Journal profile · Medicine-Medicine (all)
Rwanda Medical Journal
ISSN 2079-097X · eISSN 2410-8626 · Rwanda Health Communication Center - Rwanda Biomedical Center (RHCC - RBC) · Rwanda
Rwanda Medical Journal: diamond open access (no APC); no APC; review about 14 days (first decision after review, publisher); acceptance rate 41% (journal website); 36 articles in 2025; indexed in Scopus.
Scope
Aims, scope and focus
Rwanda Medical Journal is published by Rwanda Health Communication Center - Rwanda Biomedical Center (RHCC - RBC). By OpenAlex counts of its recent articles, its largest topics are Medical and Biological Sciences, Global Maternal and Child Health and Vascular anomalies and interventions, together about 21% of its articles. (generated from OpenAlex topic counts and CAS ranking data)
The Rwanda Medical Journal (RMJ), is a Not-For-Profit scientific, medical, journal that is published entirely online in open-access electronic format. The RMJ is an interdisciplinary research journal for publication of original work in all the major health disciplines. Through a rigorous process of evaluation and peer review, The RMJ strives to publish original works of high quality for a diverse audience of healthcare professionals. The Journal seeks to deepen knowledge and advance scientific discovery to improve the quality of care of patients in Rwanda and internationally.
From the journal's Aims & Scope
Research area (LetPub): Medicine-Medicine (all)
Editor-in-chief Leon MutesaPublisher website
Main research topics OpenAlex counts of recent articles; shares are approximate
- Medical and Biological SciencesMedicine7.4%
- Global Maternal and Child HealthMedicine6.8%
- Vascular anomalies and interventionsMedicine6.8%
- Maternal and Perinatal Health InterventionsMedicine6.2%
- Anatomy and Medical TechnologyEngineering6.2%
- Reproductive Health and ContraceptionMedicine5.6%
- HIV/AIDS Research and InterventionsMedicine4.9%
- Innovations in Medical EducationMedicine4.9%
Rankings & indexing
CAS ranking and database indexing
CAS Journal Ranking
CAS Journal Ranking, upgraded edition (March 2025)Not covered
Not covered by this edition.
CAS Xinrui Journal Ranking (March 2026)Not covered
Not covered by this edition.
CAS Journal Ranking, previous upgraded edition (December 2023)Not covered
Not covered by this edition.
Database indexing
ScopusDOAJLetPub
International journal early-warning lists: not listed in any editionLetPub
Indexing the journal's website claims
AJOL, Bioline International, African Journals Online (AJOL)Publisher website
As the journal's website lists them, not checked against each database; for Web of Science editions the records above apply.
Editions, and major and minor categories, are shown separately and never merged into one zone; check which edition your institution uses before you submit or report.
Metrics
Impact metrics and publication volume
Impact
- CiteScore 2026-06
- 0.6LetPub ·
- SJR 2026-06
- 0.13LetPub ·
- SNIP 2026-06
- 0.19LetPub ·
- h-index
- 6OpenAlex ·
- i10-index
- 2OpenAlex ·
- 2-year mean citedness
- 0.48OpenAlex ·
- Share of gold OA articles
- 0%LetPub ·
Articles by year OpenAlex count · 200 in total · the current year is incomplete
| Year | Articles | Open access | Citations |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2026 | 34 | 34 | 49 |
| 2025 | 36 | 36 | 58 |
| 2024 | 46 | 46 | 61 |
| 2023 | 37 | 37 | 7 |
| 2022 | 42 | 42 | 1 |
| 2021 | 0 | 0 | 1 |
Sources count differently and were observed at different times, so each source's own value is kept; "publisher" marks figures from the journal's website.
Review & acceptance
Review time and acceptance
Publisher-reported review time from the journal's website
14 daysfirst decision after review · community reports about 7 weeks
The publisher's own definition applies; dates from this journal's articles in the last 24 months are not available yet, so the publisher's figure is used.
Figures by source
- Average review time (community reports)
- about 7 weeksLetPub ·
- Acceptance rate (publisher)
- 41%Publisher website ·
- Submission to first decision
- 43 daysPublisher website ·
- First decision after review
- 14 daysPublisher website ·
- Submission to publication (journal-reported)
- about 7 weeksDOAJ ·
- Peer review
- Double anonymous peer reviewDOAJ
Community reports come from authors' own submissions (confidence 0.5) and are not a promise from the journal; for publisher figures, the journal's own definitions apply.
Fees & open access
APC and open-access policy
Every article is open access and authors pay no article processing charge.
| Source | APC | Fee waiver | License | Observed |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| DOAJ | No APC | No | CC BY-NC-ND | |
| Publisher website | No APC | — | — |
The journal's website is authoritative for fees; sources were observed at different times and each keeps its own value, without averaging.
Submission
Article types and submission policies (journal website)
Article types accepted7
- case reports (including images) and case-seriesWe accept the following types of manuscripts: 1. Original research 2. Review articles 3. Methodology articles (e.g., articles describing a new surgical or pract…Length not stated
- editorials/opinion articlesWe accept the following types of manuscripts: 1. Original research 2. Review articles 3. Methodology articles (e.g., articles describing a new surgical or pract…Length not stated
- letters to the editorWe accept the following types of manuscripts: 1. Original research 2. Review articles 3. Methodology articles (e.g., articles describing a new surgical or pract…Length not stated
- methodology articlesWe accept the following types of manuscripts: 1. Original research 2. Review articles 3. Methodology articles (e.g., articles describing a new surgical or pract…Length not stated
- original researchWe accept the following types of manuscripts: 1. Original research 2. Review articles 3. Methodology articles (e.g., articles describing a new surgical or pract…Length not stated
- quality improvement projectsWe accept the following types of manuscripts: 1. Original research 2. Review articles 3. Methodology articles (e.g., articles describing a new surgical or pract…Length not stated
- review articlesWe accept the following types of manuscripts: 1. Original research 2. Review articles 3. Methodology articles (e.g., articles describing a new surgical or pract…Length not stated
Policy excerpts from the journal's websiteLicense & copyright, Peer review
- License & copyright
Creative Commons Attribution (CC BY-NC-ND) license Model summary
All article published by the RMJ are under a Creative Commons Attribution (CC BY-NC-ND) license
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Peer review
Double-blind peer review Model summary
The RMJ is a peer-reviewed journal following a double “blind” peer-review model.
Source ↗Publisher website ·
Excerpts are quoted from the journal's website; "model summary" lines are written by Workers AI and checked against the text. The journal's website is authoritative.
Profile
Publication details and official links
- Publisher
- Rwanda Health Communication Center - Rwanda Biomedical Center (RHCC - RBC)
- Country or region
- Rwanda
- Language
- English
- ISSN
- 2079-097X
- Electronic ISSN
- 2410-8626
- Official links
FAQ
Frequently asked questions about Rwanda Medical Journal
How long does peer review take at Rwanda Medical Journal?
The publisher reports about 14 days (first decision after review); authors report an average review time of about 7 weeks; the journal's website gives an acceptance rate of 41%. Article statistics cover accepted papers only, publisher figures follow the journal's own definitions, and community reports come from authors' own submissions; none is a promise from the journal.
Which databases index Rwanda Medical Journal?
According to LetPub and DOAJ records, Rwanda Medical Journal is indexed in Scopus and DOAJ.
Is Rwanda Medical Journal open access, and what is the APC?
Rwanda Medical Journal is a diamond open-access journal (no APC). It charges no article processing charge.
Sources and updates
The facts on this page come from LetPub, Publisher website, OpenAlex, DOAJ; every figure is tagged with its source and the date it was observed, and conflicting values are kept per source. LetPub source page: view ↗ (archived 2026-08-25). Last updated: .