Journal profile
Revue phenEPS
ISSN 1918-8927 · Physical and Health Education Canada · Canada
Revue phenEPS: diamond open access (no APC); no APC; review about 15 weeks (community reports); 14 articles in 2025.
Scope
Aims, scope and focus
Revue phenEPS is published by Physical and Health Education Canada. By OpenAlex counts of its recent articles, its largest topics are Physical Education and Pedagogy, Physical Activity and Health and School Health and Nursing Education, together about 42.3% of its articles. (generated from OpenAlex topic counts and CAS ranking data)
Revue phénEPS-PHEnexJournal publishes empirical, theoretical, and methodological research, and position papers, as well as reviews and critical essays by Canadian and International authors. Research methodologies may be quantitative, qualitative or mixed method and may use data gathered through historical analysis, surveys, fieldwork, action research, participant observation, content analysis, simulations. Articles most appropriate for Revue phénEPS-PHEnex Journal focus on pedagogical, social, cultural, philosophical, psychological, historical, sociological or management issues in physical education, physical activity, teacher education, health education, dance, recreation, or leisure studies. Peer Review Process
From the journal's Aims & Scope
Editorial board by country: none in mainland China; most named Canada 9 (9 members with a country) Editorial board ↗Publisher website ·
Main research topics OpenAlex counts of recent articles; shares are approximate
- Physical Education and PedagogyHealth Professions27.3%
- Physical Activity and HealthMedicine8.7%
- School Health and Nursing EducationHealth Professions6.3%
- Sports and Physical Education StudiesSocial Sciences6.1%
- Motivation and Self-Concept in SportsPsychology5.6%
- Sport Psychology and PerformancePsychology4.4%
- Physical Education and Sports StudiesSocial Sciences4.4%
- Inclusion and Disability in Education and SportSocial Sciences4.3%
Rankings & indexing
CAS ranking and database indexing
CAS Journal Ranking
CAS Journal Ranking, upgraded edition (March 2025)Not covered
Not covered by this edition.
CAS Xinrui Journal Ranking (March 2026)Not covered
Not covered by this edition.
CAS Journal Ranking, previous upgraded edition (December 2023)Not covered
Not covered by this edition.
Database indexing
DOAJLetPub
International journal early-warning lists: not listed in any editionLetPub
Editions, and major and minor categories, are shown separately and never merged into one zone; check which edition your institution uses before you submit or report.
Metrics
Impact metrics and publication volume
Impact
- h-index
- 14OpenAlex ·
- i10-index
- 23OpenAlex ·
- 2-year mean citedness
- 0OpenAlex ·
- Share of gold OA articles
- 0%LetPub ·
Articles by year OpenAlex count · 305 in total · the current year is incomplete
| Year | Articles | Open access | Citations |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2026 | 65 | 65 | 0 |
| 2025 | 14 | 14 | 23 |
| 2024 | 18 | 18 | 39 |
| 2023 | 15 | 15 | 51 |
| 2022 | 7 | 7 | 47 |
| 2021 | 15 | 15 | 39 |
Sources count differently and were observed at different times, so each source's own value is kept; "publisher" marks figures from the journal's website.
Review & acceptance
Review time and acceptance
- Average review time (community reports)
- about 15 weeksLetPub ·
- Submission to publication (journal-reported)
- about 15 weeksDOAJ ·
- Peer review
- Single anonymous peer reviewDOAJ
Community reports come from authors' own submissions (confidence 0.5) and are not a promise from the journal; for publisher figures, the journal's own definitions apply.
Fees & open access
APC and open-access policy
Every article is open access and authors pay no article processing charge.
| Source | APC | Fee waiver | License | Observed |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| DOAJ | No APC | No | CC BY-SA | |
| LetPub | No APC | No | — |
The journal's website is authoritative for fees; sources were observed at different times and each keeps its own value, without averaging.
Submission
Article types and submission policies (journal website)
What to prepare2 items from the author guidelines
- Abstract
- 100–150 words
- Manuscript length
- ≤ 7,000 words
Article types accepted7, with length limits
- abstractsAbstracts / Résumés Abstracts are those which have been accepted for sessions during the Research Council meetings at the Physical Health Education (PHE) Canada…Length not stated
- feature articlesFeature Articles / Articles de fond The Feature Articles section publishes substantial (7000 words maximum, not including references, tables and figures) empiri…Length not stated
- focusFocus and Viewpoint / Point de mire et Point de vue The Focus section publishes sizable papers (4500 words maximum) on particular topics falling within the scop…Length not stated
- research noteResearch Note / Note de recherche Submissions will no longer be accepted for the Research Note section. Please use the Reviews and News sectionLength not stated
- reviewpoint commentaries: 3500 words maximum ·Reviews and News: 1200 words maximum Manuscripts must be double-spaced including the quomain text ≤ 1,200 words
- reviews and newsReviews and News/ Avis et Communiqués The Reviews and News section publishes short book reviews or news about new research methods (1500 words maximum).Length not stated
- viewpointimum ·Focus papers: 4500 words maximum ·Viewpoint commentaries: 3500 words maximum ·Reviews and News: 1200 words maximum Manuscripts mmain text ≤ 3,500 words
Policy excerpts from the journal's websiteAI use, Authorship, License & copyright, Open access, Peer review
- AI use Mediating Technology: How Teenage Boys Use Generative AI Tools for Health-Related Information
Wahid Khan Mediating Technology: How Teenage Boys Use Generative AI Tools for Health-Related Information
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Authorship
No APC or submission fees Model summary
Authors do not pay for article processing or submission to Revue phénEPS-PHEnex Journal.
Source ↗Publisher website ·- License & copyright Copyright Notice
Copyright/License: Authors retain copyright, CC BY-SA 2.5 Canada Model summary
Authors who publish with this journal agree to the following terms: Authors retain copyright and grant the journal right of first publication with the work simultaneously licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Share Alike 2.5 Canada License that allows others to share the work with an acknowledgement of the work's authorship and initial publication in this journal. Authors are able to enter…
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Open access
Open access self-archiving permitted Model summary
Authors are permitted and encouraged to post their work online (e.g., in institutional repositories or on their website) after publication, while providing bibliographic details that credit PHENex
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Peer review
Blind review, two reviewers, 5-7 weeks Model summary
A blind review process is used to evaluate manuscripts. Manuscripts are assessed by two reviewers, with the review process taking 5-7 weeks.
Source ↗Publisher website ·
Excerpts are quoted from the journal's website; "model summary" lines are written by Workers AI and checked against the text. The journal's website is authoritative.
Profile
Publication details and official links
- Publisher
- Physical and Health Education Canada
- Country or region
- Canada
- Language
- English, French
- ISSN
- 1918-8927
- Latest issue on the website
- Volume 16 (2026)
- Official links
- Journal homepage ↗OpenAlex
- Author guidelines ↗LetPub
- Aims & Scope ↗LetPub
- APC information ↗DOAJ
- Open access statement ↗DOAJ
- License & copyright ↗DOAJ
- Peer review process ↗LetPub
- Editorial board ↗LetPub
FAQ
Frequently asked questions about Revue phenEPS
How long does peer review take at Revue phenEPS?
Authors report an average review time of about 15 weeks. Article statistics cover accepted papers only, publisher figures follow the journal's own definitions, and community reports come from authors' own submissions; none is a promise from the journal.
What are the manuscript requirements of Revue phenEPS?
According to the journal's author guidelines: Abstract: 100–150 words; Manuscript length: ≤ 7,000 words. A model extracted these from the author guidelines and each was checked against the text; check the latest version on the journal's website before submitting.
Where are the editorial board members of Revue phenEPS based?
Of the 9 board members whose country the journal's board page names, none are in mainland China; the countries named most often are Canada (9). Counted from the institutions listed on the board page; for reference only.
Which databases index Revue phenEPS?
According to LetPub and DOAJ records, Revue phenEPS is indexed in DOAJ.
Is Revue phenEPS open access, and what is the APC?
Revue phenEPS is a diamond open-access journal (no APC). It charges no article processing charge.
Sources and updates
The facts on this page come from LetPub, OpenAlex, DOAJ, Publisher website; every figure is tagged with its source and the date it was observed, and conflicting values are kept per source. LetPub source page: view ↗ (archived 2026-08-26). Last updated: .