Journal profile · Neurosciences
Restorative Neurology and Neuroscience
ISSN 0922-6028 · eISSN 1878-3627 · SAGE Publications (formerly IOS Press) · NETHERLANDS · Bimonthly · Founded 1989
Restorative Neurology and Neuroscience: CAS Zone 4 · Medicine (2025 upgraded edition); impact factor 1.78; hybrid open access; APC about USD 4,150; review over 12 weeks (community reports); community-reported acceptance: fairly easy; 19 articles in 2025; indexed in SCIE and Scopus.
Scope
Aims, scope and focus
Restorative Neurology and Neuroscience is published by SAGE Publications (formerly IOS Press) and is in Zone 4 of Medicine in the CAS Journal Ranking (2025 upgraded edition). By OpenAlex counts of its recent articles, its largest topics are Nerve injury and regeneration, Transcranial Magnetic Stimulation Studies and Stroke Rehabilitation and Recovery, together about 34.4% of its articles. (generated from OpenAlex topic counts and CAS ranking data)
This interdisciplinary journal publishes papers relating to the plasticity and response of the nervous system to accidental or experimental injuries and their interventions, transplantation, neurodegenerative disorders and experimental strategies to improve regeneration or functional recovery and rehabilitation. Experimental and clinical research papers adopting fresh conceptual approaches are encouraged. The overriding criteria for publication are novelty, significant experimental or clinical relevance and interest to a multidisciplinary audience. Experiments on un-anesthetized animals should conform with the standards for the use of laboratory animals as established by the Institute of Laboratory Animal Resources, US National Academy of Sciences. Experiments in which paralytic agents are used must be justified. Patient identity should be concealed. All manuscripts are sent out for blind peer review to editorial board members or outside reviewers. Restorative Neurology and Neuroscience is a member of Neuroscience Peer Review Consortium.
Source: LetPub
Research area (LetPub): Neurosciences
Main research topics OpenAlex counts of recent articles; shares are approximate
- Nerve injury and regenerationNeuroscience12.9%
- Transcranial Magnetic Stimulation StudiesNeuroscience11.9%
- Stroke Rehabilitation and RecoveryMedicine9.7%
- Neurogenesis and neuroplasticity mechanismsNeuroscience9.3%
- Spatial Neglect and Hemispheric DysfunctionNeuroscience6.1%
- Spinal Cord Injury ResearchMedicine4.5%
- Traumatic Brain Injury and Neurovascular DisturbancesMedicine4.1%
- Neuroscience and Neuropharmacology ResearchNeuroscience3.9%
Rankings & indexing
CAS ranking and database indexing
CAS Journal Ranking
CAS Journal Ranking, upgraded edition (March 2025)Medicine Zone 4
| Level | Category | Zone |
|---|---|---|
| Major | Medicine | Zone 4 |
| Minor | Neurosciences | Zone 4 |
Top journal: noReview journal: no
CAS Xinrui Journal Ranking (March 2026)Medicine Zone 4
| Level | Category | Zone |
|---|---|---|
| Major | Medicine | Zone 4 |
| Minor | Neurosciences | Zone 4 |
Top journal: noReview journal: not marked
CAS Journal Ranking, previous upgraded edition (December 2023)Medicine Zone 4
| Level | Category | Zone |
|---|---|---|
| Major | Medicine | Zone 4 |
| Minor | Neurosciences | Zone 4 |
Top journal: noReview journal: no
Database indexing
SCIEScopusLetPub
International journal early-warning lists: not listed in any editionLetPub
Editions, and major and minor categories, are shown separately and never merged into one zone; check which edition your institution uses before you submit or report.
Metrics
Impact metrics and publication volume
Impact
- Impact factor
- 1.78LetPub ·
- Impact factor (publisher)
- 1.8Publisher website ·
- 5-year impact factor (publisher)
- 2Publisher website ·
- CiteScore 2026-06
- 3.1LetPub ·
- SJR 2026-06
- 0.39LetPub ·
- SNIP 2026-06
- 0.68LetPub ·
- h-index
- 69LetPub ·
- h-index
- 103OpenAlex ·
- i10-index
- 992OpenAlex ·
- 2-year mean citedness
- 1.16OpenAlex ·
- Self-citation rate
- 5.6%LetPub ·
- Share of gold OA articles
- 12.82%LetPub ·
Volume
- Articles per year
- 21LetPub ·
Articles by year OpenAlex count · 1,615 in total · the current year is incomplete
| Year | Articles | Open access | Citations |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2026 | 31 | 9 | 9 |
| 2025 | 19 | 13 | 39 |
| 2024 | 18 | 5 | 31 |
| 2023 | 11 | 8 | 50 |
| 2022 | 15 | 5 | 119 |
| 2021 | 33 | 8 | 317 |
Sources count differently and were observed at different times, so each source's own value is kept; "publisher" marks figures from the journal's website.
Review & acceptance
Review time and acceptance
- Average review time (community reports)
- over 12 weeksLetPub ·
- Average acceptance (community reports)
- Fairly easyLetPub ·
- Peer review
- Single anonymous peer reviewPublisher website
Community reports come from authors' own submissions (confidence 0.5) and are not a promise from the journal; for publisher figures, the journal's own definitions apply.
Fees & open access
APC and open-access policy
A subscription journal in which authors can pay to publish their article open access.
| Source | APC | Fee waiver | License | Observed |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| OpenAlex | USD 4,150 / GBP 3,043 | — | — | |
| Publisher website | USD 750 / GBP 600 | — | — |
A hybrid journal charges the APC only when the author chooses open access; publishing under the subscription model is usually free.
Other charges and waivers (author guidelines)
- Submission fee
- USD 750
The journal's website is authoritative for fees; sources were observed at different times and each keeps its own value, without averaging.
Submission
Article types and submission policies (journal website)
What to prepare7 items from the author guidelines
- Abstract
- ≤ 300 words
- Keywords
- ≥ 4
- Manuscript length
- ≤ 1,500 words
- Reference style
- APA
- First submission
- Free format: the journal's layout is not required
- Suggested reviewers
- Optional
- Cover letter
- Required
Article types accepted17, with length limits
- book reviewOriginal Research Article Research Articles should present novel work within the scope of the journal which represents an important advancement in knowledge or …Length not stated
- book reviewsBook Reviews Book reviews should be 750 words or less and without sections.Length not stated
- case reportOriginal Research Article Research Articles should present novel work within the scope of the journal which represents an important advancement in knowledge or …main text ≤ 1,500 words
- case reportsCase reports The journal will consider clinical descriptions of a single case or a very small case series.Length not stated
- commentaryer will be offered to write a response. Commentaries or Opinion/Position pieces These articles can be around 1000 words with an abstract and no other subdivisio…main text ≤ 1,000 words
- hypothesesHypotheses A hypothesis article should be a balanced and insightful consideration of a topic with novel hypotheses well-presented and supported.Length not stated
- hypothesisOriginal Research Article Research Articles should present novel work within the scope of the journal which represents an important advancement in knowledge or …Length not stated
- letterOriginal Research Article Research Articles should present novel work within the scope of the journal which represents an important advancement in knowledge or …Length not stated
- letter to the editorOriginal Research Article Research Articles should present novel work within the scope of the journal which represents an important advancement in knowledge or …main text ≤ 1,000 words
- letters to the editorOriginal Research Article Research Articles should present novel work within the scope of the journal which represents an important advancement in knowledge or …Length not stated
- original research articleOriginal Research Article Research Articles should present novel work within the scope of the journal which represents an important advancement in knowledge or …Length not stated
- research articleOriginal Research Article Research Articles should present novel work within the scope of the journal which represents an important advancement in knowledge or …Length not stated
- research reportOriginal Research Article Research Articles should present novel work within the scope of the journal which represents an important advancement in knowledge or …Length not stated
- reviewOriginal Research Article Research Articles should present novel work within the scope of the journal which represents an important advancement in knowledge or …Length not stated
- reviewsReviews Reviews should be authoritative and topical and provide comprehensive and balanced coverage of a timely and/or controversial issue.Length not stated
- short communicationOriginal Research Article Research Articles should present novel work within the scope of the journal which represents an important advancement in knowledge or …main text ≤ 1,500 words
- short communicationsShort Communications A short communication is an article of original scholarship of unusual interest of less than 1500 words (not including references).Length not stated
Policy excerpts from the journal's websiteAuthorship, Data availability, Publication ethics, Open access, Peer review, Plagiarism, Preprints, Trial registration / reporting guidelines
- Authorship Author contributions
You will be asked to list the contribution of each author as part of the submission process. Please include the Author Contributions heading within your submission after the Acknowledgements section. The information you give on submission will then show under the Author Contributions heading later at the proofing stage.
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Data availability Data availability
The Journal is committed to facilitating openness, transparency and reproducibility of research, and has the following research data sharing policy. For more information, including FAQs please visit the Sage Research Data policy pages. Subject to appropriate ethical and legal considerations, authors are encouraged to: Share your research data in a relevant public data repository Include a data ava…
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Publication ethics Ethical considerations
Please include your ethics approval statements under this heading, even if you have already included ethics approval information in your methods section. If ethical approval was not required, you need to explicitly state this. All papers reporting studies involving human participants, human data or human tissue must state that the relevant Ethics Committee or Institutional Review Board approved th…
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Open access Publishing fees and open access
When an article is accepted for publication, authors are required to pay a publication fee of $750/£600. Details of how to complete the payment will be given at the article's acceptance. Paid fees will not be refunded if articles are withdrawn or need to be retracted after acceptance. A waiver request for the publication fee should be submitted before the initial submission of a paper. Please send…
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Peer review Peer review policy
Identity transparency: Single anonymized Model summary
The following summary describes the peer review process for this journal: Identity transparency: Single-anonymized Reviewer interacts with: Editor Review information published: None Your manuscript will undergo an initial evaluation. If it does not conform to the requirements laid out in these guidelines, it will be returned to you for amendments prior to peer review. Manuscripts may be desk rejec…
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Plagiarism Plagiarism
The journal and Sage take issues of copyright infringement, plagiarism or other breaches of best practice in publication very seriously. Please read Sage's complete policy on plagiarism and the actions we may take.
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Preprints Preprints
The journal will consider submissions of manuscripts that have been posted on preprint servers. Please enter the preprint DOI in the designated field when submitting your manuscript. We advise that you inform the Journal Editorial office about your posted preprint at submission. Note that you should not post an updated version of your manuscript on a preprint server while it is being peer reviewed…
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Trial registration / reporting guidelines Clinical trial registration
The journal endorses the ICMJE requirement that clinical trials are registered in a WHO-approved public trials registry at or before the time of first participant enrollment. However, consistent with the AllTrials campaign, retrospectively registered trials will be considered if the justification for late registration is acceptable. The trial registry name and URL, and registration number must be …
Source ↗Publisher website ·
Excerpts are quoted from the journal's website; "model summary" lines are written by Workers AI and checked against the text. The journal's website is authoritative.
Profile
Publication details and official links
- Publisher
- SAGE Publications (formerly IOS Press)
- Country or region
- NETHERLANDS
- Language
- English
- Frequency
- Bimonthly
- Founded
- 1989
- ISSN
- 0922-6028
- Electronic ISSN
- 1878-3627
- Official links
- Journal homepage ↗OpenAlex
- Submission system ↗LetPub
- Author guidelines ↗LetPub
- Special issues ↗Publisher website
FAQ
Frequently asked questions about Restorative Neurology and Neuroscience
What CAS zone is Restorative Neurology and Neuroscience in?
In the 2025 upgraded edition of the CAS Journal Ranking, Restorative Neurology and Neuroscience is in Zone 4 of Medicine, and in Zone 4 of the minor category Neurosciences. In the 2026 Xinrui edition it is in Zone 4 of Medicine. Zones from different editions, and from major and minor categories, are not interchangeable.
What is the impact factor of Restorative Neurology and Neuroscience?
The latest impact factor listed by LetPub is 1.78; CiteScore 3.1, h-index 103.
How long does peer review take at Restorative Neurology and Neuroscience?
Authors report an average review time of over 12 weeks; the community-reported acceptance is “Fairly easy”. Article statistics cover accepted papers only, publisher figures follow the journal's own definitions, and community reports come from authors' own submissions; none is a promise from the journal.
What are the manuscript requirements of Restorative Neurology and Neuroscience?
According to the journal's author guidelines: Abstract: ≤ 300 words; Keywords: ≥ 4; Manuscript length: ≤ 1,500 words; Reference style: APA; First submission: Free format: the journal's layout is not required; Suggested reviewers: Optional; Cover letter: Required. A model extracted these from the author guidelines and each was checked against the text; check the latest version on the journal's website before submitting.
Which databases index Restorative Neurology and Neuroscience?
According to LetPub and DOAJ records, Restorative Neurology and Neuroscience is indexed in SCIE and Scopus.
Is Restorative Neurology and Neuroscience open access, and what is the APC?
Restorative Neurology and Neuroscience is a hybrid journal. For open-access publication: APC about USD 4,150.
Sources and updates
The facts on this page come from LetPub, OpenAlex, Publisher website; every figure is tagged with its source and the date it was observed, and conflicting values are kept per source. LetPub source page: view ↗ (archived 2026-08-26). Last updated: .