Journal profile · Multiple
Physics & Imaging in Radiation Oncology
ISSN 2405-6316 · Elsevier · Ireland
Physics & Imaging in Radiation Oncology: CAS Zone 2 · Medicine (2025 upgraded edition); impact factor 3.2 (journal website); fully open access; APC about USD 2,080; median 141 days to acceptance (103 articles, last 24 months); 206 articles in 2025; indexed in ESCI and Scopus.
Scope
Aims, scope and focus
Physics & Imaging in Radiation Oncology is published by Elsevier and is in Zone 2 of Medicine in the CAS Journal Ranking (2025 upgraded edition). By OpenAlex counts of its recent articles, its largest topics are Advanced Radiotherapy Techniques, Radiation Therapy and Dosimetry and Prostate Cancer Diagnosis and Treatment, together about 51.8% of its articles. Its main subfields are Radiology, Nuclear Medicine and Imaging and Pulmonary and Respiratory Medicine. (generated from OpenAlex topic counts and CAS ranking data)
An Official Journal of The European Society for Radiotherapy and OncologyPhysics and Imaging in Radiation Oncology is an international, open access journal which is focused on medical physics and imaging in radiation oncology. Submissions from areas related to physics and imaging in radiation oncology are also considered.The journal publishes original research articles, review articles, short communications, technical notes, and correspondence.For any information regarding Physics and Imaging in Radiation Oncology please contact phiro@elsevier.com.
From the journal's Aims & Scope
Research area (LetPub): Multiple
Editorial board by country: none in mainland China; most named United States 9, Netherlands 9, Denmark 7, United Kingdom 3, Germany 3 (47 members with a country) Editorial board ↗Publisher website ·
Main research topics OpenAlex counts of recent articles; shares are approximate
- Advanced Radiotherapy TechniquesPhysics and Astronomy31.3%
- Radiation Therapy and DosimetryMedicine13.8%
- Prostate Cancer Diagnosis and TreatmentMedicine6.8%
- Medical Imaging Techniques and ApplicationsMedicine5.6%
- Radiomics and Machine Learning in Medical ImagingMedicine5.4%
- Effects of Radiation ExposureMedicine4%
- Lung Cancer Diagnosis and TreatmentMedicine3.4%
- MRI in cancer diagnosisMedicine3.4%
Rankings & indexing
CAS ranking and database indexing
CAS Journal Ranking
CAS Journal Ranking, upgraded edition (March 2025)Medicine Zone 2
| Level | Category | Zone |
|---|---|---|
| Major | Medicine | Zone 2 |
| Minor | Oncology | Zone 2 |
| Minor | Radiology, Nuclear Medicine & Medical Imaging | Zone 2 |
Top journal: noReview journal: no
CAS Xinrui Journal Ranking (March 2026)Medicine Zone 3
| Level | Category | Zone |
|---|---|---|
| Major | Medicine | Zone 3 |
| Minor | Oncology | Zone 3 |
| Minor | Radiology, Nuclear Medicine & Medical Imaging | Zone 3 |
Top journal: noReview journal: not marked
CAS Journal Ranking, previous upgraded edition (December 2023)Not covered
Not covered by this edition.
Database indexing
ESCIScopusDOAJLetPub
International journal early-warning lists: not listed in any editionLetPub
Editions, and major and minor categories, are shown separately and never merged into one zone; check which edition your institution uses before you submit or report.
Metrics
Impact metrics and publication volume
Impact
- Impact factor (publisher)
- 3.2Publisher website ·
- CiteScore 2026-06
- 4.4LetPub ·
- CiteScore (publisher)
- 4.4Publisher website ·
- SJR 2026-06
- 0.94LetPub ·
- SNIP 2026-06
- 0.95LetPub ·
- h-index
- 40OpenAlex ·
- i10-index
- 321OpenAlex ·
- 2-year mean citedness
- 1.91OpenAlex ·
- Self-citation rate
- 18.8%LetPub ·
- Share of gold OA articles
- 100%LetPub ·
Volume
- Articles per year
- 197LetPub ·
Articles by year OpenAlex count · 1,090 in total · the current year is incomplete
| Year | Articles | Open access | Citations |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2026 | 194 | 194 | 28 |
| 2025 | 206 | 206 | 312 |
| 2024 | 161 | 161 | 731 |
| 2023 | 122 | 122 | 1,089 |
| 2022 | 105 | 105 | 1,339 |
| 2021 | 77 | 77 | 1,329 |
Sources count differently and were observed at different times, so each source's own value is kept; "publisher" marks figures from the journal's website.
Review & acceptance
Review time and acceptance
Review time from article dates manuscript dates registered with PubMed · to
141 daysMedian, submission to acceptance · P25–P75 112 days – 182 days
- Acceptance to online
- median 3 days (103 articles)
- Submission to online
- median 146 days
- Sample
- 103 articles with submission and acceptance dates (424 in the window); the latest was accepted on
Only articles that were accepted and published are counted, not the time spent on rejected manuscripts, so this usually runs longer than a publisher's "time to first decision".
Other sources
- Average review time (community reports)
- about 6 weeksLetPub ·
- Submission to first decision
- 5 daysPublisher website ·
- First decision after review
- 41 daysPublisher website ·
- Submission to acceptance
- 150 daysPublisher website ·
- Acceptance to publication
- 5 daysPublisher website ·
- Submission to publication (journal-reported)
- about 23 weeksDOAJ ·
- Peer review
- Single anonymous peer reviewDOAJ
Community reports come from authors' own submissions (confidence 0.5) and are not a promise from the journal; for publisher figures, the journal's own definitions apply.
Fees & open access
APC and open-access policy
Every article is open access; authors usually pay an article processing charge (APC).
| Source | APC | Fee waiver | License | Observed |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| DOAJ | USD 2,080 | Yes | CC BY, CC BY-NC-ND | |
| OpenAlex | USD 1,980 / EUR 1,850 / GBP 1,590 / JPY 245,580 | — | — | |
| LetPub | EUR 1,530 | Yes | — | |
| Publisher website | USD 2,400 | — | — |
The journal's website is authoritative for fees; sources were observed at different times and each keeps its own value, without averaging.
Submission
Article types and submission policies (journal website)
Open calls for papers2, by deadline
Publisher websiteWhat to prepare3 items from the author guidelines
- Keywords
- ≥ 1
- Reference style
- Numbered, in order of citation
- Highlights
- Required
Article types accepted17, with length limits
- case reportThe journal publishes original research articles, review articles, short communications, technical notes, and correspondence. Please follow the Editors' advice …Length not stated
- correspondenceThe journal publishes original research articles, review articles, short communications, technical notes, and correspondence. Please follow the Editors' advice …main text ≤ 500 words · figures and tables ≤ 1
- editorialThe journal publishes original research articles, review articles, short communications, technical notes, and correspondence. Please follow the Editors' advice …Length not stated
- guidelines / delphi consensus recommendationsGuidelines / Delphi Consensus Recommendations (5000 words max. excluding the reference list. Note: for exceptional surveys only, aim for 3000 words)main text ≤ 5,000 words
- original researchThe journal publishes original research articles, review articles, short communications, technical notes, and correspondence. Please follow the Editors' advice …Length not stated
- original research articleThe journal publishes original research articles, review articles, short communications, technical notes, and correspondence. Please follow the Editors' advice …main text ≤ 3,000 words
- original research articlesOriginal Research Articles (maximum of 3000 words from the beginning of the Introduction to the end of the Discussion)main text ≤ 3,000 words
- research articleThe journal publishes original research articles, review articles, short communications, technical notes, and correspondence. Please follow the Editors' advice …Length not stated
- reviewThe journal publishes original research articles, review articles, short communications, technical notes, and correspondence. Please follow the Editors' advice …Length not stated
- review articleThe journal publishes original research articles, review articles, short communications, technical notes, and correspondence. Please follow the Editors' advice …main text ≤ 6,000 words
- review articlesReview articles (maximum 6000 words)main text ≤ 6,000 words
- short communicationThe journal publishes original research articles, review articles, short communications, technical notes, and correspondence. Please follow the Editors' advice …main text ≤ 2,000 words
- short communicationsThe journal publishes original research articles, review articles, short communications, technical notes, and correspondence.Length not stated
- short communications and technical notesShort communications and technical notes (maximum 2000 words from the beginning of the Introduction to the end of the Discussion)main text ≤ 2,000 words
- surveyThe journal publishes original research articles, review articles, short communications, technical notes, and correspondence. Please follow the Editors' advice …main text ≤ 3,000 words
- technical noteThe journal publishes original research articles, review articles, short communications, technical notes, and correspondence. Please follow the Editors' advice …Length not stated
- technical notesThe journal publishes original research articles, review articles, short communications, technical notes, and correspondence.Length not stated
Policy excerpts from the journal's websiteAI use, Authorship, Conflicts of interest, License & copyright, Open access, Peer review, Preprints
- AI use Declaration of generative AI use
Authors must declare the use of generative AI tools in the manuscript preparation process upon submission of the paper.Generative AI and AI-assisted technologies (“AI tools”) have been rapidly adopted in research and scholarly publishing, offering significant benefits while requiring clear standards for responsible and transparent use.Authors preparing a manuscript for this journal may use AI tool…
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Authorship Group authorship
1 to 6 keywords required Model summary
Group authorship refers to the attribution of an article to a defined and named group of authors whose members have contributed to the work. Examples include research consortia, clinical trial groups, collaborative networks, task forces or working groups, expert panels or consensus groups, and participatory research groups. Group authorship must be declared on the title page at submission. When av…
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Conflicts of interest Declaration of competing interests
All authors must disclose any financial and personal relationships with other people or organizations that could inappropriately influence or bias their work. Examples of potential competing interests include:EmploymentConsultanciesStock ownershipHonorariaPaid expert testimonyPatent applications or registrationsGrants or any other fundingAffiliation with the journal as an Editor or Advisory Board …
Source ↗Publisher website ·- License & copyright License options
Authors will be offered open access user license options which will determine how you, and third parties, can reuse your open access article. We advise that you review these options and any funding body license requirements before selecting a license option.
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Open access Open access
We refer you to our open access information page to learn about open access options for this journal.
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Peer review Peer review
Single anonymized review process Model summary
This journal follows a single anonymized review process. Your submission will initially be assessed by our editors. If your submission is deemed suitable, it will typically be sent to be reviewed by a minimum of two reviewers for an independent expert assessment of the scientific quality. The decision as to whether your article is accepted or rejected for publication will be made by our editors.Re…
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Preprints Preprints
Preprint sharing allowed Model summary
Preprint sharingAuthors may share preprints in line with Elsevier's article sharing policy. Sharing preprints, such as on a preprint server, will not count as prior publication.We advise you to read our policy on multiple, redundant or concurrent publication. In support of Open Science, this journal offers its authors a free preprint posting service on SSRN, Elsevier’s preprint and early research …
Source ↗Publisher website ·
Excerpts are quoted from the journal's website; "model summary" lines are written by Workers AI and checked against the text. The journal's website is authoritative.
Profile
Publication details and official links
- Publisher
- Elsevier
- Country or region
- Ireland
- Language
- English
- ISSN
- 2405-6316
- Society / sponsor
- European Society for Radiotherapy and Oncology
- Official links
- Journal homepage ↗DOAJ
- Submission system ↗Publisher website
- Author guidelines ↗DOAJ
- Aims & Scope ↗DOAJ
- Special issues ↗Publisher website
- APC information ↗DOAJ
- Fee waivers ↗DOAJ
- Open access statement ↗DOAJ
- License & copyright ↗DOAJ
- Peer review process ↗DOAJ
- Editorial board ↗DOAJ
- Plagiarism policy ↗DOAJ
FAQ
Frequently asked questions about Physics & Imaging in Radiation Oncology
What CAS zone is Physics & Imaging in Radiation Oncology in?
In the 2025 upgraded edition of the CAS Journal Ranking, Physics & Imaging in Radiation Oncology is in Zone 2 of Medicine, and in Zone 2 of the minor category Oncology / Radiology, Nuclear Medicine & Medical Imaging. In the 2026 Xinrui edition it is in Zone 3 of Medicine. Zones from different editions, and from major and minor categories, are not interchangeable.
What is the impact factor of Physics & Imaging in Radiation Oncology?
The journal's website gives an impact factor of 3.2; this is the journal's own figure, as LetPub lists none for it; CiteScore 4.4, h-index 40.
How long does peer review take at Physics & Imaging in Radiation Oncology?
Based on the dates recorded on 103 articles published between October 2024 and October 2026 (the last 24 months), the median time from submission to acceptance is 141 days (interquartile range 112–182 days); authors report an average review time of about 6 weeks. Article statistics cover accepted papers only, publisher figures follow the journal's own definitions, and community reports come from authors' own submissions; none is a promise from the journal.
What are the manuscript requirements of Physics & Imaging in Radiation Oncology?
According to the journal's author guidelines: Keywords: ≥ 1; Reference style: Numbered, in order of citation; Highlights: Required. A model extracted these from the author guidelines and each was checked against the text; check the latest version on the journal's website before submitting.
Where are the editorial board members of Physics & Imaging in Radiation Oncology based?
Of the 47 board members whose country the journal's board page names, none are in mainland China; the countries named most often are United States (9), Netherlands (9) and Denmark (7). Counted from the institutions listed on the board page; for reference only.
Which databases index Physics & Imaging in Radiation Oncology?
According to LetPub and DOAJ records, Physics & Imaging in Radiation Oncology is indexed in ESCI, Scopus and DOAJ.
Is Physics & Imaging in Radiation Oncology open access, and what is the APC?
Physics & Imaging in Radiation Oncology is a fully open-access journal. APC about USD 2,080.
Sources and updates
The facts on this page come from LetPub, Publisher website, OpenAlex, DOAJ; every figure is tagged with its source and the date it was observed, and conflicting values are kept per source. LetPub source page: view ↗ (archived 2026-08-24). Last updated: .