Journal profile · PSYCHIATRY
Psychiatric Clinics of North America
ISSN 0193-953X · eISSN 1558-3147 · Elsevier
Psychiatric Clinics of North America: CAS Zone 4 · Medicine (2025 upgraded edition); impact factor 3.68; subscription journal; APC about USD 2,900; 91 articles in 2025; indexed in SSCI and Scopus.
Scope
Aims, scope and focus
Psychiatric Clinics of North America is published by Elsevier and is in Zone 4 of Medicine in the CAS Journal Ranking (2025 upgraded edition). By OpenAlex counts of its recent articles, its largest topics are Schizophrenia research and treatment, Mental Health and Psychiatry and Child and Adolescent Psychosocial and Emotional Development, together about 23.3% of its articles. Its main subfields are Clinical Psychology and Psychiatry and Mental health. (generated from OpenAlex topic counts and CAS ranking data)
Psychiatric Clinics of North America updates you on the latest trends in patient management; keeps you up to date on the newest advances; and provides a sound basis for choosing treatment options. Each issue focuses on a single topic in psychiatry and is presented under the direction of an experienced guest editor.
From the journal's Aims & Scope
Research area (LetPub): PSYCHIATRY
Editorial board by country: none in mainland China; most named United States 3 (3 members with a country) Editorial board ↗Publisher website ·
Main research topics OpenAlex counts of recent articles; shares are approximate
- Schizophrenia research and treatmentMedicine8%
- Mental Health and PsychiatryArts and Humanities7.7%
- Child and Adolescent Psychosocial and Emotional DevelopmentPsychology7.6%
- Obsessive-Compulsive Spectrum DisordersPsychology6%
- Treatment of Major DepressionMedicine5%
- Psychotherapy Techniques and ApplicationsPsychology4.9%
- Psychosomatic Disorders and Their TreatmentsMedicine4.9%
- Bipolar Disorder and TreatmentMedicine4.8%
Rankings & indexing
CAS ranking and database indexing
CAS Journal Ranking
CAS Journal Ranking, upgraded edition (March 2025)Medicine Zone 4
| Level | Category | Zone |
|---|---|---|
| Major | Medicine | Zone 4 |
| Minor | Psychiatry | Zone 4 |
Top journal: noReview journal: no
CAS Xinrui Journal Ranking (March 2026)Medicine Zone 2
| Level | Category | Zone |
|---|---|---|
| Major | Medicine | Zone 2 |
| Minor | Psychiatry | Zone 3 |
Top journal: noReview journal: not marked
CAS Journal Ranking, previous upgraded edition (December 2023)Medicine Zone 4
| Level | Category | Zone |
|---|---|---|
| Major | Medicine | Zone 4 |
| Minor | Psychiatry | Zone 4 |
Top journal: noReview journal: no
Database indexing
SSCIScopusLetPub
International journal early-warning lists: not listed in any editionLetPub
Editions, and major and minor categories, are shown separately and never merged into one zone; check which edition your institution uses before you submit or report.
Metrics
Impact metrics and publication volume
Impact
- Impact factor
- 3.68LetPub ·
- Impact factor (publisher)
- 3.4Publisher website ·
- CiteScore 2026-06
- 5.8LetPub ·
- CiteScore (publisher)
- 3.4Publisher website ·
- SJR 2026-06
- 1.21LetPub ·
- SNIP 2026-06
- 1.29LetPub ·
- h-index
- 152OpenAlex ·
- i10-index
- 1,809OpenAlex ·
- 2-year mean citedness
- 2.63OpenAlex ·
- Self-citation rate
- 2.6%LetPub ·
- Share of gold OA articles
- 2.78%LetPub ·
Volume
- Articles per year
- 51LetPub ·
Articles by year OpenAlex count · 3,257 in total · the current year is incomplete
| Year | Articles | Open access | Citations |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2026 | 70 | 3 | 6 |
| 2025 | 91 | 16 | 92 |
| 2024 | 90 | 15 | 563 |
| 2023 | 67 | 13 | 606 |
| 2022 | 76 | 22 | 871 |
| 2021 | 86 | 17 | 781 |
Sources count differently and were observed at different times, so each source's own value is kept; "publisher" marks figures from the journal's website.
Fees & open access
APC and open-access policy
A subscription journal: articles are read by subscription or purchase, and authors usually pay no publication charge.
| Source | APC | Fee waiver | License | Observed |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| OpenAlex | USD 2,900 / EUR 2,540 / GBP 2,280 / JPY 311,650 | — | — |
The journal's website is authoritative for fees; sources were observed at different times and each keeps its own value, without averaging.
Submission
Article types and submission policies (journal website)
What to prepare1 items from the author guidelines
- Abstract
- ≤ 250 words
Article types accepted2
- reviewThe Clinics and Advances review article journals publish high-quality, invited review content on a bi-monthly, quarterly or annual basis. Each journal’s editori…Length not stated
- review articlesClinics and Advances Review Articles include Medical, Surgical, Dental, Nursing, and Veterinary Medicine periodicals that review the current state of the practi…Length not stated
Policy excerpts from the journal's websiteAI use, Authorship, Conflicts of interest, Preprints
- AI use Declaration of generative AI use
Authors must declare the use of generative AI tools in the manuscript preparation process upon submission of the paper.Generative AI and AI-assisted technologies (“AI tools”) have been rapidly adopted in research and scholarly publishing, offering significant benefits while requiring clear standards for responsible and transparent use.Authors preparing a manuscript for this journal may use AI tool…
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Authorship Authorship
By adhering to the authorship requirements stated above, authors meet the International Committee of Medical Journal Editors (ICMJE) criteria [updated version January 2024] on authorship.
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Conflicts of interest Declaration of competing interests
All authors must disclose any financial and personal relationships with other people or organizations that could inappropriately influence or bias their work. Examples of potential competing interests include:EmploymentConsultanciesStock ownershipHonorariaPaid expert testimonyPatent applications or registrationsGrants or any other fundingAffiliation with the journal as an Editor or Advisory Board …
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Preprints Preprints
Preprint sharingAuthors may share preprints in line with Elsevier's article sharing policy. Sharing preprints, such as on a preprint server, will not count as prior publication.We advise you to read our policy on multiple, redundant or concurrent publication.
Source ↗Publisher website ·
Excerpts are quoted from the journal's website; "model summary" lines are written by Workers AI and checked against the text. The journal's website is authoritative.
Profile
Publication details and official links
- Publisher
- Elsevier
- ISSN
- 0193-953X
- Electronic ISSN
- 1558-3147
- Official links
- Journal homepage ↗OpenAlex
- Special issues ↗Publisher website
FAQ
Frequently asked questions about Psychiatric Clinics of North America
What CAS zone is Psychiatric Clinics of North America in?
In the 2025 upgraded edition of the CAS Journal Ranking, Psychiatric Clinics of North America is in Zone 4 of Medicine, and in Zone 4 of the minor category Psychiatry. In the 2026 Xinrui edition it is in Zone 2 of Medicine. Zones from different editions, and from major and minor categories, are not interchangeable.
What is the impact factor of Psychiatric Clinics of North America?
The latest impact factor listed by LetPub is 3.68; CiteScore 5.8, h-index 152.
Where are the editorial board members of Psychiatric Clinics of North America based?
Of the 3 board members whose country the journal's board page names, none are in mainland China; the countries named most often are United States (3). Counted from the institutions listed on the board page; for reference only.
Which databases index Psychiatric Clinics of North America?
According to LetPub and DOAJ records, Psychiatric Clinics of North America is indexed in SSCI and Scopus.
Is Psychiatric Clinics of North America open access, and what is the APC?
Psychiatric Clinics of North America is a subscription journal. APC about USD 2,900.
Sources and updates
The facts on this page come from LetPub, OpenAlex, Publisher website; every figure is tagged with its source and the date it was observed, and conflicting values are kept per source. LetPub source page: view ↗ (archived 2026-08-25). Last updated: .