Journal profile
Ophthalmology and Eye Diseases
ISSN 1179-1721 · eISSN 2515-8414 · SAGE Publishing · United Kingdom
Ophthalmology and Eye Diseases: impact factor 2 (journal website); fully open access; APC about USD 2,650; median 169 days to acceptance (90 articles, last 24 months); 3 articles a year.
Scope
Aims, scope and focus
Ophthalmology and Eye Diseases is published by SAGE Publishing. By OpenAlex counts of its recent articles, its largest topics are Retinal Diseases and Treatments, Glaucoma and retinal disorders and Intraocular Surgery and Lenses, together about 30.3% of its articles. Its main subfields are Ophthalmology. (generated from OpenAlex topic counts and CAS ranking data)
Therapeutic Advances in Ophthalmology is a peer-reviewed, open access journal delivering the highest quality articles, reviews, and scholarly comment on pioneering efforts and innovative studies across all areas of ophthalmology. The journal has a strong clinical and … | View full journal description
From the journal's Aims & Scope
Editor-in-chief Joshua CameronPublisher website
Editorial board by country: 1 in mainland China (about 2%); most named United States 11, United Kingdom 6, India 6, Italy 4, Türkiye 2 (43 members with a country) Editorial board ↗Publisher website ·
Main research topics OpenAlex counts of recent articles; shares are approximate
- Retinal Diseases and TreatmentsMedicine13.2%
- Glaucoma and retinal disordersMedicine10.5%
- Intraocular Surgery and LensesMedicine6.6%
- Ocular Infections and TreatmentsMedicine6.6%
- Retinal and Optic ConditionsMedicine6.6%
- Ocular Surface and Contact LensMedicine5.9%
- Corneal Surgery and TreatmentsMedicine5.9%
- Ocular Diseases and Behçet’s SyndromeMedicine5.3%
Rankings & indexing
CAS ranking and database indexing
CAS Journal Ranking
CAS Journal Ranking, upgraded edition (March 2025)Not covered
Not covered by this edition.
CAS Xinrui Journal Ranking (March 2026)Not covered
Not covered by this edition.
CAS Journal Ranking, previous upgraded edition (December 2023)Not covered
Not covered by this edition.
Database indexing
DOAJLetPub
International journal early-warning lists: not listed in any editionLetPub
Editions, and major and minor categories, are shown separately and never merged into one zone; check which edition your institution uses before you submit or report.
Metrics
Impact metrics and publication volume
Impact
- Impact factor (publisher)
- 2Publisher website ·
- 5-year impact factor (publisher)
- 2.7Publisher website ·
- h-index
- 23OpenAlex ·
- i10-index
- 43OpenAlex ·
- 2-year mean citedness
- 0OpenAlex ·
- Share of gold OA articles
- 0%LetPub ·
Volume
- Articles per year (publisher)
- 3Publisher website ·
Sources count differently and were observed at different times, so each source's own value is kept; "publisher" marks figures from the journal's website.
Review & acceptance
Review time and acceptance
Review time from article dates manuscript dates registered with PubMed · to
169 daysMedian, submission to acceptance · P25–P75 116 days – 211 days
- Acceptance to online
- median 40 days (90 articles)
- Submission to online
- median 215 days
- Sample
- 90 articles with submission and acceptance dates (98 in the window); the latest was accepted on
Only articles that were accepted and published are counted, not the time spent on rejected manuscripts, so this usually runs longer than a publisher's "time to first decision".
Other sources
- Average review time (community reports)
- about 8 weeksLetPub ·
- Submission to publication (journal-reported)
- about 8 weeksDOAJ ·
- Peer review
- Single anonymous peer reviewDOAJ
Community reports come from authors' own submissions (confidence 0.5) and are not a promise from the journal; for publisher figures, the journal's own definitions apply.
Fees & open access
APC and open-access policy
Every article is open access; authors usually pay an article processing charge (APC).
| Source | APC | Fee waiver | License | Observed |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| DOAJ | USD 2,650 | Yes | CC BY, CC BY-NC | |
| LetPub | USD 2,650 | Yes | — | |
| Publisher website | USD 3,200 / USD 5,500 | — | — |
The journal's website is authoritative for fees; sources were observed at different times and each keeps its own value, without averaging.
Submission
Article types and submission policies (journal website)
Article types accepted9
- original articleView our Special Collections currently accepting submissions. Please visit the Sage Journal Author Gateway for guidance on producing visual and/or video abstrac…Length not stated
- original articlesOriginal Articles. The Editors will consider clinical interventional and observational studies with clearly stated aims, well-reported methodology (including ma…Length not stated
- original research articleView our Special Collections currently accepting submissions. Please visit the Sage Journal Author Gateway for guidance on producing visual and/or video abstrac…Length not stated
- perspectiveView our Special Collections currently accepting submissions. Please visit the Sage Journal Author Gateway for guidance on producing visual and/or video abstrac…Length not stated
- reviewView our Special Collections currently accepting submissions. Please visit the Sage Journal Author Gateway for guidance on producing visual and/or video abstrac…Length not stated
- review articleView our Special Collections currently accepting submissions. Please visit the Sage Journal Author Gateway for guidance on producing visual and/or video abstrac…Length not stated
- review articlesReview Articles. These manuscripts are usually commissioned by the Editors but unsolicited reviews will be considered.Length not stated
- scoping reviewsScoping Reviews – These reviews assess the scope of available literature on a topic through comprehensive synthesis.Length not stated
- systematic reviewView our Special Collections currently accepting submissions. Please visit the Sage Journal Author Gateway for guidance on producing visual and/or video abstrac…Length not stated
Policy excerpts from the journal's websiteAI use, Authorship, Data availability, Publication ethics, License & copyright, Open access, Peer review, Plagiarism, Preprints, Trial registration / reporting guidelines
- AI use Multimodal LLMs for retinal disease diagnosis via OCT: few-shot versus single-shot learning
Reem Agbareia Mahmud Omar Ofira Zloto Benjamin S. Glicksberg Girish N. Nadkarni Eyal Klang
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Authorship Author contributions
You will be asked to list the contribution of each author as part of the submission process. Please include the Author Contributions heading within your submission after the Acknowledgements section. The information you give on submission will then show under the Author Contributions heading later at the proofing stage.
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Data availability Data availability
The Journal is committed to facilitating openness, transparency and reproducibility of research, and has the following research data sharing policy. For more information, including FAQs please visit the Sage Research Data policy pages. Subject to appropriate ethical and legal considerations, authors are encouraged to: Share your research data in a relevant public data repository Include a data ava…
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Publication ethics Ethical considerations
Please include your ethics approval statements under this heading, even if you have already included ethics approval information in your methods section. If ethical approval was not required, you need to explicitly state this. All papers reporting studies involving human participants, human data or human tissue must state that the relevant Ethics Committee or Institutional Review Board approved th…
Source ↗Publisher website ·- License & copyright
Manuscript content on this site is licensed under Creative Commons Licenses Model summary
Manuscript content on this site is licensed under Creative Commons Licenses
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Open access Publishing fees and open access
Therapeutic Advances in Ophthalmology is an open access, peer-reviewed journal. All accepted articles are made freely available online immediately upon publication, are published under a Creative Commons license, and hosted online in perpetuity. If, after peer review, your manuscript is accepted for publication, a one-time article processing charge (APC) is payable to cover the cost of publishing,…
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Peer review Peer review policy
Single anonymized peer review Model summary
The following summary describes the peer review process for this journal: Identity transparency: Single Anonymized Reviewer interacts with: Editor Review information published: None Your manuscript will undergo an initial evaluation. If it does not conform to the requirements laid out in these guidelines, it will be returned to you for amendments prior to peer review. Manuscripts may be desk rejec…
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Plagiarism Plagiarism
The journal and Sage take issues of copyright infringement, plagiarism or other breaches of best practice in publication very seriously. Please read Sage's complete policy on plagiarism and the actions we may take.
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Preprints Preprints
The journal will consider submissions of manuscripts that have been posted on preprint servers. Please enter the preprint DOI in the designated field when submitting your manuscript. We advise that you inform the Journal Editorial office about your posted preprint at submission. Note that you should not post an updated version of your manuscript on a preprint server while it is being peer reviewed…
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Trial registration / reporting guidelines Clinical trial registration
The journal conforms to the ICMJE requirement that clinical trials are registered in a WHO-approved public trials registry at or before the time of first participant enrollment as a condition of consideration for publication. The trial registry name and URL, and registration number must be included at the end of the abstract.
Source ↗Publisher website ·
Excerpts are quoted from the journal's website; "model summary" lines are written by Workers AI and checked against the text. The journal's website is authoritative.
Profile
Publication details and official links
- Publisher
- SAGE Publishing
- Country or region
- United Kingdom
- Language
- English
- ISSN
- 1179-1721
- Electronic ISSN
- 2515-8414
- Official links
- Journal homepage ↗LetPub
- Submission system ↗Publisher website
- Author guidelines ↗LetPub
- Aims & Scope ↗LetPub
- Special issues ↗Publisher website
- APC information ↗DOAJ
- Fee waivers ↗DOAJ
- Open access statement ↗DOAJ
- License & copyright ↗DOAJ
- Peer review process ↗LetPub
- Editorial board ↗LetPub
- Plagiarism policy ↗DOAJ
FAQ
Frequently asked questions about Ophthalmology and Eye Diseases
What is the impact factor of Ophthalmology and Eye Diseases?
The journal's website gives an impact factor of 2; this is the journal's own figure, as LetPub lists none for it; h-index 23.
How long does peer review take at Ophthalmology and Eye Diseases?
Based on the dates recorded on 90 articles published between October 2024 and October 2026 (the last 24 months), the median time from submission to acceptance is 169 days (interquartile range 116–211 days); authors report an average review time of about 8 weeks. Article statistics cover accepted papers only, publisher figures follow the journal's own definitions, and community reports come from authors' own submissions; none is a promise from the journal.
Where are the editorial board members of Ophthalmology and Eye Diseases based?
Of the 43 board members whose country the journal's board page names, 1 (about 2%) are in mainland China; the countries named most often are United States (11), United Kingdom (6) and India (6). Counted from the institutions listed on the board page; for reference only.
Which databases index Ophthalmology and Eye Diseases?
According to LetPub and DOAJ records, Ophthalmology and Eye Diseases is indexed in DOAJ.
Is Ophthalmology and Eye Diseases open access, and what is the APC?
Ophthalmology and Eye Diseases is a fully open-access journal. APC about USD 2,650.
Sources and updates
The facts on this page come from LetPub, DOAJ, Publisher website, OpenAlex; every figure is tagged with its source and the date it was observed, and conflicting values are kept per source. LetPub source page: view ↗ (archived 2026-08-26). Last updated: .