Journal profile · Multiple

Policy Politics & Nursing Practice

ISSN 1527-1544 · eISSN 1552-7468 · SAGE

Policy Politics & Nursing Practice: CAS Zone 3 · Medicine (2025 upgraded edition); impact factor 3 (journal website); hybrid open access; APC about USD 3,900; review about 102 days (submission to acceptance, publisher); acceptance rate 25% (journal website); 41 articles in 2025; indexed in ESCI and Scopus.

Impact factor3From the journal's website, latest value
CAS zoneZone 3 · Medicine2025 upgraded edition, major category · 2026 Xinrui edition Zone 3 · Medicine
Review time102 daysPublisher-reported, submission to acceptance
APCUSD 3,900Hybrid journal: charged only for open-access articles
Acceptance25%From the journal's website
Articles per year412025 · OpenAlex count

Scope

Aims, scope and focus

Policy Politics & Nursing Practice is published by SAGE and is in Zone 3 of Medicine in the CAS Journal Ranking (2025 upgraded edition). By OpenAlex counts of its recent articles, its largest topics are Global Health Workforce Issues, Nursing Education, Practice, and Leadership and Healthcare Policy and Management, together about 39.5% of its articles. Its main subfields are General Health Professions. (generated from OpenAlex topic counts and CAS ranking data)

Policy, Politics, & Nursing Practice (PPNP) is a quarterly, peer-reviewed journal that explores the multiple relationships between nursing and health policy. PPNP serves as a major source of data-based study, policy analysis and discussion on timely, relevant policy issues for nurses in a broad variety of roles and settings, and for others who are interested in … | View full journal description This journal is a member of the Committee on Publication Ethics (COPE).

From the journal's Aims & Scope

Research area (LetPub): Multiple

Editor-in-chief Christine KovnerPublisher website

Editorial board by country: none in mainland China; most named Canada 2, South Korea 1, Italy 1, New Zealand 1, Pakistan 1 (6 members with a country) Editorial board ↗Publisher website ·

Main research topics OpenAlex counts of recent articles; shares are approximate

  1. Global Health Workforce IssuesHealth Professions13.8%
  2. Nursing Education, Practice, and LeadershipNursing13.3%
  3. Healthcare Policy and ManagementEconomics, Econometrics and Finance12.5%
  4. Nursing Roles and PracticesHealth Professions9.5%
  5. Geriatric Care and Nursing HomesHealth Professions8.8%
  6. Primary Care and Health OutcomesHealth Professions6%
  7. Nursing education and managementNursing5.1%
  8. Food Security and Health in Diverse PopulationsHealth Professions3.5%

Rankings & indexing

CAS ranking and database indexing

CAS Journal Ranking

CAS Journal Ranking, upgraded edition (March 2025)Medicine Zone 3
LevelCategoryZone
MajorMedicineZone 3
MinorNursingZone 2
MinorHealth Policy & ServicesZone 3

Top journal: noReview journal: no

CAS Xinrui Journal Ranking (March 2026)Medicine Zone 3
LevelCategoryZone
MajorMedicineZone 3
MinorHealth Policy & ServicesZone 2
MinorNursingZone 2

Top journal: noReview journal: not marked

CAS Journal Ranking, previous upgraded edition (December 2023)Not covered

Not covered by this edition.

Database indexing

ESCIScopusLetPub

International journal early-warning lists: not listed in any editionLetPub

Editions, and major and minor categories, are shown separately and never merged into one zone; check which edition your institution uses before you submit or report.

Metrics

Impact metrics and publication volume

Impact

Impact factor (publisher)
3Publisher website ·
5-year impact factor (publisher)
2.9Publisher website ·
CiteScore 2026-06
5LetPub ·
SJR 2026-06
0.96LetPub ·
SNIP 2026-06
1.36LetPub ·
h-index
49OpenAlex ·
i10-index
310OpenAlex ·
2-year mean citedness
2.78OpenAlex ·
Self-citation rate
3.3%LetPub ·
Share of gold OA articles
21.79%LetPub ·

Volume

Articles per year
27LetPub ·
Articles per year (publisher)
3Publisher website ·

Articles by year OpenAlex count · 971 in total · the current year is incomplete

YearArticlesOpen accessCitations
202625107
2025411698
20243319170
20232716202
20222812370
20213015358

Sources count differently and were observed at different times, so each source's own value is kept; "publisher" marks figures from the journal's website.

Review & acceptance

Review time and acceptance

Publisher-reported review time from the journal's website

102 dayssubmission to acceptance

The publisher's own definition applies; dates from this journal's articles in the last 24 months are not available yet, so the publisher's figure is used.

Figures by source

Acceptance rate (publisher)
25%Publisher website ·
Submission to first decision
2 daysPublisher website ·
Submission to acceptance
102 daysPublisher website ·
Acceptance to publication
31 daysPublisher website ·
Peer review
Single anonymous peer reviewPublisher website

Community reports come from authors' own submissions (confidence 0.5) and are not a promise from the journal; for publisher figures, the journal's own definitions apply.

Fees & open access

APC and open-access policy

Hybrid open accessLetPub

A subscription journal in which authors can pay to publish their article open access.

SourceAPCFee waiverLicenseObserved
OpenAlexUSD 3,900 / GBP 2,859——
Publisher websiteYes, amount not published——

A hybrid journal charges the APC only when the author chooses open access; publishing under the subscription model is usually free.

The journal's website is authoritative for fees; sources were observed at different times and each keeps its own value, without averaging.

Submission

Article types and submission policies (journal website)

What to prepare7 items from the author guidelines
Abstract
≤ 250 words
Keywords
≥ 3
Manuscript length
≤ 5,000 words
Reference style
APA
Templates
Word
First submission
Free format: the journal's layout is not required
Suggested reviewers
Required
Publisher website · model-extracted, each line checked against the text
Article types accepted10, with length limits
  1. editorialEditorial Written by the editor or their designate. Letters to the Editor Letters to the Editor should consist of one or two paragraphs totaling no more than 50…Length not stated
  2. empirical articlesEmpirical Articles Data-based manuscripts include an abstract and should present original work, which advances knowledge or understanding.Length not stated
  3. letterEditorial Written by the editor or their designate. Letters to the Editor Letters to the Editor should consist of one or two paragraphs totaling no more than 50…Length not stated
  4. letter to the editorEditorial Written by the editor or their designate. Letters to the Editor Letters to the Editor should consist of one or two paragraphs totaling no more than 50…Length not stated
  5. letters to the editorEditorial Written by the editor or their designate. Letters to the Editor Letters to the Editor should consist of one or two paragraphs totaling no more than 50…main text ≤ 500 words · references ≤ 8
  6. literature reviewEditorial Written by the editor or their designate. Letters to the Editor Letters to the Editor should consist of one or two paragraphs totaling no more than 50…main text ≤ 8,000 words
  7. nursing countsNursing Counts These are concise, focused reports of original research.Length not stated
  8. original researchEditorial Written by the editor or their designate. Letters to the Editor Letters to the Editor should consist of one or two paragraphs totaling no more than 50…Length not stated
  9. policy analysisPolicy Analysis Focus should be about public policy related to health and health care.Length not stated
  10. reviewEditorial Written by the editor or their designate. Letters to the Editor Letters to the Editor should consist of one or two paragraphs totaling no more than 50…Length not stated
Publisher website
Policy excerpts from the journal's websiteAuthorship, Data availability, Publication ethics, Open access, Peer review, Plagiarism, Preprints, Trial registration / reporting guidelines
Authorship Author contributions

You will be asked to list the contribution of each author as part of the submission process. Please include the Author Contributions heading within your submission after the Acknowledgements section. The information you give on submission will then show under the Author Contributions heading later at the proofing stage.

Source ↗Publisher website ·
Data availability Data availability

The Journal is committed to facilitating openness, transparency and reproducibility of research, and has the following research data sharing policy. For more information, including FAQs please visit the Sage Research Data policy pages. Subject to appropriate ethical and legal considerations, authors are encouraged to: Share your research data in a relevant public data repository Include a data ava…

Source ↗Publisher website ·
Publication ethics Ethical considerations

Member of the Committee on Publication Ethics (COPE) Model summary

Please include your ethics approval statements under this heading, even if you have already included ethics approval information in your methods section. If ethical approval was not required, you need to explicitly state this. All papers reporting studies involving human participants, human data or human tissue must state that the relevant Ethics Committee or Institutional Review Board approved th…

Source ↗Publisher website ·
Open access Publishing fees and open access

There are no fees payable to submit or publish in this journal. Figures submitted in color will be published in color in the online version of the journal at no cost. For specifically requested color reproduction in print, you will receive information regarding the costs from Sage after receipt of your accepted article. Optional open access publishing is available for a fee via the Sage Choice pro…

Source ↗Publisher website ·
Peer review Peer review policy

Single anonymized peer review Model summary

The following summary describes the peer review process for this journal: Identity transparency: Single-anonymized Reviewer interacts with: Editor Review information published: None Your manuscript will undergo an initial evaluation. If it does not conform to the requirements laid out in these guidelines, it will be returned to you for amendments prior to peer review. Manuscripts may be desk rejec…

Source ↗Publisher website ·
Plagiarism Plagiarism

The journal and Sage take issues of copyright infringement, plagiarism or other breaches of best practice in publication very seriously. Please read Sage's complete policy on plagiarism and the actions we may take.

Source ↗Publisher website ·
Preprints Preprints

The journal will consider submissions of manuscripts that have been posted on preprint servers. Please enter the preprint DOI in the designated field when submitting your manuscript. We advise that you inform the Journal Editorial office about your posted preprint at submission. Note that you should not post an updated version of your manuscript on a preprint server while it is being peer reviewed…

Source ↗Publisher website ·
Trial registration / reporting guidelines Clinical trial registration

The journal conforms to the ICMJE requirement that clinical trials are registered in a WHO-approved public trials registry at or before the time of first participant enrollment as a condition of consideration for publication. The trial registry name and URL, and registration number must be included at the end of the abstract.

Source ↗Publisher website ·

Excerpts are quoted from the journal's website; "model summary" lines are written by Workers AI and checked against the text. The journal's website is authoritative.

Profile

Publication details and official links

Publisher
SAGE
ISSN
1527-1544
Electronic ISSN
1552-7468
Official links

FAQ

Frequently asked questions about Policy Politics & Nursing Practice

What CAS zone is Policy Politics & Nursing Practice in?

In the 2025 upgraded edition of the CAS Journal Ranking, Policy Politics & Nursing Practice is in Zone 3 of Medicine, and in Zone 2 of the minor category Nursing / Health Policy & Services. In the 2026 Xinrui edition it is in Zone 3 of Medicine. Zones from different editions, and from major and minor categories, are not interchangeable.

What is the impact factor of Policy Politics & Nursing Practice?

The journal's website gives an impact factor of 3; this is the journal's own figure, as LetPub lists none for it; CiteScore 5, h-index 49.

How long does peer review take at Policy Politics & Nursing Practice?

The publisher reports about 102 days (submission to acceptance); the journal's website gives an acceptance rate of 25%. Article statistics cover accepted papers only, publisher figures follow the journal's own definitions, and community reports come from authors' own submissions; none is a promise from the journal.

What are the manuscript requirements of Policy Politics & Nursing Practice?

According to the journal's author guidelines: Abstract: ≤ 250 words; Keywords: ≥ 3; Manuscript length: ≤ 5,000 words; Reference style: APA; Templates: Word; First submission: Free format: the journal's layout is not required; Suggested reviewers: Required. A model extracted these from the author guidelines and each was checked against the text; check the latest version on the journal's website before submitting.

Where are the editorial board members of Policy Politics & Nursing Practice based?

Of the 6 board members whose country the journal's board page names, none are in mainland China; the countries named most often are Canada (2), South Korea (1) and Italy (1). Counted from the institutions listed on the board page; for reference only.

Which databases index Policy Politics & Nursing Practice?

According to LetPub and DOAJ records, Policy Politics & Nursing Practice is indexed in ESCI and Scopus.

Is Policy Politics & Nursing Practice open access, and what is the APC?

Policy Politics & Nursing Practice is a hybrid journal. For open-access publication: APC about USD 3,900.

Sources and updates

The facts on this page come from LetPub, Publisher website, OpenAlex; every figure is tagged with its source and the date it was observed, and conflicting values are kept per source. LetPub source page: view ↗ (archived 2026-08-26). Last updated: .