Journal profile · Medicine-Public Health, Environmental and Occupational Health

Obesity Medicine

ISSN 2451-8476 · Elsevier

Obesity Medicine: subscription journal; APC about USD 3,240; review about 94 days (submission to acceptance, publisher); 100 articles in 2025; indexed in Scopus.

Impact factor—No published value
CAS zone—Not in the CAS Journal Ranking
CiteScore quartileQ2General Nursing · rank 39/144 · 73rd percentile
Review time94 daysPublisher-reported, submission to acceptance
APCUSD 3,240Subscription journal
Acceptance—No reports yet
Articles per year1002025 · OpenAlex count

Scope

Aims, scope and focus

Obesity Medicine is published by Elsevier. By OpenAlex counts of its recent articles, its largest topics are Obesity, Physical Activity, Diet, Diabetes, Cardiovascular Risks, and Lipoproteins and Adipokines, Inflammation, and Metabolic Diseases, together about 35.9% of its articles. Its main subfields are Endocrinology, Diabetes and Metabolism. (generated from OpenAlex topic counts and CAS ranking data)

Obesity Medicine is an interdisciplinary journal that addresses mechanisms of disease, epidemiology, and co-morbidities related to obesity. The journal focuses on human health and the impact of human diseases across the spectrum of research.Obesity Medicine addresses the medical, societal, socioeconomic, and preventative aspects of obesity that are important to researchers, practitioners, and educators. Obesity-related topics include nutrition, behavioral and lifestyle interventions, gene expression, and cellular science. The journal also publishes articles on autoimmunity and antimicrobial resistance as they relate to obesity.Obesity Medicine is open for submissions via Editorial Manager.This is the official journal of the Shanghai Diabetes Institute (please insert hyperlink to https://www.shsmu.edu.cn/english/info/1060/1622.htm).

From the journal's Aims & Scope

Research area (LetPub): Medicine-Public Health, Environmental and Occupational Health

Editor-in-chief Jian-Ping YePublisher website

Editorial board by country: 21 in mainland China (about 38%); most named Mainland China 21, United States 10, Germany 5, India 3, United Kingdom 2 (55 members with a country) Editorial board ↗Publisher website ·

Main research topics OpenAlex counts of recent articles; shares are approximate

  1. Obesity, Physical Activity, DietMedicine15.4%
  2. Diabetes, Cardiovascular Risks, and LipoproteinsMedicine10.6%
  3. Adipokines, Inflammation, and Metabolic DiseasesMedicine9.9%
  4. Pharmacology and Obesity TreatmentMedicine6.4%
  5. Bariatric Surgery and OutcomesMedicine5.6%
  6. Diabetes Treatment and ManagementMedicine5.5%
  7. Regulation of Appetite and ObesityNeuroscience4.3%
  8. Nutrition, Health and Food BehaviorNursing4.2%

Rankings & indexing

CAS ranking and database indexing

CAS Journal Ranking

CAS Journal Ranking, upgraded edition (March 2025)Not covered

Not covered by this edition.

CAS Xinrui Journal Ranking (March 2026)Not covered

Not covered by this edition.

CAS Journal Ranking, previous upgraded edition (December 2023)Not covered

Not covered by this edition.

CiteScore quartiles (Scopus, June 2026 release)

SubjectQuartileRankPercentile
General NursingQ239/14473rd
SurgeryQ2174/59770th
General Biochemistry, Genetics and Molecular BiologyQ2110/22350th
Nutrition and DieteticsQ384/14743rd
Endocrinology, Diabetes and MetabolismQ3156/25037th
EndocrinologyQ394/13229th

Scopus ranks journals by CiteScore within each subject: the 75th percentile and above is Q1, then a quartile every 25 points. A different system from the CAS zones.LetPub

Database indexing

ScopusLetPub

International journal early-warning lists: not listed in any editionLetPub

Editions, and major and minor categories, are shown separately and never merged into one zone; check which edition your institution uses before you submit or report.

Metrics

Impact metrics and publication volume

Impact

CiteScore 2026-06
3.3LetPub ·
CiteScore (publisher)
3.3Publisher website ·
SJR 2026-06
0.52LetPub ·
SNIP 2026-06
0.6LetPub ·
h-index
39OpenAlex ·
i10-index
193OpenAlex ·
2-year mean citedness
2.55OpenAlex ·
Share of gold OA articles
0%LetPub ·

Articles by year OpenAlex count · 723 in total · the current year is incomplete

YearArticlesOpen accessCitations
2026699820
2025100151,175
20244591,119
20235181,067
202278191,101
202165211,158

Sources count differently and were observed at different times, so each source's own value is kept; "publisher" marks figures from the journal's website.

Review & acceptance

Review time and acceptance

Publisher-reported review time from the journal's website

94 dayssubmission to acceptance

The publisher's own definition applies; dates from this journal's articles in the last 24 months are not available yet, so the publisher's figure is used.

Figures by source

Submission to first decision
2 daysPublisher website ·
First decision after review
40 daysPublisher website ·
Submission to acceptance
94 daysPublisher website ·
Acceptance to publication
2 daysPublisher website ·
Peer review
Single anonymous peer reviewPublisher website

Community reports come from authors' own submissions (confidence 0.5) and are not a promise from the journal; for publisher figures, the journal's own definitions apply.

Fees & open access

APC and open-access policy

Subscription journalLetPub

A subscription journal: articles are read by subscription or purchase, and authors usually pay no publication charge.

SourceAPCFee waiverLicenseObserved
OpenAlexUSD 3,240 / EUR 3,030 / GBP 2,590 / JPY 401,860——
Publisher websiteYes, amount not published——

The journal's website is authoritative for fees; sources were observed at different times and each keeps its own value, without averaging.

Submission

Article types and submission policies (journal website)

What to prepare1 items from the author guidelines
Abstract
≤ 250 words
Publisher website · model-extracted, each line checked against the text
Article types accepted13, with length limits
  1. brief reportAll articles other than Editorials and Letters to the Editor are subject to full peer review. 1. Editorials are either written or commissioned by the Editors an…main text ≤ 1,000 words
  2. brief reportsBrief Reports should not exceed 1000 words, including a summary of no more than 50 words (but not including up to 20 references) and may be a preliminary report…Length not stated
  3. commentariesCommentaries (1000 words not including a maximum of 20 references and one small figure) offer a stimulating, journalistic and accessible insight into issues of …Length not stated
  4. commentaryAll articles other than Editorials and Letters to the Editor are subject to full peer review. 1. Editorials are either written or commissioned by the Editors an…main text ≤ 1,000 words
  5. editorialAll articles other than Editorials and Letters to the Editor are subject to full peer review. 1. Editorials are either written or commissioned by the Editors an…main text ≤ 1,000 words
  6. editorialsEditorials are either written or commissioned by the Editors and should not exceed 1000 words (not including a maximum of 20 references; one small figure can be…Length not stated
  7. letters to the editorAll articles other than Editorials and Letters to the Editor are subject to full peer review. 1. Editorials are either written or commissioned by the Editors an…Length not stated
  8. opinionAll articles other than Editorials and Letters to the Editor are subject to full peer review. 1. Editorials are either written or commissioned by the Editors an…Length not stated
  9. original research articleAll articles other than Editorials and Letters to the Editor are subject to full peer review. 1. Editorials are either written or commissioned by the Editors an…main text ≤ 5,000 words
  10. original research articlesOriginal Research Articles should be a maximum of 5000 words.Length not stated
  11. reviewAll articles other than Editorials and Letters to the Editor are subject to full peer review. 1. Editorials are either written or commissioned by the Editors an…Length not stated
  12. review articleAll articles other than Editorials and Letters to the Editor are subject to full peer review. 1. Editorials are either written or commissioned by the Editors an…main text ≤ 5,000 words
  13. review articlesReview articles should be a maximum of 5000 words, including a summary of no more than 200 words (not including up to 75 references) with subheadings in the tex…Length not stated
Publisher website
Policy excerpts from the journal's websiteAI use, Authorship, Conflicts of interest, License & copyright, Open access, Peer review, Preprints
AI use Declaration of generative AI use

Authors must declare the use of generative AI tools in the manuscript preparation process upon submission of the paper.Generative AI and AI-assisted technologies (“AI tools”) have been rapidly adopted in research and scholarly publishing, offering significant benefits while requiring clear standards for responsible and transparent use.Authors preparing a manuscript for this journal may use AI tool…

Source ↗Publisher website ·
Authorship Group authorship

Group authorship refers to the attribution of an article to a defined and named group of authors whose members have contributed to the work. Examples include research consortia, clinical trial groups, collaborative networks, task forces or working groups, expert panels or consensus groups, and participatory research groups. Group authorship must be declared on the title page at submission. When av…

Source ↗Publisher website ·
Conflicts of interest Declaration of competing interests

All authors must disclose any financial and personal relationships with other people or organizations that could inappropriately influence or bias their work. Examples of potential competing interests include:EmploymentConsultanciesStock ownershipHonorariaPaid expert testimonyPatent applications or registrationsGrants or any other fundingAffiliation with the journal as an Editor or Advisory Board …

Source ↗Publisher website ·
License & copyright License options

Authors will be offered open access user license options which will determine how you, and third parties, can reuse your open access article. We advise that you review these options and any funding body license requirements before selecting a license option.

Source ↗Publisher website ·
Open access Open access

We refer you to our open access information page to learn about open access options for this journal.

Source ↗Publisher website ·
Peer review Peer review

Single anonymized review process Model summary

This journal follows a single anonymized review process. Your submission will initially be assessed by our editors. If your submission is deemed suitable, it will typically be sent to be reviewed by a minimum of one reviewer for an independent expert assessment of the scientific quality. The decision as to whether your article is accepted or rejected for publication will be made by our editors.Rea…

Source ↗Publisher website ·
Preprints Preprints

Preprint sharing allowed Model summary

Preprint sharingAuthors may share preprints in line with Elsevier's article sharing policy. Sharing preprints, such as on a preprint server, will not count as prior publication.We advise you to read our policy on multiple, redundant or concurrent publication.

Source ↗Publisher website ·

Excerpts are quoted from the journal's website; "model summary" lines are written by Workers AI and checked against the text. The journal's website is authoritative.

Profile

Publication details and official links

Publisher
Elsevier
ISSN
2451-8476
Society / sponsor
Shanghai Diabetes Institute
Official links

FAQ

Frequently asked questions about Obesity Medicine

How long does peer review take at Obesity Medicine?

The publisher reports about 94 days (submission to acceptance). Article statistics cover accepted papers only, publisher figures follow the journal's own definitions, and community reports come from authors' own submissions; none is a promise from the journal.

Where are the editorial board members of Obesity Medicine based?

Of the 55 board members whose country the journal's board page names, 21 (about 38%) are in mainland China; the countries named most often are Mainland China (21), United States (10) and Germany (5). Counted from the institutions listed on the board page; for reference only.

Which databases index Obesity Medicine?

According to LetPub and DOAJ records, Obesity Medicine is indexed in Scopus.

Is Obesity Medicine open access, and what is the APC?

Obesity Medicine is a subscription journal. APC about USD 3,240.

Sources and updates

The facts on this page come from LetPub, Publisher website, OpenAlex; every figure is tagged with its source and the date it was observed, and conflicting values are kept per source. LetPub source page: view ↗ (archived 2026-08-25). Last updated: .