Journal profile · MEDICINE, GENERAL & INTERNAL

SAGE Open Medical Case Reports

ISSN 2050-313X · SAGE Publishing · United States

SAGE Open Medical Case Reports: CAS Zone 4 · Medicine (2025 upgraded edition); impact factor 0.6 (journal website); fully open access; APC about USD 2,000; median 82 days to acceptance (98 articles, last 24 months); acceptance rate 31% (journal website); 265 articles in 2025; indexed in ESCI and Scopus.

Impact factor0.6From the journal's website, latest value
CAS zoneZone 4 · Medicine2025 upgraded edition, major category · 2026 Xinrui edition Zone 4 · Medicine
Review time82 daysMedian, submission to acceptance · 98 articles, last 24 months · PubMed
APCUSD 2,000Fully open access
Acceptance31%From the journal's website
Articles per year2652025 · OpenAlex count

Scope

Aims, scope and focus

SAGE Open Medical Case Reports is published by SAGE Publishing and is in Zone 4 of Medicine in the CAS Journal Ranking (2025 upgraded edition). By OpenAlex counts of its recent articles, its largest topics are Autoimmune Bullous Skin Diseases, Venous Thromboembolism Diagnosis and Management and Cancer and Skin Lesions, together about 16.2% of its articles. (generated from OpenAlex topic counts and CAS ranking data)

SAGE Open Medical Case Reports is a peer-reviewed, open access journal, which focusses on providing a publication home for short case reports and case series, which often do not find a place in traditional primary research journals, but provide key … | View full journal description This journal is a member of the Committee on Publication Ethics (COPE).

From the journal's Aims & Scope

Research area (LetPub): MEDICINE, GENERAL & INTERNAL

Editor-in-chief Madhumita ChakladarPublisher website

Editorial board by country: none in mainland China; most named United States 8, Italy 6, United Kingdom 4, Greece 3, India 2 (41 members with a country) Editorial board ↗Publisher website ·

Main research topics OpenAlex counts of recent articles; shares are approximate

  1. Autoimmune Bullous Skin DiseasesMedicine5.7%
  2. Venous Thromboembolism Diagnosis and ManagementMedicine5.7%
  3. Cancer and Skin LesionsMedicine4.8%
  4. Eosinophilic Disorders and SyndromesMedicine4.8%
  5. Autoimmune and Inflammatory DisordersMedicine4.7%
  6. Vascular Procedures and ComplicationsMedicine4.4%
  7. Aortic Disease and Treatment ApproachesMedicine4.3%
  8. Infectious Diseases and TuberculosisMedicine4.3%

Rankings & indexing

CAS ranking and database indexing

CAS Journal Ranking

CAS Journal Ranking, upgraded edition (March 2025)Medicine Zone 4
LevelCategoryZone
MajorMedicineZone 4
MinorMedicine, General & InternalZone 4

Top journal: noReview journal: no

CAS Xinrui Journal Ranking (March 2026)Medicine Zone 4
LevelCategoryZone
MajorMedicineZone 4
MinorMedicine, General & InternalZone 4

Top journal: noReview journal: not marked

CAS Journal Ranking, previous upgraded edition (December 2023)Not covered

Not covered by this edition.

Database indexing

ESCIScopusDOAJLetPub

International journal early-warning lists: not listed in any editionLetPub

Editions, and major and minor categories, are shown separately and never merged into one zone; check which edition your institution uses before you submit or report.

Metrics

Impact metrics and publication volume

Impact

Impact factor (publisher)
0.6Publisher website ·
5-year impact factor (publisher)
0.6Publisher website ·
CiteScore 2026-06
1.1LetPub ·
SJR 2026-06
0.23LetPub ·
SNIP 2026-06
0.53LetPub ·
h-index
23OpenAlex ·
i10-index
215OpenAlex ·
2-year mean citedness
0.93OpenAlex ·
Self-citation rate
0%LetPub ·
Share of gold OA articles
100%LetPub ·

Volume

Articles per year
263LetPub ·
Articles per year (publisher)
3Publisher website ·

Articles by year OpenAlex count · 2,646 in total · the current year is incomplete

YearArticlesOpen accessCitations
202618418421
2025265265193
2024450450620
2023341341958
2022278278900
20212632631,013

Sources count differently and were observed at different times, so each source's own value is kept; "publisher" marks figures from the journal's website.

Review & acceptance

Review time and acceptance

Review time from article dates manuscript dates registered with PubMed · to

82 daysMedian, submission to acceptance · P25–P75 56 days – 108 days

Acceptance to online
median 27 days (98 articles)
Submission to online
median 125 days
Sample
98 articles with submission and acceptance dates (529 in the window); the latest was accepted on

Only articles that were accepted and published are counted, not the time spent on rejected manuscripts, so this usually runs longer than a publisher's "time to first decision".

Other sources

Average review time (community reports)
about 8 weeksLetPub ·
Acceptance rate (publisher)
31%Publisher website ·
Submission to first decision
4 daysPublisher website ·
Acceptance to publication
24 daysPublisher website ·
Submission to publication (journal-reported)
about 8 weeksDOAJ ·
Peer review
Single anonymous peer reviewDOAJ

Community reports come from authors' own submissions (confidence 0.5) and are not a promise from the journal; for publisher figures, the journal's own definitions apply.

Fees & open access

APC and open-access policy

Fully open accessDOAJ

Every article is open access; authors usually pay an article processing charge (APC).

SourceAPCFee waiverLicenseObserved
DOAJUSD 2,000YesCC BY, CC BY-NC
OpenAlexUSD 2,000——
LetPubUSD 2,000Yes—
Publisher websiteUSD 2,400 / USD 250——

The journal's website is authoritative for fees; sources were observed at different times and each keeps its own value, without averaging.

Submission

Article types and submission policies (journal website)

What to prepare9 items from the author guidelines
Manuscript length
≤ 3,000 words
Reference style
Vancouver
Templates
LaTeX and Word
First submission
Free format: the journal's layout is not required
Suggested reviewers
Optional
Highlights
Optional
Graphical abstract
Optional
Cover letter
Required
Not considered
Retrospectively registered Randomised Clinical Trials
Publisher website · model-extracted, each line checked against the text
Article types accepted4, with length limits
  1. case reportCase reports should be approximately 1200 words in length and must have an unstructured abstract of approximately 150 words, up to 15 references, and one or two…main text ≤ 1,200 words
  2. case reportsCase reports should be approximately 1200 words in length and must have an unstructured abstract of approximately 150 words, up to 15 references, and one or two…Length not stated
  3. case seriesCase Series describe several related or similar cases and include a description of their similarities and differences. Case series should be maximum of 3000 wor…Length not stated
  4. reviewCase reports should be approximately 1200 words in length and must have an unstructured abstract of approximately 150 words, up to 15 references, and one or two…Length not stated
Publisher website
Policy excerpts from the journal's websiteAuthorship, Data availability, Publication ethics, License & copyright, Open access, Peer review, Plagiarism, Preprints, Trial registration / reporting guidelines
Authorship Author contributions

You will be asked to list the contribution of each author as part of the submission process. Please include the Author Contributions heading within your submission after the Acknowledgements section. The information you give on submission will then show under the Author Contributions heading later at the proofing stage.

Source ↗Publisher website ·
Data availability Data availability

The Journal is committed to facilitating openness, transparency and reproducibility of research, and has the following research data sharing policy. For more information, including FAQs please visit the Sage Research Data policy pages. Subject to appropriate ethical and legal considerations, authors are encouraged to: Share your research data in a relevant public data repository Include a data ava…

Source ↗Publisher website ·
Publication ethics Ethical considerations

Please include your ethics approval statements under this heading, even if you have already included ethics approval information in your methods section. If ethical approval was not required, you need to explicitly state this. All papers reporting studies involving human participants, human data or human tissue must state that the relevant Ethics Committee or Institutional Review Board approved th…

Source ↗Publisher website ·
License & copyright

Manuscript content licensed under Creative Commons Licenses. Model summary

Manuscript content on this site is licensed under Creative Commons Licenses.

Source ↗Publisher website ·
Open access Publishing fees and open access

Sage Open Medical Case Reports is an open access, peer-reviewed journal. All accepted articles are made freely available online immediately upon publication, are published under a Creative Commons license, and hosted online in perpetuity. If, after peer review, your manuscript is accepted for publication, a one-time article processing charge (APC) is payable to cover the cost of publishing, paid b…

Source ↗Publisher website ·
Peer review Peer review policy

Single anonymized review Model summary

The following summary describes the peer review process for this journal: Identity transparency:Single-anonymized Reviewer interacts with: Editor Review information published: None Your manuscript will undergo an initial evaluation. If it does not conform to the requirements laid out in these guidelines, it will be returned to you for amendments prior to peer review. Manuscripts may be desk reject…

Source ↗Publisher website ·
Plagiarism Plagiarism

The journal and Sage take issues of copyright infringement, plagiarism or other breaches of best practice in publication very seriously. Please read Sage's complete policy on plagiarism and the actions we may take.

Source ↗Publisher website ·
Preprints Preprints

The journal will consider submissions of manuscripts that have been posted on preprint servers. Please enter the preprint DOI in the designated field when submitting your manuscript. We advise that you inform the Journal Editorial office about your posted preprint at submission. Note that you should not post an updated version of your manuscript on a preprint server while it is being peer reviewed…

Source ↗Publisher website ·
Trial registration / reporting guidelines Reporting guidelines

Your manuscript must follow the relevant EQUATOR Network reporting guidelines, depending on the type of study. The EQUATOR wizard can help identify the appropriate guideline. You will need to upload the appropriate checklist with your submission. If applicable, use the CARE Equator checklist to prepare your manuscript. In your manuscript, you need to state in the Methods section the guidelines you…

Source ↗Publisher website ·

Excerpts are quoted from the journal's website; "model summary" lines are written by Workers AI and checked against the text. The journal's website is authoritative.

Profile

Publication details and official links

Publisher
SAGE Publishing
Country or region
United States
Language
English
ISSN
2050-313X
Official links

FAQ

Frequently asked questions about SAGE Open Medical Case Reports

What CAS zone is SAGE Open Medical Case Reports in?

In the 2025 upgraded edition of the CAS Journal Ranking, SAGE Open Medical Case Reports is in Zone 4 of Medicine, and in Zone 4 of the minor category Medicine, General & Internal. In the 2026 Xinrui edition it is in Zone 4 of Medicine. Zones from different editions, and from major and minor categories, are not interchangeable.

What is the impact factor of SAGE Open Medical Case Reports?

The journal's website gives an impact factor of 0.6; this is the journal's own figure, as LetPub lists none for it; CiteScore 1.1, h-index 23.

How long does peer review take at SAGE Open Medical Case Reports?

Based on the dates recorded on 98 articles published between October 2024 and October 2026 (the last 24 months), the median time from submission to acceptance is 82 days (interquartile range 56–108 days); authors report an average review time of about 8 weeks; the journal's website gives an acceptance rate of 31%. Article statistics cover accepted papers only, publisher figures follow the journal's own definitions, and community reports come from authors' own submissions; none is a promise from the journal.

What are the manuscript requirements of SAGE Open Medical Case Reports?

According to the journal's author guidelines: Manuscript length: ≤ 3,000 words; Reference style: Vancouver; Templates: LaTeX and Word; First submission: Free format: the journal's layout is not required; Suggested reviewers: Optional; Highlights: Optional; Graphical abstract: Optional; Cover letter: Required. A model extracted these from the author guidelines and each was checked against the text; check the latest version on the journal's website before submitting.

Where are the editorial board members of SAGE Open Medical Case Reports based?

Of the 41 board members whose country the journal's board page names, none are in mainland China; the countries named most often are United States (8), Italy (6) and United Kingdom (4). Counted from the institutions listed on the board page; for reference only.

Which databases index SAGE Open Medical Case Reports?

According to LetPub and DOAJ records, SAGE Open Medical Case Reports is indexed in ESCI, Scopus and DOAJ.

Is SAGE Open Medical Case Reports open access, and what is the APC?

SAGE Open Medical Case Reports is a fully open-access journal. APC about USD 2,000.

Sources and updates

The facts on this page come from LetPub, Publisher website, OpenAlex, DOAJ; every figure is tagged with its source and the date it was observed, and conflicting values are kept per source. LetPub source page: view ↗ (archived 2026-08-25). Last updated: .