Journal profile · Social Sciences-Sociology and Political Science
Power and Education
ISSN 1757-7438 · SAGE
Power and Education: CAS Zone 4 · Education (2025 upgraded edition); impact factor 1.4 (journal website); fully open access; APC about USD 500; review about 176 days (submission to acceptance, publisher); acceptance rate 17.5% (journal website); 28 articles in 2025; indexed in ESCI and Scopus.
Scope
Aims, scope and focus
Power and Education is published by SAGE and is in Zone 4 of Education in the CAS Journal Ranking (2025 upgraded edition). By OpenAlex counts of its recent articles, its largest topics are Global Educational Policies and Reforms, Global Education and Multiculturalism and Teacher Education and Leadership Studies, together about 34.1% of its articles. Its main subfields are Education and Sociology and Political Science. (generated from OpenAlex topic counts and CAS ranking data)
Power and Education is an international peer-reviewed journal promoting critical studies of contemporary educational practice and challenging the complicit practices and assumptions of mainstream educational research. The journal is committed to providing a distinctive and comprehensive body of knowledge focusing on the relationships between the concepts of power and education in their broadest senses. Innovative and provocative ... View full journal description This journal is a member of the Committee on Publication Ethics (COPE).
From the journal's Aims & Scope
Research area (LetPub): Social Sciences-Sociology and Political Science
Editor-in-chief Paul MillerPublisher website
Editorial board by country: none in mainland China; most named United Kingdom 16, United States 5, Canada 3, Australia 2, Belgium 2 (34 members with a country) Editorial board ↗Publisher website ·
Main research topics OpenAlex counts of recent articles; shares are approximate
- Global Educational Policies and ReformsSocial Sciences15.4%
- Global Education and MulticulturalismSocial Sciences10%
- Teacher Education and Leadership StudiesSocial Sciences8.8%
- Critical Race Theory in EducationSocial Sciences5.6%
- Youth Education and Societal DynamicsSocial Sciences5%
- Educator Training and Historical PedagogySocial Sciences4.8%
- Higher Education Governance and DevelopmentSocial Sciences4.4%
- Critical and Liberation PedagogySocial Sciences4.1%
Rankings & indexing
CAS ranking and database indexing
CAS Journal Ranking
CAS Journal Ranking, upgraded edition (March 2025)Education Zone 4
| Level | Category | Zone |
|---|---|---|
| Major | Education | Zone 4 |
| Minor | Education & Educational Research | Zone 4 |
Top journal: noReview journal: no
CAS Xinrui Journal Ranking (March 2026)Education Zone 3
| Level | Category | Zone |
|---|---|---|
| Major | Education | Zone 3 |
| Minor | Education & Educational Research | Zone 3 |
Top journal: noReview journal: not marked
CAS Journal Ranking, previous upgraded edition (December 2023)Not covered
Not covered by this edition.
Database indexing
ESCIScopusDOAJLetPub
International journal early-warning lists: not listed in any editionLetPub
Editions, and major and minor categories, are shown separately and never merged into one zone; check which edition your institution uses before you submit or report.
Metrics
Impact metrics and publication volume
Impact
- Impact factor (publisher)
- 1.4Publisher website ·
- 5-year impact factor (publisher)
- 1.5Publisher website ·
- CiteScore 2026-06
- 3.4LetPub ·
- SJR 2026-06
- 0.54LetPub ·
- SNIP 2026-06
- 1.37LetPub ·
- h-index
- 32OpenAlex ·
- i10-index
- 140OpenAlex ·
- 2-year mean citedness
- 1.96OpenAlex ·
- Self-citation rate
- 7.1%LetPub ·
- Share of gold OA articles
- 100%LetPub ·
Volume
- Articles per year
- 25LetPub ·
- Articles per year (publisher)
- 3Publisher website ·
Articles by year OpenAlex count · 520 in total · the current year is incomplete
| Year | Articles | Open access | Citations |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2026 | 21 | 21 | 2 |
| 2025 | 28 | 28 | 36 |
| 2024 | 25 | 25 | 107 |
| 2023 | 30 | 30 | 191 |
| 2022 | 47 | 33 | 343 |
| 2021 | 14 | 11 | 141 |
Sources count differently and were observed at different times, so each source's own value is kept; "publisher" marks figures from the journal's website.
Review & acceptance
Review time and acceptance
Publisher-reported review time from the journal's website
176 dayssubmission to acceptance
The publisher's own definition applies; dates from this journal's articles in the last 24 months are not available yet, so the publisher's figure is used.
Figures by source
- Acceptance rate (publisher)
- 17.5%Publisher website ·
- Submission to first decision
- 7 daysPublisher website ·
- Submission to acceptance
- 176 daysPublisher website ·
- Acceptance to publication
- 46 daysPublisher website ·
- Submission to publication (journal-reported)
- about 14 weeksDOAJ ·
- Peer review
- Double anonymous peer reviewDOAJ
Community reports come from authors' own submissions (confidence 0.5) and are not a promise from the journal; for publisher figures, the journal's own definitions apply.
Fees & open access
APC and open-access policy
Every article is open access; authors usually pay an article processing charge (APC).
| Source | APC | Fee waiver | License | Observed |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| DOAJ | USD 500 | No | CC BY-NC | |
| OpenAlex | USD 500 | — | — | |
| Publisher website | No APC | — | — |
The journal's website is authoritative for fees; sources were observed at different times and each keeps its own value, without averaging.
Submission
Article types and submission policies (journal website)
Article types accepted4, with length limits
- academic articles-academic articles (up to 7,000 words)Length not stated
- book reviewThe journal seeks to receive: -academic articles (up to 7,000 words) -shorter 'think pieces' (up to 3,500 words) -book reviews (up to 1,000 words).main text ≤ 1,000 words
- book reviews-book reviews (up to 1,000 words)Length not stated
- shorter 'think pieces'-shorter 'think pieces' (up to 3,500 words)Length not stated
Policy excerpts from the journal's websiteAuthorship, Data availability, Publication ethics, Open access, Peer review, Plagiarism, Preprints
- Authorship Authorship
Please view our authorship policies, which includes information on criteria for authorship, who should be the corresponding author and more. Please note that AI chatbots, for example ChatGPT, should not be listed as authors. For more information see the policy on Use of ChatGPT and generative AI tools.
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Data availability Data availability
The Journal is committed to facilitating openness, transparency and reproducibility of research, and has the following research data sharing policy. For more information, including FAQs please visit the Sage Research Data policy pages. Subject to appropriate ethical and legal considerations, authors are encouraged to: Share your research data in a relevant public data repository Include a data ava…
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Publication ethics Ethical considerations
Please include your ethics approval statements under this heading, even if you have already included ethics approval information in your methods section. If ethical approval was not required, you need to explicitly state this. All papers reporting studies involving human participants, human data or human tissue must state that the relevant Ethics Committee or Institutional Review Board approved th…
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Open access Publishing fees and open access
Power and Education is a Community Open Access peer-reviewed journal which means there is no article processing charge (APC) to pay if, after peer review, your manuscript is accepted for publication. Model summary
Power and Education is a Community Open Access peer-reviewed journal which means there is no article processing charge (APC) to pay if, after peer review, your manuscript is accepted for publication. All accepted articles are made freely available online immediately upon publication, are published under a Creative Commons license, and hosted online in perpetuity. Community Open Access is a new ini…
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Peer review Peer review policy
Identity transparency: Double anonymized Model summary
The following summary describes the peer review process for this journal: Identity transparency: Double-anonymized Reviewer interacts with: Editor Review information published: None Your manuscript will undergo an initial evaluation. If it does not conform to the requirements laid out in these guidelines, it will be returned to you for amendments prior to peer review. Manuscripts may be desk rejec…
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Plagiarism Plagiarism
The journal and Sage take issues of copyright infringement, plagiarism or other breaches of best practice in publication very seriously. Please read Sage's complete policy on plagiarism and the actions we may take.
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Preprints Preprints
The journal does not accept submissions of manuscripts that have been posted on preprint servers.
Source ↗Publisher website ·
Excerpts are quoted from the journal's website; "model summary" lines are written by Workers AI and checked against the text. The journal's website is authoritative.
Profile
Publication details and official links
- Publisher
- SAGE
- ISSN
- 1757-7438
- Official links
- Journal homepage ↗DOAJ
- Submission system ↗Publisher website
- Author guidelines ↗DOAJ
- Aims & Scope ↗DOAJ
- Special issues ↗Publisher website
- APC information ↗DOAJ
- Open access statement ↗DOAJ
- License & copyright ↗DOAJ
- Peer review process ↗DOAJ
- Editorial board ↗DOAJ
FAQ
Frequently asked questions about Power and Education
What CAS zone is Power and Education in?
In the 2025 upgraded edition of the CAS Journal Ranking, Power and Education is in Zone 4 of Education, and in Zone 4 of the minor category Education & Educational Research. In the 2026 Xinrui edition it is in Zone 3 of Education. Zones from different editions, and from major and minor categories, are not interchangeable.
What is the impact factor of Power and Education?
The journal's website gives an impact factor of 1.4; this is the journal's own figure, as LetPub lists none for it; CiteScore 3.4, h-index 32.
How long does peer review take at Power and Education?
The publisher reports about 176 days (submission to acceptance); the journal's website gives an acceptance rate of 17.5%. Article statistics cover accepted papers only, publisher figures follow the journal's own definitions, and community reports come from authors' own submissions; none is a promise from the journal.
Where are the editorial board members of Power and Education based?
Of the 34 board members whose country the journal's board page names, none are in mainland China; the countries named most often are United Kingdom (16), United States (5) and Canada (3). Counted from the institutions listed on the board page; for reference only.
Which databases index Power and Education?
According to LetPub and DOAJ records, Power and Education is indexed in ESCI, Scopus and DOAJ.
Is Power and Education open access, and what is the APC?
Power and Education is a fully open-access journal. APC about USD 500.
Sources and updates
The facts on this page come from LetPub, Publisher website, OpenAlex, DOAJ; every figure is tagged with its source and the date it was observed, and conflicting values are kept per source. LetPub source page: view ↗ (archived 2026-08-25). Last updated: .