Journal profile · Medicine-Public Health, Environmental and Occupational Health
Preventive Medicine Reports
ISSN 2211-3355 · Elsevier · United States
Preventive Medicine Reports: CAS Zone 3 · Medicine (2025 upgraded edition); impact factor 2.75; fully open access; APC about USD 2,940; median 85 days to acceptance (108 articles, last 24 months); 390 articles in 2025; indexed in SCIE and Scopus.
Scope
Aims, scope and focus
Preventive Medicine Reports is published by Elsevier and is in Zone 3 of Medicine in the CAS Journal Ranking (2025 upgraded edition). By OpenAlex counts of its recent articles, its largest topics are Obesity, Physical Activity, Diet, Smoking Behavior and Cessation and Physical Activity and Health, together about 33.6% of its articles. (generated from OpenAlex topic counts and CAS ranking data)
Preventive Medicine Reports is the open-access companion journal to Preventive Medicine. While Preventive Medicine focuses on publishing articles that appeal more broadly to the preventive medicine and health promotion and public health communities, Preventive Medicine Reports publishes papers that use health data from within the last five years. Papers with a subspecialty angle, are population or region-specific, describe study protocols, report preliminary or pilot data, qualitative studies, or focus on surrogate health outcomes are appropriate for Preventive Medicine Reports, along with reports that highlight methodological innovation or validation of new and existing tools. It serves as a scholarly repository for the building blocks of research that inform research, practice and policy on disease prevention and health promotion as well as public health.All articles published in Preventive Medicine Reports are now available through the free journal archive PubMed Central, and discoverable via PubMed.
From the journal's Aims & Scope
Research area (LetPub): Medicine-Public Health, Environmental and Occupational Health
Editor-in-chief Ryan D. BurnsPublisher website
Editorial board by country: 3 in mainland China (about 8%); most named United States 16, Canada 11, Mainland China 3, United Kingdom 2, Hong Kong, China 1 (39 members with a country) Editorial board ↗Publisher website ·
Main research topics OpenAlex counts of recent articles; shares are approximate
- Obesity, Physical Activity, DietMedicine16.2%
- Smoking Behavior and CessationMedicine9.3%
- Physical Activity and HealthMedicine8.2%
- Health disparities and outcomesSocial Sciences6.1%
- Global Cancer Incidence and ScreeningMedicine5.7%
- Vaccine Coverage and HesitancySocial Sciences4.5%
- Food Security and Health in Diverse PopulationsHealth Professions4.5%
- Cervical Cancer and HPV ResearchMedicine4.1%
Rankings & indexing
CAS ranking and database indexing
CAS Journal Ranking
CAS Journal Ranking, upgraded edition (March 2025)Medicine Zone 3
| Level | Category | Zone |
|---|---|---|
| Major | Medicine | Zone 3 |
| Minor | Public, Environmental & Occupational Health | Zone 3 |
Top journal: noReview journal: no
CAS Xinrui Journal Ranking (March 2026)Medicine Zone 3
| Level | Category | Zone |
|---|---|---|
| Major | Medicine | Zone 3 |
| Minor | Public, Environmental & Occupational Health | Zone 3 |
Top journal: noReview journal: not marked
CAS Journal Ranking, previous upgraded edition (December 2023)Medicine Zone 3
| Level | Category | Zone |
|---|---|---|
| Major | Medicine | Zone 3 |
| Minor | Public, Environmental & Occupational Health | Zone 3 |
Top journal: noReview journal: no
Database indexing
SCIEScopusDOAJLetPub
International journal early-warning lists: not listed in any editionLetPub
Indexing the journal's website claims
PMCPubMedPublisher website
As the journal's website lists them, not checked against each database; for Web of Science editions the records above apply.
Editions, and major and minor categories, are shown separately and never merged into one zone; check which edition your institution uses before you submit or report.
Metrics
Impact metrics and publication volume
Impact
- Impact factor
- 2.75LetPub ·
- Impact factor (publisher)
- 2.8Publisher website ·
- CiteScore 2026-06
- 4.7LetPub ·
- CiteScore (publisher)
- 4.7Publisher website ·
- SJR 2026-06
- 1.05LetPub ·
- SNIP 2026-06
- 1.05LetPub ·
- h-index
- 84OpenAlex ·
- i10-index
- 1,529OpenAlex ·
- 2-year mean citedness
- 2.7OpenAlex ·
- Self-citation rate
- 0%LetPub ·
- Share of gold OA articles
- 100%LetPub ·
Volume
- Articles per year
- 342LetPub ·
Articles by year OpenAlex count · 3,581 in total · the current year is incomplete
| Year | Articles | Open access | Citations |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2026 | 264 | 264 | 46 |
| 2025 | 390 | 390 | 701 |
| 2024 | 359 | 359 | 1,993 |
| 2023 | 472 | 472 | 3,746 |
| 2022 | 400 | 400 | 5,055 |
| 2021 | 385 | 385 | 6,792 |
Sources count differently and were observed at different times, so each source's own value is kept; "publisher" marks figures from the journal's website.
Review & acceptance
Review time and acceptance
Review time from article dates manuscript dates registered with PubMed · to
85 daysMedian, submission to acceptance · P25–P75 70 days – 115 days
- Acceptance to online
- median 2 days (108 articles)
- Submission to online
- median 90 days
- Sample
- 108 articles with submission and acceptance dates (677 in the window); the latest was accepted on
Only articles that were accepted and published are counted, not the time spent on rejected manuscripts, so this usually runs longer than a publisher's "time to first decision".
Other sources
- Average review time (community reports)
- about 14 weeksLetPub ·
- Submission to first decision
- 3 daysPublisher website ·
- First decision after review
- 53 daysPublisher website ·
- Submission to acceptance
- 109 daysPublisher website ·
- Acceptance to publication
- 4 daysPublisher website ·
- Submission to publication (journal-reported)
- about 17 weeksDOAJ ·
- Peer review
- Single anonymous peer reviewDOAJ
Community reports come from authors' own submissions (confidence 0.5) and are not a promise from the journal; for publisher figures, the journal's own definitions apply.
Fees & open access
APC and open-access policy
Every article is open access; authors usually pay an article processing charge (APC).
| Source | APC | Fee waiver | License | Observed |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| DOAJ | USD 2,940 | Yes | CC BY, CC BY-NC, CC BY-NC-ND | |
| OpenAlex | USD 2,610 / EUR 2,440 / GBP 2,090 / JPY 323,720 | — | — | |
| LetPub | USD 2,720 | Yes | — | |
| Publisher website | USD 3,020 | — | — |
The journal's website is authoritative for fees; sources were observed at different times and each keeps its own value, without averaging.
Submission
Article types and submission policies (journal website)
What to prepare5 items from the author guidelines
- Abstract
- ≤ 200 words
- Keywords
- 1–7
- Manuscript length
- ≤ 4,000 words
- Reference style
- Author–date
- Cover letter
- Required
Article types accepted13, with length limits
- book reviewPreventive Medicine Reports is an international journal, publishing original, scholarly manuscripts on all topics pertaining to preventive medicine, primary car…Length not stated
- commentaryPreventive Medicine Reports is an international journal, publishing original, scholarly manuscripts on all topics pertaining to preventive medicine, primary car…Length not stated
- commentary (or guest editorial)Commentary (or Guest Editorial): are intended to provide an opportunity for authors to offer a perspective on important or emerging issues falling within the jo…Length not stated
- correspondenceCorrespondence: are brief (<600 words) submissions that offer reflections, corrections, support or counterarguments to previous journal publications. Correspond…Length not stated
- editorialPreventive Medicine Reports is an international journal, publishing original, scholarly manuscripts on all topics pertaining to preventive medicine, primary car…Length not stated
- meta-analysisPreventive Medicine Reports is an international journal, publishing original, scholarly manuscripts on all topics pertaining to preventive medicine, primary car…Length not stated
- narrative reviewPreventive Medicine Reports is an international journal, publishing original, scholarly manuscripts on all topics pertaining to preventive medicine, primary car…Length not stated
- original research paperPreventive Medicine Reports is an international journal, publishing original, scholarly manuscripts on all topics pertaining to preventive medicine, primary car…main text ≤ 3,000 words
- perspectivePreventive Medicine Reports is an international journal, publishing original, scholarly manuscripts on all topics pertaining to preventive medicine, primary car…Length not stated
- reviewPreventive Medicine Reports is an international journal, publishing original, scholarly manuscripts on all topics pertaining to preventive medicine, primary car…Length not stated
- review articlePreventive Medicine Reports is an international journal, publishing original, scholarly manuscripts on all topics pertaining to preventive medicine, primary car…main text ≤ 4,000 words
- short communicationPreventive Medicine Reports is an international journal, publishing original, scholarly manuscripts on all topics pertaining to preventive medicine, primary car…Length not stated
- systematic reviewPreventive Medicine Reports is an international journal, publishing original, scholarly manuscripts on all topics pertaining to preventive medicine, primary car…Length not stated
Policy excerpts from the journal's websiteAI use, Authorship, Conflicts of interest, License & copyright, Open access, Peer review, Preprints
- AI use Declaration of generative AI use
Authors must declare the use of generative AI tools in the manuscript preparation process upon submission of the paper.Generative AI and AI-assisted technologies (“AI tools”) have been rapidly adopted in research and scholarly publishing, offering significant benefits while requiring clear standards for responsible and transparent use.Authors preparing a manuscript for this journal may use AI tool…
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Authorship Group authorship
Group authorship refers to the attribution of an article to a defined and named group of authors whose members have contributed to the work. Examples include research consortia, clinical trial groups, collaborative networks, task forces or working groups, expert panels or consensus groups, and participatory research groups. Group authorship must be declared on the title page at submission. When av…
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Conflicts of interest Declaration of competing interests
All authors must disclose any financial and personal relationships with other people or organizations that could inappropriately influence or bias their work. Examples of potential competing interests include:EmploymentConsultanciesStock ownershipHonorariaPaid expert testimonyPatent applications or registrationsGrants or any other fundingAffiliation with the journal as an Editor or Advisory Board …
Source ↗Publisher website ·- License & copyright License options
Authors will be offered open access user license options which will determine how you, and third parties, can reuse your open access article. We advise that you review these options and any funding body license requirements before selecting a license option.
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Open access Open access
We refer you to our open access information page to learn about open access options for this journal.
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Peer review Peer review
single anonymized review process Model summary
This journal follows a single anonymized review process. Your submission will initially be assessed by our editors. If your submission is deemed suitable, it will typically be sent to be reviewed by a minimum of two reviewers for an independent expert assessment of the scientific quality. The decision as to whether your article is accepted or rejected for publication will be made by our editors.Re…
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Preprints Preprints
preprint sharing allowed Model summary
Preprint sharingAuthors may share preprints in line with Elsevier's article sharing policy. Sharing preprints, such as on a preprint server, will not count as prior publication.We advise you to read our policy on multiple, redundant or concurrent publication. In support of Open Science, this journal offers its authors a free preprint posting service on SSRN, Elsevier’s preprint and early research …
Source ↗Publisher website ·
Excerpts are quoted from the journal's website; "model summary" lines are written by Workers AI and checked against the text. The journal's website is authoritative.
Profile
Publication details and official links
- Publisher
- Elsevier
- Country or region
- United States
- Language
- English
- ISSN
- 2211-3355
- Official links
- Journal homepage ↗DOAJ
- Submission system ↗Publisher website
- Author guidelines ↗DOAJ
- Aims & Scope ↗DOAJ
- Special issues ↗Publisher website
- APC information ↗DOAJ
- Fee waivers ↗DOAJ
- Open access statement ↗DOAJ
- License & copyright ↗DOAJ
- Peer review process ↗DOAJ
- Editorial board ↗DOAJ
- Plagiarism policy ↗DOAJ
FAQ
Frequently asked questions about Preventive Medicine Reports
What CAS zone is Preventive Medicine Reports in?
In the 2025 upgraded edition of the CAS Journal Ranking, Preventive Medicine Reports is in Zone 3 of Medicine, and in Zone 3 of the minor category Public, Environmental & Occupational Health. In the 2026 Xinrui edition it is in Zone 3 of Medicine. Zones from different editions, and from major and minor categories, are not interchangeable.
What is the impact factor of Preventive Medicine Reports?
The latest impact factor listed by LetPub is 2.75; CiteScore 4.7, h-index 84.
How long does peer review take at Preventive Medicine Reports?
Based on the dates recorded on 108 articles published between October 2024 and October 2026 (the last 24 months), the median time from submission to acceptance is 85 days (interquartile range 70–115 days); authors report an average review time of about 14 weeks. Article statistics cover accepted papers only, publisher figures follow the journal's own definitions, and community reports come from authors' own submissions; none is a promise from the journal.
What are the manuscript requirements of Preventive Medicine Reports?
According to the journal's author guidelines: Abstract: ≤ 200 words; Keywords: 1–7; Manuscript length: ≤ 4,000 words; Reference style: Author–date; Cover letter: Required. A model extracted these from the author guidelines and each was checked against the text; check the latest version on the journal's website before submitting.
Where are the editorial board members of Preventive Medicine Reports based?
Of the 39 board members whose country the journal's board page names, 3 (about 8%) are in mainland China; the countries named most often are United States (16), Canada (11) and Mainland China (3). Counted from the institutions listed on the board page; for reference only.
Which databases index Preventive Medicine Reports?
According to LetPub and DOAJ records, Preventive Medicine Reports is indexed in SCIE, Scopus and DOAJ. The journal's website also lists PMC and PubMed; that list has not been checked against each database.
Is Preventive Medicine Reports open access, and what is the APC?
Preventive Medicine Reports is a fully open-access journal. APC about USD 2,940.
Sources and updates
The facts on this page come from LetPub, Publisher website, OpenAlex, DOAJ; every figure is tagged with its source and the date it was observed, and conflicting values are kept per source. LetPub source page: view ↗ (archived 2026-08-26). Last updated: .