Journal profile
PanAfrican Journal of Governance and Development
ISSN 2707-1308 · eISSN 2707-1316 · Jimma University · Ethiopia
PanAfrican Journal of Governance and Development: diamond open access (no APC); no APC; review about 10 weeks (community reports); 18 articles in 2025.
Scope
Aims, scope and focus
PanAfrican Journal of Governance and Development is published by Jimma University. By OpenAlex counts of its recent articles, its largest topics are African Studies and Ethnography, Public Administration in Developing Nations and Political Conflict and Governance, together about 36.6% of its articles. Its main subfields are Sociology and Political Science and Political Science and International Relations. (generated from OpenAlex topic counts and CAS ranking data)
As the nature of the journal is multi-, inter-, and trans-disciplinary, so the scope of the journal ranges from the disciplines of political science, governance, development, leadership, national and international law, globalization, human rights, economics, environmental science, public policy, international relations, international organizations, gender, peace and conflict management, international political economy, multiculturalism, civil society etc.
From the journal's Aims & Scope
Main research topics OpenAlex counts of recent articles; shares are approximate
- African Studies and EthnographySocial Sciences15.9%
- Public Administration in Developing NationsSocial Sciences12.4%
- Political Conflict and GovernanceSocial Sciences8.3%
- African history and culture analysisSocial Sciences6.9%
- International Development and AidSocial Sciences4.8%
- Peacebuilding and International SecuritySocial Sciences4.1%
- Global Political and Social DynamicsSocial Sciences4.1%
- Public Policy and Administration ResearchSocial Sciences3.5%
Rankings & indexing
CAS ranking and database indexing
CAS Journal Ranking
CAS Journal Ranking, upgraded edition (March 2025)Not covered
Not covered by this edition.
CAS Xinrui Journal Ranking (March 2026)Not covered
Not covered by this edition.
CAS Journal Ranking, previous upgraded edition (December 2023)Not covered
Not covered by this edition.
Database indexing
DOAJLetPub
International journal early-warning lists: not listed in any editionLetPub
Editions, and major and minor categories, are shown separately and never merged into one zone; check which edition your institution uses before you submit or report.
Metrics
Impact metrics and publication volume
Impact
- h-index
- 7OpenAlex ·
- i10-index
- 4OpenAlex ·
- 2-year mean citedness
- 0.98OpenAlex ·
- Share of gold OA articles
- 0%LetPub ·
Articles by year OpenAlex count · 124 in total · the current year is incomplete
| Year | Articles | Open access | Citations |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2026 | 10 | 10 | 67 |
| 2025 | 18 | 18 | 65 |
| 2024 | 16 | 16 | 54 |
| 2023 | 20 | 20 | 26 |
| 2022 | 21 | 21 | 11 |
| 2021 | 21 | 21 | 2 |
Sources count differently and were observed at different times, so each source's own value is kept; "publisher" marks figures from the journal's website.
Review & acceptance
Review time and acceptance
- Average review time (community reports)
- about 10 weeksLetPub ·
- Submission to publication (journal-reported)
- about 10 weeksDOAJ ·
- Peer review
- Double anonymous peer reviewDOAJ
Community reports come from authors' own submissions (confidence 0.5) and are not a promise from the journal; for publisher figures, the journal's own definitions apply.
Fees & open access
APC and open-access policy
Every article is open access and authors pay no article processing charge.
| Source | APC | Fee waiver | License | Observed |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| DOAJ | No APC | No | CC BY-NC, Publisher's own license | |
| LetPub | No APC | No | — | |
| Publisher website | Yes, amount not published | — | — |
The journal's website is authoritative for fees; sources were observed at different times and each keeps its own value, without averaging.
Submission
Article types and submission policies (journal website)
Article types accepted10, with length limits
- articlespublishes editorials, articles, essays, book reviews, commentaries and notesLength not stated
- book reviewords) Commentaries: (1,000-3,000 words) Book Review: (2,000-4,000 words) For the style and format of the manuscript, authors shouldmain text ≤ 4,000 words
- book reviewspublishes editorials, articles, essays, book reviews, commentaries and notesLength not stated
- commentariespublishes editorials, articles, essays, book reviews, commentaries and notesLength not stated
- commentaryds) Research Notes: (3,000-5,000 words) Commentaries: (1,000-3,000 words) Book Review: (2,000-4,000 words) For the style and formatmain text ≤ 3,000 words
- editorialspublishes editorials, articles, essays, book reviews, commentaries and notesLength not stated
- essayspublishes editorials, articles, essays, book reviews, commentaries and notesLength not stated
- notespublishes editorials, articles, essays, book reviews, commentaries and notesLength not stated
- original research articlefor preparing each type of manuscript. Original Research Article: (8,000-10,000 words) Review Article: (8,000-10,000 words) Featured Article: (5,main text ≤ 10,000 words
- review articleResearch Article: (8,000-10,000 words) Review Article: (8,000-10,000 words) Featured Article: (5,000-8,000 words) Research Notes: (3,0main text ≤ 10,000 words
Policy excerpts from the journal's websiteLicense & copyright
- License & copyright Copyright Notice
Article Processing Charges (APC) Information Model summary
. Copyright of the Article: The copyright of the article is retained by the author(s). Copyright of the Journal: Copyright of the journal is held by Jimma University.
Source ↗Publisher website ·
Excerpts are quoted from the journal's website; "model summary" lines are written by Workers AI and checked against the text. The journal's website is authoritative.
Profile
Publication details and official links
- Publisher
- Jimma University
- Country or region
- Ethiopia
- Language
- English
- ISSN
- 2707-1308
- Electronic ISSN
- 2707-1316
- Latest issue on the website
- Volume 7, Issue 2 (2026)
- Official links
- Journal homepage ↗LetPub
- Author guidelines ↗LetPub
- Aims & Scope ↗LetPub
- APC information ↗DOAJ
- Open access statement ↗DOAJ
- License & copyright ↗DOAJ
- Peer review process ↗LetPub
- Editorial board ↗LetPub
- Plagiarism policy ↗DOAJ
FAQ
Frequently asked questions about PanAfrican Journal of Governance and Development
How long does peer review take at PanAfrican Journal of Governance and Development?
Authors report an average review time of about 10 weeks. Article statistics cover accepted papers only, publisher figures follow the journal's own definitions, and community reports come from authors' own submissions; none is a promise from the journal.
Which databases index PanAfrican Journal of Governance and Development?
According to LetPub and DOAJ records, PanAfrican Journal of Governance and Development is indexed in DOAJ.
Is PanAfrican Journal of Governance and Development open access, and what is the APC?
PanAfrican Journal of Governance and Development is a diamond open-access journal (no APC). It charges no article processing charge.
Sources and updates
The facts on this page come from LetPub, OpenAlex, DOAJ, Publisher website; every figure is tagged with its source and the date it was observed, and conflicting values are kept per source. LetPub source page: view ↗ (archived 2026-08-26). Last updated: .