Journal profile · Social Sciences-Education
Revista Colombiana de Educacion
ISSN 0120-3916 · eISSN 2323-0134 · Research Center of Universidad Pedagogica Nacional · Colombia
Revista Colombiana de Educacion: diamond open access (no APC); no APC; review about 12 weeks (community reports); 64 articles in 2025; indexed in Scopus.
Scope
Aims, scope and focus
Revista Colombiana de Educacion is published by Research Center of Universidad Pedagogica Nacional. By OpenAlex counts of its recent articles, its largest topics are Education Pedagogy and Practices, Higher Education in Latin America and Historical Education Studies Worldwide, together about 34.5% of its articles. Its main subfields are Education. (generated from OpenAlex topic counts and CAS ranking data)
La Revista Colombiana de Educación es una publicación periódica y arbitrada, de la Dirección de Investigaciones- de la Universidad Pedagógica Nacional (Colombia). Fue creada en1978. Es un referente nacional e internacional para fortalecer y cualificar la discusión académica sobre los campos de la educación y la pedagogía. Está orientada a la divulgación de trabajos de investigación científica y artículos de reflexión. El público al que se dirige contempla a especialistas en temáticas educativas y pedagógicas, al magisterio en general y a estudiantes universitarios en las áreas de educación y pedagogía.
From the journal's Aims & Scope
Research area (LetPub): Social Sciences-Education
Editorial board by country: none in mainland China; most named Colombia 16, Argentina 3, Chile 3 (22 members with a country) Editorial board ↗Publisher website ·
Main research topics OpenAlex counts of recent articles; shares are approximate
- Education Pedagogy and PracticesSocial Sciences15.9%
- Higher Education in Latin AmericaSocial Sciences9.4%
- Historical Education Studies WorldwideSocial Sciences9.3%
- History and Politics in Latin AmericaSocial Sciences5%
- Teacher Education and Leadership StudiesSocial Sciences4.4%
- Global Educational Policies and ReformsSocial Sciences3.6%
- Educator Training and Historical PedagogySocial Sciences3.5%
- Critical and Liberation PedagogySocial Sciences3.5%
Rankings & indexing
CAS ranking and database indexing
CAS Journal Ranking
CAS Journal Ranking, upgraded edition (March 2025)Not covered
Not covered by this edition.
CAS Xinrui Journal Ranking (March 2026)Not covered
Not covered by this edition.
CAS Journal Ranking, previous upgraded edition (December 2023)Not covered
Not covered by this edition.
CiteScore quartiles (Scopus, June 2026 release)
| Subject | Quartile | Rank | Percentile |
|---|---|---|---|
| Education | Q3 | 1201/1698 | 29th |
Scopus ranks journals by CiteScore within each subject: the 75th percentile and above is Q1, then a quartile every 25 points. A different system from the CAS zones.LetPub
Database indexing
ScopusDOAJLetPub
International journal early-warning lists: not listed in any editionLetPub
Editions, and major and minor categories, are shown separately and never merged into one zone; check which edition your institution uses before you submit or report.
Metrics
Impact metrics and publication volume
Impact
- CiteScore 2026-06
- 1.1LetPub ·
- SJR 2026-06
- 0.29LetPub ·
- SNIP 2026-06
- 0.71LetPub ·
- h-index
- 26OpenAlex ·
- i10-index
- 146OpenAlex ·
- 2-year mean citedness
- 1.17OpenAlex ·
- Share of gold OA articles
- 0%LetPub ·
Articles by year OpenAlex count · 1,467 in total · the current year is incomplete
| Year | Articles | Open access | Citations |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2026 | 60 | 60 | 503 |
| 2025 | 64 | 64 | 515 |
| 2024 | 75 | 75 | 630 |
| 2023 | 54 | 54 | 696 |
| 2022 | 36 | 36 | 522 |
| 2021 | 62 | 62 | 498 |
Sources count differently and were observed at different times, so each source's own value is kept; "publisher" marks figures from the journal's website.
Review & acceptance
Review time and acceptance
- Average review time (community reports)
- about 12 weeksLetPub ·
- Submission to publication (journal-reported)
- about 12 weeksDOAJ ·
- Peer review
- Single anonymous peer reviewDOAJ
Community reports come from authors' own submissions (confidence 0.5) and are not a promise from the journal; for publisher figures, the journal's own definitions apply.
Fees & open access
APC and open-access policy
Every article is open access and authors pay no article processing charge.
| Source | APC | Fee waiver | License | Observed |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| DOAJ | No APC | No | CC BY-NC | |
| LetPub | No APC | No | — |
The journal's website is authoritative for fees; sources were observed at different times and each keeps its own value, without averaging.
Submission
Article types and submission policies (journal website)
What to prepare5 items from the author guidelines
- Abstract
- ≤ 250 words
- Manuscript length
- ≤ 8,000 words
- Reference style
- APA
- Templates
- Word
- Cover letter
- Required
Article types accepted3
- artículo de reflexiónArtículo de reflexión Documento de meta reflexión o de argumentación, sistemático y riguroso, derivado de varias investigaciones realizadas por los autores, ace…Length not stated
- investigación científicaInvestigación científica Documento que presenta, de manera detallada los resultados originales de proyectos terminados de investigación.Length not stated
- otros textos (no se postulan para procesos de indexación)Otros textos (no se postulan para procesos de indexación) Reseñas bibliográficas, de experiencias o de tesis recientemente desarrolladas. Entrevistas, conferenc…Length not stated
Excerpts are quoted from the journal's website; "model summary" lines are written by Workers AI and checked against the text. The journal's website is authoritative.
Profile
Publication details and official links
- Publisher
- Research Center of Universidad Pedagogica Nacional
- Country or region
- Colombia
- Language
- English, Spanish, Portuguese
- ISSN
- 0120-3916
- Electronic ISSN
- 2323-0134
- Official links
FAQ
Frequently asked questions about Revista Colombiana de Educacion
How long does peer review take at Revista Colombiana de Educacion?
Authors report an average review time of about 12 weeks. Article statistics cover accepted papers only, publisher figures follow the journal's own definitions, and community reports come from authors' own submissions; none is a promise from the journal.
What are the manuscript requirements of Revista Colombiana de Educacion?
According to the journal's author guidelines: Abstract: ≤ 250 words; Manuscript length: ≤ 8,000 words; Reference style: APA; Templates: Word; Cover letter: Required. A model extracted these from the author guidelines and each was checked against the text; check the latest version on the journal's website before submitting.
Where are the editorial board members of Revista Colombiana de Educacion based?
Of the 22 board members whose country the journal's board page names, none are in mainland China; the countries named most often are Colombia (16), Argentina (3) and Chile (3). Counted from the institutions listed on the board page; for reference only.
Which databases index Revista Colombiana de Educacion?
According to LetPub and DOAJ records, Revista Colombiana de Educacion is indexed in Scopus and DOAJ.
Is Revista Colombiana de Educacion open access, and what is the APC?
Revista Colombiana de Educacion is a diamond open-access journal (no APC). It charges no article processing charge.
Sources and updates
The facts on this page come from LetPub, OpenAlex, DOAJ, Publisher website; every figure is tagged with its source and the date it was observed, and conflicting values are kept per source. LetPub source page: view ↗ (archived 2026-08-25). Last updated: .