Journal profile · Biochemistry & Molecular Biology
Oncogene
ISSN 0950-9232 · eISSN 1476-5594 · Springer Nature · ENGLAND · Weekly · Founded 1997
Oncogene: CAS Zone 1 · Medicine (2025 upgraded edition, Top journal); impact factor 9.12; hybrid open access; APC about USD 5,990; median 182 days to acceptance (99 articles, last 24 months); community-reported acceptance: about 31.25%; 403 articles in 2025; indexed in SCIE and Scopus.
Scope
Aims, scope and focus
Oncogene is published by Springer Nature and is in Zone 1 of Medicine in the CAS Journal Ranking (2025 upgraded edition, Top journal). By OpenAlex counts of its recent articles, its largest topics are Cancer-related Molecular Pathways, Epigenetics and DNA Methylation and RNA modifications and cancer, together about 25.8% of its articles. Its main subfields are Molecular Biology. (generated from OpenAlex topic counts and CAS ranking data)
Oncogene aims to make substantial advances in our knowledge of processes that contribute to cancer by publishing outstanding research. We propagate work that challenges standard conjecture and builds on previous studies, in particular those that lead to establishing new paradigms in the etio-pathogenesis, diagnosis, treatment, or prevention of cancers, and in processes that drive metastatic spread, and provide important insights into cancer biology beyond what has been revealed thus far. Areas covered by Oncogene include, but are not limited to, the cellular and molecular biology of cancer including resistance to cancer therapies, and development of better approaches to improving survival. Across cancer biology, we have a broad remit encompassing the life sciences and biomedicine, from the most fundamental and theoretical work, through to translational, applied, and clinical research (including early and late Phase clinical trials, especially those with biologic and translational endpoints).
From the journal's Aims & Scope
Research area (LetPub): Biochemistry & Molecular Biology
Main research topics OpenAlex counts of recent articles; shares are approximate
- Cancer-related Molecular PathwaysMedicine12.9%
- Epigenetics and DNA MethylationBiochemistry, Genetics and Molecular Biology6.7%
- RNA modifications and cancerBiochemistry, Genetics and Molecular Biology6.2%
- Ubiquitin and proteasome pathwaysBiochemistry, Genetics and Molecular Biology6.2%
- Cell death mechanisms and regulationBiochemistry, Genetics and Molecular Biology5.2%
- Cancer-related gene regulationBiochemistry, Genetics and Molecular Biology5.1%
- DNA Repair MechanismsBiochemistry, Genetics and Molecular Biology4.6%
- RNA Research and SplicingBiochemistry, Genetics and Molecular Biology4.1%
Rankings & indexing
CAS ranking and database indexing
CAS Journal Ranking
CAS Journal Ranking, upgraded edition (March 2025)Medicine Zone 1
| Level | Category | Zone |
|---|---|---|
| Major | Medicine | Zone 1 |
| Minor | Biochemistry & Molecular Biology | Zone 1 |
| Minor | Genetics & Heredity | Zone 1 |
| Minor | Cell Biology | Zone 2 |
| Minor | Oncology | Zone 2 |
Top journal: yesReview journal: no
CAS Xinrui Journal Ranking (March 2026)Medicine Zone 1
| Level | Category | Zone |
|---|---|---|
| Major | Medicine | Zone 1 |
| Minor | Biochemistry & Molecular Biology | Zone 1 |
| Minor | Oncology | Zone 2 |
| Minor | Cell Biology | Zone 2 |
| Minor | Genetics & Heredity | Zone 1 |
Top journal: yesReview journal: not marked
CAS Journal Ranking, previous upgraded edition (December 2023)Medicine Zone 1
| Level | Category | Zone |
|---|---|---|
| Major | Medicine | Zone 1 |
| Minor | Biochemistry & Molecular Biology | Zone 1 |
| Minor | Genetics & Heredity | Zone 1 |
| Minor | Cell Biology | Zone 2 |
| Minor | Oncology | Zone 2 |
Top journal: yesReview journal: no
Database indexing
SCIEScopusLetPub
International journal early-warning lists: not listed in any editionLetPub
Editions, and major and minor categories, are shown separately and never merged into one zone; check which edition your institution uses before you submit or report.
Metrics
Impact metrics and publication volume
Impact
- Impact factor
- 9.12LetPub ·
- Impact factor (publisher) 2025
- 9.1Publisher website ·
- 5-year impact factor (publisher) 2025
- 8.1Publisher website ·
- CiteScore 2026-06
- 14LetPub ·
- SJR 2026-06
- 2.47LetPub ·
- SNIP 2026-06
- 1.58LetPub ·
- h-index
- 312LetPub ·
- h-index
- 428OpenAlex ·
- i10-index
- 17,633OpenAlex ·
- 2-year mean citedness
- 6.66OpenAlex ·
- Self-citation rate
- 1.1%LetPub ·
- Share of gold OA articles
- 43.02%LetPub ·
Volume
- Articles per year
- 316LetPub ·
- Downloads per year (publisher) 2025
- 6,211,000Publisher website ·
Articles by year OpenAlex count · 19,532 in total · the current year is incomplete
| Year | Articles | Open access | Citations |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2026 | 326 | 149 | 169 |
| 2025 | 403 | 235 | 1,966 |
| 2024 | 339 | 203 | 4,981 |
| 2023 | 325 | 216 | 7,954 |
| 2022 | 447 | 257 | 13,417 |
| 2021 | 539 | 371 | 22,377 |
Sources count differently and were observed at different times, so each source's own value is kept; "publisher" marks figures from the journal's website.
Review & acceptance
Review time and acceptance
Review time from article dates manuscript dates registered with Crossref · to
182 daysMedian, submission to acceptance · P25–P75 146 days – 238 days
- Acceptance to online
- median 14 days (99 articles)
- Submission to online
- median 197 days
- Sample
- 99 articles with submission and acceptance dates (817 in the window); the latest was accepted on
Only articles that were accepted and published are counted, not the time spent on rejected manuscripts, so this usually runs longer than a publisher's "time to first decision".
Other sources
- Average review time (community reports)
- about 1 monthLetPub ·
- Average acceptance (community reports)
- 31.25%LetPub ·
Community reports come from authors' own submissions (confidence 0.5) and are not a promise from the journal; for publisher figures, the journal's own definitions apply.
Fees & open access
APC and open-access policy
A subscription journal in which authors can pay to publish their article open access.
| Source | APC | Fee waiver | License | Observed |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| OpenAlex | USD 5,990 / EUR 4,890 / GBP 4,190 | — | — |
A hybrid journal charges the APC only when the author chooses open access; publishing under the subscription model is usually free.
The journal's website is authoritative for fees; sources were observed at different times and each keeps its own value, without averaging.
Submission
Article types and submission policies (journal website)
Article types accepted2
- articleArticleLength not stated
- commentCommentLength not stated
Excerpts are quoted from the journal's website; "model summary" lines are written by Workers AI and checked against the text. The journal's website is authoritative.
Profile
Publication details and official links
- Publisher
- Springer Nature
- Country or region
- ENGLAND
- Language
- English
- Frequency
- Weekly
- Founded
- 1997
- ISSN
- 0950-9232
- Electronic ISSN
- 1476-5594
- Official links
- Journal homepage ↗OpenAlex
- Submission system ↗LetPub
- Author guidelines ↗LetPub
- Special issues ↗Publisher website
FAQ
Frequently asked questions about Oncogene
What CAS zone is Oncogene in?
In the 2025 upgraded edition of the CAS Journal Ranking, Oncogene is in Zone 1 of Medicine, and in Zone 1 of the minor category Biochemistry & Molecular Biology / Genetics & Heredity / Cell Biology / Oncology; it is a Top journal. In the 2026 Xinrui edition it is in Zone 1 of Medicine. Zones from different editions, and from major and minor categories, are not interchangeable.
What is the impact factor of Oncogene?
The latest impact factor listed by LetPub is 9.12; CiteScore 14, h-index 428.
How long does peer review take at Oncogene?
Based on the dates recorded on 99 articles published between October 2024 and October 2026 (the last 24 months), the median time from submission to acceptance is 182 days (interquartile range 146–238 days); authors report an average review time of about 1 month; the community-reported acceptance is “about 31.25%”. Article statistics cover accepted papers only, publisher figures follow the journal's own definitions, and community reports come from authors' own submissions; none is a promise from the journal.
Which databases index Oncogene?
According to LetPub and DOAJ records, Oncogene is indexed in SCIE and Scopus.
Is Oncogene open access, and what is the APC?
Oncogene is a hybrid journal. For open-access publication: APC about USD 5,990.
Sources and updates
The facts on this page come from LetPub, OpenAlex, Publisher website; every figure is tagged with its source and the date it was observed, and conflicting values are kept per source. LetPub source page: view ↗ (archived 2026-08-25). Last updated: .