Journal profile · Medicine-Ophthalmology
Pakistan Journal of Ophthalmology
ISSN 0886-3067 · eISSN 2789-4347 · Ophthalmological Society of Pakistan · Pakistan
Pakistan Journal of Ophthalmology: fully open access; APC charged, amount not published; review about 24 weeks (community reports); 106 articles in 2025; indexed in Scopus.
Scope
Aims, scope and focus
Pakistan Journal of Ophthalmology is published by Ophthalmological Society of Pakistan. By OpenAlex counts of its recent articles, its largest topics are Retinal Diseases and Treatments, Intraocular Surgery and Lenses and Ophthalmology and Visual Impairment Studies, together about 27.5% of its articles. Its main subfields are Ophthalmology. (generated from OpenAlex topic counts and CAS ranking data)
The journal will cover clinical and scientific studies related to health, ethical and social issues in field of ophthalmology and vision science. Preference will be given to topics of clinical interest.
From the journal's Aims & Scope
Research area (LetPub): Medicine-Ophthalmology
Editor-in-chief Tayyaba GulPublisher website
Editorial board by country: none in mainland China; most named Pakistan 11, United Kingdom 3, United States 1, South Korea 1, India 1 (19 members with a country) Editorial board ↗Publisher website ·
Main research topics OpenAlex counts of recent articles; shares are approximate
- Retinal Diseases and TreatmentsMedicine9.5%
- Intraocular Surgery and LensesMedicine9.2%
- Ophthalmology and Visual Impairment StudiesMedicine8.8%
- Corneal surgery and disordersMedicine8.7%
- Retinal and Macular SurgeryMedicine8.3%
- Glaucoma and retinal disordersMedicine8.1%
- Ocular Infections and TreatmentsMedicine5.8%
- Ocular Surface and Contact LensMedicine5.2%
Rankings & indexing
CAS ranking and database indexing
CAS Journal Ranking
CAS Journal Ranking, upgraded edition (March 2025)Not covered
Not covered by this edition.
CAS Xinrui Journal Ranking (March 2026)Not covered
Not covered by this edition.
CAS Journal Ranking, previous upgraded edition (December 2023)Not covered
Not covered by this edition.
CiteScore quartiles (Scopus, June 2026 release)
| Subject | Quartile | Rank | Percentile |
|---|---|---|---|
| Ophthalmology | Q4 | 125/147 | 15th |
Scopus ranks journals by CiteScore within each subject: the 75th percentile and above is Q1, then a quartile every 25 points. A different system from the CAS zones.LetPub
Database indexing
ScopusDOAJLetPub
International journal early-warning lists: not listed in any editionLetPub
Editions, and major and minor categories, are shown separately and never merged into one zone; check which edition your institution uses before you submit or report.
Metrics
Impact metrics and publication volume
- CiteScore 2026-06
- 0.3LetPub ·
- SJR 2026-06
- 0.12LetPub ·
- SNIP 2026-06
- 0.12LetPub ·
- h-index
- 12OpenAlex ·
- i10-index
- 14OpenAlex ·
- 2-year mean citedness
- 0.21OpenAlex ·
- Share of gold OA articles
- 0%LetPub ·
Articles by year OpenAlex count · 842 in total · the current year is incomplete
| Year | Articles | Open access | Citations |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2026 | 60 | 60 | 83 |
| 2025 | 106 | 106 | 113 |
| 2024 | 64 | 64 | 135 |
| 2023 | 78 | 78 | 181 |
| 2022 | 61 | 61 | 128 |
| 2021 | 81 | 81 | 99 |
Sources count differently and were observed at different times, so each source's own value is kept; "publisher" marks figures from the journal's website.
Review & acceptance
Review time and acceptance
- Average review time (community reports)
- about 24 weeksLetPub ·
- Submission to publication (journal-reported)
- about 24 weeksDOAJ ·
- Peer review
- Double anonymous peer reviewDOAJ
Community reports come from authors' own submissions (confidence 0.5) and are not a promise from the journal; for publisher figures, the journal's own definitions apply.
Fees & open access
APC and open-access policy
Every article is open access; authors usually pay an article processing charge (APC).
| Source | APC | Fee waiver | License | Observed |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| DOAJ | PKR 10,000 | No | CC BY-NC | |
| OpenAlex | PKR 10,000 | — | — | |
| LetPub | PKR 10,000 | No | — | |
| Publisher website | Yes, amount not published | — | — |
Other charges and waivers (author guidelines)
- Submission fee
- PKR 10,000
The journal's website is authoritative for fees; sources were observed at different times and each keeps its own value, without averaging.
Submission
Article types and submission policies (journal website)
What to prepare3 items from the author guidelines
- Keywords
- ≥ 3
- Manuscript length
- ≤ 5,000 words
- Reference style
- Vancouver
Article types accepted5, with length limits
- clinical case reportsClinical case reports must be of academic and educational values and provide relevance of the disease being reported as unusual. Brief or negative research find…Length not stated
- original articlesOriginal articles should normally report original research of relevance to Ophthalmology. It should contain a structured abstract of about 250 words. Three to 1…Length not stated
- review articleon the same subject. The length of the review article should be maximum 5000 words with maximum of 60 references. It should have non-structuremain text ≤ 5,000 words
- short communicationas per MeSH [medical subject heading]. Short Communications should be of about 1000 words, having a non-structured abstract of about 150 words with tmain text ≤ 1,000 words
- short communicationsShort Communications should be of about 1000 words, having a non-structured abstract of about 150 words with two tables or illustrations and upto 10 references.Length not stated
Policy excerpts from the journal's websiteAuthorship, Publication ethics, License & copyright, Peer review, Plagiarism
- Authorship Authorship Criteria:
The ICMJE (http://www.icmje.org/) recommends that authorship be based on the following 4 criteria:
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Publication ethics
PJO follows the COPE and the ICMJE’s best practice guidelines for publishing of scholarly manuscripts. Model summary
PJO follows the COPE (https://publicationethics.org) and the ICMJE’s (http://www.icmje.org) best practice guidelines for publishing of scholarly manuscripts.
Source ↗Publisher website ·- License & copyright
Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial 4.0 International License Model summary
This work is licensed under Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial 4.0 International License
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Peer review
Double Blind Peer Review Model summary
Double Blind Peer Review Every paper will be read by at least two editors of the Editorial Board. The papers selected will then be sent to two external reviewers. If statistical analysis is included, further examination by a staff statistician may be carried out. The staff Bibliographer also examines and authenticates the references and checks for plagiarism.
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Plagiarism
Plagiarism Policy Model summary
PJO observes/follows the ICMJE (http://www.icmje.org/), Higher Education Commission guidelines/criteria (https://hec.gov.pk/english/services/faculty/Plagiarism/Pages/default.aspx) for all types of plagiarism.
Source ↗Publisher website ·
Excerpts are quoted from the journal's website; "model summary" lines are written by Workers AI and checked against the text. The journal's website is authoritative.
Before you submit
Five checks before submitting to Pakistan Journal of Ophthalmology
- 1ScopeRecent output centres on Retinal Diseases and Treatments, Intraocular Surgery and Lenses.Check scope
- 2Article type and formatKeywords: ≥ 3; Manuscript length: ≤ 5,000 words; Reference style: Vancouver.Author guidelines ↗
- 3English languagePolish grammar and academic style before you submit: it lowers the risk of rejection for language and improves your chances of acceptance.
- 4FeesPKR 10,000 (DOAJ)Fee details
- 5Expected review timeabout 24 weeks · Community averageReview data
The checks are built from this page's data.
Profile
Publication details and official links
- Publisher
- Ophthalmological Society of Pakistan
- Country or region
- Pakistan
- Language
- English
- ISSN
- 0886-3067
- Electronic ISSN
- 2789-4347
- Latest issue on the website
- Volume 42, Issue 3 (2026)
- Official links
- Journal homepage ↗LetPub
- Author guidelines ↗LetPub
- Aims & Scope ↗LetPub
- APC information ↗DOAJ
- Open access statement ↗DOAJ
- License & copyright ↗DOAJ
- Peer review process ↗LetPub
- Editorial board ↗LetPub
- Plagiarism policy ↗DOAJ
FAQ
Frequently asked questions about Pakistan Journal of Ophthalmology
How long does peer review take at Pakistan Journal of Ophthalmology?
Authors report an average review time of about 24 weeks. Article statistics cover accepted papers only, publisher figures follow the journal's own definitions, and community reports come from authors' own submissions; none is a promise from the journal.
What are the manuscript requirements of Pakistan Journal of Ophthalmology?
According to the journal's author guidelines: Keywords: ≥ 3; Manuscript length: ≤ 5,000 words; Reference style: Vancouver. A model extracted these from the author guidelines and each was checked against the text; check the latest version on the journal's website before submitting.
Where are the editorial board members of Pakistan Journal of Ophthalmology based?
Of the 19 board members whose country the journal's board page names, none are in mainland China; the countries named most often are Pakistan (11), United Kingdom (3) and United States (1). Counted from the institutions listed on the board page; for reference only.
Which databases index Pakistan Journal of Ophthalmology?
According to LetPub and DOAJ records, Pakistan Journal of Ophthalmology is indexed in Scopus and DOAJ.
Is Pakistan Journal of Ophthalmology open access, and what is the APC?
Pakistan Journal of Ophthalmology is a fully open-access journal. APC charged, amount not published.
Sources and updates
The facts on this page come from LetPub, OpenAlex, DOAJ, Publisher website; every figure is tagged with its source and the date it was observed, and conflicting values are kept per source. LetPub source page: view ↗ (archived 2026-08-25). Last updated: .