Journal profile · RHEUMATOLOGY
Reumatologia Clinica
ISSN 1699-258X · eISSN 1885-1398 · Elsevier
Reumatologia Clinica: CAS Zone 4 · Medicine (2025 upgraded edition); impact factor 1.5 (journal website); hybrid open access; APC about USD 3,180; review about 105 days (submission to acceptance, publisher); 103 articles in 2025; indexed in ESCI and Scopus.
Scope
Aims, scope and focus
Reumatologia Clinica is published by Elsevier and is in Zone 4 of Medicine in the CAS Journal Ranking (2025 upgraded edition). By OpenAlex counts of its recent articles, its largest topics are Rheumatoid Arthritis Research and Therapies, Spondyloarthritis Studies and Treatments and Systemic Lupus Erythematosus Research, together about 37.7% of its articles. Its main subfields are Rheumatology. (generated from OpenAlex topic counts and CAS ranking data)
Reumatología Clínica is the official journal of two national rheumatology societies: the Spanish Sociedad Española de Reumatología (SER) and the Mexican Colegio Mexicano de Reumatología (CMR). Reumatología Clínica is the leading peer-review journal of rheumatology in all the Spanish-speaking territories. The journal's aim is to improve knowledge among rheumatologists and to stimulate research through the publication of all original contributions in rheumatology in Spanish and English. Contents include original research papers (original articles and case reports) mainly focused on clinical practice and epidemiology, but also on basic research, updates (reviews) and other sections, such as Letters to the Editor, Clinical rheumatology in images and Special articles. The journal, indexed in Medline, ESCI/WoS and Scopus, follows the publication requirements of the International Committee of Medical Journal Editors (ICMJE) and the Committee on Publication Ethics (COPE).Reumatología Clínica es la publicación oficial de la Sociedad Española de Reumatología (SER) y el Colegio Méxicano de Reumatología (CMR). Reumatología Clínica es la revista líder en reumatología en los países y territorios de habla hispana. Su objetivo es mejorar el conocimiento entre los reumatólogos y estimular la investigación a través de la publicación de las contribuciones originales en español y en inglés. xLas secciones de la revista son: artículos originales de investigación (originales y casos clínicos), principalmente enfocados en la práctica clínica y la epidemiología, aunque también en la investigación básica, actualizaciones (revisiones) y otras secciones como cartas al Editor, Reumatología clínica en imágenes y artículos especiales. La revista, incluida en Medline, ESCI/WoS y Scopus, se adhiere a los estándares internacionales de la publicación científica (ICMJE), incluida la revisión por pares y los requerimientos éticos (COPE).
From the journal's Aims & Scope
Research area (LetPub): RHEUMATOLOGY
Editorial board by country: none in mainland China; most named Spain 6, Mexico 6 (12 members with a country) Editorial board ↗Publisher website ·
Main research topics OpenAlex counts of recent articles; shares are approximate
- Rheumatoid Arthritis Research and TherapiesMedicine17%
- Spondyloarthritis Studies and TreatmentsMedicine10.6%
- Systemic Lupus Erythematosus ResearchMedicine10.1%
- Autoimmune and Inflammatory Disorders ResearchMedicine7.5%
- Vasculitis and related conditionsMedicine4.8%
- Systemic Sclerosis and Related DiseasesMedicine4.5%
- Inflammatory Myopathies and DermatomyositisMedicine4%
- Musculoskeletal Disorders and RehabilitationMedicine3.7%
Rankings & indexing
CAS ranking and database indexing
CAS Journal Ranking
CAS Journal Ranking, upgraded edition (March 2025)Medicine Zone 4
| Level | Category | Zone |
|---|---|---|
| Major | Medicine | Zone 4 |
| Minor | Rheumatology | Zone 4 |
Top journal: noReview journal: no
CAS Xinrui Journal Ranking (March 2026)Medicine Zone 4
| Level | Category | Zone |
|---|---|---|
| Major | Medicine | Zone 4 |
| Minor | Rheumatology | Zone 4 |
Top journal: noReview journal: not marked
CAS Journal Ranking, previous upgraded edition (December 2023)Not covered
Not covered by this edition.
Database indexing
ESCIScopusLetPub
International journal early-warning lists: not listed in any editionLetPub
Indexing the journal's website claims
MEDLINEPubMedPublisher website
Other: Crossref
As the journal's website lists them, not checked against each database; for Web of Science editions the records above apply.
Editions, and major and minor categories, are shown separately and never merged into one zone; check which edition your institution uses before you submit or report.
Metrics
Impact metrics and publication volume
Impact
- Impact factor (publisher)
- 1.5Publisher website ·
- CiteScore 2026-06
- 2.3LetPub ·
- CiteScore (publisher)
- 2.3Publisher website ·
- SJR 2026-06
- 0.39LetPub ·
- SNIP 2026-06
- 0.44LetPub ·
- h-index
- 42OpenAlex ·
- i10-index
- 425OpenAlex ·
- 2-year mean citedness
- 0.51OpenAlex ·
- Self-citation rate
- 0%LetPub ·
- Share of gold OA articles
- 7.73%LetPub ·
Volume
- Articles per year
- 76LetPub ·
Articles by year OpenAlex count · 2,430 in total · the current year is incomplete
| Year | Articles | Open access | Citations |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2026 | 94 | 8 | 8 |
| 2025 | 103 | 5 | 32 |
| 2024 | 84 | 14 | 102 |
| 2023 | 88 | 10 | 186 |
| 2022 | 64 | 12 | 273 |
| 2021 | 93 | 9 | 279 |
Sources count differently and were observed at different times, so each source's own value is kept; "publisher" marks figures from the journal's website.
Review & acceptance
Review time and acceptance
Publisher-reported review time from the journal's website
105 dayssubmission to acceptance
The publisher's own definition applies; dates from this journal's articles in the last 24 months are not available yet, so the publisher's figure is used.
Figures by source
- First decision after review
- 51 daysPublisher website ·
- Submission to acceptance
- 105 daysPublisher website ·
- Peer review
- Double anonymous peer reviewPublisher website
Community reports come from authors' own submissions (confidence 0.5) and are not a promise from the journal; for publisher figures, the journal's own definitions apply.
Fees & open access
APC and open-access policy
A subscription journal in which authors can pay to publish their article open access.
| Source | APC | Fee waiver | License | Observed |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| OpenAlex | USD 3,180 / EUR 2,970 / GBP 2,550 / JPY 394,420 | — | — | |
| Publisher website | USD 3,180 | — | — |
A hybrid journal charges the APC only when the author chooses open access; publishing under the subscription model is usually free.
The journal's website is authoritative for fees; sources were observed at different times and each keeps its own value, without averaging.
Submission
Article types and submission policies (journal website)
What to prepare2 items from the author guidelines
- Reference style
- Numbered, in order of citation
- Suggested reviewers
- Required
Article types accepted16, with length limits
- case reportsCase Reports 1 or more clinical cases (short series of cases) of exceptional observation, which make an important contribution to knowledge about the physiopath…Length not stated
- case studyOriginals Research work about etiology, physiopathology, pathological anatomy, epidemiology, clinical presentation, diagnosis, prognosis, and treatment. Recomen…Length not stated
- clinical pathology lecture seriesClinical Pathology Lecture Series Clinical cases in the form of clinical pathology discussions, selected for their clinical relevance and their interest in the …Length not stated
- editorialOriginals Research work about etiology, physiopathology, pathological anatomy, epidemiology, clinical presentation, diagnosis, prognosis, and treatment. Recomen…main text ≤ 6,000 words
- meta-analysisOriginals Research work about etiology, physiopathology, pathological anatomy, epidemiology, clinical presentation, diagnosis, prognosis, and treatment. Recomen…Length not stated
- narrative reviewOriginals Research work about etiology, physiopathology, pathological anatomy, epidemiology, clinical presentation, diagnosis, prognosis, and treatment. Recomen…Length not stated
- original articleOriginals Research work about etiology, physiopathology, pathological anatomy, epidemiology, clinical presentation, diagnosis, prognosis, and treatment. Recomen…Length not stated
- originalsOriginals Research work about etiology, physiopathology, pathological anatomy, epidemiology, clinical presentation, diagnosis, prognosis, and treatment.Length not stated
- protocolOriginals Research work about etiology, physiopathology, pathological anatomy, epidemiology, clinical presentation, diagnosis, prognosis, and treatment. Recomen…Length not stated
- protocolsProtocols High-quality methodological protocols describing a novel topic, a new or highly complex methodology—either due to its design or analysis—and whose res…Length not stated
- qualitative studiesQualitative studies Studies using qualitative methodologies to interpret the meaning and significance of the health-illness process for individuals, their famil…Length not stated
- reviewOriginals Research work about etiology, physiopathology, pathological anatomy, epidemiology, clinical presentation, diagnosis, prognosis, and treatment. Recomen…Length not stated
- short originalsShort Originals Works which can be published in a shorter and faster way (series with a low number of observations, research works with a very specific aim and …Length not stated
- surveyOriginals Research work about etiology, physiopathology, pathological anatomy, epidemiology, clinical presentation, diagnosis, prognosis, and treatment. Recomen…Length not stated
- systematic reviewOriginals Research work about etiology, physiopathology, pathological anatomy, epidemiology, clinical presentation, diagnosis, prognosis, and treatment. Recomen…Length not stated
- systematic review and otherSystematic review and other Systematic review and meta-analysis.Length not stated
Policy excerpts from the journal's websiteAI use, Authorship, Conflicts of interest, License & copyright, Open access, Peer review, Preprints
- AI use Declaration of generative AI in scientific writing
Authors must declare the use of generative AI in scientific writing upon submission of the paper. The following guidance refers only to the writing process, and not to the use of AI tools to analyse and draw insights from data as part of the research process:Generative AI and AI-assisted technologies should only be used in the writing process to improve the readability and language of the manuscri…
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Authorship Authorship
Original work only, not under consideration elsewhere Model summary
All authors should have made substantial contributions to all of the following: (1) the conception and design of the study, or acquisition of data, or analysis and interpretation of data, (2) drafting the article or revising it critically for important intellectual content, (3) final approval of the version to be submitted.
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Conflicts of interest Declaration of interest
All authors must disclose any financial and personal relationships with other people or organizations that could inappropriately influence (bias) their work. Examples of potential competing interests include employment, consultancies, stock ownership, honoraria, paid expert testimony, patent applications/registrations, and grants or other funding. Authors must disclose any interests in two places:…
Source ↗Publisher website ·- License & copyright Copyright
Journal Publishing Agreement required Model summary
Upon acceptance of an article, authors will be asked to complete a 'Journal Publishing Agreement' (see more information on this). An e-mail will be sent to the corresponding author confirming receipt of the manuscript together with a 'Journal Publishing Agreement' form or a link to the online version of this agreement.Subscribers may reproduce tables of contents or prepare lists of articles includ…
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Open access Open access
Open access publishing available Model summary
Please visit our Open Access page for more information about open access publishing in this journal.
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Peer review
Double anonymized review Model summary
This journal uses double anonymized review, which means the identities of the authors are concealed from the reviewers, and vice versa.
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Preprints Preprints
Preprint sharing allowed Model summary
Please note that preprints can be shared anywhere at any time, in line with Elsevier's sharing policy. Sharing your preprints e.g. on a preprint server will not count as prior publication (see 'Multiple, redundant or concurrent publication' for more information).
Source ↗Publisher website ·
Excerpts are quoted from the journal's website; "model summary" lines are written by Workers AI and checked against the text. The journal's website is authoritative.
Profile
Publication details and official links
- Publisher
- Elsevier
- ISSN
- 1699-258X
- Electronic ISSN
- 1885-1398
- Official links
- Journal homepage ↗LetPub
- Submission system ↗Publisher website
- Special issues ↗Publisher website
FAQ
Frequently asked questions about Reumatologia Clinica
What CAS zone is Reumatologia Clinica in?
In the 2025 upgraded edition of the CAS Journal Ranking, Reumatologia Clinica is in Zone 4 of Medicine, and in Zone 4 of the minor category Rheumatology. In the 2026 Xinrui edition it is in Zone 4 of Medicine. Zones from different editions, and from major and minor categories, are not interchangeable.
What is the impact factor of Reumatologia Clinica?
The journal's website gives an impact factor of 1.5; this is the journal's own figure, as LetPub lists none for it; CiteScore 2.3, h-index 42.
How long does peer review take at Reumatologia Clinica?
The publisher reports about 105 days (submission to acceptance). Article statistics cover accepted papers only, publisher figures follow the journal's own definitions, and community reports come from authors' own submissions; none is a promise from the journal.
What are the manuscript requirements of Reumatologia Clinica?
According to the journal's author guidelines: Reference style: Numbered, in order of citation; Suggested reviewers: Required. A model extracted these from the author guidelines and each was checked against the text; check the latest version on the journal's website before submitting.
Where are the editorial board members of Reumatologia Clinica based?
Of the 12 board members whose country the journal's board page names, none are in mainland China; the countries named most often are Spain (6) and Mexico (6). Counted from the institutions listed on the board page; for reference only.
Which databases index Reumatologia Clinica?
According to LetPub and DOAJ records, Reumatologia Clinica is indexed in ESCI and Scopus. The journal's website also lists MEDLINE and PubMed; that list has not been checked against each database.
Is Reumatologia Clinica open access, and what is the APC?
Reumatologia Clinica is a hybrid journal. For open-access publication: APC about USD 3,180.
Sources and updates
The facts on this page come from LetPub, Publisher website, OpenAlex; every figure is tagged with its source and the date it was observed, and conflicting values are kept per source. LetPub source page: view ↗ (archived 2026-08-25). Last updated: .