Journal profile · Social Sciences-Education
Professions and Professionalism
ISSN 1893-1049 · Oslo and Akershus University College of Applied Sciences · Norway
Professions and Professionalism: diamond open access (no APC); no APC; review about 8 weeks (community reports); 18 articles in 2025; indexed in Scopus.
Scope
Aims, scope and focus
Professions and Professionalism is published by Oslo and Akershus University College of Applied Sciences. By OpenAlex counts of its recent articles, its largest topics are Management and Organizational Studies, Education, sociology, and vocational training and Teacher Education and Leadership Studies, together about 42.7% of its articles. (generated from OpenAlex topic counts and CAS ranking data)
Professions and Professionalism (P&P) is an open-access, net-based, peer-reviewed and English-language journal. The Journal invites research-based empirical, theoretical or synoptic articles focusing on traditional professions as well as other knowledge-based occupational groups. The journal is interdisciplinary, with its centre of gravity in the social sciences and humanities. While articles may focus on one profession in a specific social context, authors are encouraged to point out the wider relevance of their contributions to the study of professions and professionalism. Aims: To develop the study of professions and professionalism theoretically and empirically To contribute to the development of the study of professions and professionalism as an international interdisciplinary field of research To become an important publication channel for the international research community
From the journal's Aims & Scope
Research area (LetPub): Social Sciences-Education
Main research topics OpenAlex counts of recent articles; shares are approximate
- Management and Organizational StudiesBusiness, Management and Accounting22%
- Education, sociology, and vocational trainingSocial Sciences12.6%
- Teacher Education and Leadership StudiesSocial Sciences8.1%
- Innovative Education and Learning PracticesSocial Sciences4.9%
- Interprofessional Education and CollaborationHealth Professions4.3%
- Health, Medicine and SocietyHealth Professions4.3%
- Social Work Education and PracticeSocial Sciences4%
- Public Policy and Administration ResearchSocial Sciences3.8%
Rankings & indexing
CAS ranking and database indexing
CAS Journal Ranking
CAS Journal Ranking, upgraded edition (March 2025)Not covered
Not covered by this edition.
CAS Xinrui Journal Ranking (March 2026)Not covered
Not covered by this edition.
CAS Journal Ranking, previous upgraded edition (December 2023)Not covered
Not covered by this edition.
CiteScore quartiles (Scopus, June 2026 release)
| Subject | Quartile | Rank | Percentile |
|---|---|---|---|
| Education | Q3 | 1022/1698 | 39th |
| Life-span and Life-course Studies | Q3 | 45/61 | 27th |
Scopus ranks journals by CiteScore within each subject: the 75th percentile and above is Q1, then a quartile every 25 points. A different system from the CAS zones.LetPub
Database indexing
ScopusDOAJLetPub
International journal early-warning lists: not listed in any editionLetPub
Indexing the journal's website claims
EBSCO, Crossref, IndexingPublisher website
As the journal's website lists them, not checked against each database; for Web of Science editions the records above apply.
Editions, and major and minor categories, are shown separately and never merged into one zone; check which edition your institution uses before you submit or report.
Metrics
Impact metrics and publication volume
Impact
- CiteScore 2026-06
- 1.5LetPub ·
- SJR 2026-06
- 0.41LetPub ·
- SNIP 2026-06
- 0.88LetPub ·
- h-index
- 26OpenAlex ·
- i10-index
- 74OpenAlex ·
- 2-year mean citedness
- 0.63OpenAlex ·
- Share of gold OA articles
- 0%LetPub ·
Articles by year OpenAlex count · 264 in total · the current year is incomplete
| Year | Articles | Open access | Citations |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2026 | 10 | 10 | 194 |
| 2025 | 18 | 18 | 286 |
| 2024 | 12 | 12 | 283 |
| 2023 | 14 | 14 | 238 |
| 2022 | 18 | 18 | 300 |
| 2021 | 23 | 23 | 275 |
Sources count differently and were observed at different times, so each source's own value is kept; "publisher" marks figures from the journal's website.
Review & acceptance
Review time and acceptance
- Average review time (community reports)
- about 8 weeksLetPub ·
- Submission to publication (journal-reported)
- about 8 weeksDOAJ ·
- Peer review
- Double anonymous peer reviewDOAJ
Community reports come from authors' own submissions (confidence 0.5) and are not a promise from the journal; for publisher figures, the journal's own definitions apply.
Fees & open access
APC and open-access policy
Every article is open access and authors pay no article processing charge.
| Source | APC | Fee waiver | License | Observed |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| DOAJ | No APC | No | CC BY | |
| LetPub | No APC | No | — | |
| Publisher website | No APC | — | — |
The journal's website is authoritative for fees; sources were observed at different times and each keeps its own value, without averaging.
Submission
Article types and submission policies (journal website)
What to prepare5 items from the author guidelines
- Abstract
- ≤ 150 words
- Keywords
- 5–8
- Reference style
- APA
- First submission
- Free format: the journal's layout is not required
- Cover letter
- Required
Article types accepted2
- articlesArticles ##section.default.policy##Length not stated
- commentsComments This section is not peer-reviewed.Length not stated
Policy excerpts from the journal's websiteAI use, Conflicts of interest, Publication ethics, License & copyright, Open access, Peer review
- AI use
AI use must be disclosed in a declaration statement. Model summary
Authors should disclose the use of artificial intelligence (AI), including the name of the AI Tool used and the purpose of the use, in a separate AI declaration statement in their manuscript upon submission.
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Conflicts of interest
Funding sources and conflicts of interest must be declared. Model summary
All sources of financial support for the conduct of the research and/or preparation of the article should be stated. Potential conflicts of interest must also be declared.
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Publication ethics Publication Ethics and Publication Malpractice Statement
COPE and PERK . The following points are intended to provide an overview of our general commitments. The list is not exhaustive of the duties of those involved in the journal. 1. Duties of the journal Professions & Professionalism is committed to meeting and upholding standards of ethical behaviour at all stages of the publication process. The key principles are fairness, transparency and integrit…
Source ↗Publisher website ·- License & copyright Copyright Notice
Copyright: authors retain copyright, first publication under CC BY 4.0. Model summary
Authors who publish with this journal agree to the following terms: Authors retain copyright and grant the journal right of first publication with the work simultaneously licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 License that allows others to share the work with an acknowledgement of the work's authorship and initial publication in this journal. Authors are able to enter into separate, add…
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Open access Open Access Policy
Professions and Professionalism is an open-access journal which means that all content is freely available without charge to the user or his/her institution. Users are allowed to read, download, copy, distribute, print, search, or link to the full texts of the articles in this journal without asking prior permission from the publisher or the author. The journal provides open access to all of its c…
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Peer review Peer Review Process
Peer review: double-blind. Model summary
Professions and Professionalism publishes high-quality, original articles in English, and will not publish manuscripts without prior double-blind peer review. The review process of manuscripts will be done by two or three referees whose field of expertise is pertinent to the subject area. Referees must respect their trusted position with respect to the manuscripts. Professions and Professionalism …
Source ↗Publisher website ·
Excerpts are quoted from the journal's website; "model summary" lines are written by Workers AI and checked against the text. The journal's website is authoritative.
Profile
Publication details and official links
- Publisher
- Oslo and Akershus University College of Applied Sciences
- Country or region
- Norway
- Language
- English
- ISSN
- 1893-1049
- Latest issue on the website
- Volume 16, Issue 1 (2026)
- Official links
- Journal homepage ↗DOAJ
- Author guidelines ↗LetPub
- Aims & Scope ↗LetPub
- APC information ↗DOAJ
- Open access statement ↗DOAJ
- License & copyright ↗DOAJ
- Peer review process ↗LetPub
- Editorial board ↗LetPub
FAQ
Frequently asked questions about Professions and Professionalism
How long does peer review take at Professions and Professionalism?
Authors report an average review time of about 8 weeks. Article statistics cover accepted papers only, publisher figures follow the journal's own definitions, and community reports come from authors' own submissions; none is a promise from the journal.
What are the manuscript requirements of Professions and Professionalism?
According to the journal's author guidelines: Abstract: ≤ 150 words; Keywords: 5–8; Reference style: APA; First submission: Free format: the journal's layout is not required; Cover letter: Required. A model extracted these from the author guidelines and each was checked against the text; check the latest version on the journal's website before submitting.
Which databases index Professions and Professionalism?
According to LetPub and DOAJ records, Professions and Professionalism is indexed in Scopus and DOAJ.
Is Professions and Professionalism open access, and what is the APC?
Professions and Professionalism is a diamond open-access journal (no APC). It charges no article processing charge.
Sources and updates
The facts on this page come from LetPub, OpenAlex, DOAJ, Publisher website; every figure is tagged with its source and the date it was observed, and conflicting values are kept per source. LetPub source page: view ↗ (archived 2026-08-25). Last updated: .