Journal profile · HEALTH CARE SCIENCES & SERVICES

Patient-Related Outcome Measures

ISSN 1179-271X · Dove Medical Press · United Kingdom

Patient-Related Outcome Measures: CAS Zone 4 · Medicine (2025 upgraded edition); fully open access; APC about USD 2,990; median 156 days to acceptance (16 articles, last 24 months); 19 articles in 2025; indexed in ESCI.

Impact factor—No published value
CAS zoneZone 4 · Medicine2025 upgraded edition, major category · 2026 Xinrui edition Zone 4 · Medicine
Review time156 daysMedian, submission to acceptance · 16 articles, last 24 months · Crossref
APCUSD 2,990Fully open access
Acceptance—No reports yet
Articles per year192025 · OpenAlex count

Scope

Aims, scope and focus

Patient-Related Outcome Measures is published by Dove Medical Press and is in Zone 4 of Medicine in the CAS Journal Ranking (2025 upgraded edition). By OpenAlex counts of its recent articles, its largest topics are Cancer survivorship and care, Patient Satisfaction in Healthcare and Patient-Provider Communication in Healthcare, together about 28.2% of its articles. (generated from OpenAlex topic counts and CAS ranking data)

Patient Related Outcome Measures is an international, peer-reviewed, open access journal focusing on treatment outcomes specifically relevant to patients. Patient Related Outcome Measures will no longer consider meta-analyses for publication. All aspects of patient care are addressed within the journal and practitioners from all disciplines are invited to submit their work as well as healthcare researchers and patient support groups. Areas covered will include: Quality of life scores Patient satisfaction audits Treatment outcomes that focus on the patient Research into improving patient outcomes Hypotheses of interventions to improve outcomes Short communications that illustrate improved outcomes Case reports or series that show an improved patient experience Patient journey descriptions or research Patient Related Outcome Measures endorses the COSMIN statement for the reporting of health measurement instruments, the STARD statement for the reporting of the diagnostic accuracy studies, the PRISMA statement for the reporting of systematic reviews, the STROBE statement for the reporting of observational studies in epidemiology, and the RECORD statement for the reporting of studies conducted using observational routinely-collected health data. Authors should check the EQUATOR Network for reporting instructions and further information. Articles should have a sound rationale and pose a research question to be considered for publication. Updated 6 August 2025

From the journal's Aims & Scope

Research area (LetPub): HEALTH CARE SCIENCES & SERVICES

Main research topics OpenAlex counts of recent articles; shares are approximate

  1. Cancer survivorship and careMedicine11.6%
  2. Patient Satisfaction in HealthcareHealth Professions9%
  3. Patient-Provider Communication in HealthcareHealth Professions7.6%
  4. Health Systems, Economic Evaluations, Quality of LifeEconomics, Econometrics and Finance7.3%
  5. Chronic Disease Management StrategiesMedicine7%
  6. Diabetes Management and EducationMedicine6.4%
  7. Medication Adherence and ComplianceMedicine5.2%
  8. Total Knee Arthroplasty OutcomesMedicine4.1%

Rankings & indexing

CAS ranking and database indexing

CAS Journal Ranking

CAS Journal Ranking, upgraded edition (March 2025)Medicine Zone 4
LevelCategoryZone
MajorMedicineZone 4
MinorHealth Care Sciences & ServicesZone 4

Top journal: noReview journal: no

CAS Xinrui Journal Ranking (March 2026)Medicine Zone 4
LevelCategoryZone
MajorMedicineZone 4
MinorHealth Care Sciences & ServicesZone 4

Top journal: noReview journal: not marked

CAS Journal Ranking, previous upgraded edition (December 2023)Not covered

Not covered by this edition.

Database indexing

ESCIDOAJLetPub

International journal early-warning lists: not listed in any editionLetPub

Editions, and major and minor categories, are shown separately and never merged into one zone; check which edition your institution uses before you submit or report.

Metrics

Impact metrics and publication volume

Impact

h-index
45OpenAlex ·
i10-index
205OpenAlex ·
2-year mean citedness
3.15OpenAlex ·
Self-citation rate
4.2%LetPub ·
Share of gold OA articles
100%LetPub ·

Volume

Articles per year
22LetPub ·

Articles by year OpenAlex count · 385 in total · the current year is incomplete

YearArticlesOpen accessCitations
2026222273
2025191923
2024212199
20233232291
20222525322
20213232420

Sources count differently and were observed at different times, so each source's own value is kept; "publisher" marks figures from the journal's website.

Review & acceptance

Review time and acceptance

Review time from article dates manuscript dates registered with Crossref · to

156 daysMedian, submission to acceptance · P25–P75 113 days – 189 days

Acceptance to online
median 20 days (16 articles)
Submission to online
median 174 days
Sample
16 articles with submission and acceptance dates (43 in the window); the latest was accepted on

Only articles that were accepted and published are counted, not the time spent on rejected manuscripts, so this usually runs longer than a publisher's "time to first decision".

Other sources

Average review time (community reports)
about 16 weeksLetPub ·
Submission to publication (journal-reported)
about 16 weeksDOAJ ·
Peer review
Single anonymous peer reviewDOAJ

Community reports come from authors' own submissions (confidence 0.5) and are not a promise from the journal; for publisher figures, the journal's own definitions apply.

Fees & open access

APC and open-access policy

Fully open accessDOAJ

Every article is open access; authors usually pay an article processing charge (APC).

SourceAPCFee waiverLicenseObserved
DOAJUSD 2,990YesCC BY, CC BY-NC
OpenAlexUSD 2,320——
LetPubUSD 2,990Yes—

The journal's website is authoritative for fees; sources were observed at different times and each keeps its own value, without averaging.

Submission

Article types and submission policies (journal website)

Article types accepted2
  1. case reportAuthors may use these detailed descriptions of different paper types accepted by Dove Medical Press (case reports, reviews, etc) to decide how to label their pa…Length not stated
  2. reviewAuthors may use these detailed descriptions of different paper types accepted by Dove Medical Press (case reports, reviews, etc) to decide how to label their pa…Length not stated
Publisher website

Excerpts are quoted from the journal's website; "model summary" lines are written by Workers AI and checked against the text. The journal's website is authoritative.

Profile

Publication details and official links

Publisher
Dove Medical Press
Country or region
United Kingdom
Language
English
ISSN
1179-271X
Official links

FAQ

Frequently asked questions about Patient-Related Outcome Measures

What CAS zone is Patient-Related Outcome Measures in?

In the 2025 upgraded edition of the CAS Journal Ranking, Patient-Related Outcome Measures is in Zone 4 of Medicine, and in Zone 4 of the minor category Health Care Sciences & Services. In the 2026 Xinrui edition it is in Zone 4 of Medicine. Zones from different editions, and from major and minor categories, are not interchangeable.

How long does peer review take at Patient-Related Outcome Measures?

Based on the dates recorded on 16 articles published between October 2024 and October 2026 (the last 24 months), the median time from submission to acceptance is 156 days (interquartile range 113–189 days); authors report an average review time of about 16 weeks. Article statistics cover accepted papers only, publisher figures follow the journal's own definitions, and community reports come from authors' own submissions; none is a promise from the journal.

Which databases index Patient-Related Outcome Measures?

According to LetPub and DOAJ records, Patient-Related Outcome Measures is indexed in ESCI and DOAJ.

Is Patient-Related Outcome Measures open access, and what is the APC?

Patient-Related Outcome Measures is a fully open-access journal. APC about USD 2,990.

Sources and updates

The facts on this page come from LetPub, OpenAlex, DOAJ, Publisher website; every figure is tagged with its source and the date it was observed, and conflicting values are kept per source. LetPub source page: view ↗ (archived 2026-08-25). Last updated: .