Journal profile · COMPUTER SCIENCE, SOFTWARE ENGINEERING

Scalable Computing-Practice and Experience

ISSN 1895-1767 · universitatea de vest

Scalable Computing-Practice and Experience: CAS Zone 4 · Computer Science (2025 upgraded edition); impact factor 0.9 (journal website); fully open access; APC charged, amount not published; review about 45 days (submission to first decision, publisher); acceptance rate 28% (journal website); 206 articles in 2025; indexed in Scopus; flagged on an early-warning list or for an indexing change: check before submitting.

Impact factor0.9From the journal's website, latest value
CAS zoneZone 4 · Computer Science2025 upgraded edition, major category
Review time45 daysPublisher-reported, submission to first decision (includes desk rejections)
APCCharged, amount not publishedFully open access
Acceptance28%From the journal's website
Articles per year2062025 · OpenAlex count

Scope

Aims, scope and focus

Scalable Computing-Practice and Experience is published by universitatea de vest and is in Zone 4 of Computer Science in the CAS Journal Ranking (2025 upgraded edition). By OpenAlex counts of its recent articles, its largest topics are Distributed and Parallel Computing Systems, Cloud Computing and Resource Management and Parallel Computing and Optimization Techniques, together about 33.1% of its articles. Its main subfields are Computer Networks and Communications. (generated from OpenAlex topic counts and CAS ranking data)

An international, peer-reviewed, Open Access forum dedicated to the present and future of parallel, distributed, and scalable computing technologies.

From the journal's Aims & Scope

Research area (LetPub): COMPUTER SCIENCE, SOFTWARE ENGINEERING

Editorial board by country: 1 in mainland China (about 5%); most named Italy 5, Poland 4, United States 3, Mainland China 1, France 1 (20 members with a country) Editorial board ↗Publisher website ·

Main research topics OpenAlex counts of recent articles; shares are approximate

  1. Distributed and Parallel Computing SystemsComputer Science14.6%
  2. Cloud Computing and Resource ManagementComputer Science10.1%
  3. Parallel Computing and Optimization TechniquesComputer Science8.4%
  4. E-commerce and Technology InnovationsBusiness, Management and Accounting7.6%
  5. IoT and Edge/Fog ComputingComputer Science6.3%
  6. Educational Technology and PedagogyComputer Science5.4%
  7. Network Security and Intrusion DetectionComputer Science4.1%
  8. Advanced Data Storage TechnologiesComputer Science3.4%

Rankings & indexing

CAS ranking and database indexing

CAS Journal Ranking

CAS Journal Ranking, upgraded edition (March 2025)Computer Science Zone 4
LevelCategoryZone
MajorComputer ScienceZone 4
MinorComputer Science, Software EngineeringZone 4

Top journal: noReview journal: no

CAS Xinrui Journal Ranking (March 2026)Not covered

Not covered by this edition.

CAS Journal Ranking, previous upgraded edition (December 2023)Not covered

Not covered by this edition.

Database indexing

ScopusLetPub

Early warning / risk: Removed from ESCI for editorial reasons on 17 March 2025. CAS Early Warning Journal List: listed in the 2025 edition (paper mill); not listed in the other 5 editions.LetPub

Indexing the journal's website claims

ESCIWeb of SciencePublisher website

As the journal's website lists them, not checked against each database; for Web of Science editions the records above apply.

Editions, and major and minor categories, are shown separately and never merged into one zone; check which edition your institution uses before you submit or report.

Metrics

Impact metrics and publication volume

Impact

Impact factor (publisher)
0.9Publisher website ·
CiteScore 2026-06
1LetPub ·
CiteScore (publisher)
1Publisher website ·
SJR 2026-06
0.22LetPub ·
SNIP 2026-06
0.39LetPub ·
h-index
31OpenAlex ·
i10-index
149OpenAlex ·
2-year mean citedness
1.65OpenAlex ·
Share of gold OA articles
98.84%LetPub ·

Volume

Articles per year
101LetPub ·

Articles by year OpenAlex count · 1,496 in total · the current year is incomplete

YearArticlesOpen accessCitations
2025206206207
2024514514980
2023102102335
20223434148
20213838380

Sources count differently and were observed at different times, so each source's own value is kept; "publisher" marks figures from the journal's website.

Review & acceptance

Review time and acceptance

Acceptance rate (publisher)
28%Publisher website ·
Submission to first decision
45 daysPublisher website ·
Submission to publication
75 daysPublisher website ·
Peer review
Double anonymous peer reviewPublisher website

Community reports come from authors' own submissions (confidence 0.5) and are not a promise from the journal; for publisher figures, the journal's own definitions apply.

Fees & open access

APC and open-access policy

Fully open accessOpenAlex

Every article is open access; authors usually pay an article processing charge (APC).

SourceAPCFee waiverLicenseObserved
Publisher websiteYes, amount not published——

The journal's website is authoritative for fees; sources were observed at different times and each keeps its own value, without averaging.

Submission

Article types and submission policies (journal website)

Article types accepted4
  1. research articleSCPE invites the following types of manuscripts for peer review: Research Articles Research articles should present original, scientifically sound research that…Length not stated
  2. research articlesResearch Articles Research articles should present original, scientifically sound research that adds significant new information to the field of scalable and di…Length not stated
  3. reviewSCPE invites the following types of manuscripts for peer review: Research Articles Research articles should present original, scientifically sound research that…Length not stated
  4. reviewsReviews Reviews offer a comprehensive analysis of the existing literature, highlighting current trends, identifying gaps, and suggesting future directions.Length not stated
Publisher website
Policy excerpts from the journal's websiteAI use, Conflicts of interest, Data availability, Publication ethics, Open access, Peer review
AI use 5. Policy on Generative AI and AI-Assisted Technologies

Generative AI policy: AI cannot be an author; AI must not generate core scientific conclusions, fabricate data, create figures, or conduct critical literature reviews; allowed only for readability/language improvement with mandatory disclosure in Declarations. Model summary

In alignment with COPE (Committee on Publication Ethics) and major academic publishers, SCPE maintains strict guidelines regarding the use of Generative AI (e.g., ChatGPT) in scientific writing. Strictly Prohibited (Academic Misconduct) Authorship: AI tools cannot be listed as an author under any circumstances. Content Generation: AI must NOT be used to generate core scientific conclusions, fabric…

Source ↗Publisher website ·
Conflicts of interest Acceptable Use & Mandatory Disclosure

Allowed Uses: Authors may use AI tools exclusively to improve the readability and language quality (e.g., grammar, syntax) of the manuscript. Disclosure: If used, authors must disclose the AI tool and its specific use case in the "Declarations" section. Failure to disclose is considered an ethical breach.

Source ↗Publisher website ·
Data availability

Data verification: editorial board may request raw data or source code at any stage; failure to provide may result in rejection or retraction. Model summary

The editorial board reserves the right to request original experimental raw data or source code at any stage of the review process or after publication.

Source ↗Publisher website ·
Publication ethics Strictly Prohibited (Academic Misconduct)

Research ethics: desk rejection or retraction for text overlap (iThenticate plagiarism detection), fabricated data, manipulated images, paper mills, simultaneous submission. Model summary

Authorship: AI tools cannot be listed as an author under any circumstances. Content Generation: AI must NOT be used to generate core scientific conclusions, fabricate experimental data, create figures/graphs, or conduct critical literature reviews. Accountability: Any factual errors, hallucinated references, or plagiarized text generated by AI will be treated as the authors' own academic misconduc…

Source ↗Publisher website ·
Open access 6. Open Access and Article Processing Charges (APC)

Open access under CC BY 4.0; APC waivers/discounts for low- and middle-income country authors on case-by-case basis at publisher's discretion, requested prior to submission. Model summary

SCPE is a fully Open Access journal. All articles are published under the Creative Commons Attribution License (CC BY 4.0), meaning they are immediately and freely available to read, download, and share globally. Waiver and Discount Policy SCPE is committed to promoting equitable access to open science. We recognize that authors from low- and middle-income countries may face financial barriers. Wa…

Source ↗Publisher website ·
Peer review ⚡ Rapid & Rigorous Peer-Review

We maintain a stringent double-blind peer-review process governed by a distinguished Editorial Board, coupled with an efficient editorial workflow to minimize publication delays.

Source ↗Publisher website ·

Excerpts are quoted from the journal's website; "model summary" lines are written by Workers AI and checked against the text. The journal's website is authoritative.

Profile

Publication details and official links

Publisher
universitatea de vest
ISSN
1895-1767
Latest issue on the website
Volume 26, Issue 5 (2025)
Official links

FAQ

Frequently asked questions about Scalable Computing-Practice and Experience

What CAS zone is Scalable Computing-Practice and Experience in?

In the 2025 upgraded edition of the CAS Journal Ranking, Scalable Computing-Practice and Experience is in Zone 4 of Computer Science, and in Zone 4 of the minor category Computer Science, Software Engineering. Zones from different editions, and from major and minor categories, are not interchangeable.

What is the impact factor of Scalable Computing-Practice and Experience?

The journal's website gives an impact factor of 0.9; this is the journal's own figure, as LetPub lists none for it; CiteScore 1, h-index 31.

How long does peer review take at Scalable Computing-Practice and Experience?

The publisher reports about 45 days (submission to first decision); first decisions include desk rejections; the journal's website gives an acceptance rate of 28%. Article statistics cover accepted papers only, publisher figures follow the journal's own definitions, and community reports come from authors' own submissions; none is a promise from the journal.

Where are the editorial board members of Scalable Computing-Practice and Experience based?

Of the 20 board members whose country the journal's board page names, 1 (about 5%) are in mainland China; the countries named most often are Italy (5), Poland (4) and United States (3). Counted from the institutions listed on the board page; for reference only.

Which databases index Scalable Computing-Practice and Experience?

According to LetPub and DOAJ records, Scalable Computing-Practice and Experience is indexed in Scopus. The journal's website also lists ESCI and Web of Science; that list has not been checked against each database.

Is Scalable Computing-Practice and Experience open access, and what is the APC?

Scalable Computing-Practice and Experience is a fully open-access journal. APC charged, amount not published.

Sources and updates

The facts on this page come from LetPub, Publisher website, OpenAlex; every figure is tagged with its source and the date it was observed, and conflicting values are kept per source. LetPub source page: view ↗ (archived 2026-08-26). Last updated: .