Journal profile · Anesthesiology
Pediatric Anesthesia
ISSN 1155-5645 · eISSN 1460-9592 · Wiley-Blackwell Publishing Ltd · UNITED STATES · Monthly · Founded 1991
Pediatric Anesthesia: CAS Zone 4 · Medicine (2025 upgraded edition); impact factor 1.55; hybrid open access; APC about USD 4,080; median 121 days to acceptance (90 articles, last 24 months); community-reported acceptance: easy; 220 articles in 2025; indexed in SCIE and Scopus.
Scope
Aims, scope and focus
Pediatric Anesthesia is published by Wiley-Blackwell Publishing Ltd and is in Zone 4 of Medicine in the CAS Journal Ranking (2025 upgraded edition). By OpenAlex counts of its recent articles, its largest topics are Airway Management and Intubation Techniques, Anesthesia and Sedative Agents and Anesthesia and Neurotoxicity Research, together about 40.2% of its articles. Its main subfields are Pulmonary and Respiratory Medicine. (generated from OpenAlex topic counts and CAS ranking data)
Devoted to the dissemination of research of interest and importance to practising anaesthetists everywhere, the scientific and clinical content of Pediatric Anesthesia covers a wide selection of medical disciplines in all areas relevant to paediatric anaesthesia, pain management and peri-operative medicine. The International Editorial Board is supported by the Editorial Advisory Board and a team of Senior Advisors, to ensure that the journal is publishing the best work from the front line of research in the field. The journal publishes high-quality, relevant scientific and clinical research papers, reviews, commentaries, correspondence, case presentations and book reviews.
From the journal's Aims & Scope
Research area (LetPub): Anesthesiology
Editor-in-chief Laszlo VutskitsPublisher website
Editorial board by country: none in mainland China; most named United States 6, Australia 5, United Kingdom 2, Canada 2, India 1 (18 members with a country) Editorial board ↗Publisher website ·
Main research topics OpenAlex counts of recent articles; shares are approximate
- Airway Management and Intubation TechniquesMedicine14.4%
- Anesthesia and Sedative AgentsMedicine13.7%
- Anesthesia and Neurotoxicity ResearchNeuroscience12.1%
- Anesthesia and Pain ManagementMedicine9.4%
- Pediatric Pain Management TechniquesMedicine8.5%
- Cardiac, Anesthesia and Surgical OutcomesMedicine8.2%
- Tracheal and airway disordersMedicine5.3%
- Respiratory Support and MechanismsMedicine3.3%
Rankings & indexing
CAS ranking and database indexing
CAS Journal Ranking
CAS Journal Ranking, upgraded edition (March 2025)Medicine Zone 4
| Level | Category | Zone |
|---|---|---|
| Major | Medicine | Zone 4 |
| Minor | Anesthesiology | Zone 4 |
| Minor | Pediatrics | Zone 4 |
Top journal: noReview journal: no
CAS Xinrui Journal Ranking (March 2026)Medicine Zone 3
| Level | Category | Zone |
|---|---|---|
| Major | Medicine | Zone 3 |
| Minor | Anesthesiology | Zone 4 |
| Minor | Pediatrics | Zone 3 |
Top journal: noReview journal: not marked
CAS Journal Ranking, previous upgraded edition (December 2023)Medicine Zone 4
| Level | Category | Zone |
|---|---|---|
| Major | Medicine | Zone 4 |
| Minor | Pediatrics | Zone 3 |
| Minor | Anesthesiology | Zone 4 |
Top journal: noReview journal: no
Database indexing
SCIEScopusLetPub
International journal early-warning lists: not listed in any editionLetPub
Indexing the journal's website claims
MEDLINEPubMedEmbaseCurrent ContentsPublisher website
Other: EBSCO, ProQuest
As the journal's website lists them, not checked against each database; for Web of Science editions the records above apply.
Editions, and major and minor categories, are shown separately and never merged into one zone; check which edition your institution uses before you submit or report.
Metrics
Impact metrics and publication volume
Impact
- Impact factor
- 1.55LetPub ·
- Impact factor (publisher)
- 1.6Publisher website ·
- Impact factor (publisher) 2025
- 1.6Publisher website ·
- CiteScore 2026-06
- 4.2LetPub ·
- SJR 2026-06
- 0.68LetPub ·
- SNIP 2026-06
- 1.15LetPub ·
- h-index
- 74LetPub ·
- h-index
- 125OpenAlex ·
- i10-index
- 3,368OpenAlex ·
- 2-year mean citedness
- 1.26OpenAlex ·
- Self-citation rate
- 12.5%LetPub ·
- Share of gold OA articles
- 37.73%LetPub ·
Volume
- Articles per year
- 122LetPub ·
- Articles per year (publisher) 2025
- 180Publisher website ·
- Downloads per year (publisher) 2025
- 490,376Publisher website ·
Articles by year OpenAlex count · 8,516 in total · the current year is incomplete
| Year | Articles | Open access | Citations |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2026 | 215 | 119 | 47 |
| 2025 | 220 | 126 | 276 |
| 2024 | 226 | 127 | 513 |
| 2023 | 235 | 139 | 786 |
| 2022 | 374 | 73 | 1,476 |
| 2021 | 271 | 62 | 2,415 |
Sources count differently and were observed at different times, so each source's own value is kept; "publisher" marks figures from the journal's website.
Review & acceptance
Review time and acceptance
Review time from article dates manuscript dates registered with Crossref · to
121 daysMedian, submission to acceptance · P25–P75 39 days – 208 days
- Acceptance to online
- median 11 days (92 articles)
- Submission to online
- median 135 days
- Sample
- 90 articles with submission and acceptance dates (472 in the window); the latest was accepted on
Only articles that were accepted and published are counted, not the time spent on rejected manuscripts, so this usually runs longer than a publisher's "time to first decision".
Other sources
- Average review time (community reports)
- 3–8 weeksLetPub ·
- Average acceptance (community reports)
- EasyLetPub ·
- Acceptance rate (publisher)
- 34%Publisher website ·
- Acceptance rate (publisher) 2025
- 34%Publisher website ·
- Submission to first decision
- 30 daysPublisher website ·
- Submission to first decision 2025
- 30 daysPublisher website ·
- Submission to acceptance 2025
- 111 daysPublisher website ·
- Acceptance to publication 2025
- 10 daysPublisher website ·
- Peer review
- Single anonymous peer reviewPublisher website
Community reports come from authors' own submissions (confidence 0.5) and are not a promise from the journal; for publisher figures, the journal's own definitions apply.
Fees & open access
APC and open-access policy
A subscription journal in which authors can pay to publish their article open access.
| Source | APC | Fee waiver | License | Observed |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| OpenAlex | USD 4,080 / EUR 3,420 / GBP 2,710 | — | — |
A hybrid journal charges the APC only when the author chooses open access; publishing under the subscription model is usually free.
Other charges and waivers (author guidelines)
- Submission fee
- Charged; see the journal's website for the amount
The journal's website is authoritative for fees; sources were observed at different times and each keeps its own value, without averaging.
Submission
Article types and submission policies (journal website)
What to prepare1 items from the author guidelines
- First submission
- Free format: the journal's layout is not required
Article types accepted7, with length limits
- commentaryCommentaries are by invitation only. A commentary highlights and discusses a highly controversial, educational, paradigm shifting, or practice changing manuscri…main text ≤ 1,000 words
- concise reviewConcise ReviewLength not stated
- editorialDescription Usually editorials will be by invitation and refer to a particular paper. Editorials that discuss general topics of interest rather than specific pa…main text ≤ 1,500 words
- educational reviewEducational ReviewLength not stated
- letter to the editorLetters should comment, question or constructively criticize research reports that have been published in the journal. Letters may also be used to raise issues …main text ≤ 750 words
- perspectiveDescription These are novel papers that are neither research reports nor reviews on specific topics and will be considered if they have a great and broad intere…main text ≤ 4,000 words · abstract ≤ 300 words · references ≤ 6
- systematic reviewDescription Should include a clear aim and search strategy. If the review is only a meta-analysis it should be submitted and structured as a research report wit…main text ≤ 4,000 words · abstract ≤ 300 words · references ≤ 6
Policy excerpts from the journal's websitePublication ethics, Open access, Preprints
- Publication ethics 5. EDITORIAL POLICIES AND ETHICAL CONSIDERATIONS
Peer Review and AcceptanceThe acceptance criteria for all papers are the quality and originality of the research and its significance to our readership. Except where otherwise stated, manuscripts are single-blind peer reviewed. Papers will only be sent to review if the Editor-in-Chief determine that the paper meets the appropriate quality and relevance requirements.
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Open access
ORCID required for submitting author only. Model summary
Pediatric Anesthesia requires the submitting author (only) to provide an ORCID iD when submitting a manuscript.
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Preprints
Preprint policy: considers preprints on non-commercial servers; authors may post submitted version to non-commercial servers at any time. Model summary
This journal will consider for review papers previously available as preprints on non-commercial servers such as ArXiv, bioRxiv, psyArXiv, SocArXiv, engrXiv, etc.
Source ↗Publisher website ·
Excerpts are quoted from the journal's website; "model summary" lines are written by Workers AI and checked against the text. The journal's website is authoritative.
Profile
Publication details and official links
- Publisher
- Wiley-Blackwell Publishing Ltd
- Country or region
- UNITED STATES
- Language
- English
- Frequency
- Monthly
- Founded
- 1991
- ISSN
- 1155-5645
- Electronic ISSN
- 1460-9592
- Latest issue on the website
- Volume 36, Issue 10 (October 2026)
- Official links
- Journal homepage ↗OpenAlex
- Submission system ↗LetPub
FAQ
Frequently asked questions about Pediatric Anesthesia
What CAS zone is Pediatric Anesthesia in?
In the 2025 upgraded edition of the CAS Journal Ranking, Pediatric Anesthesia is in Zone 4 of Medicine, and in Zone 4 of the minor category Anesthesiology / Pediatrics. In the 2026 Xinrui edition it is in Zone 3 of Medicine. Zones from different editions, and from major and minor categories, are not interchangeable.
What is the impact factor of Pediatric Anesthesia?
The latest impact factor listed by LetPub is 1.55; CiteScore 4.2, h-index 125.
How long does peer review take at Pediatric Anesthesia?
Based on the dates recorded on 90 articles published between October 2024 and October 2026 (the last 24 months), the median time from submission to acceptance is 121 days (interquartile range 39–208 days); authors report an average review time of 3–8 weeks; the community-reported acceptance is “Easy”; the journal's website gives an acceptance rate of 34% (2025). Article statistics cover accepted papers only, publisher figures follow the journal's own definitions, and community reports come from authors' own submissions; none is a promise from the journal.
Where are the editorial board members of Pediatric Anesthesia based?
Of the 18 board members whose country the journal's board page names, none are in mainland China; the countries named most often are United States (6), Australia (5) and United Kingdom (2). Counted from the institutions listed on the board page; for reference only.
Which databases index Pediatric Anesthesia?
According to LetPub and DOAJ records, Pediatric Anesthesia is indexed in SCIE and Scopus. The journal's website also lists MEDLINE, PubMed, Embase and Current Contents; that list has not been checked against each database.
Is Pediatric Anesthesia open access, and what is the APC?
Pediatric Anesthesia is a hybrid journal. For open-access publication: APC about USD 4,080.
Sources and updates
The facts on this page come from LetPub, Publisher website, OpenAlex; every figure is tagged with its source and the date it was observed, and conflicting values are kept per source. LetPub source page: view ↗ (archived 2026-08-26). Last updated: .