Journal profile · Agricultural and Biological Sciences-Plant Science
Quantitative Plant Biology
ISSN 2632-8828 · Cambridge University Press · United Kingdom
Quantitative Plant Biology: CAS Zone 3 · Biology (2026 Xinrui edition); fully open access; APC about USD 3,655; median 140 days to acceptance (60 articles, last 24 months); 46 articles in 2025; indexed in ESCI and Scopus.
Scope
Aims, scope and focus
Quantitative Plant Biology is published by Cambridge University Press and is classed under Biology in the CAS Journal Ranking. By OpenAlex counts of its recent articles, its largest topics are Plant Molecular Biology Research, Plant nutrient uptake and metabolism and Plant Reproductive Biology, together about 42.9% of its articles. Its main subfields are Plant Science. (generated from OpenAlex topic counts and CAS ranking data)
Quantitative Plant Biology ISSN: 2632-8828 (Online) Frequency: 1 volume per year Editor-in-Chief: Professor Olivier Hamant INRAE, ENS Lyon | France Editorial BoardQuantitative Plant Biology is an open access journal, co-published by Cambridge University Press and The John Innes Centre with the aim of providing an interdisciplinary forum for high quality research on ground-breaking discoveries and predictions in quantitative plant science. The journal welcomes submissions at all biological scales (from molecular through cellular and organismal to populations) and from a wide range of sources (from lab to field). The journal also welcomes the submission of quantitative studies involving citizen science. The core of the publication strategy will be to enhance our quantitative understanding of how plants function from a physiological and evolutionary perspective.
From the journal's Aims & Scope
Research area (LetPub): Agricultural and Biological Sciences-Plant Science
Editor-in-chief Olivier Hamant INRAEPublisher website
Main research topics OpenAlex counts of recent articles; shares are approximate
- Plant Molecular Biology ResearchAgricultural and Biological Sciences22%
- Plant nutrient uptake and metabolismAgricultural and Biological Sciences10.8%
- Plant Reproductive BiologyBiochemistry, Genetics and Molecular Biology10.1%
- Photosynthetic Processes and MechanismsBiochemistry, Genetics and Molecular Biology7.1%
- Plant Stress Responses and ToleranceAgricultural and Biological Sciences5.6%
- Tree Root and Stability StudiesEngineering4.5%
- Plant and Biological Electrophysiology StudiesAgricultural and Biological Sciences4.1%
- Plant Water Relations and Carbon DynamicsEnvironmental Science3.7%
Rankings & indexing
CAS ranking and database indexing
CAS Journal Ranking
CAS Journal Ranking, upgraded edition (March 2025)Not covered
Not covered by this edition.
CAS Xinrui Journal Ranking (March 2026)Biology Zone 3
| Level | Category | Zone |
|---|---|---|
| Major | Biology | Zone 3 |
| Minor | Plant Sciences | Zone 3 |
Top journal: noReview journal: not marked
CAS Journal Ranking, previous upgraded edition (December 2023)Not covered
Not covered by this edition.
Database indexing
ESCIScopusDOAJLetPub
International journal early-warning lists: not listed in any editionLetPub
Editions, and major and minor categories, are shown separately and never merged into one zone; check which edition your institution uses before you submit or report.
Metrics
Impact metrics and publication volume
Impact
- CiteScore 2026-06
- 4.1LetPub ·
- SJR 2026-06
- 0.93LetPub ·
- SNIP 2026-06
- 0.9LetPub ·
- h-index
- 21OpenAlex ·
- i10-index
- 51OpenAlex ·
- 2-year mean citedness
- 4.14OpenAlex ·
- Self-citation rate
- 19%LetPub ·
- Share of gold OA articles
- 97.18%LetPub ·
Volume
- Articles per year
- 44LetPub ·
Articles by year OpenAlex count · 143 in total · the current year is incomplete
| Year | Articles | Open access | Citations |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2026 | 17 | 17 | 10 |
| 2025 | 46 | 46 | 216 |
| 2024 | 15 | 15 | 97 |
| 2023 | 16 | 16 | 146 |
| 2022 | 31 | 31 | 719 |
| 2021 | 14 | 14 | 238 |
Sources count differently and were observed at different times, so each source's own value is kept; "publisher" marks figures from the journal's website.
Review & acceptance
Review time and acceptance
Review time from article dates manuscript dates registered with PubMed · to
140 daysMedian, submission to acceptance · P25–P75 98 days – 195 days
- Acceptance to online
- median 37 days (60 articles)
- Submission to online
- median 190 days
- Sample
- 60 articles with submission and acceptance dates (66 in the window); the latest was accepted on
Only articles that were accepted and published are counted, not the time spent on rejected manuscripts, so this usually runs longer than a publisher's "time to first decision".
Other sources
- Average review time (community reports)
- about 18 weeksLetPub ·
- Submission to publication (journal-reported)
- about 33 weeksDOAJ ·
- Peer review
- Open peer reviewDOAJ
Community reports come from authors' own submissions (confidence 0.5) and are not a promise from the journal; for publisher figures, the journal's own definitions apply.
Fees & open access
APC and open-access policy
Every article is open access; authors usually pay an article processing charge (APC).
| Source | APC | Fee waiver | License | Observed |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| DOAJ | USD 3,655 / GBP 2,610 | Yes | CC BY, CC BY-NC-SA, CC BY-NC-ND | |
| OpenAlex | USD 3,550 / GBP 2,460 | — | — | |
| LetPub | USD 3,450 / GBP 2,320 | Yes | — | |
| Publisher website | Yes, amount not published | — | — |
The journal's website is authoritative for fees; sources were observed at different times and each keeps its own value, without averaging.
Submission
Article types and submission policies (journal website)
Article types accepted10
- citizen scienceCitizen Science*Length not stated
- classicsClassics*Length not stated
- editorialOriginal Research Article*Theories*Citizen Science*Reviews*Classics*Perspectives*Insights**EditorialLength not stated
- insightsInsights**Length not stated
- original research articleOriginal Research Article*Theories*Citizen Science*Reviews*Classics*Perspectives*Insights**EditorialLength not stated
- perspectiveOriginal Research Article*Theories*Citizen Science*Reviews*Classics*Perspectives*Insights**EditorialLength not stated
- perspectivesPerspectives*Length not stated
- reviewOriginal Research Article*Theories*Citizen Science*Reviews*Classics*Perspectives*Insights**EditorialLength not stated
- reviewsReviews*Length not stated
- theoriesTheories*Length not stated
Excerpts are quoted from the journal's website; "model summary" lines are written by Workers AI and checked against the text. The journal's website is authoritative.
Profile
Publication details and official links
- Publisher
- Cambridge University Press
- Country or region
- United Kingdom
- Language
- English
- ISSN
- 2632-8828
- Official links
- Journal homepage ↗LetPub
- Submission system ↗Publisher website
- Author guidelines ↗LetPub
- Aims & Scope ↗LetPub
- APC information ↗DOAJ
- Fee waivers ↗DOAJ
- Open access statement ↗DOAJ
- License & copyright ↗DOAJ
- Peer review process ↗LetPub
- Editorial board ↗LetPub
- Plagiarism policy ↗DOAJ
FAQ
Frequently asked questions about Quantitative Plant Biology
What CAS zone is Quantitative Plant Biology in?
In the 2026 Xinrui edition it is in Zone 3 of Biology. Zones from different editions, and from major and minor categories, are not interchangeable.
How long does peer review take at Quantitative Plant Biology?
Based on the dates recorded on 60 articles published between October 2024 and October 2026 (the last 24 months), the median time from submission to acceptance is 140 days (interquartile range 98–195 days); authors report an average review time of about 18 weeks. Article statistics cover accepted papers only, publisher figures follow the journal's own definitions, and community reports come from authors' own submissions; none is a promise from the journal.
Which databases index Quantitative Plant Biology?
According to LetPub and DOAJ records, Quantitative Plant Biology is indexed in ESCI, Scopus and DOAJ.
Is Quantitative Plant Biology open access, and what is the APC?
Quantitative Plant Biology is a fully open-access journal. APC about USD 3,655.
Sources and updates
The facts on this page come from LetPub, OpenAlex, DOAJ, Publisher website; every figure is tagged with its source and the date it was observed, and conflicting values are kept per source. LetPub source page: view ↗ (archived 2026-08-26). Last updated: .