Journal profile · RADIOLOGY, NUCLEAR MEDICINE & MEDICAL IMAGING
Radiography
ISSN 1078-8174 · eISSN 1532-2831 · Elsevier
Radiography: CAS Zone 3 · Medicine (2025 upgraded edition); impact factor 2.7 (journal website); hybrid open access; APC about USD 2,990; median 99 days to acceptance (103 articles, last 24 months); acceptance rate 41% (journal website); 407 articles in 2025; indexed in ESCI and Scopus.
Scope
Aims, scope and focus
Radiography is published by Elsevier and is in Zone 3 of Medicine in the CAS Journal Ranking (2025 upgraded edition). By OpenAlex counts of its recent articles, its largest topics are Radiology practices and education, Radiation Dose and Imaging and Digital Radiography and Breast Imaging, together about 44.5% of its articles. Its main subfields are Radiology, Nuclear Medicine and Imaging. (generated from OpenAlex topic counts and CAS ranking data)
Radiography is the official peer-reviewed journal of the Society and College of Radiographers and the European Federation of Radiographer Societies.Radiography promotes evidence-based practice by disseminating high quality clinical, scientific and educational research related to all aspects of diagnostic and therapeutic radiography. We publish research articles, systematic and narrative reviews, editorials and letters of international relevance that advance knowledge and encourage innovation within radiography. Radiography is essential reading for researchers, radiographer practitioners*, radiography educators and student radiographers. We aim to influence clinical practice and patient care by informing practitioners, managers, leaders and policy makers working within or aligned to clinical imaging and radiation therapy services.* Inclusive of all radiography practitioners including diagnostic and therapeutic radiographers, medical radiation technologists, radiologic technologists, radiation therapists, medical radiation practitioners, sonographers and nuclear medicine technologists.
From the journal's Aims & Scope
Research area (LetPub): RADIOLOGY, NUCLEAR MEDICINE & MEDICAL IMAGING
Editor-in-chief Jonathan McNultyPublisher website
Editorial board by country: none in mainland China; most named United Kingdom 32, Australia 8, Ireland 8, Denmark 4, Nigeria 4 (79 members with a country) Editorial board ↗Publisher website ·
Main research topics OpenAlex counts of recent articles; shares are approximate
- Radiology practices and educationMedicine24.8%
- Radiation Dose and ImagingMedicine12.5%
- Digital Radiography and Breast ImagingMedicine7.1%
- Innovations in Medical EducationMedicine7%
- Advances in Oncology and RadiotherapyMedicine4.5%
- Advanced Radiotherapy TechniquesPhysics and Astronomy4.5%
- Advanced X-ray and CT ImagingEngineering4.2%
- Ultrasound in Clinical ApplicationsMedicine3.3%
Rankings & indexing
CAS ranking and database indexing
CAS Journal Ranking
CAS Journal Ranking, upgraded edition (March 2025)Medicine Zone 3
| Level | Category | Zone |
|---|---|---|
| Major | Medicine | Zone 3 |
| Minor | Radiology, Nuclear Medicine & Medical Imaging | Zone 3 |
Top journal: noReview journal: no
CAS Xinrui Journal Ranking (March 2026)Medicine Zone 3
| Level | Category | Zone |
|---|---|---|
| Major | Medicine | Zone 3 |
| Minor | Radiology, Nuclear Medicine & Medical Imaging | Zone 3 |
Top journal: noReview journal: not marked
CAS Journal Ranking, previous upgraded edition (December 2023)Not covered
Not covered by this edition.
Database indexing
ESCIScopusLetPub
International journal early-warning lists: not listed in any editionLetPub
Indexing the journal's website claims
PubMedPublisher website
Other: Crossref
As the journal's website lists them, not checked against each database; for Web of Science editions the records above apply.
Editions, and major and minor categories, are shown separately and never merged into one zone; check which edition your institution uses before you submit or report.
Metrics
Impact metrics and publication volume
Impact
- Impact factor (publisher)
- 2.7Publisher website ·
- CiteScore 2026-06
- 4.4LetPub ·
- CiteScore (publisher)
- 4.4Publisher website ·
- SJR 2026-06
- 0.65LetPub ·
- SNIP 2026-06
- 1.07LetPub ·
- h-index
- 63OpenAlex ·
- i10-index
- 1,085OpenAlex ·
- 2-year mean citedness
- 2.22OpenAlex ·
- Self-citation rate
- 33.3%LetPub ·
- Share of gold OA articles
- 51.1%LetPub ·
Volume
- Articles per year
- 290LetPub ·
Articles by year OpenAlex count · 3,848 in total · the current year is incomplete
| Year | Articles | Open access | Citations |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2026 | 256 | 127 | 71 |
| 2025 | 407 | 193 | 658 |
| 2024 | 336 | 180 | 1,492 |
| 2023 | 237 | 157 | 1,854 |
| 2022 | 186 | 94 | 1,794 |
| 2021 | 171 | 76 | 2,543 |
Sources count differently and were observed at different times, so each source's own value is kept; "publisher" marks figures from the journal's website.
Review & acceptance
Review time and acceptance
Review time from article dates manuscript dates registered with PubMed · to
99 daysMedian, submission to acceptance · P25–P75 68 days – 134 days
- Acceptance to online
- median 16 days (103 articles)
- Submission to online
- median 117 days
- Sample
- 103 articles with submission and acceptance dates (623 in the window); the latest was accepted on
Only articles that were accepted and published are counted, not the time spent on rejected manuscripts, so this usually runs longer than a publisher's "time to first decision".
Other sources
- Acceptance rate (publisher)
- 41%Publisher website ·
- First decision after review
- 50 daysPublisher website ·
- Submission to acceptance
- 102 daysPublisher website ·
- Peer review
- Double anonymous peer reviewPublisher website
Community reports come from authors' own submissions (confidence 0.5) and are not a promise from the journal; for publisher figures, the journal's own definitions apply.
Fees & open access
APC and open-access policy
A subscription journal in which authors can pay to publish their article open access.
| Source | APC | Fee waiver | License | Observed |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| OpenAlex | USD 2,990 / EUR 2,800 / GBP 2,390 / JPY 370,850 | — | — | |
| Publisher website | USD 3,100 | — | — |
A hybrid journal charges the APC only when the author chooses open access; publishing under the subscription model is usually free.
The journal's website is authoritative for fees; sources were observed at different times and each keeps its own value, without averaging.
Submission
Article types and submission policies (journal website)
What to prepare7 items from the author guidelines
- Abstract
- ≤ 280 words
- Manuscript length
- ≤ 3,000 words
- Reference style
- Numbered, in order of citation
- Suggested reviewers
- Required
- Graphical abstract
- Optional
- Cover letter
- Required
- Not considered
- author participation; full contact details for each author; approval by all authors
Article types accepted18, with length limits
- case reportRadiography will no longer be accepting submissions of case report articles for consideration in the Journal. Authors wishing to submit case report articles on …figures and tables ≤ 6
- correspondencePapers related to Radiotherapy and Oncology, Clinical Imaging and Radiography Education and Research are welcomed. The contribution must align with one of the f…Length not stated
- guest editorialsGuest Editorials (approx. 1000 words)Length not stated
- letterPapers related to Radiotherapy and Oncology, Clinical Imaging and Radiography Education and Research are welcomed. The contribution must align with one of the f…Length not stated
- letters to the editorPapers related to Radiotherapy and Oncology, Clinical Imaging and Radiography Education and Research are welcomed. The contribution must align with one of the f…Length not stated
- meta-analysisPapers related to Radiotherapy and Oncology, Clinical Imaging and Radiography Education and Research are welcomed. The contribution must align with one of the f…Length not stated
- methods paperPapers related to Radiotherapy and Oncology, Clinical Imaging and Radiography Education and Research are welcomed. The contribution must align with one of the f…Length not stated
- narrative reviewPapers related to Radiotherapy and Oncology, Clinical Imaging and Radiography Education and Research are welcomed. The contribution must align with one of the f…main text ≤ 3,500 words · abstract ≤ 280 words
- narrative review articlesNarrative Review Articles (3,500 words)Length not stated
- original full length research papersOriginal Full Length Research Papers (3,000 words; 4,000 words qualitative and mixed methods* papers)Length not stated
- original paperPapers related to Radiotherapy and Oncology, Clinical Imaging and Radiography Education and Research are welcomed. The contribution must align with one of the f…Length not stated
- research paperPapers related to Radiotherapy and Oncology, Clinical Imaging and Radiography Education and Research are welcomed. The contribution must align with one of the f…main text ≤ 3,000 words
- reviewPapers related to Radiotherapy and Oncology, Clinical Imaging and Radiography Education and Research are welcomed. The contribution must align with one of the f…Length not stated
- review articlePapers related to Radiotherapy and Oncology, Clinical Imaging and Radiography Education and Research are welcomed. The contribution must align with one of the f…Length not stated
- systematic reviewPapers related to Radiotherapy and Oncology, Clinical Imaging and Radiography Education and Research are welcomed. The contribution must align with one of the f…main text ≤ 4,000 words · abstract ≤ 280 words
- systematic review and meta analysesSystematic Review and Meta Analyses (4,000 words)Length not stated
- technical notePapers related to Radiotherapy and Oncology, Clinical Imaging and Radiography Education and Research are welcomed. The contribution must align with one of the f…main text ≤ 1,400 words
- technical notesTechnical notes (1,400 words)Length not stated
Policy excerpts from the journal's websiteAI use, Authorship, Conflicts of interest, License & copyright, Open access, Peer review, Preprints
- AI use Declaration of generative AI in scientific writing
Authors must declare the use of generative AI tools in the manuscript preparation process upon submission of the paper.Generative AI and AI-assisted technologies (“AI tools”) have been rapidly adopted in research and scholarly publishing, offering significant benefits while requiring clear standards for responsible and transparent use.Authors preparing a manuscript for this journal may use AI tool…
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Authorship Authorship
All authors should have made substantial contributions to all of the following: (1) the conception and design of the study, or acquisition of data, or analysis and interpretation of data, (2) drafting the article or revising it critically for important intellectual content, (3) final approval of the version to be submitted.
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Conflicts of interest Declaration of interest
All authors must disclose any financial and personal relationships with other people or organizations that could inappropriately influence (bias) their work. Examples of potential competing interests include employment, consultancies, stock ownership, honoraria, paid expert testimony, patent applications/registrations, and grants or other funding. Authors must disclose any interests in two places:…
Source ↗Publisher website ·- License & copyright Copyright
Upon acceptance of an article, authors will be asked to complete a 'Journal Publishing Agreement' (see more information on this). An e-mail will be sent to the corresponding author confirming receipt of the manuscript together with a 'Journal Publishing Agreement' form or a link to the online version of this agreement.Subscribers may reproduce tables of contents or prepare lists of articles includ…
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Open access Open access
Please visit our Open Access page for more information about open access publishing in this journal.
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Peer review Peer review
Double anonymized peer review Model summary
This journal operates a double anonymized review process. All contributions will be initially assessed by the editor for suitability for the journal. Papers deemed suitable are then typically sent to a minimum of two independent expert reviewers to assess the scientific quality of the paper. The Editor is responsible for the final decision regarding acceptance or rejection of articles. The Editor'…
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Preprints Preprint references
Where a preprint has subsequently become available as a peer-reviewed publication, the formal publication should be used as the reference. If there are preprints that are central to your work or that cover crucial developments in the topic, but are not yet formally published, these may be referenced. Preprints should be clearly marked as such, for example by including the word preprint, or the nam…
Source ↗Publisher website ·
Excerpts are quoted from the journal's website; "model summary" lines are written by Workers AI and checked against the text. The journal's website is authoritative.
Profile
Publication details and official links
- Publisher
- Elsevier
- ISSN
- 1078-8174
- Electronic ISSN
- 1532-2831
- Official links
- Journal homepage ↗LetPub
- Submission system ↗Publisher website
- Special issues ↗Publisher website
FAQ
Frequently asked questions about Radiography
What CAS zone is Radiography in?
In the 2025 upgraded edition of the CAS Journal Ranking, Radiography is in Zone 3 of Medicine, and in Zone 3 of the minor category Radiology, Nuclear Medicine & Medical Imaging. In the 2026 Xinrui edition it is in Zone 3 of Medicine. Zones from different editions, and from major and minor categories, are not interchangeable.
What is the impact factor of Radiography?
The journal's website gives an impact factor of 2.7; this is the journal's own figure, as LetPub lists none for it; CiteScore 4.4, h-index 63.
How long does peer review take at Radiography?
Based on the dates recorded on 103 articles published between October 2024 and October 2026 (the last 24 months), the median time from submission to acceptance is 99 days (interquartile range 68–134 days); the journal's website gives an acceptance rate of 41%. Article statistics cover accepted papers only, publisher figures follow the journal's own definitions, and community reports come from authors' own submissions; none is a promise from the journal.
What are the manuscript requirements of Radiography?
According to the journal's author guidelines: Abstract: ≤ 280 words; Manuscript length: ≤ 3,000 words; Reference style: Numbered, in order of citation; Suggested reviewers: Required; Graphical abstract: Optional; Cover letter: Required. A model extracted these from the author guidelines and each was checked against the text; check the latest version on the journal's website before submitting.
Where are the editorial board members of Radiography based?
Of the 79 board members whose country the journal's board page names, none are in mainland China; the countries named most often are United Kingdom (32), Australia (8) and Ireland (8). Counted from the institutions listed on the board page; for reference only.
Which databases index Radiography?
According to LetPub and DOAJ records, Radiography is indexed in ESCI and Scopus. The journal's website also lists PubMed; that list has not been checked against each database.
Is Radiography open access, and what is the APC?
Radiography is a hybrid journal. For open-access publication: APC about USD 2,990.
Sources and updates
The facts on this page come from LetPub, Publisher website, OpenAlex; every figure is tagged with its source and the date it was observed, and conflicting values are kept per source. LetPub source page: view ↗ (archived 2026-08-26). Last updated: .