Journal profile · Health Professions-Health Professions (miscellaneous)
Pakistan Armed Forces Medical Journal
ISSN 0030-9648 · eISSN 2411-8842 · The Army Press · Pakistan
Pakistan Armed Forces Medical Journal: fully open access; APC charged, amount not published; review about 24 weeks (community reports); 517 articles in 2025; indexed in Scopus.
Scope
Aims, scope and focus
Pakistan Armed Forces Medical Journal is published by The Army Press. By OpenAlex counts of its recent articles, its largest topics are Anesthesia and Pain Management, Innovations in Medical Education and Maternal and Perinatal Health Interventions, together about 24.6% of its articles. (generated from OpenAlex topic counts and CAS ranking data)
Pakistan Armed Forces Medical Journal (PAFMJ) is a monthly medical journal published by Army Medical College, Rawalpindi, Pakistan. The Pakistan Armed Forces Medical Journal follows "CC BY NC creative commons" licensing https://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nc/4.0/. PAFMJ is an open access journal and is included in Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ). Online ISSN : 2411-8842Print ISSN : 0030-9648 The journal is recognised by Higher Education Commission (HEC) and PM&DC of Pakistan and is Indexed and abstracted in Scopus. Covered by: Google Scholar
From the journal's Aims & Scope
Research area (LetPub): Health Professions-Health Professions (miscellaneous)
Editor-in-chief Khurram HaqPublisher website
Editorial board by country: none in mainland China; most named Pakistan 27, United Kingdom 4, Saudi Arabia 3, United States 1, Kuwait 1 (36 members with a country) Editorial board ↗Publisher website ·
Main research topics OpenAlex counts of recent articles; shares are approximate
- Anesthesia and Pain ManagementMedicine10.9%
- Innovations in Medical EducationMedicine7.3%
- Maternal and Perinatal Health InterventionsMedicine6.4%
- Anesthesia and Sedative AgentsMedicine5.9%
- COVID-19 Clinical Research StudiesMedicine4.9%
- Acute Myocardial Infarction ResearchMedicine4.6%
- Coronary Interventions and DiagnosticsMedicine4.1%
- Gallbladder and Bile Duct DisordersMedicine3.9%
Rankings & indexing
CAS ranking and database indexing
CAS Journal Ranking
CAS Journal Ranking, upgraded edition (March 2025)Not covered
Not covered by this edition.
CAS Xinrui Journal Ranking (March 2026)Not covered
Not covered by this edition.
CAS Journal Ranking, previous upgraded edition (December 2023)Not covered
Not covered by this edition.
CiteScore quartiles (Scopus, June 2026 release)
| Subject | Quartile | Rank | Percentile |
|---|---|---|---|
| Health Professions (miscellaneous) | Q4 | 93/101 | 8th |
| Medicine (miscellaneous) | Q4 | 447/466 | 4th |
| Public Health, Environmental and Occupational Health | Q4 | 708/725 | 2nd |
Scopus ranks journals by CiteScore within each subject: the 75th percentile and above is Q1, then a quartile every 25 points. A different system from the CAS zones.LetPub
Database indexing
ScopusDOAJLetPub
International journal early-warning lists: not listed in any editionLetPub
Indexing the journal's website claims
Google Scholar, Index MedicusPublisher website
As the journal's website lists them, not checked against each database; for Web of Science editions the records above apply.
Editions, and major and minor categories, are shown separately and never merged into one zone; check which edition your institution uses before you submit or report.
Metrics
Impact metrics and publication volume
- CiteScore 2026-06
- 0.2LetPub ·
- CiteScore (publisher)
- 0.2Publisher website ·
- SJR 2026-06
- 0.13LetPub ·
- SNIP 2026-06
- 0.1LetPub ·
- h-index
- 10OpenAlex ·
- i10-index
- 10OpenAlex ·
- 2-year mean citedness
- 0.14OpenAlex ·
- Share of gold OA articles
- 0%LetPub ·
- Articles per year (publisher)
- 30Publisher website ·
Articles by year OpenAlex count · 6,669 in total · the current year is incomplete
| Year | Articles | Open access | Citations |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2026 | 507 | 507 | 421 |
| 2025 | 517 | 517 | 543 |
| 2024 | 474 | 474 | 558 |
| 2023 | 666 | 666 | 445 |
| 2022 | 704 | 704 | 340 |
| 2021 | 684 | 684 | 194 |
Sources count differently and were observed at different times, so each source's own value is kept; "publisher" marks figures from the journal's website.
Review & acceptance
Review time and acceptance
- Average review time (community reports)
- about 24 weeksLetPub ·
- Submission to publication (journal-reported)
- about 30 weeksDOAJ ·
- Peer review
- Double anonymous peer reviewDOAJ
Community reports come from authors' own submissions (confidence 0.5) and are not a promise from the journal; for publisher figures, the journal's own definitions apply.
Fees & open access
APC and open-access policy
Every article is open access; authors usually pay an article processing charge (APC).
| Source | APC | Fee waiver | License | Observed |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| DOAJ | PKR 10,000 | No | CC BY-NC | |
| OpenAlex | PKR 7,000 | — | — | |
| LetPub | PKR 7,000 | No | — | |
| Publisher website | USD 100 | — | — |
Other charges and waivers (author guidelines)
- Submission fee
- PKR 2,000
The journal's website is authoritative for fees; sources were observed at different times and each keeps its own value, without averaging.
Submission
Article types and submission policies (journal website)
Article types accepted19, with length limits
- adverse drug reportsadverse drug reportsLength not stated
- audit reportaudit reportLength not stated
- book reviewbook reviewLength not stated
- case reportcase reportLength not stated
- current practicescurrent practicesLength not stated
- debatesdebatesLength not stated
- evidence-based reportevidence-based reportLength not stated
- letter to the editorletter to the editorLength not stated
- lettersLetters could be of two types: Commenting either on recently published articles in the journal The scientific letter include: reporting cases, outbreaks, or ori…Length not stated
- narrative reviewThe narrative review should have a structured abstract which should not exceed 250 words, under the following headlines Objectives, Methods, Review, Conclusion …main text ≤ 250 words · abstract ≤ 250 words
- narrative review articleNarrative Review Article: The narrative review should have a structured abstract which should not exceed 250 words, under the following headlines Objectives, Me…Length not stated
- new techniquesnew techniquesLength not stated
- original paperOriginal Paper: This includes randomized controlled trials, intervention studies, and studies of screening /diagnostic test, outcome studies and cost- effective…Length not stated
- original researchoriginal research (randomized controlled trial, metanalysis, quasi experimental study, case control study, cohort study or cross-sectional analytical study)Length not stated
- recent advancesrecent advancesLength not stated
- review articlefor review as per ICMJE guidelines. For review articles word count should be in the range of 3000-4000 words (excluding references and abstract) with minimum 30…main text ≤ 4,000 words
- short communications from introduction through references. Short communications should contain no more than 1500 words in total. The number of tables/figures should not exceed 3.main text ≤ 1,500 words
- systematic reviewThe systematic review paper should have a structured abstract of not more than 250 words using headlines as Objective, Data Sources, Study Selection, Data Extra…main text ≤ 250 words · abstract ≤ 250 words
- systematic review article/meta-analysisSystematic Review Article/Meta-analysis: The systematic review paper should have a structured abstract of not more than 250 words using headlines as Objective, …Length not stated
Policy excerpts from the journal's websiteAuthorship, Peer review, Trial registration / reporting guidelines
- Authorship Join ReviewerCredits and get CREDIT for Peer Reviewing
Reporting guidlines for different study designs - Equator Network
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Peer review
Excludes studies older than five years at submission, simple descriptive, KAP, and retrospective studies. Model summary
Studies more than five years old at the time of submission as well as simple descriptive, KAP (knowledge, attitude, practice) and retrospective studies are not entertained.
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Trial registration / reporting guidelines Retrospective trial registration will not be accepted.
Reports of randomized controlled trials (RCTs) must be prepared and submitted in accordance with the CONSORT (Consolidated Standards of Reporting Trials) Statement, and authors should submit the completed CONSORT checklist and flow diagram along with the manuscript, where applicable.
Source ↗Publisher website ·
Excerpts are quoted from the journal's website; "model summary" lines are written by Workers AI and checked against the text. The journal's website is authoritative.
Before you submit
Five checks before submitting to Pakistan Armed Forces Medical Journal
- 1ScopeRecent output centres on Anesthesia and Pain Management, Innovations in Medical Education.Check scope
- 2Article type and formatPrepare text, figures and references as the author guidelines ask.Author guidelines ↗
- 3English languagePolish grammar and academic style before you submit: it lowers the risk of rejection for language and improves your chances of acceptance.
- 4FeesPKR 10,000 (DOAJ)Fee details
- 5Expected review timeabout 24 weeks · Community averageReview data
The checks are built from this page's data.
Profile
Publication details and official links
- Publisher
- The Army Press
- Country or region
- Pakistan
- Language
- English
- ISSN
- 0030-9648
- Electronic ISSN
- 2411-8842
- Latest issue on the website
- Volume 76, Issue 4 (2026)
- Official links
- Journal homepage ↗LetPub
- Author guidelines ↗LetPub
- Aims & Scope ↗LetPub
- APC information ↗DOAJ
- Open access statement ↗DOAJ
- License & copyright ↗DOAJ
- Peer review process ↗LetPub
- Editorial board ↗LetPub
- Plagiarism policy ↗DOAJ
FAQ
Frequently asked questions about Pakistan Armed Forces Medical Journal
How long does peer review take at Pakistan Armed Forces Medical Journal?
Authors report an average review time of about 24 weeks. Article statistics cover accepted papers only, publisher figures follow the journal's own definitions, and community reports come from authors' own submissions; none is a promise from the journal.
Where are the editorial board members of Pakistan Armed Forces Medical Journal based?
Of the 36 board members whose country the journal's board page names, none are in mainland China; the countries named most often are Pakistan (27), United Kingdom (4) and Saudi Arabia (3). Counted from the institutions listed on the board page; for reference only.
Which databases index Pakistan Armed Forces Medical Journal?
According to LetPub and DOAJ records, Pakistan Armed Forces Medical Journal is indexed in Scopus and DOAJ.
Is Pakistan Armed Forces Medical Journal open access, and what is the APC?
Pakistan Armed Forces Medical Journal is a fully open-access journal. APC charged, amount not published.
Sources and updates
The facts on this page come from LetPub, Publisher website, OpenAlex, DOAJ; every figure is tagged with its source and the date it was observed, and conflicting values are kept per source. LetPub source page: view ↗ (archived 2026-08-26). Last updated: .