Journal profile · Medicine-Otorhinolaryngology
Oral and Maxillofacial Surgery Cases
ISSN 2214-5419 · Elsevier · United States
Oral and Maxillofacial Surgery Cases: fully open access; APC about USD 1,430; review about 62 days (submission to acceptance, publisher); 47 articles in 2025; indexed in Scopus.
Scope
Aims, scope and focus
Oral and Maxillofacial Surgery Cases is published by Elsevier. By OpenAlex counts of its recent articles, its largest topics are Oral and Maxillofacial Pathology, Facial Trauma and Fracture Management and Bone Tumor Diagnosis and Treatments, together about 33.2% of its articles. Its main subfields are Surgery. (generated from OpenAlex topic counts and CAS ranking data)
Oral and Maxillofacial Surgery Cases is a surgical journal dedicated to publishing case reports and case series only which must be original, educational, rare conditions or findings, or clinically interesting to an international audience of surgeons and clinicians. Case series can be prospective or retrospective and examine the outcomes of management or mechanisms in more than one patient. Case reports may include new or modified methodology and treatment, uncommon findings, and mechanisms. All case reports and case series will be peer reviewed for acceptance for publication in the Journal.Authors will be notified of this decision and at the same time requested to pay an Author Processing Fee. Following payment of this fee, case reports and case series will be made universally available at no further charge through ScienceDirect.
From the journal's Aims & Scope
Research area (LetPub): Medicine-Otorhinolaryngology
Editor-in-chief S. J. DrewPublisher website
Editorial board by country: none in mainland China; most named United States 18, Canada 3 (21 members with a country) Editorial board ↗Publisher website ·
Main research topics OpenAlex counts of recent articles; shares are approximate
- Oral and Maxillofacial PathologyDentistry18.2%
- Facial Trauma and Fracture ManagementMedicine8%
- Bone Tumor Diagnosis and TreatmentsMedicine7%
- Reconstructive Facial Surgery TechniquesMedicine6.3%
- Orthodontics and Dentofacial OrthopedicsDentistry6.2%
- Temporomandibular Joint DisordersHealth Professions4.9%
- Dental Radiography and ImagingDentistry4.2%
- Salivary Gland Tumors Diagnosis and TreatmentMedicine4.1%
Rankings & indexing
CAS ranking and database indexing
CAS Journal Ranking
CAS Journal Ranking, upgraded edition (March 2025)Not covered
Not covered by this edition.
CAS Xinrui Journal Ranking (March 2026)Not covered
Not covered by this edition.
CAS Journal Ranking, previous upgraded edition (December 2023)Not covered
Not covered by this edition.
CiteScore quartiles (Scopus, June 2026 release)
| Subject | Quartile | Rank | Percentile |
|---|---|---|---|
| Oral Surgery | Q3 | 60/87 | 31st |
| Surgery | Q4 | 449/597 | 24th |
| Otorhinolaryngology | Q4 | 96/123 | 22nd |
Scopus ranks journals by CiteScore within each subject: the 75th percentile and above is Q1, then a quartile every 25 points. A different system from the CAS zones.LetPub
Database indexing
ScopusDOAJLetPub
International journal early-warning lists: not listed in any editionLetPub
Editions, and major and minor categories, are shown separately and never merged into one zone; check which edition your institution uses before you submit or report.
Metrics
Impact metrics and publication volume
Impact
- CiteScore 2026-06
- 0.6LetPub ·
- CiteScore (publisher)
- 0.6Publisher website ·
- SJR 2026-06
- 0.2LetPub ·
- SNIP 2026-06
- 0.34LetPub ·
- h-index
- 11OpenAlex ·
- i10-index
- 16OpenAlex ·
- 2-year mean citedness
- 0.41OpenAlex ·
- Share of gold OA articles
- 0%LetPub ·
Articles by year OpenAlex count · 478 in total · the current year is incomplete
| Year | Articles | Open access | Citations |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2026 | 50 | 50 | 144 |
| 2025 | 47 | 47 | 187 |
| 2024 | 43 | 43 | 194 |
| 2023 | 50 | 50 | 156 |
| 2022 | 48 | 48 | 135 |
| 2021 | 34 | 34 | 118 |
Sources count differently and were observed at different times, so each source's own value is kept; "publisher" marks figures from the journal's website.
Review & acceptance
Review time and acceptance
Publisher-reported review time from the journal's website
62 dayssubmission to acceptance · community reports about 52 weeks
The publisher's own definition applies; dates from this journal's articles in the last 24 months are not available yet, so the publisher's figure is used.
Figures by source
- Average review time (community reports)
- about 52 weeksLetPub ·
- Submission to first decision
- 7 daysPublisher website ·
- First decision after review
- 37 daysPublisher website ·
- Submission to acceptance
- 62 daysPublisher website ·
- Acceptance to publication
- 5 daysPublisher website ·
- Submission to publication (journal-reported)
- about 10 weeksDOAJ ·
- Peer review
- Single anonymous peer reviewDOAJ
Community reports come from authors' own submissions (confidence 0.5) and are not a promise from the journal; for publisher figures, the journal's own definitions apply.
Fees & open access
APC and open-access policy
Every article is open access; authors usually pay an article processing charge (APC).
| Source | APC | Fee waiver | License | Observed |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| DOAJ | USD 1,430 | Yes | CC BY, CC BY-NC, CC BY-NC-ND | |
| OpenAlex | USD 1,120 / EUR 1,050 / GBP 900 / JPY 138,910 | — | — | |
| LetPub | USD 680 | Yes | — | |
| Publisher website | USD 1,790 | — | — |
Other charges and waivers (author guidelines)
- Submission fee
- Charged; see the journal's website for the amount
The journal's website is authoritative for fees; sources were observed at different times and each keeps its own value, without averaging.
Submission
Article types and submission policies (journal website)
What to prepare6 items from the author guidelines
- Abstract
- ≤ 250 words
- Keywords
- 1–7
- Reference style
- Numbered, in order of citation
- Highlights
- Required
- Graphical abstract
- Optional
- Not considered
- case reports; case series
Article types accepted2
- case reportsdedicated to publishing case reports and case series onlyLength not stated
- case seriesdedicated to publishing case reports and case series onlyLength not stated
Policy excerpts from the journal's websiteAI use, Authorship, Conflicts of interest, Publication ethics, License & copyright, Open access, Peer review, Preprints
- AI use Declaration of generative AI use
Authors must declare the use of generative AI tools in the manuscript preparation process upon submission of the paper.Generative AI and AI-assisted technologies (“AI tools”) have been rapidly adopted in research and scholarly publishing, offering significant benefits while requiring clear standards for responsible and transparent use.Authors preparing a manuscript for this journal may use AI tool…
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Authorship Group authorship
Authorship changes generally not considered after submission Model summary
Group authorship refers to the attribution of an article to a defined and named group of authors whose members have contributed to the work. Examples include research consortia, clinical trial groups, collaborative networks, task forces or working groups, expert panels or consensus groups, and participatory research groups. Group authorship must be declared on the title page at submission. When av…
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Conflicts of interest Declaration of competing interests
All authors must disclose any financial and personal relationships with other people or organizations that could inappropriately influence or bias their work. Examples of potential competing interests include:EmploymentConsultanciesStock ownershipHonorariaPaid expert testimonyPatent applications or registrationsGrants or any other fundingAffiliation with the journal as an Editor or Advisory Board …
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Publication ethics
Follow Elsevier's Publishing Ethics Policy Model summary
Authors must follow ethical guidelines stated in Elsevier's Publishing Ethics Policy.
Source ↗Publisher website ·- License & copyright License options
Authors will be offered open access user license options which will determine how you, and third parties, can reuse your open access article. We advise that you review these options and any funding body license requirements before selecting a license option.
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Open access Open access
We refer you to our open access information page to learn about open access options for this journal.
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Peer review Peer review
Single anonymized review process Model summary
This journal follows a single anonymized review process. Your submission will initially be assessed by our editors. If your submission is deemed suitable, it will typically be sent to be reviewed by a minimum of one reviewer for an independent expert assessment of the scientific quality. The decision as to whether your article is accepted or rejected for publication will be made by our editors.Rea…
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Preprints Preprints
Preprint sharing allowed, does not count as prior publication Model summary
Preprint sharingAuthors may share preprints in line with Elsevier's article sharing policy. Sharing preprints, such as on a preprint server, will not count as prior publication.We advise you to read our policy on multiple, redundant or concurrent publication. In support of Open Science, this journal offers its authors a free preprint posting service on SSRN, Elsevier’s preprint and early research …
Source ↗Publisher website ·
Excerpts are quoted from the journal's website; "model summary" lines are written by Workers AI and checked against the text. The journal's website is authoritative.
Profile
Publication details and official links
- Publisher
- Elsevier
- Country or region
- United States
- Language
- English
- ISSN
- 2214-5419
- Official links
- Journal homepage ↗DOAJ
- Submission system ↗Publisher website
- Author guidelines ↗DOAJ
- Aims & Scope ↗DOAJ
- Special issues ↗Publisher website
- APC information ↗DOAJ
- Fee waivers ↗DOAJ
- Open access statement ↗DOAJ
- License & copyright ↗DOAJ
- Peer review process ↗DOAJ
- Editorial board ↗DOAJ
- Plagiarism policy ↗DOAJ
FAQ
Frequently asked questions about Oral and Maxillofacial Surgery Cases
How long does peer review take at Oral and Maxillofacial Surgery Cases?
The publisher reports about 62 days (submission to acceptance); authors report an average review time of about 52 weeks. Article statistics cover accepted papers only, publisher figures follow the journal's own definitions, and community reports come from authors' own submissions; none is a promise from the journal.
What are the manuscript requirements of Oral and Maxillofacial Surgery Cases?
According to the journal's author guidelines: Abstract: ≤ 250 words; Keywords: 1–7; Reference style: Numbered, in order of citation; Highlights: Required; Graphical abstract: Optional. A model extracted these from the author guidelines and each was checked against the text; check the latest version on the journal's website before submitting.
Where are the editorial board members of Oral and Maxillofacial Surgery Cases based?
Of the 21 board members whose country the journal's board page names, none are in mainland China; the countries named most often are United States (18) and Canada (3). Counted from the institutions listed on the board page; for reference only.
Which databases index Oral and Maxillofacial Surgery Cases?
According to LetPub and DOAJ records, Oral and Maxillofacial Surgery Cases is indexed in Scopus and DOAJ.
Is Oral and Maxillofacial Surgery Cases open access, and what is the APC?
Oral and Maxillofacial Surgery Cases is a fully open-access journal. APC about USD 1,430.
Sources and updates
The facts on this page come from LetPub, Publisher website, OpenAlex, DOAJ; every figure is tagged with its source and the date it was observed, and conflicting values are kept per source. LetPub source page: view ↗ (archived 2026-08-25). Last updated: .