Journal profile · EDUCATION & EDUCATIONAL RESEARCH
Ocnos-Journal of Reading Research
ISSN 1885-446X · eISSN 2254-9099 · Universidad de Castilla, La Mancha · Spain
Ocnos-Journal of Reading Research: CAS Zone 4 · Education (2025 upgraded edition); diamond open access (no APC); no APC; review about 15 weeks (community reports); 19 articles in 2025; indexed in ESCI and Scopus.
Scope
Aims, scope and focus
Ocnos-Journal of Reading Research is published by Universidad de Castilla, La Mancha and is in Zone 4 of Education in the CAS Journal Ranking (2025 upgraded edition). By OpenAlex counts of its recent articles, its largest topics are Literacy and Educational Practices, Literature, Culture, and Aesthetics and Educational Innovations and Technology, together about 52% of its articles. Its main subfields are Education. (generated from OpenAlex topic counts and CAS ranking data)
Ocnos. Journal of reading research is a biannual scientific journal. This main objective is show studies and investigations about reading and writing from different approaches (social, literary, psychological, anthropological, and historic), and about educative process, reading promotions and reading habits. Ocnos is aimed specially at teachers, psychologists, sociologists, social educators, philologists, librarians and phd students.
From the journal's Aims & Scope
Research area (LetPub): EDUCATION & EDUCATIONAL RESEARCH
Main research topics OpenAlex counts of recent articles; shares are approximate
- Literacy and Educational PracticesSocial Sciences36.2%
- Literature, Culture, and AestheticsArts and Humanities10.1%
- Educational Innovations and TechnologyComputer Science5.7%
- E-Learning and Knowledge ManagementComputer Science4.5%
- Educational theories and practicesSocial Sciences4.3%
- Reading and Literacy DevelopmentPsychology3.8%
- Educational Methods and Psychological StudiesSocial Sciences3.5%
- Developmental and Educational NeuropsychologyPsychology3.4%
Rankings & indexing
CAS ranking and database indexing
CAS Journal Ranking
CAS Journal Ranking, upgraded edition (March 2025)Education Zone 4
| Level | Category | Zone |
|---|---|---|
| Major | Education | Zone 4 |
| Minor | Education & Educational Research | Zone 4 |
Top journal: noReview journal: no
CAS Xinrui Journal Ranking (March 2026)Education Zone 3
| Level | Category | Zone |
|---|---|---|
| Major | Education | Zone 3 |
| Minor | Education & Educational Research | Zone 3 |
Top journal: noReview journal: not marked
CAS Journal Ranking, previous upgraded edition (December 2023)Not covered
Not covered by this edition.
Database indexing
ESCIScopusDOAJLetPub
International journal early-warning lists: not listed in any editionLetPub
Indexing the journal's website claims
Dialnet, Google Scholar, SJR Scimago Journal RankPublisher website
As the journal's website lists them, not checked against each database; for Web of Science editions the records above apply.
Editions, and major and minor categories, are shown separately and never merged into one zone; check which edition your institution uses before you submit or report.
Metrics
Impact metrics and publication volume
Impact
- CiteScore 2026-06
- 1.6LetPub ·
- SJR 2026-06
- 0.44LetPub ·
- SNIP 2026-06
- 1.51LetPub ·
- h-index
- 25OpenAlex ·
- i10-index
- 93OpenAlex ·
- 2-year mean citedness
- 1.39OpenAlex ·
- Self-citation rate
- 12.5%LetPub ·
- Share of gold OA articles
- 87.93%LetPub ·
Volume
- Articles per year
- 20LetPub ·
Articles by year OpenAlex count · 359 in total · the current year is incomplete
| Year | Articles | Open access | Citations |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2026 | 19 | 19 | 1 |
| 2025 | 19 | 19 | 17 |
| 2024 | 24 | 24 | 68 |
| 2023 | 18 | 18 | 65 |
| 2022 | 21 | 21 | 145 |
| 2021 | 29 | 29 | 242 |
Sources count differently and were observed at different times, so each source's own value is kept; "publisher" marks figures from the journal's website.
Review & acceptance
Review time and acceptance
- Average review time (community reports)
- about 15 weeksLetPub ·
- Submission to publication (journal-reported)
- about 20 weeksDOAJ ·
- Peer review
- Double anonymous peer reviewDOAJ
Community reports come from authors' own submissions (confidence 0.5) and are not a promise from the journal; for publisher figures, the journal's own definitions apply.
Fees & open access
APC and open-access policy
Every article is open access and authors pay no article processing charge.
| Source | APC | Fee waiver | License | Observed |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| DOAJ | No APC | No | CC BY-NC-ND | |
| LetPub | No APC | No | — |
The journal's website is authoritative for fees; sources were observed at different times and each keeps its own value, without averaging.
Submission
Article types and submission policies (journal website)
What to prepare9 items from the author guidelines
- Abstract
- ≤ 200 words
- Keywords
- ≥ 4
- Manuscript length
- ≤ 6,500 words
- Reference style
- APA
- First submission
- Free format: the journal's layout is not required
- Suggested reviewers
- Optional
- Highlights
- Optional
- Graphical abstract
- Optional
- Cover letter
- Required
Article types accepted2
- research paperOcnos. Revista de estudios sobre lectura publishes only two types of contributions: (1) research papers and (2) theoretical and systematic review papers. The or…Length not stated
- systematic reviewOcnos. Revista de estudios sobre lectura publishes only two types of contributions: (1) research papers and (2) theoretical and systematic review papers. The or…Length not stated
Policy excerpts from the journal's websiteAuthorship, License & copyright, Open access, Peer review
- Authorship
Originality requirement; previously published articles rejected unless substantially reworked Model summary
All manuscripts submitted to Ocnos: Revista de estudios sobre lectura must be original. Articles that have been published in any other form (conference paper, doctoral thesis, article in another language, etc.) will be rejected unless the manuscript presents a substantial reworking of the text.
Source ↗Publisher website ·- License & copyright Copyright Notice
The articles published at Ocnos will have a Creative Common Licence Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-No Derivative Works 3.0 Unported
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Open access Open Access Policy
Ocnos is an Open Access Review, it means it is free availability on the public internet, permitting any users to read, download, copy, distribute, print, search, or link to the full texts of these articles. The only constraint on reproduction and distribution, and the only role for copyright in this domain, should be to give authors control over the integrity of their work and the right to be prop…
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Peer review Peer Review Process
Articles sent to Ocnos will pass a peer review exam. This journal employs double blind reviewing, where both the referee and author remain anonymous throughout the process. Each manuscript is reviewed by at least two referees for the academic content and presentation of submitted articles.
Source ↗Publisher website ·
Excerpts are quoted from the journal's website; "model summary" lines are written by Workers AI and checked against the text. The journal's website is authoritative.
Profile
Publication details and official links
- Publisher
- Universidad de Castilla, La Mancha
- Country or region
- Spain
- Language
- English, Spanish, Portuguese
- ISSN
- 1885-446X
- Electronic ISSN
- 2254-9099
- Latest issue on the website
- Volume 25, Issue 2 (2026)
- Official links
- Journal homepage ↗DOAJ
- Author guidelines ↗LetPub
- Aims & Scope ↗LetPub
- APC information ↗DOAJ
- Open access statement ↗DOAJ
- License & copyright ↗DOAJ
- Peer review process ↗LetPub
- Editorial board ↗LetPub
- Plagiarism policy ↗DOAJ
FAQ
Frequently asked questions about Ocnos-Journal of Reading Research
What CAS zone is Ocnos-Journal of Reading Research in?
In the 2025 upgraded edition of the CAS Journal Ranking, Ocnos-Journal of Reading Research is in Zone 4 of Education, and in Zone 4 of the minor category Education & Educational Research. In the 2026 Xinrui edition it is in Zone 3 of Education. Zones from different editions, and from major and minor categories, are not interchangeable.
How long does peer review take at Ocnos-Journal of Reading Research?
Authors report an average review time of about 15 weeks. Article statistics cover accepted papers only, publisher figures follow the journal's own definitions, and community reports come from authors' own submissions; none is a promise from the journal.
What are the manuscript requirements of Ocnos-Journal of Reading Research?
According to the journal's author guidelines: Abstract: ≤ 200 words; Keywords: ≥ 4; Manuscript length: ≤ 6,500 words; Reference style: APA; First submission: Free format: the journal's layout is not required; Suggested reviewers: Optional; Highlights: Optional; Graphical abstract: Optional; Cover letter: Required. A model extracted these from the author guidelines and each was checked against the text; check the latest version on the journal's website before submitting.
Which databases index Ocnos-Journal of Reading Research?
According to LetPub and DOAJ records, Ocnos-Journal of Reading Research is indexed in ESCI, Scopus and DOAJ.
Is Ocnos-Journal of Reading Research open access, and what is the APC?
Ocnos-Journal of Reading Research is a diamond open-access journal (no APC). It charges no article processing charge.
Sources and updates
The facts on this page come from LetPub, OpenAlex, DOAJ, Publisher website; every figure is tagged with its source and the date it was observed, and conflicting values are kept per source. LetPub source page: view ↗ (archived 2026-08-25). Last updated: .