Journal profile
Saudi Journal of Emergency Medicine
ISSN 1658-8487 · Discover STM Publishing Ltd · Ireland
Saudi Journal of Emergency Medicine: fully open access; APC about USD 260; review about 7 days (submission to final decision, publisher); acceptance rate 49% (journal website); 53 articles in 2025.
Scope
Aims, scope and focus
Saudi Journal of Emergency Medicine is published by Discover STM Publishing Ltd. By OpenAlex counts of its recent articles, its largest topics are Emergency and Acute Care Studies, Trauma and Emergency Care Studies and Emergency Medicine Education and Research, together about 35.1% of its articles. Its main subfields are Emergency Medicine. (generated from OpenAlex topic counts and CAS ranking data)
Editor-in-chief Asaad Suliman ShujaaPublisher website
Main research topics OpenAlex counts of recent articles; shares are approximate
- Emergency and Acute Care StudiesMedicine13.8%
- Trauma and Emergency Care StudiesMedicine13.7%
- Emergency Medicine Education and ResearchMedicine7.6%
- Disaster Response and ManagementHealth Professions6.2%
- Poisoning and overdose treatmentsMedicine5.9%
- Cardiac Arrest and ResuscitationMedicine5.7%
- Ultrasound in Clinical ApplicationsMedicine4.9%
- Innovations in Medical EducationMedicine4.7%
Rankings & indexing
CAS ranking and database indexing
CAS Journal Ranking
CAS Journal Ranking, upgraded edition (March 2025)Not covered
Not covered by this edition.
CAS Xinrui Journal Ranking (March 2026)Not covered
Not covered by this edition.
CAS Journal Ranking, previous upgraded edition (December 2023)Not covered
Not covered by this edition.
Database indexing
DOAJLetPub
International journal early-warning lists: not listed in any editionLetPub
Editions, and major and minor categories, are shown separately and never merged into one zone; check which edition your institution uses before you submit or report.
Metrics
Impact metrics and publication volume
Impact
- h-index
- 6OpenAlex ·
- i10-index
- 2OpenAlex ·
- 2-year mean citedness
- 0.08OpenAlex ·
- Share of gold OA articles
- 0%LetPub ·
Articles by year OpenAlex count · 469 in total · the current year is incomplete
| Year | Articles | Open access | Citations |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2026 | 107 | 107 | 27 |
| 2025 | 53 | 53 | 49 |
| 2024 | 142 | 142 | 36 |
| 2023 | 39 | 39 | 34 |
| 2022 | 30 | 30 | 18 |
| 2021 | 48 | 48 | 13 |
Sources count differently and were observed at different times, so each source's own value is kept; "publisher" marks figures from the journal's website.
Review & acceptance
Review time and acceptance
Publisher-reported review time from the journal's website
7 dayssubmission to final decision · community reports about 12 weeks
The publisher's own definition applies; dates from this journal's articles in the last 24 months are not available yet, so the publisher's figure is used.
Figures by source
- Average review time (community reports)
- about 12 weeksLetPub ·
- Acceptance rate (publisher)
- 49%Publisher website ·
- Submission to first decision
- 7 daysPublisher website ·
- Submission to final decision
- 7 daysPublisher website ·
- Submission to publication (journal-reported)
- about 12 weeksDOAJ ·
- Peer review
- Double anonymous peer reviewDOAJ
Community reports come from authors' own submissions (confidence 0.5) and are not a promise from the journal; for publisher figures, the journal's own definitions apply.
Fees & open access
APC and open-access policy
Every article is open access; authors usually pay an article processing charge (APC).
| Source | APC | Fee waiver | License | Observed |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| DOAJ | USD 260 / SAR 920 | Yes | CC BY | |
| LetPub | USD 260 / SAR 920 | Yes | — |
The journal's website is authoritative for fees; sources were observed at different times and each keeps its own value, without averaging.
Submission
Article types and submission policies (journal website)
Article types accepted5
- case reportCase ReportLength not stated
- conference abstractConference AbstractLength not stated
- editorialEditorialLength not stated
- original articleOriginal ArticleLength not stated
- review articleReview ArticleLength not stated
Policy excerpts from the journal's websiteConflicts of interest, Publication ethics
- Conflicts of interest
Corrections, Retractions & Expressions of Concern Model summary
Corrections, Retractions & Expressions of Concern
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Publication ethics
Publishing Ethics And Publication Malpractice Statement Model summary
Publishing Ethics And Publication Malpractice Statement
Source ↗Publisher website ·
Excerpts are quoted from the journal's website; "model summary" lines are written by Workers AI and checked against the text. The journal's website is authoritative.
Profile
Publication details and official links
- Publisher
- Discover STM Publishing Ltd
- Country or region
- Ireland
- Language
- English
- ISSN
- 1658-8487
- Official links
- Journal homepage ↗LetPub
- Author guidelines ↗LetPub
- Aims & Scope ↗LetPub
- APC information ↗DOAJ
- Fee waivers ↗DOAJ
- Open access statement ↗DOAJ
- License & copyright ↗DOAJ
- Peer review process ↗LetPub
- Editorial board ↗LetPub
- Plagiarism policy ↗DOAJ
FAQ
Frequently asked questions about Saudi Journal of Emergency Medicine
How long does peer review take at Saudi Journal of Emergency Medicine?
The publisher reports about 7 days (submission to final decision); authors report an average review time of about 12 weeks; the journal's website gives an acceptance rate of 49%. Article statistics cover accepted papers only, publisher figures follow the journal's own definitions, and community reports come from authors' own submissions; none is a promise from the journal.
Which databases index Saudi Journal of Emergency Medicine?
According to LetPub and DOAJ records, Saudi Journal of Emergency Medicine is indexed in DOAJ.
Is Saudi Journal of Emergency Medicine open access, and what is the APC?
Saudi Journal of Emergency Medicine is a fully open-access journal. APC about USD 260.
Sources and updates
The facts on this page come from LetPub, Publisher website, DOAJ, OpenAlex; every figure is tagged with its source and the date it was observed, and conflicting values are kept per source. LetPub source page: view ↗ (archived 2026-08-26). Last updated: .