Journal profile · Multiple
Policy Politics & Nursing Practice
ISSN 1527-1544 · eISSN 1552-7468 · SAGE
Policy Politics & Nursing Practice: CAS Zone 3 · Medicine (2025 upgraded edition); impact factor 3 (journal website); hybrid open access; APC about USD 3,900; review about 102 days (submission to acceptance, publisher); acceptance rate 25% (journal website); 41 articles in 2025; indexed in ESCI and Scopus.
Scope
Aims, scope and focus
Policy Politics & Nursing Practice is published by SAGE and is in Zone 3 of Medicine in the CAS Journal Ranking (2025 upgraded edition). By OpenAlex counts of its recent articles, its largest topics are Global Health Workforce Issues, Nursing Education, Practice, and Leadership and Healthcare Policy and Management, together about 39.5% of its articles. Its main subfields are General Health Professions. (generated from OpenAlex topic counts and CAS ranking data)
Policy, Politics, & Nursing Practice (PPNP) is a quarterly, peer-reviewed journal that explores the multiple relationships between nursing and health policy. PPNP serves as a major source of data-based study, policy analysis and discussion on timely, relevant policy issues for nurses in a broad variety of roles and settings, and for others who are interested in … | View full journal description This journal is a member of the Committee on Publication Ethics (COPE).
From the journal's Aims & Scope
Research area (LetPub): Multiple
Editor-in-chief Christine KovnerPublisher website
Editorial board by country: none in mainland China; most named Canada 2, South Korea 1, Italy 1, New Zealand 1, Pakistan 1 (6 members with a country) Editorial board ↗Publisher website ·
Main research topics OpenAlex counts of recent articles; shares are approximate
- Global Health Workforce IssuesHealth Professions13.8%
- Nursing Education, Practice, and LeadershipNursing13.3%
- Healthcare Policy and ManagementEconomics, Econometrics and Finance12.5%
- Nursing Roles and PracticesHealth Professions9.5%
- Geriatric Care and Nursing HomesHealth Professions8.8%
- Primary Care and Health OutcomesHealth Professions6%
- Nursing education and managementNursing5.1%
- Food Security and Health in Diverse PopulationsHealth Professions3.5%
Rankings & indexing
CAS ranking and database indexing
CAS Journal Ranking
CAS Journal Ranking, upgraded edition (March 2025)Medicine Zone 3
| Level | Category | Zone |
|---|---|---|
| Major | Medicine | Zone 3 |
| Minor | Nursing | Zone 2 |
| Minor | Health Policy & Services | Zone 3 |
Top journal: noReview journal: no
CAS Xinrui Journal Ranking (March 2026)Medicine Zone 3
| Level | Category | Zone |
|---|---|---|
| Major | Medicine | Zone 3 |
| Minor | Health Policy & Services | Zone 2 |
| Minor | Nursing | Zone 2 |
Top journal: noReview journal: not marked
CAS Journal Ranking, previous upgraded edition (December 2023)Not covered
Not covered by this edition.
Database indexing
ESCIScopusLetPub
International journal early-warning lists: not listed in any editionLetPub
Editions, and major and minor categories, are shown separately and never merged into one zone; check which edition your institution uses before you submit or report.
Metrics
Impact metrics and publication volume
Impact
- Impact factor (publisher)
- 3Publisher website ·
- 5-year impact factor (publisher)
- 2.9Publisher website ·
- CiteScore 2026-06
- 5LetPub ·
- SJR 2026-06
- 0.96LetPub ·
- SNIP 2026-06
- 1.36LetPub ·
- h-index
- 49OpenAlex ·
- i10-index
- 310OpenAlex ·
- 2-year mean citedness
- 2.78OpenAlex ·
- Self-citation rate
- 3.3%LetPub ·
- Share of gold OA articles
- 21.79%LetPub ·
Volume
- Articles per year
- 27LetPub ·
- Articles per year (publisher)
- 3Publisher website ·
Articles by year OpenAlex count · 971 in total · the current year is incomplete
| Year | Articles | Open access | Citations |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2026 | 25 | 10 | 7 |
| 2025 | 41 | 16 | 98 |
| 2024 | 33 | 19 | 170 |
| 2023 | 27 | 16 | 202 |
| 2022 | 28 | 12 | 370 |
| 2021 | 30 | 15 | 358 |
Sources count differently and were observed at different times, so each source's own value is kept; "publisher" marks figures from the journal's website.
Review & acceptance
Review time and acceptance
Publisher-reported review time from the journal's website
102 dayssubmission to acceptance
The publisher's own definition applies; dates from this journal's articles in the last 24 months are not available yet, so the publisher's figure is used.
Figures by source
- Acceptance rate (publisher)
- 25%Publisher website ·
- Submission to first decision
- 2 daysPublisher website ·
- Submission to acceptance
- 102 daysPublisher website ·
- Acceptance to publication
- 31 daysPublisher website ·
- Peer review
- Single anonymous peer reviewPublisher website
Community reports come from authors' own submissions (confidence 0.5) and are not a promise from the journal; for publisher figures, the journal's own definitions apply.
Fees & open access
APC and open-access policy
A subscription journal in which authors can pay to publish their article open access.
| Source | APC | Fee waiver | License | Observed |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| OpenAlex | USD 3,900 / GBP 2,859 | — | — | |
| Publisher website | Yes, amount not published | — | — |
A hybrid journal charges the APC only when the author chooses open access; publishing under the subscription model is usually free.
The journal's website is authoritative for fees; sources were observed at different times and each keeps its own value, without averaging.
Submission
Article types and submission policies (journal website)
What to prepare7 items from the author guidelines
- Abstract
- ≤ 250 words
- Keywords
- ≥ 3
- Manuscript length
- ≤ 5,000 words
- Reference style
- APA
- Templates
- Word
- First submission
- Free format: the journal's layout is not required
- Suggested reviewers
- Required
Article types accepted10, with length limits
- editorialEditorial Written by the editor or their designate. Letters to the Editor Letters to the Editor should consist of one or two paragraphs totaling no more than 50…Length not stated
- empirical articlesEmpirical Articles Data-based manuscripts include an abstract and should present original work, which advances knowledge or understanding.Length not stated
- letterEditorial Written by the editor or their designate. Letters to the Editor Letters to the Editor should consist of one or two paragraphs totaling no more than 50…Length not stated
- letter to the editorEditorial Written by the editor or their designate. Letters to the Editor Letters to the Editor should consist of one or two paragraphs totaling no more than 50…Length not stated
- letters to the editorEditorial Written by the editor or their designate. Letters to the Editor Letters to the Editor should consist of one or two paragraphs totaling no more than 50…main text ≤ 500 words · references ≤ 8
- literature reviewEditorial Written by the editor or their designate. Letters to the Editor Letters to the Editor should consist of one or two paragraphs totaling no more than 50…main text ≤ 8,000 words
- nursing countsNursing Counts These are concise, focused reports of original research.Length not stated
- original researchEditorial Written by the editor or their designate. Letters to the Editor Letters to the Editor should consist of one or two paragraphs totaling no more than 50…Length not stated
- policy analysisPolicy Analysis Focus should be about public policy related to health and health care.Length not stated
- reviewEditorial Written by the editor or their designate. Letters to the Editor Letters to the Editor should consist of one or two paragraphs totaling no more than 50…Length not stated
Policy excerpts from the journal's websiteAuthorship, Data availability, Publication ethics, Open access, Peer review, Plagiarism, Preprints, Trial registration / reporting guidelines
- Authorship Author contributions
You will be asked to list the contribution of each author as part of the submission process. Please include the Author Contributions heading within your submission after the Acknowledgements section. The information you give on submission will then show under the Author Contributions heading later at the proofing stage.
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Data availability Data availability
The Journal is committed to facilitating openness, transparency and reproducibility of research, and has the following research data sharing policy. For more information, including FAQs please visit the Sage Research Data policy pages. Subject to appropriate ethical and legal considerations, authors are encouraged to: Share your research data in a relevant public data repository Include a data ava…
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Publication ethics Ethical considerations
Member of the Committee on Publication Ethics (COPE) Model summary
Please include your ethics approval statements under this heading, even if you have already included ethics approval information in your methods section. If ethical approval was not required, you need to explicitly state this. All papers reporting studies involving human participants, human data or human tissue must state that the relevant Ethics Committee or Institutional Review Board approved th…
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Open access Publishing fees and open access
There are no fees payable to submit or publish in this journal. Figures submitted in color will be published in color in the online version of the journal at no cost. For specifically requested color reproduction in print, you will receive information regarding the costs from Sage after receipt of your accepted article. Optional open access publishing is available for a fee via the Sage Choice pro…
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Peer review Peer review policy
Single anonymized peer review Model summary
The following summary describes the peer review process for this journal: Identity transparency: Single-anonymized Reviewer interacts with: Editor Review information published: None Your manuscript will undergo an initial evaluation. If it does not conform to the requirements laid out in these guidelines, it will be returned to you for amendments prior to peer review. Manuscripts may be desk rejec…
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Plagiarism Plagiarism
The journal and Sage take issues of copyright infringement, plagiarism or other breaches of best practice in publication very seriously. Please read Sage's complete policy on plagiarism and the actions we may take.
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Preprints Preprints
The journal will consider submissions of manuscripts that have been posted on preprint servers. Please enter the preprint DOI in the designated field when submitting your manuscript. We advise that you inform the Journal Editorial office about your posted preprint at submission. Note that you should not post an updated version of your manuscript on a preprint server while it is being peer reviewed…
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Trial registration / reporting guidelines Clinical trial registration
The journal conforms to the ICMJE requirement that clinical trials are registered in a WHO-approved public trials registry at or before the time of first participant enrollment as a condition of consideration for publication. The trial registry name and URL, and registration number must be included at the end of the abstract.
Source ↗Publisher website ·
Excerpts are quoted from the journal's website; "model summary" lines are written by Workers AI and checked against the text. The journal's website is authoritative.
Profile
Publication details and official links
- Publisher
- SAGE
- ISSN
- 1527-1544
- Electronic ISSN
- 1552-7468
- Official links
- Journal homepage ↗OpenAlex
- Submission system ↗Publisher website
- Special issues ↗Publisher website
FAQ
Frequently asked questions about Policy Politics & Nursing Practice
What CAS zone is Policy Politics & Nursing Practice in?
In the 2025 upgraded edition of the CAS Journal Ranking, Policy Politics & Nursing Practice is in Zone 3 of Medicine, and in Zone 2 of the minor category Nursing / Health Policy & Services. In the 2026 Xinrui edition it is in Zone 3 of Medicine. Zones from different editions, and from major and minor categories, are not interchangeable.
What is the impact factor of Policy Politics & Nursing Practice?
The journal's website gives an impact factor of 3; this is the journal's own figure, as LetPub lists none for it; CiteScore 5, h-index 49.
How long does peer review take at Policy Politics & Nursing Practice?
The publisher reports about 102 days (submission to acceptance); the journal's website gives an acceptance rate of 25%. Article statistics cover accepted papers only, publisher figures follow the journal's own definitions, and community reports come from authors' own submissions; none is a promise from the journal.
What are the manuscript requirements of Policy Politics & Nursing Practice?
According to the journal's author guidelines: Abstract: ≤ 250 words; Keywords: ≥ 3; Manuscript length: ≤ 5,000 words; Reference style: APA; Templates: Word; First submission: Free format: the journal's layout is not required; Suggested reviewers: Required. A model extracted these from the author guidelines and each was checked against the text; check the latest version on the journal's website before submitting.
Where are the editorial board members of Policy Politics & Nursing Practice based?
Of the 6 board members whose country the journal's board page names, none are in mainland China; the countries named most often are Canada (2), South Korea (1) and Italy (1). Counted from the institutions listed on the board page; for reference only.
Which databases index Policy Politics & Nursing Practice?
According to LetPub and DOAJ records, Policy Politics & Nursing Practice is indexed in ESCI and Scopus.
Is Policy Politics & Nursing Practice open access, and what is the APC?
Policy Politics & Nursing Practice is a hybrid journal. For open-access publication: APC about USD 3,900.
Sources and updates
The facts on this page come from LetPub, Publisher website, OpenAlex; every figure is tagged with its source and the date it was observed, and conflicting values are kept per source. LetPub source page: view ↗ (archived 2026-08-26). Last updated: .