Journal profile · Agricultural and Biological Sciences-Food Science

PharmaNutrition

ISSN 2213-4344 · eISSN 2542-520X · Elsevier

PharmaNutrition: CAS Zone 4 · Medicine (2025 upgraded edition); impact factor 2.9 (journal website); hybrid open access; APC about USD 3,300; review about 143 days (submission to acceptance, publisher); 34 articles in 2025; indexed in ESCI and Scopus.

Impact factor2.9From the journal's website, latest value
CAS zoneZone 4 · Medicine2025 upgraded edition, major category · 2026 Xinrui edition Zone 3 · Medicine
Review time143 daysPublisher-reported, submission to acceptance
APCUSD 3,300Hybrid journal: charged only for open-access articles
Acceptance—No reports yet
Articles per year342025 · OpenAlex count

Scope

Aims, scope and focus

PharmaNutrition is published by Elsevier and is in Zone 4 of Medicine in the CAS Journal Ranking (2025 upgraded edition). By OpenAlex counts of its recent articles, its largest topics are Diverse Scientific and Economic Studies, Human auditory perception and evaluation and Educational Robotics and Engineering, together about 25% of its articles. (generated from OpenAlex topic counts and CAS ranking data)

PharmaNutrition is the truly multidisciplinary home for preclinical and clinical researchers in academia and industry, working at or close to the interface of nutritional and pharmacological treatment concepts: where “nutrition” (food, food ingredients, specialized enteral and parenteral nutrition) and “pharma” (pharmacological intervention, clinical studies) meet, including the combination of the two. The journal is published quarterly.

From the journal's Aims & Scope

Research area (LetPub): Agricultural and Biological Sciences-Food Science

Editor-in-chief Laura Rubió PiquéPublisher website

Editorial board by country: 3 in mainland China (about 7%); most named Italy 10, Spain 8, Canada 5, Mainland China 3, United States 3 (45 members with a country) Editorial board ↗Publisher website ·

Main research topics OpenAlex counts of recent articles; shares are approximate

  1. Diverse Scientific and Economic StudiesEconomics, Econometrics and Finance8.5%
  2. Human auditory perception and evaluationEngineering8.3%
  3. Educational Robotics and EngineeringComputer Science8.2%
  4. Gut microbiota and healthBiochemistry, Genetics and Molecular Biology7.1%
  5. Diet and metabolism studiesMedicine6.1%
  6. Fatty Acid Research and HealthNursing5.6%
  7. Natural Antidiabetic Agents StudiesMedicine5.5%
  8. Phytochemicals and Antioxidant ActivitiesMedicine4.8%

Rankings & indexing

CAS ranking and database indexing

CAS Journal Ranking

CAS Journal Ranking, upgraded edition (March 2025)Medicine Zone 4
LevelCategoryZone
MajorMedicineZone 4
MinorNutrition & DieteticsZone 4
MinorPharmacology & PharmacyZone 4

Top journal: noReview journal: no

CAS Xinrui Journal Ranking (March 2026)Medicine Zone 3
LevelCategoryZone
MajorMedicineZone 3
MinorNutrition & DieteticsZone 3
MinorPharmacology & PharmacyZone 3

Top journal: noReview journal: not marked

CAS Journal Ranking, previous upgraded edition (December 2023)Not covered

Not covered by this edition.

Database indexing

ESCIScopusLetPub

International journal early-warning lists: not listed in any editionLetPub

Editions, and major and minor categories, are shown separately and never merged into one zone; check which edition your institution uses before you submit or report.

Metrics

Impact metrics and publication volume

Impact

Impact factor (publisher)
2.9Publisher website ·
CiteScore 2026-06
5.1LetPub ·
CiteScore (publisher)
5.1Publisher website ·
SJR 2026-06
0.6LetPub ·
SNIP 2026-06
0.62LetPub ·
h-index
40OpenAlex ·
i10-index
202OpenAlex ·
2-year mean citedness
2.94OpenAlex ·
Self-citation rate
0%LetPub ·
Share of gold OA articles
23.08%LetPub ·

Volume

Articles per year
29LetPub ·

Articles by year OpenAlex count · 637 in total · the current year is incomplete

YearArticlesOpen accessCitations
202665522
2025348144
20244715263
20233910291
20223615401
2021288492

Sources count differently and were observed at different times, so each source's own value is kept; "publisher" marks figures from the journal's website.

Review & acceptance

Review time and acceptance

Publisher-reported review time from the journal's website

143 dayssubmission to acceptance

The publisher's own definition applies; dates from this journal's articles in the last 24 months are not available yet, so the publisher's figure is used.

Figures by source

Submission to first decision
24 daysPublisher website ·
First decision after review
68 daysPublisher website ·
Submission to acceptance
143 daysPublisher website ·
Acceptance to publication
2 daysPublisher website ·
Peer review
Single anonymous peer reviewPublisher website

Community reports come from authors' own submissions (confidence 0.5) and are not a promise from the journal; for publisher figures, the journal's own definitions apply.

Fees & open access

APC and open-access policy

Hybrid open accessLetPub

A subscription journal in which authors can pay to publish their article open access.

SourceAPCFee waiverLicenseObserved
OpenAlexUSD 3,300 / EUR 3,090 / GBP 2,640 / JPY 409,300——
Publisher websiteUSD 3,770——

A hybrid journal charges the APC only when the author chooses open access; publishing under the subscription model is usually free.

The journal's website is authoritative for fees; sources were observed at different times and each keeps its own value, without averaging.

Submission

Article types and submission policies (journal website)

What to prepare3 items from the author guidelines
Abstract
≤ 250 words
Reference style
Numbered, in order of citation
Not considered
in vitro antioxidant activity; MDA data
Publisher website · model-extracted, each line checked against the text
Article types accepted7
  1. commentaryRegular papers. Original full-length research papers which have not been published previously, except in a preliminary form, may be submitted as regular papers.…Length not stated
  2. editorialRegular papers. Original full-length research papers which have not been published previously, except in a preliminary form, may be submitted as regular papers.…Length not stated
  3. regular paperRegular papers. Original full-length research papers which have not been published previously, except in a preliminary form, may be submitted as regular papers.…Length not stated
  4. research paperRegular papers. Original full-length research papers which have not been published previously, except in a preliminary form, may be submitted as regular papers.…Length not stated
  5. reviewRegular papers. Original full-length research papers which have not been published previously, except in a preliminary form, may be submitted as regular papers.…Length not stated
  6. review articleRegular papers. Original full-length research papers which have not been published previously, except in a preliminary form, may be submitted as regular papers.…Length not stated
  7. systematic reviewRegular papers. Original full-length research papers which have not been published previously, except in a preliminary form, may be submitted as regular papers.…Length not stated
Publisher website
Policy excerpts from the journal's websiteAI use, Authorship, Conflicts of interest, License & copyright, Open access, Peer review, Preprints
AI use Declaration of generative AI use

Authors must declare the use of generative AI tools in the manuscript preparation process upon submission of the paper.Generative AI and AI-assisted technologies (“AI tools”) have been rapidly adopted in research and scholarly publishing, offering significant benefits while requiring clear standards for responsible and transparent use.Authors preparing a manuscript for this journal may use AI tool…

Source ↗Publisher website ·
Authorship Group authorship

Group authorship refers to the attribution of an article to a defined and named group of authors whose members have contributed to the work. Examples include research consortia, clinical trial groups, collaborative networks, task forces or working groups, expert panels or consensus groups, and participatory research groups. Group authorship must be declared on the title page at submission. When av…

Source ↗Publisher website ·
Conflicts of interest Declaration of competing interests

All authors must disclose any financial and personal relationships with other people or organizations that could inappropriately influence or bias their work. Examples of potential competing interests include:EmploymentConsultanciesStock ownershipHonorariaPaid expert testimonyPatent applications or registrationsGrants or any other fundingAffiliation with the journal as an Editor or Advisory Board …

Source ↗Publisher website ·
License & copyright License options

Authors will be offered open access user license options which will determine how you, and third parties, can reuse your open access article. We advise that you review these options and any funding body license requirements before selecting a license option.

Source ↗Publisher website ·
Open access Open access

We refer you to our open access information page to learn about open access options for this journal.

Source ↗Publisher website ·
Peer review Peer review

This journal follows a single anonymized review process. Your submission will initially be assessed by our editors. If your submission is deemed suitable, it will typically be sent to be reviewed by a minimum of two reviewers for an independent expert assessment of the scientific quality. The decision as to whether your article is accepted or rejected for publication will be made by our editors.Re…

Source ↗Publisher website ·
Preprints Preprints

Preprint sharingAuthors may share preprints in line with Elsevier's article sharing policy. Sharing preprints, such as on a preprint server, will not count as prior publication.We advise you to read our policy on multiple, redundant or concurrent publication. In support of Open Science, this journal offers its authors a free preprint posting service on SSRN, Elsevier’s preprint and early research …

Source ↗Publisher website ·

Excerpts are quoted from the journal's website; "model summary" lines are written by Workers AI and checked against the text. The journal's website is authoritative.

Profile

Publication details and official links

Publisher
Elsevier
ISSN
2213-4344
Electronic ISSN
2542-520X
Official links

FAQ

Frequently asked questions about PharmaNutrition

What CAS zone is PharmaNutrition in?

In the 2025 upgraded edition of the CAS Journal Ranking, PharmaNutrition is in Zone 4 of Medicine, and in Zone 4 of the minor category Nutrition & Dietetics / Pharmacology & Pharmacy. In the 2026 Xinrui edition it is in Zone 3 of Medicine. Zones from different editions, and from major and minor categories, are not interchangeable.

What is the impact factor of PharmaNutrition?

The journal's website gives an impact factor of 2.9; this is the journal's own figure, as LetPub lists none for it; CiteScore 5.1, h-index 40.

How long does peer review take at PharmaNutrition?

The publisher reports about 143 days (submission to acceptance). Article statistics cover accepted papers only, publisher figures follow the journal's own definitions, and community reports come from authors' own submissions; none is a promise from the journal.

What are the manuscript requirements of PharmaNutrition?

According to the journal's author guidelines: Abstract: ≤ 250 words; Reference style: Numbered, in order of citation. A model extracted these from the author guidelines and each was checked against the text; check the latest version on the journal's website before submitting.

Where are the editorial board members of PharmaNutrition based?

Of the 45 board members whose country the journal's board page names, 3 (about 7%) are in mainland China; the countries named most often are Italy (10), Spain (8) and Canada (5). Counted from the institutions listed on the board page; for reference only.

Which databases index PharmaNutrition?

According to LetPub and DOAJ records, PharmaNutrition is indexed in ESCI and Scopus.

Is PharmaNutrition open access, and what is the APC?

PharmaNutrition is a hybrid journal. For open-access publication: APC about USD 3,300.

Sources and updates

The facts on this page come from LetPub, Publisher website, OpenAlex; every figure is tagged with its source and the date it was observed, and conflicting values are kept per source. LetPub source page: view ↗ (archived 2026-08-26). Last updated: .