Journal profile · REHABILITATION
Rehabilitation Research and Practice
ISSN 2090-2867 · eISSN 2090-2875 · Hindawi Limited · United Kingdom
FollowGet an email when its zone, impact factor or warning status changes
Rehabilitation Research and Practice: fully open access; APC about USD 950; review about 19 weeks (community reports); 0 articles in 2025; indexed in Scopus.
Scope
Aims, scope and focus
Rehabilitation Research and Practice is published by Hindawi Limited. By OpenAlex counts of its recent articles, its largest topics are Stroke Rehabilitation and Recovery, Medical Practices and Rehabilitation and Balance, Gait, and Falls Prevention, together about 38.8% of its articles. (generated from OpenAlex topic counts and CAS ranking data)
Rehabilitation Research and Practice is a peer-reviewed, open access journal that publishes original research articles and review articles in all areas of physical medicine and rehabilitation. The journal focuses on improving and restoring functional ability and quality of life to those with physical impairments or disabilities. In addition, articles looking at techniques to assess and study disabling conditions will be considered.
From the journal's Aims & Scope
Research area (LetPub): REHABILITATION
Editorial board by country: none in mainland China; most named Italy 5, United States 1, United Kingdom 1, Canada 1, Australia 1 (12 members with a country) Editorial board ↗Publisher website ·
Main research topics OpenAlex counts of recent articles; shares are approximate
- Stroke Rehabilitation and RecoveryMedicine17.2%
- Medical Practices and RehabilitationHealth Professions12.2%
- Balance, Gait, and Falls PreventionHealth Professions9.3%
- Musculoskeletal pain and rehabilitationMedicine6.1%
- Lower Extremity Biomechanics and PathologiesEngineering5.2%
- Traumatic Brain Injury ResearchMedicine4.1%
- Cardiovascular and exercise physiologyMedicine3.9%
- Physical Activity and HealthMedicine3.6%
Rankings & indexing
CAS ranking and database indexing
CAS Journal Ranking
CAS Journal Ranking, upgraded edition (March 2025)Not covered
Not covered by this edition.
CAS Xinrui Journal Ranking (March 2026)Not covered
Not covered by this edition.
CAS Journal Ranking, previous upgraded edition (December 2023)Not covered
Not covered by this edition.
CiteScore quartiles (Scopus, June 2026 release)
| Subject | Quartile | Rank | Percentile |
|---|---|---|---|
| Rehabilitation | Q2 | 42/161 | 74th |
| Physical Therapy, Sports Therapy and Rehabilitation | Q2 | 74/247 | 70th |
Scopus ranks journals by CiteScore within each subject: the 75th percentile and above is Q1, then a quartile every 25 points. A different system from the CAS zones.LetPub
Database indexing
ScopusLetPub
International journal early-warning lists: not listed in any editionLetPub
Indexing the journal's website claims
ESCIWeb of SciencePubMedEmbaseCASCINAHLDOAJPublisher website
Other: Google Scholar, EBSCO, ProQuest, CNKI, J-Gate
As the journal's website lists them, not checked against each database; for Web of Science editions the records above apply.
Editions, and major and minor categories, are shown separately and never merged into one zone; check which edition your institution uses before you submit or report.
Metrics
Impact metrics and publication volume
- CiteScore 2026-06
- 3.8LetPub ·
- SJR 2026-06
- 0.44LetPub ·
- SNIP 2026-06
- 0.9LetPub ·
- h-index
- 37OpenAlex ·
- i10-index
- 162OpenAlex ·
- 2-year mean citedness
- 5.83OpenAlex ·
- Share of gold OA articles
- 96.97%LetPub ·
- Articles per year
- 4LetPub ·
Articles by year OpenAlex count · 267 in total · the current year is incomplete
| Year | Articles | Open access | Citations |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2026 | 0 | 0 | 268 |
| 2025 | 0 | 0 | 553 |
| 2024 | 12 | 11 | 570 |
| 2023 | 4 | 4 | 585 |
| 2022 | 17 | 17 | 599 |
| 2021 | 15 | 15 | 549 |
Sources count differently and were observed at different times, so each source's own value is kept; "publisher" marks figures from the journal's website.
Review & acceptance
Review time and acceptance
Review time from article dates manuscript dates registered with PubMed · to
Too few articlesOnly 1 articles from the last 24 months carry both submission and acceptance dates, too few for a median
Only articles that were accepted and published are counted, not the time spent on rejected manuscripts, so this usually runs longer than a publisher's "time to first decision".
Other sources
- Average review time (community reports)
- about 19 weeksLetPub ·
- Peer review
- Anonymous peer reviewLetPub
Community reports come from authors' own submissions (confidence 0.5) and are not a promise from the journal; for publisher figures, the journal's own definitions apply.
Fees & open access
APC and open-access policy
Every article is open access; authors usually pay an article processing charge (APC).
| Source | APC | Fee waiver | License | Observed |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| OpenAlex | USD 950 | — | — | |
| LetPub | USD 925 | Yes | — | |
| Publisher website | Yes, amount not published | — | — |
The journal's website is authoritative for fees; sources were observed at different times and each keeps its own value, without averaging.
Submission
Article types and submission policies (journal website)
What to prepare1 items from the author guidelines
- Abstract
- ≤ 300 words
Article types accepted5
- original researchThe journal will consider the following article types: Research articles Research articles should present the results of an original research study. These manus…Length not stated
- research articleThe journal will consider the following article types: Research articles Research articles should present the results of an original research study. These manus…Length not stated
- reviewThe journal will consider the following article types: Research articles Research articles should present the results of an original research study. These manus…Length not stated
- review articleThe journal will consider the following article types: Research articles Research articles should present the results of an original research study. These manus…Length not stated
- systematic reviewThe journal will consider the following article types: Research articles Research articles should present the results of an original research study. These manus…Length not stated
Policy excerpts from the journal's websiteAuthorship, Conflicts of interest, Data availability, License & copyright, Peer review, Preprints, Trial registration / reporting guidelines
- Authorship Title and authorship information
The following information should be included: Manuscript title Full author names Full institutional mailing addresses Email addresses Affiliations. The publisher remains neutral with regard to jurisdictional claims in institutional affiliations. Responsibility for affiliations ultimately rests with the author, although the publisher may request changes be made to countries listed in affiliations t…
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Conflicts of interest Conflicts of interest
Concurrent submissions limited to three manuscripts under review Model summary
Authors must declare all relevant interests that could be perceived as conflicting. Authors should explain why each interest may represent a conflict. If no conflicts exist, the authors should state this. Submitting authors are responsible for co-authors declaring their interests. Conflicts of interest (COIs, also known as 'competing interests') occur when issues outside research could be reasonab…
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Data availability Data availability
Data availability statement required Model summary
Authors must include a data availability statement with their submission. When submitting a manuscript, submitting authors will be asked to select from several pre-written statements or use the text editor to tell us about data availability with regard to their submission. Review our Data Sharing Policy to understand which data availability statement is right for your submission.
Source ↗Publisher website ·- License & copyright Copyright and permissions
Copyright: authors retain copyright, CC BY Model summary
Authors retain the copyright of their manuscripts, and all open access articles are distributed under the terms of the Creative Commons Attribution License, which permits unrestricted use, distribution, and reproduction in any medium, provided that the original work is properly cited. The use of general descriptive names, trade names, trademarks, and so forth in this publication, even if not speci…
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Peer review Peer review
Peer review model: single-anonymized Model summary
The journal follows a single-anonymized peer review model, for applicable article types. Information on the Peer Review model can be found here. Wiley's policy on the confidentiality of the review process is available here. All submitted articles are subject to assessment and peer review to ensure editorial appropriateness and technical correctness. Research published in the journal must be: Scien…
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Preprints Preprints
Preprint policy: preprints accepted Model summary
The journal accepts articles previously published on preprint servers, and does not consider this to compromise the novelty of the results. Articles based on content previously made public only on a preprint server, institutional repository, or in a thesis will be considered. The preprint should be cited.
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Trial registration / reporting guidelines Reporting guidelines
Authors are strongly encouraged to use appropriate reporting guidelines when preparing and submitting manuscripts, to maximize transparency and reproducibility. Our editors and reviewers are also encouraged to use them in the review process. Completed checklists should be provided in the supplementary files on submission. We particularly encourage the use of: CONSORT for randomized controlled tria…
Source ↗Publisher website ·
Excerpts are quoted from the journal's website; "model summary" lines are written by Workers AI and checked against the text. The journal's website is authoritative.
Before you submit
Five checks before submitting to Rehabilitation Research and Practice
- 1ScopeRecent output centres on Stroke Rehabilitation and Recovery, Medical Practices and Rehabilitation.Check scope
- 2Article type and formatAbstract: ≤ 300 words.Author guidelines ↗
- 3English languagePolish grammar and academic style before you submit: it lowers the risk of rejection for language and improves your chances of acceptance.
- 4FeesUSD 950 (OpenAlex)Fee details
- 5Expected review timeabout 19 weeks · Community average; too few article dates (1)Review data
The checks are built from this page's data.
Profile
Publication details and official links
- Publisher
- Hindawi Limited
- Country or region
- United Kingdom
- Language
- English
- ISSN
- 2090-2867
- Electronic ISSN
- 2090-2875
- Official links
- Journal homepage ↗OpenAlex
- Author guidelines ↗LetPub
- Aims & Scope ↗LetPub
- Peer review process ↗LetPub
- Editorial board ↗LetPub
FAQ
Frequently asked questions about Rehabilitation Research and Practice
How long does peer review take at Rehabilitation Research and Practice?
Authors report an average review time of about 19 weeks. Article statistics cover accepted papers only, publisher figures follow the journal's own definitions, and community reports come from authors' own submissions; none is a promise from the journal.
Where are the editorial board members of Rehabilitation Research and Practice based?
Of the 12 board members whose country the journal's board page names, none are in mainland China; the countries named most often are Italy (5), United States (1) and United Kingdom (1). Counted from the institutions listed on the board page; for reference only.
Which databases index Rehabilitation Research and Practice?
According to LetPub and DOAJ records, Rehabilitation Research and Practice is indexed in Scopus. The journal's website also lists ESCI, Web of Science, PubMed, Embase, CAS, CINAHL and DOAJ; that list has not been checked against each database.
Is Rehabilitation Research and Practice open access, and what is the APC?
Rehabilitation Research and Practice is a fully open-access journal. APC about USD 950.
Sources and updates
The facts on this page come from LetPub, OpenAlex, Publisher website; every figure is tagged with its source and the date it was observed, and conflicting values are kept per source. LetPub source page: view ↗ (archived 2026-08-26). Last updated: .