Journal profile
Radical Housing Journal
ISSN 2632-2870 · Radical Housing Journal · United Kingdom
Radical Housing Journal: diamond open access (no APC); no APC; review about 30 weeks (community reports); 25 articles in 2025.
Scope
Aims, scope and focus
Radical Housing Journal is published by Radical Housing Journal. By OpenAlex counts of its recent articles, its largest topics are Urban Planning and Governance, Housing, Finance, and Neoliberalism and Collaborative and Sustainable Housing Initiatives, together about 62.4% of its articles. Its main subfields are Urban Studies. (generated from OpenAlex topic counts and CAS ranking data)
The RHJ is interested in publishing contributions from individuals and groups concerned with the fight for the right to housing and to the city globally. The Journal seeks interventions crossing disciplinary and institutional boundaries, and welcomes critical scholarship working at the intersection of political-economy, feminist, critical race studies, decolonial thinking, post-structuralism and more.
From the journal's Aims & Scope
Editorial board by country: none in mainland China; most named United Kingdom 3, Taiwan, China 1, Germany 1, Canada 1, Australia 1 (9 members with a country) Editorial board ↗Publisher website ·
Main research topics OpenAlex counts of recent articles; shares are approximate
- Urban Planning and GovernanceSocial Sciences28.9%
- Housing, Finance, and NeoliberalismEconomics, Econometrics and Finance20.9%
- Collaborative and Sustainable Housing InitiativesSocial Sciences12.6%
- Urban and Rural Development ChallengesSocial Sciences7.1%
- Latin American Urban StudiesSocial Sciences3.5%
- Housing Market and EconomicsEconomics, Econometrics and Finance3.3%
- Urban Development and Societal IssuesSocial Sciences3%
- Homelessness and Social IssuesHealth Professions2.8%
Rankings & indexing
CAS ranking and database indexing
CAS Journal Ranking
CAS Journal Ranking, upgraded edition (March 2025)Not covered
Not covered by this edition.
CAS Xinrui Journal Ranking (March 2026)Not covered
Not covered by this edition.
CAS Journal Ranking, previous upgraded edition (December 2023)Not covered
Not covered by this edition.
Database indexing
DOAJLetPub
International journal early-warning lists: not listed in any editionLetPub
Editions, and major and minor categories, are shown separately and never merged into one zone; check which edition your institution uses before you submit or report.
Metrics
Impact metrics and publication volume
Impact
- h-index
- 16OpenAlex ·
- i10-index
- 26OpenAlex ·
- 2-year mean citedness
- 0.64OpenAlex ·
- Share of gold OA articles
- 0%LetPub ·
Articles by year OpenAlex count · 246 in total · the current year is incomplete
| Year | Articles | Open access | Citations |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2026 | 13 | 13 | 139 |
| 2025 | 25 | 25 | 191 |
| 2024 | 36 | 36 | 189 |
| 2023 | 23 | 23 | 156 |
| 2022 | 34 | 34 | 131 |
| 2021 | 45 | 45 | 71 |
Sources count differently and were observed at different times, so each source's own value is kept; "publisher" marks figures from the journal's website.
Review & acceptance
Review time and acceptance
- Average review time (community reports)
- about 30 weeksLetPub ·
- Submission to publication
- 240 daysPublisher website ·
- Submission to publication (journal-reported)
- about 30 weeksDOAJ ·
- Peer review
- Double anonymous peer reviewDOAJ
Community reports come from authors' own submissions (confidence 0.5) and are not a promise from the journal; for publisher figures, the journal's own definitions apply.
Fees & open access
APC and open-access policy
Every article is open access and authors pay no article processing charge.
| Source | APC | Fee waiver | License | Observed |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| DOAJ | No APC | No | CC BY-NC-SA | |
| LetPub | No APC | No | — | |
| Publisher website | No APC | — | — |
Other charges and waivers (author guidelines)
- Submission fee
- No submission fee
The journal's website is authoritative for fees; sources were observed at different times and each keeps its own value, without averaging.
Submission
Article types and submission policies (journal website)
Article types accepted4
- conversationsConversations / Reflections from the field of action and organization. Pieces written collectively, to reflect on specific actions and strategies. We welcome re…Length not stated
- retrospectivesRetrospectives / Focus on specific cases, histories, actions. For papers oriented towards reconstructing, in detail, particular histories of movements, organiza…Length not stated
- the long read / focusThe Long Read / Focus on critical analysis and theory-making. For papers focused on theorizing housing resistance and activism worldwide. Papers aim for theoret…Length not stated
- updatesUpdates / Reviews, provocations, updates on actions. For reviews of books, films, art and more, as well as updates on current actions. Maximum 1,500 words per t…Length not stated
Policy excerpts from the journal's websiteLicense & copyright, Open access, Peer review
- License & copyright
Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 4.0 International License Model summary
All articles published by the RHJ are licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 4.0 International License.
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Open access
Open access Model summary
It is a free and open access journal and we want it to remain so.
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Peer review Peer Review Process
We adopt a double-blind peer review policy to encourage our authors to reflect critically on their writing and to assure that only the most insightful radical contributions are published in the RHJ. For more information on the ethos of our review process or to submit a review, check out our peer review page here. Below is a summary of what the peer review process for articles published in the Long…
Source ↗Publisher website ·
Excerpts are quoted from the journal's website; "model summary" lines are written by Workers AI and checked against the text. The journal's website is authoritative.
Profile
Publication details and official links
- Publisher
- Radical Housing Journal
- Country or region
- United Kingdom
- Language
- English
- ISSN
- 2632-2870
- Official links
- Journal homepage ↗OpenAlex
- Author guidelines ↗LetPub
- Aims & Scope ↗LetPub
- Special issues ↗Publisher website
- APC information ↗DOAJ
- Open access statement ↗DOAJ
- License & copyright ↗DOAJ
- Peer review process ↗LetPub
- Editorial board ↗LetPub
FAQ
Frequently asked questions about Radical Housing Journal
How long does peer review take at Radical Housing Journal?
Authors report an average review time of about 30 weeks. Article statistics cover accepted papers only, publisher figures follow the journal's own definitions, and community reports come from authors' own submissions; none is a promise from the journal.
Where are the editorial board members of Radical Housing Journal based?
Of the 9 board members whose country the journal's board page names, none are in mainland China; the countries named most often are United Kingdom (3), Taiwan, China (1) and Germany (1). Counted from the institutions listed on the board page; for reference only.
Which databases index Radical Housing Journal?
According to LetPub and DOAJ records, Radical Housing Journal is indexed in DOAJ.
Is Radical Housing Journal open access, and what is the APC?
Radical Housing Journal is a diamond open-access journal (no APC). It charges no article processing charge.
Sources and updates
The facts on this page come from LetPub, OpenAlex, DOAJ, Publisher website; every figure is tagged with its source and the date it was observed, and conflicting values are kept per source. LetPub source page: view ↗ (archived 2026-08-26). Last updated: .