Journal profile · Chemical Engineering-General Chemical Engineering
Polymer-Plastics Technology and Materials
ISSN 2574-0881 · eISSN 2574-089X · Taylor & Francis · UNITED STATES
Polymer-Plastics Technology and Materials: CAS Zone 4 · Materials Science (2025 upgraded edition); impact factor 3.51; JCR Q2 (journal website); subscription journal; APC charged, amount not published; review about 68 days (first decision after review, publisher); acceptance rate 20% (journal website); 107 articles in 2025; indexed in SCIE and Scopus.
Scope
Aims, scope and focus
Polymer-Plastics Technology and Materials is published by Taylor & Francis and is in Zone 4 of Materials Science in the CAS Journal Ranking (2025 upgraded edition). By OpenAlex counts of its recent articles, its largest topics are Conducting polymers and applications, Polymer Nanocomposites and Properties and biodegradable polymer synthesis and properties, together about 27.1% of its articles. Its main subfields are Polymers and Plastics. (generated from OpenAlex topic counts and CAS ranking data)
Polymer-Plastics Technology and Materials provides a forum for the publication of peer-reviewed, English language articles and select reviews on all aspects of polymer-plastics technology and polymeric materials that are industry, semi-commercial, and/or research-oriented. The journal will consider articles on the following general areas: Polymeric Materials Polymer Technology and Applications Bio-related Polymers/Bio-derived Materials Specialty Polymers Applied Polymer Science The journal will consider original research articles, reviews, and book reviews. Proposals for special issues in all the above areas are welcome and should be discussed with the Editor-in-Chief in the first instance. Peer Review Policy All submitted manuscripts are subject to initial appraisal by the Editor, and if found suitable for further consideration, will be peer-reviewed by independent and anonymous expert referees. The journal follows a single anonymized peer review policy. Publishing Ethics Statement The Journal adheres to the highest standards of publishing ethics, with rigorous processes in place to ensure this is achieved. Taylor & Francis is a member of Committee of Publication Ethics (COPE) and utilizes Similarity Check via CrossRef for all journals. More information on our ethical standards and policies can be found here: http://authorservices.taylorandfrancis.com/ethics-for-authors/. The Journal has an appeals and complaints policy which can be viewed here: https://authorservices.taylorandfrancis.com/peer-review-appeals-and-complaints-from-authors/.
From the journal's Aims & Scope
Research area (LetPub): Chemical Engineering-General Chemical Engineering
Main research topics OpenAlex counts of recent articles; shares are approximate
- Conducting polymers and applicationsMaterials Science10.3%
- Polymer Nanocomposites and PropertiesMaterials Science8.6%
- biodegradable polymer synthesis and propertiesMaterials Science8.1%
- Advanced Sensor and Energy Harvesting MaterialsEngineering7.5%
- Polymer Nanocomposite Synthesis and IrradiationMaterials Science5.4%
- Polymer composites and self-healingMaterials Science4.7%
- Electrospun Nanofibers in Biomedical ApplicationsMaterials Science4.6%
- Dielectric materials and actuatorsEngineering4.6%
Rankings & indexing
CAS ranking and database indexing
CAS Journal Ranking
CAS Journal Ranking, upgraded edition (March 2025)Materials Science Zone 4
| Level | Category | Zone |
|---|---|---|
| Major | Materials Science | Zone 4 |
| Minor | Polymer Science | Zone 4 |
Top journal: noReview journal: no
CAS Xinrui Journal Ranking (March 2026)Materials Science Zone 4
| Level | Category | Zone |
|---|---|---|
| Major | Materials Science | Zone 4 |
| Minor | Polymer Science | Zone 4 |
Top journal: noReview journal: not marked
CAS Journal Ranking, previous upgraded edition (December 2023)Materials Science Zone 4
| Level | Category | Zone |
|---|---|---|
| Major | Materials Science | Zone 4 |
| Minor | Polymer Science | Zone 4 |
Top journal: noReview journal: no
JCR / CiteScore quartiles on the journal's website
- JCR Q2 · best quartile · 2025
- CiteScore Q2 · 2025
Publisher-reported: JCR figures are Clarivate's and CiteScore figures Scopus's to confirm; both are a different system from the CAS zones.Publisher website
Database indexing
SCIEScopusLetPub
International journal early-warning lists: not listed in any editionLetPub
Indexing the journal's website claims
EI CompendexWeb of SciencePubMedINSPECCASCurrent ContentsPublisher website
Other: ProQuest, OCLC, EBSCOhost (various), FLUIDEX, FIZ Technik e.V. TEMA - Technology and Management, Genamics JournalSeek, OCLC ArticleFirst Electronic Collections Online, Personal Alert (Email), ProQuest (various), Clarivate Analytics Current Chemical Reactions Database, VINITI RAN Referativnyi Zhurnal
As the journal's website lists them, not checked against each database; for Web of Science editions the records above apply.
Editions, and major and minor categories, are shown separately and never merged into one zone; check which edition your institution uses before you submit or report.
Metrics
Impact metrics and publication volume
Impact
- Impact factor
- 3.51LetPub ·
- Impact factor (publisher) 2025
- 3.5Publisher website ·
- 5-year impact factor (publisher) 2025
- 3Publisher website ·
- CiteScore 2026-06
- 6.6LetPub ·
- CiteScore (publisher) 2025
- 6.6Publisher website ·
- SJR 2026-06
- 0.52LetPub ·
- SJR (publisher) 2025
- 0.52Publisher website ·
- SNIP 2026-06
- 0.64LetPub ·
- SNIP (publisher) 2025
- 0.64Publisher website ·
- h-index
- 45OpenAlex ·
- i10-index
- 346OpenAlex ·
- 2-year mean citedness
- 4.77OpenAlex ·
- Self-citation rate
- 5.7%LetPub ·
- Share of gold OA articles
- 1.77%LetPub ·
Volume
- Articles per year
- 106LetPub ·
- Downloads per year (publisher) 2025
- 165,000Publisher website ·
Articles by year OpenAlex count · 1,097 in total · the current year is incomplete
| Year | Articles | Open access | Citations |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2026 | 64 | 2 | 17 |
| 2025 | 107 | 4 | 308 |
| 2024 | 169 | 9 | 1,297 |
| 2023 | 125 | 9 | 1,038 |
| 2022 | 130 | 4 | 1,554 |
| 2021 | 135 | 0 | 1,403 |
Sources count differently and were observed at different times, so each source's own value is kept; "publisher" marks figures from the journal's website.
Review & acceptance
Review time and acceptance
Review time from article dates manuscript dates registered with Crossref · to
Too few articlesOnly 1 articles from the last 24 months carry both submission and acceptance dates, too few for a median
Only articles that were accepted and published are counted, not the time spent on rejected manuscripts, so this usually runs longer than a publisher's "time to first decision".
Figures by source
- Acceptance rate (publisher) 2025
- 20%Publisher website ·
- Submission to first decision 2025
- 13 daysPublisher website ·
- First decision after review 2025
- 68 daysPublisher website ·
- Acceptance to publication 2025
- 12 daysPublisher website ·
- Peer review
- Single anonymous peer reviewPublisher website
Community reports come from authors' own submissions (confidence 0.5) and are not a promise from the journal; for publisher figures, the journal's own definitions apply.
Fees & open access
APC and open-access policy
A subscription journal: articles are read by subscription or purchase, and authors usually pay no publication charge.
| Source | APC | Fee waiver | License | Observed |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Publisher website | Yes, amount not published | — | — |
The journal's website is authoritative for fees; sources were observed at different times and each keeps its own value, without averaging.
Submission
Article types and submission policies (journal website)
Article types accepted3
- book reviewThe journal will consider original research articles, reviews, and book reviews.Length not stated
- original researchThe journal will consider original research articles, reviews, and book reviews.Length not stated
- reviewThe journal will consider original research articles, reviews, and book reviews.Length not stated
Policy excerpts from the journal's websiteOpen access, Peer review
- Open access Open access
Polymer-Plastics Technology and Materials is a hybrid open access journal that is part of the Taylor & Francis Open Select publishing program, giving you the option to publish open access. Publishing open access means that your article will be free to access online immediately on publication, increasing the visibility, readership, and impact of your research. Why choose open access? Increase the d…
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Peer review
All submitted manuscripts are subject to initial appraisal by the Editor, and if found suitable for further consideration, will be peer-reviewed by independent and anonymous expert referees. The journal follows a single anonymized peer review policy. Model summary
All submitted manuscripts are subject to initial appraisal by the Editor, and if found suitable for further consideration, will be peer-reviewed by independent and anonymous expert referees. The journal follows a single anonymized peer review policy.
Source ↗Publisher website ·
Excerpts are quoted from the journal's website; "model summary" lines are written by Workers AI and checked against the text. The journal's website is authoritative.
Profile
Publication details and official links
- Publisher
- Taylor & Francis
- Country or region
- UNITED STATES
- Language
- English
- ISSN
- 2574-0881
- Electronic ISSN
- 2574-089X
- Latest issue on the website
- Volume 65, Issue 15 (2026)
- Official links
- Journal homepage ↗LetPub
- Submission system ↗Publisher website
- Special issues ↗Publisher website
FAQ
Frequently asked questions about Polymer-Plastics Technology and Materials
What CAS zone is Polymer-Plastics Technology and Materials in?
In the 2025 upgraded edition of the CAS Journal Ranking, Polymer-Plastics Technology and Materials is in Zone 4 of Materials Science, and in Zone 4 of the minor category Polymer Science. In the 2026 Xinrui edition it is in Zone 4 of Materials Science. Zones from different editions, and from major and minor categories, are not interchangeable.
What is the impact factor of Polymer-Plastics Technology and Materials?
The latest impact factor listed by LetPub is 3.51; CiteScore 6.6, h-index 45.
How long does peer review take at Polymer-Plastics Technology and Materials?
The publisher reports about 68 days (first decision after review); the journal's website gives an acceptance rate of 20% (2025). Article statistics cover accepted papers only, publisher figures follow the journal's own definitions, and community reports come from authors' own submissions; none is a promise from the journal.
What JCR quartile is Polymer-Plastics Technology and Materials in?
The journal's website gives JCR Q2 (best quartile). JCR quartiles are Clarivate's to confirm and a different system from the CAS zones; in the CAS ranking the journal is in Zone 4 of Materials Science.
Which databases index Polymer-Plastics Technology and Materials?
According to LetPub and DOAJ records, Polymer-Plastics Technology and Materials is indexed in SCIE and Scopus. The journal's website also lists EI Compendex, Web of Science, PubMed, INSPEC, CAS and Current Contents; that list has not been checked against each database.
Is Polymer-Plastics Technology and Materials open access, and what is the APC?
Polymer-Plastics Technology and Materials is a subscription journal. APC charged, amount not published.
Sources and updates
The facts on this page come from LetPub, Publisher website, OpenAlex; every figure is tagged with its source and the date it was observed, and conflicting values are kept per source. LetPub source page: view ↗ (archived 2026-08-25). Last updated: .