Journal profile · REHABILITATION

Physiotherapy Theory and Practice

ISSN 0959-3985 · eISSN 1532-5040 · Informa Healthcare · ENGLAND

Physiotherapy Theory and Practice: CAS Zone 4 · Medicine (2025 upgraded edition); impact factor 1.55; hybrid open access; APC charged, amount not published; median 122 days to acceptance (106 articles, last 24 months); acceptance rate 9% (journal website); 181 articles in 2025; indexed in SCIE and Scopus.

Impact factor1.55Latest value listed by LetPub
CAS zoneZone 4 · Medicine2025 upgraded edition, major category · 2026 Xinrui edition Zone 4 · Medicine
Review time122 daysMedian, submission to acceptance · 106 articles, last 24 months · Crossref
APCCharged, amount not publishedHybrid journal: charged only for open-access articles
Acceptance9%From the journal's website (2025)
Articles per year1812025 · OpenAlex count

Scope

Aims, scope and focus

Physiotherapy Theory and Practice is published by Informa Healthcare and is in Zone 4 of Medicine in the CAS Journal Ranking (2025 upgraded edition). By OpenAlex counts of its recent articles, its largest topics are Musculoskeletal pain and rehabilitation, Occupational Therapy Practice and Research and Balance, Gait, and Falls Prevention, together about 34.3% of its articles. (generated from OpenAlex topic counts and CAS ranking data)

The aim of Physiotherapy Theory and Practice is to provide an international, peer-reviewed forum for the publication, dissemination, and discussion of recent developments and current research in physiotherapy/physical therapy. The journal accepts original quantitative and qualitative research reports, theoretical papers, systematic literature reviews, clinical case reports, and technical clinical notes. Physiotherapy Theory and Practice; promotes post-basic education through reports, reviews, and updates on all aspects of physiotherapy and specialties relating to clinical physiotherapy.

From the journal's Aims & Scope

Research area (LetPub): REHABILITATION

Editor-in-chief Morey J. KolberPublisher website

Editorial board by country: none in mainland China; most named United States 2, Australia 1 (3 members with a country) Editorial board ↗Publisher website ·

Main research topics OpenAlex counts of recent articles; shares are approximate

  1. Musculoskeletal pain and rehabilitationMedicine14.7%
  2. Occupational Therapy Practice and ResearchHealth Professions10%
  3. Balance, Gait, and Falls PreventionHealth Professions9.6%
  4. Cerebral Palsy and Movement DisordersMedicine9.4%
  5. Stroke Rehabilitation and RecoveryMedicine7.7%
  6. Shoulder Injury and TreatmentMedicine4.2%
  7. Sports injuries and preventionMedicine4.2%
  8. Spine and Intervertebral Disc PathologyMedicine3.2%

Rankings & indexing

CAS ranking and database indexing

CAS Journal Ranking

CAS Journal Ranking, upgraded edition (March 2025)Medicine Zone 4
LevelCategoryZone
MajorMedicineZone 4
MinorRehabilitationZone 4

Top journal: noReview journal: no

CAS Xinrui Journal Ranking (March 2026)Medicine Zone 4
LevelCategoryZone
MajorMedicineZone 4
MinorRehabilitationZone 4

Top journal: noReview journal: not marked

CAS Journal Ranking, previous upgraded edition (December 2023)Medicine Zone 4
LevelCategoryZone
MajorMedicineZone 4
MinorRehabilitationZone 4

Top journal: noReview journal: no

JCR / CiteScore quartiles on the journal's website

Publisher-reported: JCR figures are Clarivate's and CiteScore figures Scopus's to confirm; both are a different system from the CAS zones.Publisher website

Database indexing

SCIEScopusLetPub

International journal early-warning lists: not listed in any editionLetPub

Indexing the journal's website claims

Web of ScienceMEDLINEPubMedEmbaseCINAHLPublisher website

Other: Academic Search Complete, AMED, Biological Abstracts, BIOSIS Previews, Consumer Health Complete, EMCARE, HINARI, SPORT Discus

As the journal's website lists them, not checked against each database; for Web of Science editions the records above apply.

Editions, and major and minor categories, are shown separately and never merged into one zone; check which edition your institution uses before you submit or report.

Metrics

Impact metrics and publication volume

Impact

Impact factor
1.55LetPub ·
Impact factor (publisher) 2025
1.6Publisher website ·
5-year impact factor (publisher) 2025
2Publisher website ·
CiteScore 2026-06
4LetPub ·
CiteScore (publisher) 2025
4Publisher website ·
SJR 2026-06
0.62LetPub ·
SJR (publisher) 2025
0.62Publisher website ·
SNIP 2026-06
0.97LetPub ·
SNIP (publisher) 2025
0.97Publisher website ·
h-index
39LetPub ·
h-index
82OpenAlex ·
i10-index
1,319OpenAlex ·
2-year mean citedness
1.43OpenAlex ·
Self-citation rate
6.2%LetPub ·
Share of gold OA articles
14.41%LetPub ·

Volume

Articles per year
180LetPub ·
Downloads per year (publisher)
541,000Publisher website ·
Downloads per year (publisher) 2025
541,000Publisher website ·

Articles by year OpenAlex count · 3,101 in total · the current year is incomplete

YearArticlesOpen accessCitations
20261581818
202518151186
202415454501
202314159825
2022318912,379
2021211561,954

Sources count differently and were observed at different times, so each source's own value is kept; "publisher" marks figures from the journal's website.

Review & acceptance

Review time and acceptance

Review time from article dates manuscript dates registered with Crossref · to

122 daysMedian, submission to acceptance · P25–P75 93 days – 190 days

Acceptance to online
median 11 days (106 articles)
Submission to online
median 133 days
Sample
106 articles with submission and acceptance dates (366 in the window); the latest was accepted on

Only articles that were accepted and published are counted, not the time spent on rejected manuscripts, so this usually runs longer than a publisher's "time to first decision".

Other sources

Acceptance rate (publisher)
9%Publisher website ·
Acceptance rate (publisher) 2025
9%Publisher website ·
Submission to first decision
48 daysPublisher website ·
First decision after review
48 daysPublisher website ·
First decision after review 2025
48 daysPublisher website ·
Acceptance to publication
12 daysPublisher website ·
Acceptance to publication 2025
12 daysPublisher website ·

Community reports come from authors' own submissions (confidence 0.5) and are not a promise from the journal; for publisher figures, the journal's own definitions apply.

Fees & open access

APC and open-access policy

Hybrid open accessLetPub

A subscription journal in which authors can pay to publish their article open access.

SourceAPCFee waiverLicenseObserved
Publisher websiteYes, amount not published——

A hybrid journal charges the APC only when the author chooses open access; publishing under the subscription model is usually free.

The journal's website is authoritative for fees; sources were observed at different times and each keeps its own value, without averaging.

Submission

Article types and submission policies (journal website)

Article types accepted5
  1. clinical case reportsThe journal accepts original quantitative and qualitative research reports, theoretical papers, systematic literature reviews, clinical case reports, and techni…Length not stated
  2. original quantitative and qualitative research reportsThe journal accepts original quantitative and qualitative research reports, theoretical papers, systematic literature reviews, clinical case reports, and techni…Length not stated
  3. systematic literature reviewsThe journal accepts original quantitative and qualitative research reports, theoretical papers, systematic literature reviews, clinical case reports, and techni…Length not stated
  4. technical clinical notesThe journal accepts original quantitative and qualitative research reports, theoretical papers, systematic literature reviews, clinical case reports, and techni…Length not stated
  5. theoretical papersThe journal accepts original quantitative and qualitative research reports, theoretical papers, systematic literature reviews, clinical case reports, and techni…Length not stated
Publisher website
Policy excerpts from the journal's websiteOpen access
Open access Open access

Hybrid open access journal, part of Taylor & Francis Open Select publishing program. Model summary

Physiotherapy Theory and Practice is a hybrid open access journal that is part of the Taylor & Francis Open Select publishing program, giving you the option to publish open access. Publishing open access means that your article will be free to access online immediately on publication, increasing the visibility, readership, and impact of your research. Why choose open access? Increase the discovera…

Source ↗Publisher website ·

Excerpts are quoted from the journal's website; "model summary" lines are written by Workers AI and checked against the text. The journal's website is authoritative.

Profile

Publication details and official links

Publisher
Informa Healthcare
Country or region
ENGLAND
Language
English
ISSN
0959-3985
Electronic ISSN
1532-5040
Latest issue on the website
Volume 42, Issue 9 (2026)
Official links

FAQ

Frequently asked questions about Physiotherapy Theory and Practice

What CAS zone is Physiotherapy Theory and Practice in?

In the 2025 upgraded edition of the CAS Journal Ranking, Physiotherapy Theory and Practice is in Zone 4 of Medicine, and in Zone 4 of the minor category Rehabilitation. In the 2026 Xinrui edition it is in Zone 4 of Medicine. Zones from different editions, and from major and minor categories, are not interchangeable.

What is the impact factor of Physiotherapy Theory and Practice?

The latest impact factor listed by LetPub is 1.55; CiteScore 4, h-index 82.

How long does peer review take at Physiotherapy Theory and Practice?

Based on the dates recorded on 106 articles published between October 2024 and October 2026 (the last 24 months), the median time from submission to acceptance is 122 days (interquartile range 93–190 days); the journal's website gives an acceptance rate of 9% (2025). Article statistics cover accepted papers only, publisher figures follow the journal's own definitions, and community reports come from authors' own submissions; none is a promise from the journal.

Where are the editorial board members of Physiotherapy Theory and Practice based?

Of the 3 board members whose country the journal's board page names, none are in mainland China; the countries named most often are United States (2) and Australia (1). Counted from the institutions listed on the board page; for reference only.

Which databases index Physiotherapy Theory and Practice?

According to LetPub and DOAJ records, Physiotherapy Theory and Practice is indexed in SCIE and Scopus. The journal's website also lists Web of Science, MEDLINE, PubMed, Embase and CINAHL; that list has not been checked against each database.

Is Physiotherapy Theory and Practice open access, and what is the APC?

Physiotherapy Theory and Practice is a hybrid journal. For open-access publication: APC charged, amount not published.

Sources and updates

The facts on this page come from LetPub, Publisher website, OpenAlex; every figure is tagged with its source and the date it was observed, and conflicting values are kept per source. LetPub source page: view ↗ (archived 2026-08-26). Last updated: .