Journal profile · ONCOLOGY
Oncolytic Virotherapy
ISSN 2253-1572 · Dove Medical Press · United Kingdom
Oncolytic Virotherapy: fully open access; APC about USD 1,780; review about 16 weeks (community reports); 0 articles in 2025; flagged on an early-warning list or for an indexing change: check before submitting.
Scope
Aims, scope and focus
Oncolytic Virotherapy is published by Dove Medical Press. By OpenAlex counts of its recent articles, its largest topics are Virus-based gene therapy research, Viral-associated cancers and disorders and Cancer Research and Treatments, together about 61.4% of its articles. Its main subfields are Oncology. (generated from OpenAlex topic counts and CAS ranking data)
Oncolytic Virotherapy is an international, peer-reviewed, open access online journal publishing original research, study protocols, reviews, editorials and commentaries on all aspects of oncolytic virology, namely the application of oncolytic viruses for the treatment of cancer. Oncolytic Virotherapy will no longer consider meta-analyses for publication. Specific topics in the journal include: Rationale and theoretical aspects of oncolytic virotherapy including in vitro, in vivo and mathematical modelling. Pre-clinical development and the use of models to predict biological response Therapeutic form development studies. Clinical studies. This would include monotherapy and combination with radiotherapy/radionuclide therapy/chemotherapy/biologic therapies (including small molecules/HDAC inhibitors/modulators of cell death)/immunotherapies/other viruses. Practical application and problem solving in the clinic including identification of potential responders through biomarkers and genetic profiling. Medico-economic and resource management studies. Other aspects of study and related topics may be included at the discretion of the Editors.
From the journal's Aims & Scope
Research area (LetPub): ONCOLOGY
Main research topics OpenAlex counts of recent articles; shares are approximate
- Virus-based gene therapy researchBiochemistry, Genetics and Molecular Biology35.2%
- Viral-associated cancers and disordersMedicine15.4%
- Cancer Research and TreatmentsBiochemistry, Genetics and Molecular Biology10.9%
- Bacteriophages and microbial interactionsEnvironmental Science8.4%
- Immunotherapy and Immune ResponsesImmunology and Microbiology7.4%
- Virology and Viral DiseasesMedicine4%
- Glioma Diagnosis and TreatmentMedicine3%
- Cancer Immunotherapy and BiomarkersMedicine3%
Rankings & indexing
CAS ranking and database indexing
CAS Journal Ranking
CAS Journal Ranking, upgraded edition (March 2025)Not covered
Not covered by this edition.
CAS Xinrui Journal Ranking (March 2026)Not covered
Not covered by this edition.
CAS Journal Ranking, previous upgraded edition (December 2023)Not covered
Not covered by this edition.
Database indexing
Indexed in: no record yet.
Early warning / risk: Marked as ceased in ESCI on 20 September 2023. CAS Early Warning Journal List: not listed in any of 6 editions.LetPub
Editions, and major and minor categories, are shown separately and never merged into one zone; check which edition your institution uses before you submit or report.
Metrics
Impact metrics and publication volume
Impact
- h-index
- 27OpenAlex ·
- i10-index
- 53OpenAlex ·
- 2-year mean citedness
- 0OpenAlex ·
- Share of gold OA articles
- 100%LetPub ·
Articles by year OpenAlex count · 71 in total · the current year is incomplete
| Year | Articles | Open access | Citations |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2026 | 0 | 0 | 99 |
| 2025 | 0 | 0 | 149 |
| 2024 | 0 | 0 | 200 |
| 2023 | 0 | 0 | 216 |
| 2022 | 0 | 0 | 220 |
| 2021 | 1 | 1 | 262 |
Sources count differently and were observed at different times, so each source's own value is kept; "publisher" marks figures from the journal's website.
Review & acceptance
Review time and acceptance
- Average review time (community reports)
- about 16 weeksLetPub ·
- Peer review
- Blind peer reviewLetPub
Community reports come from authors' own submissions (confidence 0.5) and are not a promise from the journal; for publisher figures, the journal's own definitions apply.
Fees & open access
APC and open-access policy
Every article is open access; authors usually pay an article processing charge (APC).
| Source | APC | Fee waiver | License | Observed |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| LetPub | USD 1,780 | Yes | — |
The journal's website is authoritative for fees; sources were observed at different times and each keeps its own value, without averaging.
Submission
Article types and submission policies (journal website)
Article types accepted2
- case reportAuthors may use these detailed descriptions of different paper types accepted by Dove Medical Press (case reports, reviews, etc) to decide how to label their pa…Length not stated
- reviewAuthors may use these detailed descriptions of different paper types accepted by Dove Medical Press (case reports, reviews, etc) to decide how to label their pa…Length not stated
Excerpts are quoted from the journal's website; "model summary" lines are written by Workers AI and checked against the text. The journal's website is authoritative.
Profile
Publication details and official links
- Publisher
- Dove Medical Press
- Country or region
- United Kingdom
- Language
- English
- ISSN
- 2253-1572
- Official links
- Journal homepage ↗OpenAlex
- Author guidelines ↗LetPub
- Aims & Scope ↗LetPub
- Special issues ↗Publisher website
- Peer review process ↗LetPub
- Editorial board ↗LetPub
FAQ
Frequently asked questions about Oncolytic Virotherapy
How long does peer review take at Oncolytic Virotherapy?
Authors report an average review time of about 16 weeks. Article statistics cover accepted papers only, publisher figures follow the journal's own definitions, and community reports come from authors' own submissions; none is a promise from the journal.
Is Oncolytic Virotherapy open access, and what is the APC?
Oncolytic Virotherapy is a fully open-access journal. APC about USD 1,780.
Sources and updates
The facts on this page come from LetPub, OpenAlex, Publisher website; every figure is tagged with its source and the date it was observed, and conflicting values are kept per source. LetPub source page: view ↗ (archived 2026-08-26). Last updated: .