Journal profile · HEMATOLOGY

Plasmatology

ISSN 2634-8535 · eISSN 2755-8150 · SAGE · United Kingdom

Plasmatology: CAS Zone 4 · Medicine (2025 upgraded edition); diamond open access (no APC); no APC; review about 25 weeks (community reports); 4 articles in 2025; indexed in ESCI and Scopus.

Impact factor—No published value
CAS zoneZone 4 · Medicine2025 upgraded edition, major category · 2026 Xinrui edition Zone 4 · Medicine
Review timeabout 25 weeksCommunity average
APCNo APCDiamond open access (no APC)
Acceptance—No reports yet
Articles per year42025 · OpenAlex count

Scope

Aims, scope and focus

Plasmatology is published by SAGE and is in Zone 4 of Medicine in the CAS Journal Ranking (2025 upgraded edition). By OpenAlex counts of its recent articles, its largest topics are Hemoglobinopathies and Related Disorders, Platelet Disorders and Treatments and Blood groups and transfusion, together about 21% of its articles. Its main subfields are Hematology. (generated from OpenAlex topic counts and CAS ranking data)

Please note that Clinical Medicine Insights: Blood Disorders is now published under the new title Plasmatology.Plasmatology - The Journal of Blood ...

From the journal's Aims & Scope

Research area (LetPub): HEMATOLOGY

Editorial board by country: none in mainland China; most named United States 11, Spain 4, Italy 3, India 2, United Kingdom 1 (26 members with a country) Editorial board ↗Publisher website ·

Main research topics OpenAlex counts of recent articles; shares are approximate

  1. Hemoglobinopathies and Related DisordersMedicine7%
  2. Platelet Disorders and TreatmentsMedicine7%
  3. Blood groups and transfusionMedicine7%
  4. Hemophilia Treatment and ResearchMedicine6%
  5. Blood properties and coagulationMedicine6%
  6. Blood donation and transfusion practicesBusiness, Management and Accounting6%
  7. Multiple Myeloma Research and TreatmentsMedicine5%
  8. Blood transfusion and managementMedicine5%

Rankings & indexing

CAS ranking and database indexing

CAS Journal Ranking

CAS Journal Ranking, upgraded edition (March 2025)Medicine Zone 4
LevelCategoryZone
MajorMedicineZone 4
MinorHematologyZone 4

Top journal: noReview journal: no

CAS Xinrui Journal Ranking (March 2026)Medicine Zone 4
LevelCategoryZone
MajorMedicineZone 4
MinorHematologyZone 4

Top journal: noReview journal: not marked

CAS Journal Ranking, previous upgraded edition (December 2023)Not covered

Not covered by this edition.

Database indexing

ESCIScopusDOAJLetPub

International journal early-warning lists: not listed in any editionLetPub

Editions, and major and minor categories, are shown separately and never merged into one zone; check which edition your institution uses before you submit or report.

Metrics

Impact metrics and publication volume

Impact

CiteScore 2026-06
1.4LetPub ·
SJR 2026-06
0.19LetPub ·
SNIP 2026-06
0.5LetPub ·
h-index
9OpenAlex ·
i10-index
9OpenAlex ·
2-year mean citedness
1.21OpenAlex ·
Self-citation rate
0%LetPub ·
Share of gold OA articles
100%LetPub ·

Volume

Articles per year
4LetPub ·

Articles by year OpenAlex count · 59 in total · the current year is incomplete

YearArticlesOpen accessCitations
2025440
2024101017
2023131313
20229963
2021131320

Sources count differently and were observed at different times, so each source's own value is kept; "publisher" marks figures from the journal's website.

Review & acceptance

Review time and acceptance

Average review time (community reports)
about 25 weeksLetPub ·
Submission to publication (journal-reported)
about 25 weeksDOAJ ·
Peer review
Single anonymous peer reviewDOAJ

Community reports come from authors' own submissions (confidence 0.5) and are not a promise from the journal; for publisher figures, the journal's own definitions apply.

Fees & open access

APC and open-access policy

Diamond open access (no APC)DOAJ

Every article is open access and authors pay no article processing charge.

SourceAPCFee waiverLicenseObserved
DOAJNo APCNoCC BY, CC BY-NC
OpenAlexUSD 0——
Publisher websiteUSD 1,600——

The journal's website is authoritative for fees; sources were observed at different times and each keeps its own value, without averaging.

Submission

Article types and submission policies (journal website)

What to prepare8 items from the author guidelines
Abstract
≤ 300 words
Manuscript length
≤ 6,000 words
Reference style
Vancouver
First submission
Free format: the journal's layout is not required
Suggested reviewers
Optional
Highlights
Required
Graphical abstract
Optional
Cover letter
Required
Publisher website · model-extracted, each line checked against the text
Article types accepted6
  1. original research articleView our Special Collections currently accepting submissions. Please visit the Sage Journal Author Gateway for guidance on producing visual and/or video abstrac…Length not stated
  2. perspectiveView our Special Collections currently accepting submissions. Please visit the Sage Journal Author Gateway for guidance on producing visual and/or video abstrac…Length not stated
  3. research articleView our Special Collections currently accepting submissions. Please visit the Sage Journal Author Gateway for guidance on producing visual and/or video abstrac…Length not stated
  4. reviewView our Special Collections currently accepting submissions. Please visit the Sage Journal Author Gateway for guidance on producing visual and/or video abstrac…Length not stated
  5. review articleView our Special Collections currently accepting submissions. Please visit the Sage Journal Author Gateway for guidance on producing visual and/or video abstrac…Length not stated
  6. systematic reviewView our Special Collections currently accepting submissions. Please visit the Sage Journal Author Gateway for guidance on producing visual and/or video abstrac…Length not stated
Publisher website
Policy excerpts from the journal's websiteAuthorship, Data availability, Publication ethics, Open access, Peer review, Plagiarism, Preprints, Trial registration / reporting guidelines
Authorship Author contributions

You will be asked to list the contribution of each author as part of the submission process. Please include the Author Contributions heading within your submission after the Acknowledgements section. The information you give on submission will then show under the Author Contributions heading later at the proofing stage.

Source ↗Publisher website ·
Data availability Data availability

The Journal is committed to facilitating openness, transparency and reproducibility of research, and has the following research data sharing policy. For more information, including FAQs please visit the Sage Research Data policy pages. Subject to appropriate ethical and legal considerations, authors are encouraged to: Share your research data in a relevant public data repository Include a data ava…

Source ↗Publisher website ·
Publication ethics Ethical considerations

Please include your ethics approval statements under this heading, even if you have already included ethics approval information in your methods section. If ethical approval was not required, you need to explicitly state this. You can find information on what to say in your ethical statements as well as example statements on our Publication ethics and research integrity policies page. All papers r…

Source ↗Publisher website ·
Open access Publishing fees and open access

Blood & Plasma is an open access, peer-reviewed journal. All accepted articles are made freely available online immediately upon publication, are published under a Creative Commons license, and hosted online in perpetuity. If, after peer review, your manuscript is accepted for publication, a one-time article processing charge (APC) is payable to cover the cost of publishing, paid by the funder, in…

Source ↗Publisher website ·
Peer review Peer review policy

The following summary describes the peer review process for this journal: Identity transparency: Single Anonymized Reviewer interacts with: Editor Review information published: None Your manuscript will undergo an initial evaluation. If it does not conform to the requirements laid out in these guidelines, it will be returned to you for amendments prior to peer review. Manuscripts may be desk rejec…

Source ↗Publisher website ·
Plagiarism Plagiarism

The journal and Sage take issues of copyright infringement, plagiarism or other breaches of best practice in publication very seriously. Please read Sage's complete policy on plagiarism and the actions we may take.

Source ↗Publisher website ·
Preprints Preprints

The journal will consider submissions of manuscripts that have been posted on preprint servers. Please enter the preprint DOI in the designated field when submitting your manuscript. We advise that you inform the Journal Editorial office about your posted preprint at submission. Note that you should not post an updated version of your manuscript on a preprint server while it is being peer reviewed…

Source ↗Publisher website ·
Trial registration / reporting guidelines Clinical trial registration

The journal conforms to the ICMJE requirement that clinical trials are registered in a WHO-approved public trials registry at or before the time of first participant enrollment as a condition of consideration for publication. The trial registry name and URL, and registration number must be included at the end of the abstract.

Source ↗Publisher website ·

Excerpts are quoted from the journal's website; "model summary" lines are written by Workers AI and checked against the text. The journal's website is authoritative.

Profile

Publication details and official links

Publisher
SAGE
Country or region
United Kingdom
Language
English
ISSN
2634-8535
Print ISSN
2755-8150
Electronic ISSN
2755-8150
Official links

FAQ

Frequently asked questions about Plasmatology

What CAS zone is Plasmatology in?

In the 2025 upgraded edition of the CAS Journal Ranking, Plasmatology is in Zone 4 of Medicine, and in Zone 4 of the minor category Hematology. In the 2026 Xinrui edition it is in Zone 4 of Medicine. Zones from different editions, and from major and minor categories, are not interchangeable.

How long does peer review take at Plasmatology?

Authors report an average review time of about 25 weeks. Article statistics cover accepted papers only, publisher figures follow the journal's own definitions, and community reports come from authors' own submissions; none is a promise from the journal.

What are the manuscript requirements of Plasmatology?

According to the journal's author guidelines: Abstract: ≤ 300 words; Manuscript length: ≤ 6,000 words; Reference style: Vancouver; First submission: Free format: the journal's layout is not required; Suggested reviewers: Optional; Highlights: Required; Graphical abstract: Optional; Cover letter: Required. A model extracted these from the author guidelines and each was checked against the text; check the latest version on the journal's website before submitting.

Where are the editorial board members of Plasmatology based?

Of the 26 board members whose country the journal's board page names, none are in mainland China; the countries named most often are United States (11), Spain (4) and Italy (3). Counted from the institutions listed on the board page; for reference only.

Which databases index Plasmatology?

According to LetPub and DOAJ records, Plasmatology is indexed in ESCI, Scopus and DOAJ.

Is Plasmatology open access, and what is the APC?

Plasmatology is a diamond open-access journal (no APC). It charges no article processing charge.

Sources and updates

The facts on this page come from LetPub, OpenAlex, Publisher website, DOAJ; every figure is tagged with its source and the date it was observed, and conflicting values are kept per source. LetPub source page: view ↗ (archived 2026-08-26). Last updated: .