Journal profile · PLANT SCIENCES
Plant Root
ISSN 1881-6754 · Japanese Society for Root Research
Plant Root: CAS Zone 4 · Biology (2025 upgraded edition); fully open access; APC charged, amount not published; 4 articles in 2025; indexed in ESCI and Scopus.
Scope
Aims, scope and focus
Plant Root is published by Japanese Society for Root Research and is in Zone 4 of Biology in the CAS Journal Ranking (2025 upgraded edition). By OpenAlex counts of its recent articles, its largest topics are Plant nutrient uptake and metabolism, Plant responses to water stress and Plant Stress Responses and Tolerance, together about 38.2% of its articles. Its main subfields are Plant Science. (generated from OpenAlex topic counts and CAS ranking data)
Plant Root publishes original papers that provide novel insights into plant roots and rhizosphere in the aspect of biology (e.g. physiology, ecology etc.). The Journal's subjects are, for example, anatomy and morphology, cellular and molecular biology, biochemistry and physiology of plant roots, and their interactions with soil resources (water and nutrients), symbionts and pathogens. Work at any scale, from molecular to community level, is welcome.
From the journal's Aims & Scope
Research area (LetPub): PLANT SCIENCES
Main research topics OpenAlex counts of recent articles; shares are approximate
- Plant nutrient uptake and metabolismAgricultural and Biological Sciences17%
- Plant responses to water stressAgricultural and Biological Sciences11.8%
- Plant Stress Responses and ToleranceAgricultural and Biological Sciences9.4%
- Plant Molecular Biology ResearchAgricultural and Biological Sciences6.9%
- Rice Cultivation and Yield ImprovementAgricultural and Biological Sciences6.3%
- Plant tissue culture and regenerationBiochemistry, Genetics and Molecular Biology4.9%
- Legume Nitrogen Fixing SymbiosisAgricultural and Biological Sciences4.5%
- Soil Carbon and Nitrogen DynamicsAgricultural and Biological Sciences3.8%
Rankings & indexing
CAS ranking and database indexing
CAS Journal Ranking
CAS Journal Ranking, upgraded edition (March 2025)Biology Zone 4
| Level | Category | Zone |
|---|---|---|
| Major | Biology | Zone 4 |
| Minor | Plant Sciences | Zone 4 |
Top journal: noReview journal: no
CAS Xinrui Journal Ranking (March 2026)Biology Zone 4
| Level | Category | Zone |
|---|---|---|
| Major | Biology | Zone 4 |
| Minor | Plant Sciences | Zone 4 |
Top journal: noReview journal: not marked
CAS Journal Ranking, previous upgraded edition (December 2023)Not covered
Not covered by this edition.
Database indexing
ESCIScopusLetPub
International journal early-warning lists: not listed in any editionLetPub
Indexing the journal's website claims
Web of SciencePublisher website
As the journal's website lists them, not checked against each database; for Web of Science editions the records above apply.
Editions, and major and minor categories, are shown separately and never merged into one zone; check which edition your institution uses before you submit or report.
Metrics
Impact metrics and publication volume
Impact
- CiteScore 2026-06
- 0.7LetPub ·
- SJR 2026-06
- 0.21LetPub ·
- SNIP 2026-06
- 0.51LetPub ·
- h-index
- 20OpenAlex ·
- i10-index
- 42OpenAlex ·
- 2-year mean citedness
- 0.9OpenAlex ·
- Self-citation rate
- 0%LetPub ·
- Share of gold OA articles
- 100%LetPub ·
Volume
- Articles per year
- 4LetPub ·
- Articles per year (publisher)
- 2,025Publisher website ·
Articles by year OpenAlex count · 140 in total · the current year is incomplete
| Year | Articles | Open access | Citations |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2026 | 2 | 2 | 0 |
| 2025 | 4 | 4 | 6 |
| 2024 | 4 | 4 | 3 |
| 2023 | 7 | 7 | 13 |
| 2022 | 3 | 3 | 9 |
| 2021 | 8 | 8 | 29 |
Sources count differently and were observed at different times, so each source's own value is kept; "publisher" marks figures from the journal's website.
Fees & open access
APC and open-access policy
Every article is open access; authors usually pay an article processing charge (APC).
| Source | APC | Fee waiver | License | Observed |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Publisher website | Yes, amount not published | — | — |
Other charges and waivers (author guidelines)
- Submission fee
- Charged; see the journal's website for the amount
The journal's website is authoritative for fees; sources were observed at different times and each keeps its own value, without averaging.
Submission
Article types and submission policies (journal website)
What to prepare7 items from the author guidelines
- Abstract
- ≤ 250 words
- Keywords
- ≥ 3
- Manuscript length
- ≤ 5,000 words
- Reference style
- Author–date
- Templates
- Word
- Suggested reviewers
- Optional, 5
- Cover letter
- Required
Article types accepted6, with length limits
- method paper4. Method papers are expected to present novel methods for plant root researches. Topics suitable for this category are, for example, development of new methods…Length not stated
- mini-review3. Mini-review articles provide an overview of a single theme or topic targeting broad plant root researchers. Manuscripts for mini-review articles must not exc…Length not stated
- original research1. Original research articles are original full-length papers that have not been previously published elsewhere, except in a preliminary form.Length not stated
- review2. Review articles are normally solicited by the Editors. Submission of review articles is also welcome, but please contact Editors in Chief (Editor2025@plantro…Length not stated
- review articleroot researchers. Manuscripts for mini-review articles must not exceed 5,000 words excluding references, and the number of tables and figuresmain text ≤ 5,000 words
- short report5. Short reports are intended to report important new information, which can be presented concisely. Manuscripts for Short reports should not be longer than fiv…Length not stated
Policy excerpts from the journal's websiteAuthorship, License & copyright
- Authorship
Originality requirement: work must not be previously published or under consideration elsewhere. Model summary
Submission of a manuscript to Plant Root is an affirmation that the work has not been previously published, except in the form of an abstract or as part of a published lecture or academic thesis, and is not under consideration for publication elsewhere.
Source ↗Publisher website ·- License & copyright
CC-BY license from 2022; copyright retained by authors except for materials added by JSRR. Model summary
From 2022, articles in Plant Root are published under terms and conditions of the Creative Commons Attribution License (CC-BY; https://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/4.0/) and copyright of an article is retained by its author(s) except for materials added by JSRR.
Source ↗Publisher website ·
Excerpts are quoted from the journal's website; "model summary" lines are written by Workers AI and checked against the text. The journal's website is authoritative.
Profile
Publication details and official links
- Publisher
- Japanese Society for Root Research
- ISSN
- 1881-6754
- Official links
- Journal homepage ↗OpenAlex
FAQ
Frequently asked questions about Plant Root
What CAS zone is Plant Root in?
In the 2025 upgraded edition of the CAS Journal Ranking, Plant Root is in Zone 4 of Biology, and in Zone 4 of the minor category Plant Sciences. In the 2026 Xinrui edition it is in Zone 4 of Biology. Zones from different editions, and from major and minor categories, are not interchangeable.
What are the manuscript requirements of Plant Root?
According to the journal's author guidelines: Abstract: ≤ 250 words; Keywords: ≥ 3; Manuscript length: ≤ 5,000 words; Reference style: Author–date; Templates: Word; Suggested reviewers: Optional, 5; Cover letter: Required. A model extracted these from the author guidelines and each was checked against the text; check the latest version on the journal's website before submitting.
Which databases index Plant Root?
According to LetPub and DOAJ records, Plant Root is indexed in ESCI and Scopus. The journal's website also lists Web of Science; that list has not been checked against each database.
Is Plant Root open access, and what is the APC?
Plant Root is a fully open-access journal. APC charged, amount not published.
Sources and updates
The facts on this page come from LetPub, Publisher website, OpenAlex; every figure is tagged with its source and the date it was observed, and conflicting values are kept per source. LetPub source page: view ↗ (archived 2026-08-25). Last updated: .