Journal profile · REHABILITATION

Rehabilitation Process and Outcome

ISSN 1179-5727 · eISSN 2753-6351 · SAGE Publishing · United Kingdom

Rehabilitation Process and Outcome: impact factor 2.3 (journal website); fully open access; APC about USD 2,650; median 120 days to acceptance (42 articles, last 24 months); 3 articles a year.

Impact factor2.3From the journal's website, latest value
CAS zone—Not in the CAS Journal Ranking
Review time120 daysMedian, submission to acceptance · 42 articles, last 24 months · PubMed
APCUSD 2,650Fully open access
Acceptance—No reports yet
Articles per year3LetPub annual count

Scope

Aims, scope and focus

Rehabilitation Process and Outcome is published by SAGE Publishing. By OpenAlex counts of its recent articles, its largest topics are Stroke Rehabilitation and Recovery, Cerebral Palsy and Movement Disorders and Musculoskeletal pain and rehabilitation, together about 37.6% of its articles. (generated from OpenAlex topic counts and CAS ranking data)

Advances in Rehabilitation Science and Practice is an international, peer reviewed, open access journal that covers cutting-edge research and developments in the clinical practice of rehabilitation. The journal focuses on innovations from the field of neurorehabilitation, … | View full journal description

From the journal's Aims & Scope

Research area (LetPub): REHABILITATION

Editor-in-chief Manoj SivanPublisher website

Editorial board by country: none in mainland China; most named United States 11, United Kingdom 10, India 8, Türkiye 8, Italy 6 (69 members with a country) Editorial board ↗Publisher website ·

Main research topics OpenAlex counts of recent articles; shares are approximate

  1. Stroke Rehabilitation and RecoveryMedicine19.8%
  2. Cerebral Palsy and Movement DisordersMedicine11.9%
  3. Musculoskeletal pain and rehabilitationMedicine5.9%
  4. Spinal Cord Injury ResearchMedicine5%
  5. Osteoarthritis Treatment and MechanismsMedicine4%
  6. Cardiac Health and Mental HealthMedicine4%
  7. Balance, Gait, and Falls PreventionHealth Professions3%
  8. Physical Activity and HealthMedicine3%

Rankings & indexing

CAS ranking and database indexing

CAS Journal Ranking

CAS Journal Ranking, upgraded edition (March 2025)Not covered

Not covered by this edition.

CAS Xinrui Journal Ranking (March 2026)Not covered

Not covered by this edition.

CAS Journal Ranking, previous upgraded edition (December 2023)Not covered

Not covered by this edition.

Database indexing

DOAJLetPub

International journal early-warning lists: not listed in any editionLetPub

Editions, and major and minor categories, are shown separately and never merged into one zone; check which edition your institution uses before you submit or report.

Metrics

Impact metrics and publication volume

Impact

Impact factor (publisher)
2.3Publisher website ·
5-year impact factor (publisher)
2.3Publisher website ·
h-index
13OpenAlex ·
i10-index
19OpenAlex ·
2-year mean citedness
0OpenAlex ·
Share of gold OA articles
100%LetPub ·

Volume

Articles per year (publisher)
3Publisher website ·

Articles by year OpenAlex count · 62 in total · the current year is incomplete

YearArticlesOpen accessCitations
20226642
202155126

Sources count differently and were observed at different times, so each source's own value is kept; "publisher" marks figures from the journal's website.

Review & acceptance

Review time and acceptance

Review time from article dates manuscript dates registered with PubMed · to

120 daysMedian, submission to acceptance · P25–P75 74 days – 157 days

Acceptance to online
median 37 days (42 articles)
Submission to online
median 151 days
Sample
42 articles with submission and acceptance dates (45 in the window); the latest was accepted on

Only articles that were accepted and published are counted, not the time spent on rejected manuscripts, so this usually runs longer than a publisher's "time to first decision".

Other sources

Average review time (community reports)
about 8 weeksLetPub ·
Submission to publication (journal-reported)
about 8 weeksDOAJ ·
Peer review
Single anonymous peer reviewDOAJ

Community reports come from authors' own submissions (confidence 0.5) and are not a promise from the journal; for publisher figures, the journal's own definitions apply.

Fees & open access

APC and open-access policy

Fully open accessDOAJ

Every article is open access; authors usually pay an article processing charge (APC).

SourceAPCFee waiverLicenseObserved
DOAJUSD 2,650YesCC BY, CC BY-NC
OpenAlexUSD 2,650——
LetPubUSD 2,650Yes—
Publisher websiteUSD 3,200——

The journal's website is authoritative for fees; sources were observed at different times and each keeps its own value, without averaging.

Submission

Article types and submission policies (journal website)

What to prepare1 items from the author guidelines
Reference style
AMA
Publisher website · model-extracted, each line checked against the text
Article types accepted19
  1. case reportView our Special Collections currently accepting submissions: https://journals.sagepub.com/collection-index/rpo Please visit the Sage Journal Author Gateway for…Length not stated
  2. case reportsCase Reports. These structured reports should describe an unusual case and include a full review of the pertinent literature and a section on implications for c…Length not stated
  3. editorialView our Special Collections currently accepting submissions: https://journals.sagepub.com/collection-index/rpo Please visit the Sage Journal Author Gateway for…Length not stated
  4. editorialsEditorials. Editorials are short articles on topics of recent interest that discuss the findings, implications, and/or outcomes of specific research or wider re…Length not stated
  5. letters to the editorView our Special Collections currently accepting submissions: https://journals.sagepub.com/collection-index/rpo Please visit the Sage Journal Author Gateway for…Length not stated
  6. meta-analysesMeta-analyses. These should answer a specific research question and be reported according to the PRISMA guidelines. They should also include a PRISMA flow chart…Length not stated
  7. meta-analysisView our Special Collections currently accepting submissions: https://journals.sagepub.com/collection-index/rpo Please visit the Sage Journal Author Gateway for…Length not stated
  8. opinionView our Special Collections currently accepting submissions: https://journals.sagepub.com/collection-index/rpo Please visit the Sage Journal Author Gateway for…Length not stated
  9. original articleView our Special Collections currently accepting submissions: https://journals.sagepub.com/collection-index/rpo Please visit the Sage Journal Author Gateway for…Length not stated
  10. original articlesOriginal Articles. The Editors will consider preclinical, interventional and observational studies with clearly stated aims, well-reported methodology (includin…Length not stated
  11. perspectiveView our Special Collections currently accepting submissions: https://journals.sagepub.com/collection-index/rpo Please visit the Sage Journal Author Gateway for…Length not stated
  12. perspective reviewsPerspective Reviews. Review-style articles that address important new areas of general interest and afford the author the opportunity to present a forward-looki…Length not stated
  13. protocolView our Special Collections currently accepting submissions: https://journals.sagepub.com/collection-index/rpo Please visit the Sage Journal Author Gateway for…Length not stated
  14. reviewView our Special Collections currently accepting submissions: https://journals.sagepub.com/collection-index/rpo Please visit the Sage Journal Author Gateway for…Length not stated
  15. review articleView our Special Collections currently accepting submissions: https://journals.sagepub.com/collection-index/rpo Please visit the Sage Journal Author Gateway for…Length not stated
  16. review articlesReview Articles. The following types of high-quality review will be considered: General reviews that provide a synthesis of an area that fits within the aims an…Length not stated
  17. study protocolsStudy Protocols. These can be for forthcoming or ongoing research. Information on trial registration (where applicable) and ethics approval should be included i…Length not stated
  18. systematic reviewView our Special Collections currently accepting submissions: https://journals.sagepub.com/collection-index/rpo Please visit the Sage Journal Author Gateway for…Length not stated
  19. systematic reviewsSystematic Reviews. These should answer a specific research question and be reported according to the PRISMA guidelines. They should also include a PRISMA flow …Length not stated
Publisher website
Policy excerpts from the journal's websiteAuthorship, Data availability, Publication ethics, Open access, Peer review, Plagiarism, Preprints, Trial registration / reporting guidelines
Authorship Authorship

Please view our authorship policies, which includes information on criteria for authorship, who should be the corresponding author and more. Please note that AI chatbots, for example ChatGPT, should not be listed as authors. For more information see the policy on Use of ChatGPT and generative AI tools.

Source ↗Publisher website ·
Data availability Data availability

The Journal is committed to facilitating openness, transparency and reproducibility of research, and has the following research data sharing policy. For more information, including FAQs please visit the Sage Research Data policy pages. Subject to appropriate ethical and legal considerations, authors are encouraged to: Share your research data in a relevant public data repository Include a data ava…

Source ↗Publisher website ·
Publication ethics Ethical considerations

Please include your ethics approval statements under this heading, even if you have already included ethics approval information in your methods section. If ethical approval was not required, you need to explicitly state this. All papers reporting studies involving human participants, human data or human tissue must state that the relevant Ethics Committee or Institutional Review Board approved th…

Source ↗Publisher website ·
Open access Publishing fees and open access

Online-only journal Model summary

Advances in Rehabilitation Science and Practice is an open access, peer-reviewed journal. All accepted articles are made freely available online immediately upon publication, are published under a Creative Commons license, and hosted online in perpetuity. If, after peer review, your manuscript is accepted for publication, a one-time article processing charge (APC) is payable to cover the cost of p…

Source ↗Publisher website ·
Peer review Peer review policy

Single anonymized peer review Model summary

The following summary describes the peer review process for this journal: Identity transparency: Single-anonymized Reviewer interacts with: Editor Review information published: None Your manuscript will undergo an initial evaluation. If it does not conform to the requirements laid out in these guidelines, it will be returned to you for amendments prior to peer review. Manuscripts may be desk rejec…

Source ↗Publisher website ·
Plagiarism Plagiarism

The journal and Sage take issues of copyright infringement, plagiarism or other breaches of best practice in publication very seriously. Please read Sage's complete policy on plagiarism and the actions we may take.

Source ↗Publisher website ·
Preprints Preprints

The journal will consider submissions of manuscripts that have been posted on preprint servers. Please enter the preprint DOI in the designated field when submitting your manuscript. We advise that you inform the Journal Editorial office about your posted preprint at submission. Note that you should not post an updated version of your manuscript on a preprint server while it is being peer reviewed…

Source ↗Publisher website ·
Trial registration / reporting guidelines Clinical trial registration

The journal conforms to the ICMJE requirement that clinical trials are registered in a WHO-approved public trials registry at or before the time of first participant enrollment as a condition of consideration for publication. The trial registry name and URL, and registration number must be included at the end of the abstract.

Source ↗Publisher website ·

Excerpts are quoted from the journal's website; "model summary" lines are written by Workers AI and checked against the text. The journal's website is authoritative.

Profile

Publication details and official links

Publisher
SAGE Publishing
Country or region
United Kingdom
Language
English
ISSN
1179-5727
Electronic ISSN
2753-6351
Official links

FAQ

Frequently asked questions about Rehabilitation Process and Outcome

What is the impact factor of Rehabilitation Process and Outcome?

The journal's website gives an impact factor of 2.3; this is the journal's own figure, as LetPub lists none for it; h-index 13.

How long does peer review take at Rehabilitation Process and Outcome?

Based on the dates recorded on 42 articles published between October 2024 and October 2026 (the last 24 months), the median time from submission to acceptance is 120 days (interquartile range 74–157 days); authors report an average review time of about 8 weeks. Article statistics cover accepted papers only, publisher figures follow the journal's own definitions, and community reports come from authors' own submissions; none is a promise from the journal.

Where are the editorial board members of Rehabilitation Process and Outcome based?

Of the 69 board members whose country the journal's board page names, none are in mainland China; the countries named most often are United States (11), United Kingdom (10) and India (8). Counted from the institutions listed on the board page; for reference only.

Which databases index Rehabilitation Process and Outcome?

According to LetPub and DOAJ records, Rehabilitation Process and Outcome is indexed in DOAJ.

Is Rehabilitation Process and Outcome open access, and what is the APC?

Rehabilitation Process and Outcome is a fully open-access journal. APC about USD 2,650.

Sources and updates

The facts on this page come from LetPub, OpenAlex, DOAJ, Publisher website; every figure is tagged with its source and the date it was observed, and conflicting values are kept per source. LetPub source page: view ↗ (archived 2026-08-25). Last updated: .