlexUSD 4,150 / GBP 3,043——
Publisher websiteYes, amount not published——

A hybrid journal charges the APC only when the author chooses open access; publishing under the subscription model is usually free.

The journal's website is authoritative for fees; sources were observed at different times and each keeps its own value, without averaging.

Submission

Article types and submission policies (journal website)

What to prepare8 items from the author guidelines
Manuscript length
≤ 6,000 words
Reference style
AMA
Templates
LaTeX and Word
First submission
Free format: the journal's layout is not required
Suggested reviewers
Optional
Highlights
Required
Graphical abstract
Optional
Cover letter
Required
Publisher website · model-extracted, each line checked against the text
Article types accepted6, with length limits
  1. clinical challengesClinical Challenges are a report that describes a clinically challenging case, but focuses on the clinical decision making process in an educational / didactic …Length not stated
  2. narrative reviewView our Special Collections currently accepting submissions. Please visit the Sage Journal Author Gateway for guidance on producing visual and/or video abstrac…main text ≤ 6,000 words
  3. narrative reviewsNarrative Reviews should consist of 2000-6000 words, and can include a 20-50 reference limit. A maximum of 4 tables and 4 figures are permitted. Co-authorship w…Length not stated
  4. reviewView our Special Collections currently accepting submissions. Please visit the Sage Journal Author Gateway for guidance on producing visual and/or video abstrac…Length not stated
  5. review articleView our Special Collections currently accepting submissions. Please visit the Sage Journal Author Gateway for guidance on producing visual and/or video abstrac…main text ≤ 6,000 words
  6. review articlesReview Articles should be written for a targeted length of 4000-6000 words, and can include a wide range of references (typically 30-80). These articles are eit…Length not stated
Publisher website
Policy excerpts from the journal's websiteAuthorship, Data availability, Publication ethics, Open access, Peer review, Plagiarism, Preprints, Trial registration / reporting guidelines
Authorship Authorship

Please view our authorship policies, which includes information on criteria for authorship, who should be the corresponding author and more. Please note that AI chatbots, for example ChatGPT, should not be listed as authors. For more information see the policy on Use of ChatGPT and generative AI tools.

Source ↗Publisher website ·
Data availability Data availability

The Journal is committed to facilitating openness, transparency and reproducibility of research, and has the following research data sharing policy. For more information, including FAQs please visit the Sage Research Data policy pages. Subject to appropriate ethical and legal considerations, authors are encouraged to: Share your research data in a relevant public data repository Include a data ava…

Source ↗Publisher website ·
Publication ethics Ethical considerations

COPE member Model summary

Please include your ethics approval statements under this heading, even if you have already included ethics approval information in your methods section. If ethical approval was not required, you need to explicitly state this. All papers reporting studies involving human participants, human data or human tissue must state that the relevant Ethics Committee or Institutional Review Board approved th…

Source ↗Publisher website ·
Open access Publishing fees and open access

There are no fees payable to submit or publish in this journal. Figures submitted in color will be published in color in the online version of the journal at no cost. If you wish to have color figures in the printed version, the following fees apply: $800 for the first color figure and $200 for each color figure thereafter. Optional open access publishing is available for a fee via the Sage Choice…

Source ↗Publisher website ·
Peer review Peer review policy

Double anonymized peer review Model summary

The following summary describes the peer review process for this journal: Identity transparency: Double-anonymized Reviewer interacts with: Editor Review information published: None Your manuscript will undergo an initial evaluation. If it does not conform to the requirements laid out in these guidelines, it will be returned to you for amendments prior to peer review. Manuscripts may be desk rejec…

Source ↗Publisher website ·
Plagiarism Plagiarism

The journal and Sage take issues of copyright infringement, plagiarism or other breaches of best practice in publication very seriously. Please read Sage's complete policy on plagiarism and the actions we may take.

Source ↗Publisher website ·
Preprints Preprints

The journal will consider submissions of manuscripts that have been posted on preprint servers. Please enter the preprint DOI in the designated field when submitting your manuscript. We advise that you inform the Journal Editorial office about your posted preprint at submission. Note that you should not post an updated version of your manuscript on a preprint server while it is being peer reviewed…

Source ↗Publisher website ·
Trial registration / reporting guidelines Clinical trial registration

The journal conforms to the ICMJE requirement that clinical trials are registered in a WHO-approved public trials registry at or before the time of first participant enrollment as a condition of consideration for publication. The trial registry name and URL, and registration number must be included at the end of the abstract.

Source ↗Publisher website ·

Excerpts are quoted from the journal's website; "model summary" lines are written by Workers AI and checked against the text. The journal's website is authoritative.

Profile

Publication details and official links

Publisher
SAGE
ISSN
1089-2532
Electronic ISSN
1940-5596
Official links

FAQ

Frequently asked questions about Seminars in Cardiothoracic and Vascular Anesthesia

What CAS zone is Seminars in Cardiothoracic and Vascular Anesthesia in?

In the 2025 upgraded edition of the CAS Journal Ranking, Seminars in Cardiothoracic and Vascular Anesthesia is in Zone 4 of Medicine, and in Zone 4 of the minor category Anesthesiology. In the 2026 Xinrui edition it is in Zone 4 of Medicine. Zones from different editions, and from major and minor categories, are not interchangeable.

What is the impact factor of Seminars in Cardiothoracic and Vascular Anesthesia?

The journal's website gives an impact factor of 1.1; this is the journal's own figure, as LetPub lists none for it; CiteScore 2.7, h-index 50.

How long does peer review take at Seminars in Cardiothoracic and Vascular Anesthesia?

The publisher reports about 137 days (submission to acceptance); the journal's website gives an acceptance rate of 40.6%. Article statistics cover accepted papers only, publisher figures follow the journal's own definitions, and community reports come from authors' own submissions; none is a promise from the journal.

What are the manuscript requirements of Seminars in Cardiothoracic and Vascular Anesthesia?

According to the journal's author guidelines: Manuscript length: ≤ 6,000 words; Reference style: AMA; Templates: LaTeX and Word; First submission: Free format: the journal's layout is not required; Suggested reviewers: Optional; Highlights: Required; Graphical abstract: Optional; Cover letter: Required. A model extracted these from the author guidelines and each was checked against the text; check the latest version on the journal's website before submitting.

Where are the editorial board members of Seminars in Cardiothoracic and Vascular Anesthesia based?

Of the 66 board members whose country the journal's board page names, none are in mainland China; the countries named most often are United States (51), South Korea (2) and Italy (2). Counted from the institutions listed on the board page; for reference only.

Which databases index Seminars in Cardiothoracic and Vascular Anesthesia?

According to LetPub and DOAJ records, Seminars in Cardiothoracic and Vascular Anesthesia is indexed in ESCI and Scopus.

Is Seminars in Cardiothoracic and Vascular Anesthesia open access, and what is the APC?

Seminars in Cardiothoracic and Vascular Anesthesia is a hybrid journal. For open-access publication: APC about USD 4,150.

Sources and updates

The facts on this page come from LetPub, Publisher website, OpenAlex; every figure is tagged with its source and the date it was observed, and conflicting values are kept per source. LetPub source page: view ↗ (archived 2026-08-26). Last updated: .