Journal profile · Medicine-Complementary and Alternative Medicine
Phytomedicine Plus
ISSN 2667-0313 · Elsevier · Netherlands
Phytomedicine Plus: impact factor 11.3 (journal website); fully open access; APC about USD 1,950; review about 131 days (submission to acceptance, publisher); 225 articles in 2025; indexed in Scopus.
Scope
Aims, scope and focus
Phytomedicine Plus is published by Elsevier. By OpenAlex counts of its recent articles, its largest topics are Natural Antidiabetic Agents Studies, Essential Oils and Antimicrobial Activity and Ethnobotanical and Medicinal Plants Studies, together about 29.1% of its articles. (generated from OpenAlex topic counts and CAS ranking data)
Phytomedicine Plus is a companion title to the well-established and respected journal Phytomedicine. It is an open access, quarterly, international, complementary and integrative medicine journal.Phytomedicine Plus has a broader scope than Phytomedicine and considers articles on all aspects of pharmacognosy, traditional herbal medicine, rational phytotherapy as well as complementary and integrative medicine.The main aims of Phytomedicine Plus are associated with the integration of phytopreparations into conventional/official medicine.Topics included, but not restricted to, are:Pharmacological studies on isolated natural products, medicinal herbs, plant extracts and herbal mixtures (including pharmacological mode of action analyses, systems biology and network pharmacologyPreclinical safety and toxicity studies (including drug-herb interactions, herbal drug contaminations and adulterations)Phytochemistry (including bio-guided screening, extraction, separation, purification, and structure elucidation of natural products)Phytochemical analytical methods (development, validation and application)Botanical identification, standardization, quality control studies and biomarker evaluationPlant biotechnology related to medicinal herbsPlant biochemistry and plant molecular biology related to medicinal herbsBiopharmacy and pharmaceutical technology related to natural products and medicinal herbs (including formulation, delivery systems and nanotechnology, antibody-natural product conjugates etc.)Pharmacokinetic studiesRetrospective and prospective clinical trials, observational studies and case reportsPrevention and intervention studiesStudies on ethnobotany, ethnopharmacology and ethnomedicineTraditional medicine (including terrestrial and marine plants, fungi, and algae)Rational approaches of complementary medicineIntegrative medicineNutritional, agricultural and horticultural products with defined health claimLegislative and regulatory affairsSystematic reviewsPhytomedicine Plus aims to publish high quality papers. Therefore, manuscript will be desk-rejected that:Do not contain positive control experimentsContain phytochemically non-sufficiently characterized extracts of herbs and herbal mixtures (chemoprofile by HPLC, GC, NMR etc.; quantitation of markers).Report only on trivial bioactivities (e.g. antioxidant activity – however, articles with detailed studies on the molecular mechanism can be considered)Report on in vivo activities with not more than one applied drug dosePhytomedicine Plus favors herbal medicinal products with evidence-based therapeutic efficacy, but not dietary supplements and nutraceuticals.The journal covers the following sections:Behavioral, mental, affective, and stress-associated disordersAge-associated disordersNeuropharmacologyEndocrine pharmacologyMetabolic syndrome and obesityCancerImmunopharmacology, inflammationInfectious diseasesPulmonary, gastrointestinal, cardiovascular and urogenital diseasesPharmacological mode-of-action analysesSystems biology and network pharmacologyPreclinical safety and toxicology assessmentPharmacokinetics of natural compoundsClinical pharmacology and toxicology (randomized, placebo controlled, double blind, and observational open label studies)Biotechnology, plant biochemistry and molecular biologyIdentification, standardization and quality control of herbal preparationsLegislation of botanicals and regulatory affairsBiopharmacy and Technology with natural products and herbsInvited systematic reviews
From the journal's Aims & Scope
Research area (LetPub): Medicine-Complementary and Alternative Medicine
Editorial board by country: 14 in mainland China (about 17%); most named Mainland China 14, India 9, Germany 9, Hong Kong, China 8, United States 6 (82 members with a country) Editorial board ↗Publisher website ·
Main research topics OpenAlex counts of recent articles; shares are approximate
- Natural Antidiabetic Agents StudiesMedicine12.3%
- Essential Oils and Antimicrobial ActivityAgricultural and Biological Sciences9%
- Ethnobotanical and Medicinal Plants StudiesAgricultural and Biological Sciences7.8%
- Phytochemicals and Antioxidant ActivitiesMedicine7.6%
- Phytochemistry and Biological ActivitiesAgricultural and Biological Sciences6.3%
- Pharmacological Effects of Natural CompoundsPharmacology, Toxicology and Pharmaceutics6.3%
- Natural product bioactivities and synthesisBiochemistry, Genetics and Molecular Biology5.2%
- Medicinal Plants and NeuroprotectionMedicine5%
Rankings & indexing
CAS ranking and database indexing
CAS Journal Ranking
CAS Journal Ranking, upgraded edition (March 2025)Not covered
Not covered by this edition.
CAS Xinrui Journal Ranking (March 2026)Not covered
Not covered by this edition.
CAS Journal Ranking, previous upgraded edition (December 2023)Not covered
Not covered by this edition.
Database indexing
ScopusDOAJLetPub
International journal early-warning lists: not listed in any editionLetPub
Editions, and major and minor categories, are shown separately and never merged into one zone; check which edition your institution uses before you submit or report.
Metrics
Impact metrics and publication volume
Impact
- Impact factor (publisher)
- 11.3Publisher website ·
- CiteScore 2026-06
- 6LetPub ·
- CiteScore (publisher)
- 6Publisher website ·
- SJR 2026-06
- 0.55LetPub ·
- SNIP 2026-06
- 0.85LetPub ·
- h-index
- 39OpenAlex ·
- i10-index
- 286OpenAlex ·
- 2-year mean citedness
- 3.72OpenAlex ·
- Share of gold OA articles
- 0%LetPub ·
Articles by year OpenAlex count · 1,029 in total · the current year is incomplete
| Year | Articles | Open access | Citations |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2026 | 93 | 93 | 25 |
| 2025 | 225 | 225 | 653 |
| 2024 | 199 | 199 | 1,244 |
| 2023 | 117 | 117 | 1,172 |
| 2022 | 182 | 182 | 2,425 |
| 2021 | 195 | 195 | 3,562 |
Sources count differently and were observed at different times, so each source's own value is kept; "publisher" marks figures from the journal's website.
Review & acceptance
Review time and acceptance
Publisher-reported review time from the journal's website
131 dayssubmission to acceptance · community reports about 13 weeks
The publisher's own definition applies; dates from this journal's articles in the last 24 months are not available yet, so the publisher's figure is used.
Figures by source
- Average review time (community reports)
- about 13 weeksLetPub ·
- Submission to first decision
- 6 daysPublisher website ·
- First decision after review
- 54 daysPublisher website ·
- Submission to acceptance
- 131 daysPublisher website ·
- Acceptance to publication
- 2 daysPublisher website ·
- Submission to publication (journal-reported)
- about 21 weeksDOAJ ·
- Peer review
- Double anonymous peer reviewDOAJ
Community reports come from authors' own submissions (confidence 0.5) and are not a promise from the journal; for publisher figures, the journal's own definitions apply.
Fees & open access
APC and open-access policy
Every article is open access; authors usually pay an article processing charge (APC).
| Source | APC | Fee waiver | License | Observed |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| DOAJ | USD 1,950 | Yes | CC BY, CC BY-NC, CC BY-NC-ND | |
| OpenAlex | USD 1,590 / EUR 1,490 / GBP 1,270 / JPY 197,210 | — | — | |
| LetPub | USD 1,500 | Yes | — | |
| Publisher website | USD 2,400 | — | — |
The journal's website is authoritative for fees; sources were observed at different times and each keeps its own value, without averaging.
Submission
Article types and submission policies (journal website)
Open calls for papers2, by deadline
Publisher websiteWhat to prepare6 items from the author guidelines
- Abstract
- ≤ 250 words
- Keywords
- 1–7
- Manuscript length
- ≤ 5,000 words
- Reference style
- Author–date
- Highlights
- Required
- Cover letter
- Required
Article types accepted8, with length limits
- original paperArticles should not exceed 12-15 typewritten pages or up to 5,000 words, including references, tables and figures. Previously reported methods should be referen…main text ≤ 5,000 words
- original papersOriginal papers Articles should not exceed 12-15 typewritten pages or up to 5,000 words, including references, tables and figures.Length not stated
- reviewOriginal papersArticles should not exceed 12-15 typewritten pages or up to 5,000 words, including references, tables and figures. Previously reported methods sh…Length not stated
- review articleOriginal papersArticles should not exceed 12-15 typewritten pages or up to 5,000 words, including references, tables and figures. Previously reported methods sh…Length not stated
- review articlesReview articles Review articles will only be by invitation.Length not stated
- short communicationrticles or reports on microarray data). Short communications Short communications should be condensed to 4-8 typewritten pages or not more than 2,500 words incl…main text ≤ 2,500 words
- short communicationsShort communications Short communications should be condensed to 4-8 typewritten pages or not more than 2,500 words including references and a maximum of two il…Length not stated
- systematic reviewwith natural products and herbs Invited systematic reviews Article types Original papers Articles should not exceed 12-15 typewritten pages or up to 5,000 words…main text ≤ 5,000 words
Policy excerpts from the journal's websiteAI use, Authorship, Conflicts of interest, License & copyright, Open access, Peer review, Preprints
- AI use Declaration of generative AI use
Authors must declare the use of generative AI tools in the manuscript preparation process upon submission of the paper.Generative AI and AI-assisted technologies (“AI tools”) have been rapidly adopted in research and scholarly publishing, offering significant benefits while requiring clear standards for responsible and transparent use.Authors preparing a manuscript for this journal may use AI tool…
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Authorship Group authorship
Group authorship refers to the attribution of an article to a defined and named group of authors whose members have contributed to the work. Examples include research consortia, clinical trial groups, collaborative networks, task forces or working groups, expert panels or consensus groups, and participatory research groups. Group authorship must be declared on the title page at submission. When av…
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Conflicts of interest Declaration of competing interests
All authors must disclose any financial and personal relationships with other people or organizations that could inappropriately influence or bias their work. Examples of potential competing interests include:EmploymentConsultanciesStock ownershipHonorariaPaid expert testimonyPatent applications or registrationsGrants or any other fundingAffiliation with the journal as an Editor or Advisory Board …
Source ↗Publisher website ·- License & copyright License options
Authors will be offered open access user license options which will determine how you, and third parties, can reuse your open access article. We advise that you review these options and any funding body license requirements before selecting a license option.
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Open access Open access
We refer you to our open access information page to learn about open access options for this journal.
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Peer review Peer review
Single anonymized review process. Model summary
This journal follows a single anonymized review process. Your submission will initially be assessed by our editors. If your submission is deemed suitable, it will typically be sent to be reviewed by a minimum of two reviewers for an independent expert assessment of the scientific quality. The decision as to whether your article is accepted or rejected for publication will be made by our editors.Re…
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Preprints Preprints
Preprint sharing allowed. Model summary
Preprint sharingAuthors may share preprints in line with Elsevier's article sharing policy. Sharing preprints, such as on a preprint server, will not count as prior publication.We advise you to read our policy on multiple, redundant or concurrent publication. In support of Open Science, this journal offers its authors a free preprint posting service on SSRN, Elsevier’s preprint and early research …
Source ↗Publisher website ·
Excerpts are quoted from the journal's website; "model summary" lines are written by Workers AI and checked against the text. The journal's website is authoritative.
Profile
Publication details and official links
- Publisher
- Elsevier
- Country or region
- Netherlands
- Language
- English
- ISSN
- 2667-0313
- Official links
- Journal homepage ↗DOAJ
- Submission system ↗Publisher website
- Author guidelines ↗DOAJ
- Aims & Scope ↗DOAJ
- Special issues ↗Publisher website
- APC information ↗DOAJ
- Fee waivers ↗DOAJ
- Open access statement ↗DOAJ
- License & copyright ↗DOAJ
- Peer review process ↗DOAJ
- Editorial board ↗DOAJ
- Plagiarism policy ↗DOAJ
FAQ
Frequently asked questions about Phytomedicine Plus
What is the impact factor of Phytomedicine Plus?
The journal's website gives an impact factor of 11.3; this is the journal's own figure, as LetPub lists none for it; CiteScore 6, h-index 39.
How long does peer review take at Phytomedicine Plus?
The publisher reports about 131 days (submission to acceptance); authors report an average review time of about 13 weeks. Article statistics cover accepted papers only, publisher figures follow the journal's own definitions, and community reports come from authors' own submissions; none is a promise from the journal.
What are the manuscript requirements of Phytomedicine Plus?
According to the journal's author guidelines: Abstract: ≤ 250 words; Keywords: 1–7; Manuscript length: ≤ 5,000 words; Reference style: Author–date; Highlights: Required; Cover letter: Required. A model extracted these from the author guidelines and each was checked against the text; check the latest version on the journal's website before submitting.
Where are the editorial board members of Phytomedicine Plus based?
Of the 82 board members whose country the journal's board page names, 14 (about 17%) are in mainland China; the countries named most often are Mainland China (14), India (9) and Germany (9). Counted from the institutions listed on the board page; for reference only.
Which databases index Phytomedicine Plus?
According to LetPub and DOAJ records, Phytomedicine Plus is indexed in Scopus and DOAJ.
Is Phytomedicine Plus open access, and what is the APC?
Phytomedicine Plus is a fully open-access journal. APC about USD 1,950.
Sources and updates
The facts on this page come from LetPub, Publisher website, OpenAlex, DOAJ; every figure is tagged with its source and the date it was observed, and conflicting values are kept per source. LetPub source page: view ↗ (archived 2026-08-26). Last updated: .