Journal profile · CARDIAC & CARDIOVASCULAR SYSTEMS
Research Reports in Clinical Cardiology
ISSN 1179-8475 · Dove Medical Press · United Kingdom
Research Reports in Clinical Cardiology: CAS Zone 4 · Medicine (2025 upgraded edition); impact factor 0.8 (journal website); fully open access; APC about USD 3,230; review about 16 weeks (community reports); acceptance rate 7% (journal website); 7 articles in 2025; indexed in ESCI.
Scope
Aims, scope and focus
Research Reports in Clinical Cardiology is published by Dove Medical Press and is in Zone 4 of Medicine in the CAS Journal Ranking (2025 upgraded edition). By OpenAlex counts of its recent articles, its largest topics are Cardiac Imaging and Diagnostics, Atrial Fibrillation Management and Outcomes and Cardiovascular Function and Risk Factors, together about 24.7% of its articles. Its main subfields are Cardiology and Cardiovascular Medicine. (generated from OpenAlex topic counts and CAS ranking data)
Editor-in-Chief: Dr Gaetano Ruocco Research Reports in Clinical Cardiology publishes evidence-based original research, reports, editorials, perspectives, reviews and commentaries covering the following topics: • prevention • metabolic disorders influencing cardiac risk • coronary heart disease • arrhythmias and pacing • heart failure• cardiomyopathies • methodologies • treatment • percutaneous and invasive techniques • outcomes• adult congenital heart disease• cardiovascular genetics Emphasis is placed upon translation of important basic research, updated information about classical topics, scholarly discussions of controversial topics, and incisive, salient manuscripts relevant either to conceptualization or practice of cardiology. Research Reports in Clinical Cardiology will no longer consider meta-analyses for publication. Updated 6 August 2025
From the journal's Aims & Scope
Research area (LetPub): CARDIAC & CARDIOVASCULAR SYSTEMS
Editor-in-chief Ruocco HeartPublisher website
Editorial board by country: 4 in mainland China (about 14%); most named United States 8, Mainland China 4, Italy 4, United Kingdom 2, Germany 2 (28 members with a country) Editorial board ↗Publisher website ·
Main research topics OpenAlex counts of recent articles; shares are approximate
- Cardiac Imaging and DiagnosticsMedicine8.9%
- Atrial Fibrillation Management and OutcomesMedicine8.2%
- Cardiovascular Function and Risk FactorsMedicine7.6%
- Cardiac Arrhythmias and TreatmentsMedicine6.7%
- Coronary Interventions and DiagnosticsMedicine5.7%
- Cardiac Valve Diseases and TreatmentsMedicine5.4%
- Acute Myocardial Infarction ResearchMedicine5.4%
- Heart Failure Treatment and ManagementMedicine4.8%
Rankings & indexing
CAS ranking and database indexing
CAS Journal Ranking
CAS Journal Ranking, upgraded edition (March 2025)Medicine Zone 4
| Level | Category | Zone |
|---|---|---|
| Major | Medicine | Zone 4 |
| Minor | Cardiac & Cardiovascular Systems | Zone 4 |
Top journal: noReview journal: no
CAS Xinrui Journal Ranking (March 2026)Medicine Zone 4
| Level | Category | Zone |
|---|---|---|
| Major | Medicine | Zone 4 |
| Minor | Cardiac & Cardiovascular Systems | Zone 4 |
Top journal: noReview journal: not marked
CAS Journal Ranking, previous upgraded edition (December 2023)Not covered
Not covered by this edition.
Database indexing
ESCIDOAJLetPub
International journal early-warning lists: not listed in any editionLetPub
Editions, and major and minor categories, are shown separately and never merged into one zone; check which edition your institution uses before you submit or report.
Metrics
Impact metrics and publication volume
Impact
- Impact factor (publisher) 2025
- 0.8Publisher website ·
- 5-year impact factor (publisher) 2025
- 0.6Publisher website ·
- h-index
- 14OpenAlex ·
- i10-index
- 20OpenAlex ·
- 2-year mean citedness
- 0.3OpenAlex ·
- Self-citation rate
- 0%LetPub ·
- Share of gold OA articles
- 100%LetPub ·
Volume
- Articles per year
- 7LetPub ·
- Downloads per year (publisher)
- 37,172Publisher website ·
Articles by year OpenAlex count · 180 in total · the current year is incomplete
| Year | Articles | Open access | Citations |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2026 | 3 | 3 | 1 |
| 2025 | 7 | 7 | 1 |
| 2024 | 10 | 10 | 4 |
| 2023 | 10 | 10 | 13 |
| 2022 | 12 | 12 | 41 |
| 2021 | 8 | 8 | 40 |
Sources count differently and were observed at different times, so each source's own value is kept; "publisher" marks figures from the journal's website.
Review & acceptance
Review time and acceptance
- Average review time (community reports)
- about 16 weeksLetPub ·
- Acceptance rate (publisher)
- 7%Publisher website ·
- Submission to publication (journal-reported)
- about 16 weeksDOAJ ·
- Peer review
- Single anonymous peer reviewDOAJ
Community reports come from authors' own submissions (confidence 0.5) and are not a promise from the journal; for publisher figures, the journal's own definitions apply.
Fees & open access
APC and open-access policy
Every article is open access; authors usually pay an article processing charge (APC).
| Source | APC | Fee waiver | License | Observed |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| DOAJ | USD 3,230 | Yes | CC BY, CC BY-NC | |
| OpenAlex | USD 1,806 | — | — | |
| LetPub | USD 2,630 | Yes | — |
The journal's website is authoritative for fees; sources were observed at different times and each keeps its own value, without averaging.
Submission
Article types and submission policies (journal website)
Article types accepted2
- case reportAuthors may use these detailed descriptions of different paper types accepted by Dove Medical Press (case reports, reviews, etc) to decide how to label their pa…Length not stated
- reviewAuthors may use these detailed descriptions of different paper types accepted by Dove Medical Press (case reports, reviews, etc) to decide how to label their pa…Length not stated
Excerpts are quoted from the journal's website; "model summary" lines are written by Workers AI and checked against the text. The journal's website is authoritative.
Profile
Publication details and official links
- Publisher
- Dove Medical Press
- Country or region
- United Kingdom
- Language
- English
- ISSN
- 1179-8475
- Official links
- Journal homepage ↗DOAJ
- Author guidelines ↗LetPub
- Aims & Scope ↗LetPub
- Special issues ↗Publisher website
- APC information ↗DOAJ
- Fee waivers ↗DOAJ
- Open access statement ↗DOAJ
- License & copyright ↗DOAJ
- Peer review process ↗LetPub
- Editorial board ↗LetPub
- Plagiarism policy ↗DOAJ
FAQ
Frequently asked questions about Research Reports in Clinical Cardiology
What CAS zone is Research Reports in Clinical Cardiology in?
In the 2025 upgraded edition of the CAS Journal Ranking, Research Reports in Clinical Cardiology is in Zone 4 of Medicine, and in Zone 4 of the minor category Cardiac & Cardiovascular Systems. In the 2026 Xinrui edition it is in Zone 4 of Medicine. Zones from different editions, and from major and minor categories, are not interchangeable.
What is the impact factor of Research Reports in Clinical Cardiology?
The journal's website gives an impact factor of 0.8 (2025); this is the journal's own figure, as LetPub lists none for it; h-index 14.
How long does peer review take at Research Reports in Clinical Cardiology?
Authors report an average review time of about 16 weeks; the journal's website gives an acceptance rate of 7%. Article statistics cover accepted papers only, publisher figures follow the journal's own definitions, and community reports come from authors' own submissions; none is a promise from the journal.
Where are the editorial board members of Research Reports in Clinical Cardiology based?
Of the 28 board members whose country the journal's board page names, 4 (about 14%) are in mainland China; the countries named most often are United States (8), Mainland China (4) and Italy (4). Counted from the institutions listed on the board page; for reference only.
Which databases index Research Reports in Clinical Cardiology?
According to LetPub and DOAJ records, Research Reports in Clinical Cardiology is indexed in ESCI and DOAJ.
Is Research Reports in Clinical Cardiology open access, and what is the APC?
Research Reports in Clinical Cardiology is a fully open-access journal. APC about USD 3,230.
Sources and updates
The facts on this page come from LetPub, Publisher website, OpenAlex, DOAJ; every figure is tagged with its source and the date it was observed, and conflicting values are kept per source. LetPub source page: view ↗ (archived 2026-08-25). Last updated: .