Journal profile · DENTISTRY, ORAL SURGERY & MEDICINE

Orthodontic Waves

ISSN 1344-0241 · eISSN 1878-1837 · Taylor & Francis

Orthodontic Waves: impact factor 0.7 (journal website); hybrid open access; APC about USD 3,000; review about 42 days (first decision after review, publisher); acceptance rate 19% (journal website); 0 articles in 2025; indexed in Scopus.

Impact factor0.7From the journal's website, 2025 value
CAS zone—Not in the CAS Journal Ranking
CiteScore quartileQ3Orthodontics · rank 19/25 · 26th percentile
Review time42 daysPublisher-reported, first decision after review
APCUSD 3,000Hybrid journal: charged only for open-access articles
Acceptance19%From the journal's website
Articles per year02025 · OpenAlex count

Scope

Aims, scope and focus

Orthodontic Waves is published by Taylor & Francis. By OpenAlex counts of its recent articles, its largest topics are Orthodontics and Dentofacial Orthopedics, dental development and anomalies and Dental materials and restorations, together about 52.1% of its articles. (generated from OpenAlex topic counts and CAS ranking data)

Orthodontic Waves is the official journal of the Japanese Orthodontic Society (JOS), inheriting the history of Journal of Japan Orthodontic Society established in 1932. The Orthodontic Waves Editorial Board, which holds editorial independence, consists of an Editor-in-Chief, 10 Associate Editors, 11 International Advisory Board members, and 2 Editorial Secretaries. The aim of Orthodontic Waves is to provide a high level of orthodontic services from Asia to the entire world and contribute to researchers, dentists, and other health professionals concerned with orthodontics and/or its related fields. Orthodontic Waves seeks to publish (i) Original articles, (ii) Case Reports, (iii) Short Communications and (iv) Review articles. Original articles stand on the scientific basis of orthodontics, and Case Reports and Short Communications covered include all techniques and approaches to treatment planning. The scope of this journal covers all areas of orthodontics and dentofacial orthopedics including basic and clinical research (e.g., biology, biochemistry, histology, physiology, diagnostic procedures, treatment planning, growth and development of the maxillofacial skeleton and its clinical implications, all techniques, orthodontic materials, skeletal anchorage devices, biomechanics, temporomandibular disorders, craniofacial anomalies, orthognathic surgery and adult treatment). Submissions and/or accepted papers to Orthodontic Waves have originated not only from Japan but also other countries around the world, thus showing an international focus. Authors can choose to publish gold open access in this journal. Read the Instructions for Authors for information on how to submit your article.

From the journal's Aims & Scope

Research area (LetPub): DENTISTRY, ORAL SURGERY & MEDICINE

Editor-in-chief Tetsutaro YamaguchiPublisher website

Main research topics OpenAlex counts of recent articles; shares are approximate

  1. Orthodontics and Dentofacial OrthopedicsDentistry34.5%
  2. dental development and anomaliesBiochemistry, Genetics and Molecular Biology9.8%
  3. Dental materials and restorationsDentistry7.9%
  4. Temporomandibular Joint DisordersHealth Professions7%
  5. Dental Trauma and TreatmentsHealth Professions6.5%
  6. Cleft Lip and Palate ResearchBiochemistry, Genetics and Molecular Biology6.2%
  7. Forensic Anthropology and Bioarchaeology StudiesArts and Humanities4.3%
  8. Craniofacial Disorders and TreatmentsBiochemistry, Genetics and Molecular Biology4.2%

Rankings & indexing

CAS ranking and database indexing

CAS Journal Ranking

CAS Journal Ranking, upgraded edition (March 2025)Not covered

Not covered by this edition.

CAS Xinrui Journal Ranking (March 2026)Not covered

Not covered by this edition.

CAS Journal Ranking, previous upgraded edition (December 2023)Not covered

Not covered by this edition.

CiteScore quartiles (Scopus, June 2026 release)

SubjectQuartileRankPercentile
OrthodonticsQ319/2526th

Scopus ranks journals by CiteScore within each subject: the 75th percentile and above is Q1, then a quartile every 25 points. A different system from the CAS zones.LetPub

JCR / CiteScore quartiles on the journal's website

Publisher-reported: JCR figures are Clarivate's and CiteScore figures Scopus's to confirm; both are a different system from the CAS zones.Publisher website

Database indexing

ScopusLetPub

International journal early-warning lists: not listed in any editionLetPub

Indexing the journal's website claims

ESCIDOAJPublisher website

Other: CNKI, OCLC, Semantic Scholar

As the journal's website lists them, not checked against each database; for Web of Science editions the records above apply.

Editions, and major and minor categories, are shown separately and never merged into one zone; check which edition your institution uses before you submit or report.

Metrics

Impact metrics and publication volume

Impact

Impact factor (publisher) 2025
0.7Publisher website ·
5-year impact factor (publisher) 2025
0.7Publisher website ·
CiteScore 2026-06
0.4LetPub ·
CiteScore (publisher) 2025
1.1Publisher website ·
CiteScore (publisher) 2020
0.4Publisher website ·
SJR 2026-06
0.15LetPub ·
SJR (publisher) 2025
0.29Publisher website ·
SJR (publisher) 2020
0.14Publisher website ·
SNIP 2026-06
0.31LetPub ·
SNIP (publisher) 2025
0.41Publisher website ·
SNIP (publisher) 2020
0.17Publisher website ·
h-index
21OpenAlex ·
i10-index
71OpenAlex ·
2-year mean citedness
0OpenAlex ·
Share of gold OA articles
11.54%LetPub ·

Volume

Downloads per year (publisher)
57,000Publisher website ·

Articles by year OpenAlex count · 1,079 in total · the current year is incomplete

YearArticlesOpen accessCitations
20260089
202500161
202400221
202300229
202200199
2021264239

Sources count differently and were observed at different times, so each source's own value is kept; "publisher" marks figures from the journal's website.

Review & acceptance

Review time and acceptance

Publisher-reported review time from the journal's website

42 daysfirst decision after review

The publisher's own definition applies; dates from this journal's articles in the last 24 months are not available yet, so the publisher's figure is used.

Figures by source

Acceptance rate (publisher)
19%Publisher website ·
Submission to first decision
7 daysPublisher website ·
First decision after review
42 daysPublisher website ·
Acceptance to publication
10 daysPublisher website ·

Community reports come from authors' own submissions (confidence 0.5) and are not a promise from the journal; for publisher figures, the journal's own definitions apply.

Fees & open access

APC and open-access policy

Hybrid open accessLetPub

A subscription journal in which authors can pay to publish their article open access.

SourceAPCFee waiverLicenseObserved
OpenAlexUSD 3,000——
Publisher websiteNo APC——

A hybrid journal charges the APC only when the author chooses open access; publishing under the subscription model is usually free.

The journal's website is authoritative for fees; sources were observed at different times and each keeps its own value, without averaging.

Submission

Article types and submission policies (journal website)

Article types accepted2
  1. original researchClinical and Investigative Orthodontics publishes original research articles and reviewsLength not stated
  2. reviewClinical and Investigative Orthodontics publishes original research articles and reviewsLength not stated
Publisher website
Policy excerpts from the journal's websiteOpen access
Open access Open access

Open Access Model summary

Overview Open journals Open Select Dove Medical Press F1000Research

Source ↗Publisher website ·

Excerpts are quoted from the journal's website; "model summary" lines are written by Workers AI and checked against the text. The journal's website is authoritative.

Profile

Publication details and official links

Publisher
Taylor & Francis
ISSN
1344-0241
Electronic ISSN
1878-1837
Society / sponsor
Japanese Orthodontic Society
Latest issue on the website
Volume 85, Issue 1 (2026)
Official links

FAQ

Frequently asked questions about Orthodontic Waves

What is the impact factor of Orthodontic Waves?

The journal's website gives an impact factor of 0.7 (2025); this is the journal's own figure, as LetPub lists none for it; CiteScore 0.4, h-index 21.

How long does peer review take at Orthodontic Waves?

The publisher reports about 42 days (first decision after review); the journal's website gives an acceptance rate of 19%. Article statistics cover accepted papers only, publisher figures follow the journal's own definitions, and community reports come from authors' own submissions; none is a promise from the journal.

Which databases index Orthodontic Waves?

According to LetPub and DOAJ records, Orthodontic Waves is indexed in Scopus. The journal's website also lists ESCI and DOAJ; that list has not been checked against each database.

Is Orthodontic Waves open access, and what is the APC?

Orthodontic Waves is a hybrid journal. For open-access publication: APC about USD 3,000.

Sources and updates

The facts on this page come from LetPub, Publisher website, OpenAlex; every figure is tagged with its source and the date it was observed, and conflicting values are kept per source. LetPub source page: view ↗ (archived 2026-08-25). Last updated: .